2020
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(19 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PW
PAYTON W.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/04/2020
Love it so far
Installed a level 2 charger at home and it's been super convenient to "fill up".
My Kona has the Homelink rearview mirror mean there are several button and I can program one for my garage door opener. These buttons are not powered when the car is off. This is less than convenient but I understand why it is a security feature. ...imagine if your car were parked in your driveway and somebody got into your car and was able to open you garage door.
As a many decade driver of gasoline engine cars, I always open the garage door before starting my car, and turn off my car before closing the door. Makes sense right? I get that carbon monoxide poisoning is not a problem with the Kona EV!
But, having to power the car to open or close my garage door is just a pain. To me, the simple solution is to have the Homelink buttons powered whenever the smart key is inside the vehicle. Heck they can have the headlights on for 15 or so seconds after the car is off, why not the Homelink buttons too? ...this would be a distant second choice for functionality.
Hyundai - Please make this a software update!!!!! Please!!!

There is a continuous beep when the car is in reverse. It is VERY loud and annoying. Every other car I've had with this "feature" has had some method of disabling the beep through software switches. I can't find how to do this on a 2020 Kona EV.
Hyundai- Please make this a owner controllable feature with software. I would be happy if I could even adjust the volume.

The Kona needs a few more storage compartments in the front cabin. There is an entire door panel worth of space not being used. The console/armrest storage could use a removable divider and/or a shelf with removable tray.

Other than the above, I'm loving the Kona EV so far. I've had better than expected range and the torque for acceleration is incredible!

Pros
Great acceleration. Decent handling.

Cons
Like all EVs it's expensive for what it is.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DOUGLAS C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/02/2020
Best electric car
Great range per charge, style and design is perfect for a small family. Color choice is better than other models. I love the pick up and high quality sound. Interior noise is unnoticeable and blue link is great tool for remote starting in any weather.

Pros
Excellent vehicle and performance

Cons
Rear seats don’t fold all the way down. No spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MARK L.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2020
My first Kona
Humming engine sound is very annoying. It is very loud that people actually turns their head to look for it!!!
Front grill could be re-designed
Overall, this is a fun vehicle to drive. Responsive and very good mile range.

Pros
Value for the money

Cons
Engine sound
Front grill

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
JANA O.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/23/2020
Truly 4.5 stars
I love not having any black on the doors or dashboard in my eKona. The range is great and I have mostly been charging at home and we haven’t gotten a level 2 charger installed yet so it can only get better. I miss the storage required for a weeklong trip but it does have a small wheel base so heading across country-you’d feel every bump so it wouldn’t be the car of choice for a long trip across country for me unless gas prices climb. The eKona is easily the car we want to drive over the ICE cars we have. Any EV owner will tell you once you try the EV you won’t go back ( and I loved my old Camry! I thought it was fun to drive but not as fun as the eKona!!!) we have literally been doing “Sunday Drives” without any guilt of wasting gas and it has been a spirit lifter during quarantine because I get to change the scene a lot better and not pollute the sparkling clean air we have had during lock down. I expect this car will be getting very high mileage on it...

Pros
Efficiency, color (no black dashboard or doors) so much fun to drive- I feel the excitement of driving I had when I was 16!

Cons
Size of trunk area

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JOHN R.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/18/2020
New Kona EV
Great little car. Has a nice design. Plenty of get up and go. The car is very quick, it accelerates really fast. The car is a great car for driving around town. The range is good gir an electric vehicle.

Pros
Cute little car. Great range for EV. LOTS of get up and go.

Cons
A little small. Not much storage in. You use a lot of battery when using the A/C

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOHN C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2020
Awesome EV ride!
We just got our Kona EV and love it. It drives really nicely, is extremely comfortable in front and in back, and the range is awesome.
The Kona seems to prioritize comfortable seating for 4 over cargo space, so don’t expect to carry a pallet of roofing shingles! But I haul people more than building supplies anyway.
I love this car, and I think it’s much nicer than the Chevy Bolt or any hybrid.
The only problem is actually getting your hands on one — you might have to search a bit for one.

Pros
Great range.
Fast charging
Comfortable interior
Well laid out controls
It is a fast beast
Lots of features

Cons
Exterior styling is less than inspired.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
RUSSELL W.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2020
Exceptional vehicle and priced accordingly
Wonderful car, very handy, great performance and awesome build quality. Ultimate model has virtually all tech options which I did not care about until I had them! The Ultimate is quite expensive for a sub-compact class car but has plenty of room and currently qualifies for all the rebates - US, state, county and utility company (!)

Pros
Tons of features and electric performance and cheap operating costs. Very handy vehicle. Build quality is better than anything I've ever seen. Completely rattle free and well designed.

Cons
All except top trim has awful black interior, car is about as expensive as a Tesla 3 except this qualifies for the $7500 tax credit and has more features. This is not a flashy vehicle (which is what we wanted)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MICHAEL R.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2020
Kona electric
Great ride with all the acceleration I need. The overall vehicle needs to be more aerodynamic as opposed to box shape. It still performs with great engineering and great road functionality to daily changes in traffic.

