Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai Kona EV

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(79 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(79 Reviews)

LH
gravatar
LORRAINE H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/12/2022
Verified Review

Grat value for an EV

I feel fortunate to have found a Kona that was available for purchase. It was priced right, fun and easy to drive, came with free charging for three years and has an incredible maintenance program like no other. Plus, I'm helping the environment, which is important to me.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

VN
gravatar
VISHAL N.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/10/2022
Verified Review

Good

Service is really good.....................................................................................................................................................................................
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PM
gravatar
PAUL M.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/04/2022
Verified Review

Great Car - if it worked

Purchased a new 2022 Kona EV and was delighted with it - until an 'electric vehicle system fault' appeared at just under 3,000 miles. Upon taking it to the dealer, I was told it needed an entire new main EV battery, and have now been waiting for a solid month with no estimate of when a battery will arrive or when I will get the vehicle back. Am grateful for the rental car I have been provided, but extremely disappointed overall. Would like the EV that I paid over $40,000 for, or at least some information about when I can expect it back.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/05/2022 10:00 AM
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

TH
gravatar
THOMAS H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/23/2022
Verified Review

Great drive, responsive and quick, excellent range

This is one of the best electric vehicles for the price and range. Somewhat short on storage space and Headroom, but super Zippy and responsive with excellent range. Great safety and driving features.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LC
gravatar
LISSETTE C.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/22/2022
Verified Review

Quick little hatchback

Great little starter ev. It is fun to drive and competes with the model 3. The car is compact, but makes a great commuter car. Android auto is amazing! Acceleration is superb and has many standard safety features, which are great if you drive a lot.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SB
gravatar
SHARON B.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2022
Verified Review

So fun! I'll never go back to gas.

This car is a joy to drive. Fast, cute and lots of gadgets. I absolutely love it. Now they're requiring 200 characters. No. Just no. Now they're requiring 200 characters. No. Just no. Now they're requiring 200 characters. No. Just no.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MS
gravatar
MICHELE S.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/17/2022
Verified Review

Fun to drive

I really like my Kona ev. It’s fun to drive, easy to charge, and comfortable. I would have given it 5 stars if it would have come equipped with certain features that my previous car had, but they weren’t available in either trim. They weren’t deal breakers, but would have been nice
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JC
gravatar
JUNG-WEI C.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/16/2022
Verified Review

good car

save money on gas, good drive, very quiet, Had sports car mode which is fun when you need some power, but the battery is broken in one year mark, that was so sad, the worse thing is the dealer took long time to find out what is the problem.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SH
gravatar
STEVEN H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/10/2022
Verified Review

Kona electric is great

We purchased the Kona Eletric because we were looking to get a new car looked and Tesla, Ford and Kia all were ok but the Kona gave us the best distance for the money. The features are great also. Our biggest selling point was the distance you can go on a charge. The other is that I travel about 1500 miles a month and it costs $40.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
Samuel M.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/09/2022

Wonderful vehicle... but broke down at 1200 miles.

I purchased a brand new 2022 Kona Electric in May 2022. I had a new job that would require a lot of driving, and figured it would be smart to go fully electric, while I wanted an SUV for my family. At 2 months, and less than 1500 miles, I got a notification telling me to "CHECK ELECTRIC VEHICLE SYSTEM." I brought it into a dealership, where they did not seem to have any idea how to handle the issue. It took them almost two weeks to finally decide - the vehicle needed a brand new battery. However, the batteries are on a national backorder, and they don't know when I'll be able to get a new one. So now, despite leveraging my financial future for a brand new Hyundai, I am stuck paying for gas, driving a vehicle that doesn't suit my family, with no estimate on when I might be able to get that new car back. And when I do get it back, who knows how long it will run for this time, before requiring service again. Service that Hyundai doesn't seem to yet be equipped to provide. While driving it, I loved it. Excellent vehicle, safe, smooth, incredible comfortable. But unfortunately, I can't recommend it to anyone, and had to warn other potential buyers - UNTIL HYUNDAI SOLVES ITS BATTERY ISSUES, DO NOT INVEST IN THIS VEHICLE. Worth noting as well - Hyundai boasts world class customer care. They have great *systems* in place for customer care - I immediately got a callback, and a reference number. But past that point, it's VERY difficult to get in touch with them.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

