2020
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(10 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


KL
Kenneth L.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/19/2020
So far so good
Comfortable, responsive vehicle. I selected this Electric because of the availability of dealerships as opposed to the Tesla Model 3. I drive limited miles and home charging is all I have used to date. The range is actually around 280 miles when the battery is topped off.
If you often take trips beyond 250 miles the Tesla will recharge much quicker at a level 3 charger and probably would make more sense. I charge at home (level 2) so this works best for me. If I do need to take an extended trip there are always car rentals. The warranty on this car is unbeatable.
There are far fewer parts than with internal combustion vehicles so maintenance should be limited.
I like knowing the car will not spew CO2 as a byproduct of driving, and my electric utility allows me to purchase green energy for a small bit more.

Pros
Electric vehicles are very responsive and accelerate rapidly. Lots of safety features and conveniences to meet everybody's needs. Great driving range.

Cons
Lacks a spare tire and the sound system in base models is lacking, though it is exceptional in the Ultimate trim. Adaptive cruise control is only available in the ultimate trim package

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Ronald P.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/31/2020
First electric car venture
Overall happy with the car though there are styling changes that I would have liked. More options for scheduling charging time would have helped as well. You have to pay more to get semiautonomous option, battery warmer, LCD lights, etc. I'd recommend for first time buyer. Moving up to a Volkswagen if they increase range.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Alexander W.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/14/2019
Excellent EV
EVs will change the world and how we travel. Hyundai brought a regular person's version to the market that looks great, is affordable and good specs/features. Of course all is in line with the quality of the great Hyundai name.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Edward C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2019
My First EV
Researched my EVs and ended up purchasing the Kona EV because of its price vs performance. Once of the best values currently for sale in our area. The EV range of greater than 280 mile on a full charge is extremely important to me. The power and torq of the drive train is great except that since it is front wheel drive the car experiences severe torq steering when accelerating hard.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Barry C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
My stealth cool car
Tesla-like range. SUV (albeit small) convenience. Accelerates faster than my admittedly old Nissan 300 ZX. One-pedal driving (or very close to it) is fun, particularly on curvy roads. And it's fun to have a very rare car. I have yet to see another one of these on the road. Kind of expensive, though, without the $10,000 in credits (state and federal) I was able to get. My understanding is that it's a compliance car, marketed so that Hyundai can achieve a certain fleet mileage. That said, Hyundai seemed to go out of its way to make it a nice car. It's very well thought out, with no sense of being a Franken-car.

Pros
Electric! Fun to drive. Solid road feel; handles curvy roads well. I've never really tried pushing its cornering ability (not wanting to test my luck with the low rolling resistance tires), but the car does feel quite responsive.

Cons
Hard to park. It really needs a forward facing camera. I've never had a car where I had less sense of where the corners were. I find myself parking three feet back of obstacles I was sure I was about to touch.

I rated reliability a 5, because I've only had the car for three weeks. I have no actual idea how reliable it will be.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
James B.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/27/2019
Thanks
Great! Very happy for our purchase —- doesn’t need oil changes, doesn’t need smok Check! Don’t need to go to gas station, wait in Lind for fill up gas. Don’t need to check gas prices up or down. Very quiet and comfortable.

Pros
N/A

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Dave J.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2020
KONA EV is so FUN!!
The Kona Electric vehicle is a great car. Great visibility, comfortable, easy to drive, and it’s driver interfaces are well placed. The instrument cluster and the large center display provide excellent driver feedback and awareness of everything that is needed. This is a good sized car, I’m six feet tall and fit very comfortably when driving or riding along. So happy I don’t need to buy gas anymore!!

Pros
BEV, go green!!
Excellent urban car, great range

Cons
No driver seat memory settings

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sherilyn S.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/26/2020
Fun, zippy car to drive!
Fun, zippy car to drive. Comfortable ride, lots of safety features, easy usage of controls and voice control makes the usage of navigation/stereo system safe to use during drive. Like the seat heater and AC. Makes it comfortable to drive on days that are hot or cold.

Pros
Fun zippy ride. Good navigation and stereo system. Lots of safety features.

Cons
Reverse sound is quite soft when you are reversing. Utility mode - why leave the FOB in the car. Someone can break the window and steal the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Bill T.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
Kona EV
EVs will be replacing gas powered planet killing monsters in the coming years. The Kona is a reasonable size and offers quality features that make it priced well compared to its EV competition. In the coming years, more and more EVs will be coming to market. If you buy a new gas powered car, it will be practically worthless in a relatively short time. You have been warned.

Pros
Handling
Styling
Technology features

Cons
EVs need to come down in price before they will replace gas powered vehicles. (that is just a matter of time as batteries are becoming more efficient and less expensive)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jill H.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2020
2020 KONA
Really love my Kona, haven’t had it in the snow YET, today is the day. Had first service from the dealership yesterday. I was taken care of in a very professional service center. Met Hollie and Jackie, they were very welcoming and quite easy to work with. Service was completed in a timely manner by Patrick.

Pros
Style, performance and easy driving

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 10 reviews