Pros
great overall performance

Cons
Need a more aerodynamic design for wind shear-like tesla model 3
also need leather or leathertte seats for standard car accessories

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BRAD M.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/17/2020
Really happy with my vehicle!
The only problems I have is the difficulty getting my Android Auto set up and the use of the BlueLink. I am not super computer savy and I don't have a manual. Other than this, I really enjoy the drive and the build quality so far.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jill H.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2020
2020 KONA
Really love my Kona, haven’t had it in the snow YET, today is the day. Had first service from the dealership yesterday. I was taken care of in a very professional service center. Met Hollie and Jackie, they were very welcoming and quite easy to work with. Service was completed in a timely manner by Patrick.

Pros
Style, performance and easy driving

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Bill T.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
Kona EV
EVs will be replacing gas powered planet killing monsters in the coming years. The Kona is a reasonable size and offers quality features that make it priced well compared to its EV competition. In the coming years, more and more EVs will be coming to market. If you buy a new gas powered car, it will be practically worthless in a relatively short time. You have been warned.

Pros
Handling
Styling
Technology features

Cons
EVs need to come down in price before they will replace gas powered vehicles. (that is just a matter of time as batteries are becoming more efficient and less expensive)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Ronald P.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/31/2020
First electric car venture
Overall happy with the car though there are styling changes that I would have liked. More options for scheduling charging time would have helped as well. You have to pay more to get semiautonomous option, battery warmer, LCD lights, etc. I'd recommend for first time buyer. Moving up to a Volkswagen if they increase range.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sherilyn S.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/26/2020
Fun, zippy car to drive!
Fun, zippy car to drive. Comfortable ride, lots of safety features, easy usage of controls and voice control makes the usage of navigation/stereo system safe to use during drive. Like the seat heater and AC. Makes it comfortable to drive on days that are hot or cold.

Pros
Fun zippy ride. Good navigation and stereo system. Lots of safety features.

Cons
Reverse sound is quite soft when you are reversing. Utility mode - why leave the FOB in the car. Someone can break the window and steal the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kenneth L.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/19/2020
So far so good
Comfortable, responsive vehicle. I selected this Electric because of the availability of dealerships as opposed to the Tesla Model 3. I drive limited miles and home charging is all I have used to date. The range is actually around 280 miles when the battery is topped off.
If you often take trips beyond 250 miles the Tesla will recharge much quicker at a level 3 charger and probably would make more sense. I charge at home (level 2) so this works best for me. If I do need to take an extended trip there are always car rentals. The warranty on this car is unbeatable.
There are far fewer parts than with internal combustion vehicles so maintenance should be limited.
I like knowing the car will not spew CO2 as a byproduct of driving, and my electric utility allows me to purchase green energy for a small bit more.

Pros
Electric vehicles are very responsive and accelerate rapidly. Lots of safety features and conveniences to meet everybody's needs. Great driving range.

Cons
Lacks a spare tire and the sound system in base models is lacking, though it is exceptional in the Ultimate trim. Adaptive cruise control is only available in the ultimate trim package

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Dave J.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2020
KONA EV is so FUN!!
The Kona Electric vehicle is a great car. Great visibility, comfortable, easy to drive, and it’s driver interfaces are well placed. The instrument cluster and the large center display provide excellent driver feedback and awareness of everything that is needed. This is a good sized car, I’m six feet tall and fit very comfortably when driving or riding along. So happy I don’t need to buy gas anymore!!

Pros
BEV, go green!!
Excellent urban car, great range

Cons
No driver seat memory settings

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
James B.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/27/2019
Thanks
Great! Very happy for our purchase —- doesn’t need oil changes, doesn’t need smok Check! Don’t need to go to gas station, wait in Lind for fill up gas. Don’t need to check gas prices up or down. Very quiet and comfortable.

Pros
N/A

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Barry C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
My stealth cool car
Tesla-like range. SUV (albeit small) convenience. Accelerates faster than my admittedly old Nissan 300 ZX. One-pedal driving (or very close to it) is fun, particularly on curvy roads. And it's fun to have a very rare car. I have yet to see another one of these on the road. Kind of expensive, though, without the $10,000 in credits (state and federal) I was able to get. My understanding is that it's a compliance car, marketed so that Hyundai can achieve a certain fleet mileage. That said, Hyundai seemed to go out of its way to make it a nice car. It's very well thought out, with no sense of being a Franken-car.

Pros
Electric! Fun to drive. Solid road feel; handles curvy roads well. I've never really tried pushing its cornering ability (not wanting to test my luck with the low rolling resistance tires), but the car does feel quite responsive.

Cons
Hard to park. It really needs a forward facing camera. I've never had a car where I had less sense of where the corners were. I find myself parking three feet back of obstacles I was sure I was about to touch.

I rated reliability a 5, because I've only had the car for three weeks. I have no actual idea how reliable it will be.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Edward C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2019
My First EV
Researched my EVs and ended up purchasing the Kona EV because of its price vs performance. Once of the best values currently for sale in our area. The EV range of greater than 280 mile on a full charge is extremely important to me. The power and torq of the drive train is great except that since it is front wheel drive the car experiences severe torq steering when accelerating hard.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Alexander W.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/14/2019
Excellent EV
EVs will change the world and how we travel. Hyundai brought a regular person's version to the market that looks great, is affordable and good specs/features. Of course all is in line with the quality of the great Hyundai name.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 19 reviews