UC
gravatar
ULYANIN C.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/02/2022
Verified Review

Love my Kona

This is my first EV and so far I'm impressed! I assumed I'd have to drive slowly to ensure a decent range but this car is still zippy and fun to drive while having a great range. My husband drives an Ioniq5 and though he has shorter charging times for a similar range, my kw/h are consistently higher!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AC
gravatar
ANDREW C.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/02/2022
Verified Review

Great EV, Comfortable Car

The Kona is an efficient EV, getting as much as 5 miles per KWHr when keeping to 60 mph or below (over 300 mile range!), and about 4 miles per KWHr cruising at 70 mph (about 256 miles). On long trips DC fast chargers from Electrify America are easy to find and at convenient locations like Sheetz and WalMart that make for pleasant breaks. Charging speed makes breaks similar in length to stops I take in gas powered cars when I stop for restroom, to walk a bit, and maybe get something to eat. Most charging is done at home of course, but on trips it is easy to do and fairly quick. The Kona Limited is well appointed, very comfortable and has nice "extra" features like heated steering wheel, ventilated seats (heat and cool) and smart cruise is really smart. Controls have real buttons so are easy to get to quickly, don't have to navigate screen menus to find basic controls like fan and temperature. Would be nice to have a subwoofer but audio sounds great. Doesn't have any frunk storage, would be helpful to put mobile charger in a frunk rather than under floor in the back which is inconvenient if suitcases or other stuff are back there. Bought a 40amp after-market charger for use at home and away (such as at hotels or other locations that just have an outlet, not a charger) but takes up space when traveling and is inconvenient to juggle with luggage since there is no frunk.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CC
gravatar
CARISSA C.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/01/2022
Verified Review

Mostly Awesome

Overall I love the car and I love driving it. It is great for city traffic! I wish the system had less bugs and the starting battery wasn't an issue. I would like to continue leasing with Hyundai but I definitely need to change vehicles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SB
gravatar
SCOTT B.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/31/2022
Verified Review

I LOVE it!

I had stopped in to get a seat belt tensioner looked at and saw the new electric vehicle. I test drove it and had to have it. I drove home with it. The sales process was very simple and quick. I was even given a credit for charging with electrify America.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MC
gravatar
MITCHELL C.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/27/2022
Verified Review

Nice enough vehicle.

I'm happy with the vehicle. It has all the safety features I care for. It sits low enough for me wife to easily get in and out of (she's confined to a wheelchair. I can fit my upright bass in the car with no problem.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ZT
gravatar
ZANE T.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/25/2022
Verified Review

Fine

I just wanted the battery to have more range and be taken more seriously in the design. A range of 400 should be what is done and a swap should happen. Wireless Apple CarPlay also would be nice and a simple add on to get done.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MW
gravatar
MATTHEW W.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/19/2022
Verified Review

Love the car

Enjoying so far. Fun to drive. Great acceleration. Easy to charge and set charging times. Pretty comfortable inside for a compact car. I am 6 2 and fit just fine. Really like the easiness of use of infotainment
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AN
gravatar
AUSTIN N.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/19/2022
Verified Review

Love this car!

I have enjoyed every minute of owning this car. Everything feels so convenient, safe, and fun to use. For all the things it comes with it is a great cost as well. Buying process was super easy as well!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AH
gravatar
ALEXANDER H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/17/2022
Verified Review

Great EV Hatchback

This car is quick and efficient. The features are excellent for a car of this size. The auto driving features are solid, though guidance is always a good idea. I would love to see more range as they make changes in this car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
JULIE B.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/17/2022
Verified Review

Love my electric car!

This is our first experience with an electric vehicle and we are enjoying it very much. In my area there are not a lot of charging stations available so I have to be mindful of this when going out of town.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 62 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Burlington Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(3113 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(26) ReScores