Business Solutions

2021 Hyundai Kona EV

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(186 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(186 Reviews)

NC
gravatar
Neil C.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/23/2022
Verified Review

Kona - 5 Star Vehicle that can’t deliver

Everything about the EV Kona is first class, except what matters most to me, the battery range. Advertised at 250-300 miles per charge, the reality is that during the summer and winter, when the A/C or the heat is needed on a long journey, the actual mileage maxes out at about 180 miles. The meant that a 4 hour trip turned into a 5 + hour trip and this was repeated on the return journey. You are also at the mercy of the charging stations working and being available when your battery is under 20%. Everything else about the EV Kona was great. EV manufacturers have to be honest with consumers because the reality is much different to the advertising.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

NC
gravatar
Neil C.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/23/2022
Verified Review

Kona - 5 Star Vehicle that can’t deliver

Everything about the EV Kona is first class, except what matters most to me, the battery range. Advertised at 250-300 miles per charge, the reality is that during the summer and winter, when the A/C or the heat is needed on a long journey, the actual mileage maxes out at about 180 miles. The meant that a 4 hour trip turned into a 5 + hour trip and this was repeated on the return journey. You are also at the mercy of the charging stations working and being available when your battery is under 20%. Everything else about the EV Kona was great. EV manufacturers have to be honest with consumers because the reality is much different to the advertising.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TH
gravatar
TERRY H.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/13/2022
Verified Review

On my second one in 18 months

First one had to to be taken back by Hyundai after 4,000 miles due to defective battery which they could not get replaced. The latest on has had the Regen-transmission fail at 13,000 miles and will take 2 or more weeks to get part and replace.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MK
gravatar
MATTHEW K.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/01/2022
Verified Review

First Hyundai, Likely Not Last

This is my first Hyundai, and first electric vehicle, and it has exceeded almost all of my expectations. It's big enough for most of my needs, does well in the winter, and like all electric vehicle, it is FAST. I genuinely wish I considered Hyundai sooner in the electric car search.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CA
gravatar
CONNIE A.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/30/2022
Verified Review

It is a great car for around town.

The eKona is fast off the blocks and drives very smoothly. Safety warnings are excellent and vision it good. Very comfortable for a smaller person and seat fits me well. Lack of a spare and high road noise on the freeway makes it less than perfect for long road trips. For my purposes mileage is good and it meets most of my needs.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CW
gravatar
CAROL W.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2022
Verified Review

Hyundai Kona EV

The only problem I have is the cold air coming in through closed vents in the winter. Obviously I'd like a longer mileage range for road trips. Otherwise, I love this car. The collision warning is a bit annoying.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

US
gravatar
UTISA S.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/04/2022
Verified Review

Powerful and Sturdy

I am glad that I made a right decision long before the gas price went up. I feel free from relying on the gas. I have my Solar system at home. That works things out great👍 My next vehicle would Hyundai too.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MS
gravatar
MICHAEL S.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/04/2022
Verified Review

EV engine died and needed to be replaced after having the car for less than 1 year.

EV engine died and needed to be replaced after having the car for less than 1 year. EV engine died and needed to be replaced after having the car for less than 1 year. EV engine died and needed to be replaced after having the car for less than 1 year.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/09/2022 07:34 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Michael. We have passed along your survey comments to your case manager. They will be in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

KG
gravatar
KELLY G.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/01/2022
Verified Review

Love it!

I have had my Kona EV for a year and absolutely love it. It is stylish and comfortable. Charging is easy to do and very cost effective. The car is roomy enough for me, but I’m petite. The heated seats were great in the winter and allowed me to use less heat thus making the charge longer lasting. A full charge in the summer goes about 325 miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SP
gravatar
STEPHEN P.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/26/2022
Verified Review

Kona Ev

it’s a peppy car that is OK. I’m 6’2” and the center counsel is a major issue. It interferes with my knee when I’m driving. Fun to drive until my knee bothers me. I wanted base model but dealer forced me into mid model.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
JAMES S.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/20/2022
Verified Review

Fun, comfort and value

This Kona is my second ALL electric car. Love the range I have for every day driving and don’t worry about longer trips with DC charging on the road. FUN, best describes the driving experience. Love the regenerating braking and full stop assist with the steering wheel paddle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MV
gravatar
MARGARET V.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/16/2022
Verified Review

Kona Electric

Love it. Fun and useful. Great space. Great looking. Not bothered by the huge increase in gas prices this year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
Jeremy S.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/09/2022
Verified Review

Great car, EXCEEDED expectations except....

360 digress cameras and wireless carplay are unacceptable at this price point. 360 digress cameras and wireless carplay are unacceptable at this price point. 360 digress cameras and wireless carplay are unacceptable at this price point
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EC
gravatar
ERIC C.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/08/2022
Verified Review

Hyundai KONA EV: Be Forewarned - Faulty Electrical Batteries, DON'T BUY OR LEASE

These cars have SERIOUS issues with the electrical battery. After having the car for one year, the battery died and had to be towed to the dealer. Car was at dealership for three weeks and reportedly a new battery was installed. Car is back at dealership less than a month later with more issues with the battery. Save yourself time, energy, money and frustration and look for another car manufacturer.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/08/2022 10:49 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Eric. We have created a case and assigned it to one of our corporate representatives, Jordan, who will be in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

DB
gravatar
DEBBIE B.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/07/2022
Verified Review

Best option in my price range for an all-electric car

I never really considered Hyundai until I started shopping for an all-electric car. There was nothing else out there in my price range that offered the battery range and other features I wanted. My husband purchased a Hyundai Kona Electric the year before and was very happy with it so I went to our local Hyundai dealer to talk to them and see. I was pleasantly surprised at Hyundai’s offerings in general and really warmed up to the idea of driving a Kona Electric, which I ended up leasing for three years. Now I am really glad that I did because I am enjoying the car and when people ask me what I think about it I tell them I love It! I especially love not paying the crazy prices for gasoline these days.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GF
gravatar
GARY F.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/06/2022
Verified Review

Good commute car but needs improvement

It’s a good zippy car for short commute only. Not an ideal car for long commute as the leg room is very limited. Cargo space is also very limited. Limited seat adjustment, it won’t improve the seat ergonomics.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/06/2022 10:27 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Gary. For mechanical concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

RR
gravatar
RICHARD R.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/05/2022
Verified Review

Great ride!

The Kona Electric is a superb vehicle for this moment. Great size (not too big or small), very comfortable to be in, and as an electric is both QUICK and relatively cheap to fuel (long term, certainly). I have a few small issues with the dash, but overall it's smartly laid out. Overall it's the most fun, useful and comfy car I've owned.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SE
gravatar
SIM E.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2022
Verified Review

My 2021 Electric Hyundai Kona

The Hyundai Kona Electric fits all our needs. Great for runs around town and good for road trips (we have done two). The interface the the phones (I have a Samsung, my Wife has an iPhone) works seamlessly when wired. Like all electric cars, it has great acceleration and the extra weight of the battery glues you to the road. Very comfortable seating. I would only fault its ride (short wheelbase-bouncy) and minimal storage behind the front seats.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JULIAN G.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2022
Verified Review

Further than expected

This is a vehicle you fall in love to. The way it feels driving is amazing. It is very responsive. Quietness when you are in the interior. It is difficult to drive a different vehicle now. EV made possible having great power with economy and confotability.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BB
gravatar
BORIS B.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/23/2022
Verified Review

Great small crossover EV

Kona EV is a great small crossover EV. Excellent range, performance, drivability. Good technology, safety features. Good fronn seating. Exceptionally convenient front charging port. Rear legroom too small. Trunk is way too small. No USB and reading lights in the back. Needs better headlights. Needs wireless Android Auto
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MF
gravatar
MARY F.
2021 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2022
Verified Review

Great small car with a ton of pep!

The EV market is still relatively small and the affordable EV market is even smaller. The Kona EV is a great little car that looks great, drives well and has all the items you want/need in a new car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 177 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Genesis Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Lee Johnson Hyundai of Everett
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(120 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(43) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Car Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
Parkway Hyundai
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(48 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(18) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Henderson Hyundai Superstore
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(171 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(55) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Hyundai Orchard Park
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(3868 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(56) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Car Dealer
  • Car Maintenance
Hiley Hyundai Of Burleson
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(92 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Flow Hyundai Of Statesville
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(152 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(33) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Duncan Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1583 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(55) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Steele Hyundai New Braunfels
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(42 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(9) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Hamilton Hyundai Chambersburg
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(3840 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(74) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Gosch Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(3502 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(112) ReScores