Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai Kona EV

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(79 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(79 Reviews)

Reviews


BK
gravatar
BILAL K.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/17/2021
Verified Review

After 2 weeks of buying a brand new car it broke

After 1000 miles and 3 weeks of buying a new Kona electric , I had to take it for repair of the electric system , lots of resistance to provide a loaner ( due to covid ), it is almost a week and still did not hear from the dealer , I called once , they don’t know what is wrong yet. Don’t buy Hyundai ! I thought they are reliable cars, but I regret it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AU
gravatar
Al U.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/28/2021

Nice car, if it actually charges properly

I was very excited when I bought this car in August, but then the next day I took it to my work's charging stations and it stops charging (by itself) after just a few minutes. This happens every time I plug it in there, but other cars charge perfectly fine on those exact chargers. The dealership can't figure out what's wrong and Hyundai Corp is being a complete pain. Additional CONS -Apple car play disconnects after using it for 30-40 minutes (Hyundai says they are working with Apple but don't know when it will be fixed) -Lower back hurts after sitting in the car for a little over an hour. My old Hyundai Elantra was comfortable so I don't know why the seats are so uncomfortable on long drives. -The artificial noise that plays outside your car when you drive under 25mph is kind of annoying. But if you have the music loud enough, it drowns it out. -Interior materials are pretty basic -Trunk space isn't very big -If you have people sitting in the back seats, there won't be that much leg room Pros -Fun to drive -Nice safety features -Looks pretty cool Long story short: If I was actually sold a 2022 Kona that charged properly, I probably would give 3.5-4 stars. But my car doesn't charge properly and Hyundai isn't trying to fix it, therefore their car and horrible service deserve 1 star.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

NM
gravatar
NELSON M.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/04/2022
Verified Review

Battery broke down!

Battery broke down while charging the battery at a charging station, the car was not even a month old!!! I has to take it to the dealership, 9 days have passed and still no word from them. Although they gave me a loaner (car) the car they gave me makes 30 MPG, so I’m not only paying a high monthly payment but I am also paying a lot for gas, it’s totally unacceptable.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/04/2022 12:45 PM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Nelson. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

PM
gravatar
PAUL M.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/04/2022
Verified Review

Great Car - if it worked

Purchased a new 2022 Kona EV and was delighted with it - until an 'electric vehicle system fault' appeared at just under 3,000 miles. Upon taking it to the dealer, I was told it needed an entire new main EV battery, and have now been waiting for a solid month with no estimate of when a battery will arrive or when I will get the vehicle back. Am grateful for the rental car I have been provided, but extremely disappointed overall. Would like the EV that I paid over $40,000 for, or at least some information about when I can expect it back.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/05/2022 10:00 AM
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

EB
gravatar
ELI B.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/29/2021
Verified Review

car is tiny, has no spare tire and doesnt charge very fast at public stations.

First of all, the car is way small and cant fit a full sized adult in that back seat. The trunk cannt fit a Bob Stroller without putting the seats down. not enough room for a car seat behind either front seat and actually sit in the front comfortably. THERE IS NO SPARE TIRE! A SPARE TIRE CANT FIT IN THE TRUNK OF THE EV MODEL.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MR
gravatar
Michael R.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
05/05/2022

Charging Wires Not Wired Correctly

It's important to have working charging in an electric car. Ours has been to the dealership twice to fix it. Even though it's free, Hyundai doesn't offer loaner cars so it leaves us without a car. Very frustrating.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EH
gravatar
ELIZABETH H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/30/2022
Verified Review

Charging problems

With in 2 weeks of buying this new car got a notice alert in my dash, took it to the dealership and now the car wont charge per technician and I am still waiting for the part since 6/21/22 and it’s now 6/30/22 I don’t know how much longer I need to wait.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
Samuel M.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/09/2022

Wonderful vehicle... but broke down at 1200 miles.

I purchased a brand new 2022 Kona Electric in May 2022. I had a new job that would require a lot of driving, and figured it would be smart to go fully electric, while I wanted an SUV for my family. At 2 months, and less than 1500 miles, I got a notification telling me to "CHECK ELECTRIC VEHICLE SYSTEM." I brought it into a dealership, where they did not seem to have any idea how to handle the issue. It took them almost two weeks to finally decide - the vehicle needed a brand new battery. However, the batteries are on a national backorder, and they don't know when I'll be able to get a new one. So now, despite leveraging my financial future for a brand new Hyundai, I am stuck paying for gas, driving a vehicle that doesn't suit my family, with no estimate on when I might be able to get that new car back. And when I do get it back, who knows how long it will run for this time, before requiring service again. Service that Hyundai doesn't seem to yet be equipped to provide. While driving it, I loved it. Excellent vehicle, safe, smooth, incredible comfortable. But unfortunately, I can't recommend it to anyone, and had to warn other potential buyers - UNTIL HYUNDAI SOLVES ITS BATTERY ISSUES, DO NOT INVEST IN THIS VEHICLE. Worth noting as well - Hyundai boasts world class customer care. They have great *systems* in place for customer care - I immediately got a callback, and a reference number. But past that point, it's VERY difficult to get in touch with them.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RF
gravatar
RONALD F.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/12/2021
Verified Review

Kona EV

Overall I do like the vehicle. I wish it had more interior leg room for the rear seats though. And I wish the interior surfaces were nicer to the touch. Feels pretty brittle with all of the plastic surfaces.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
gravatar
Jade T.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/22/2021
Verified Review

Sub compact SUB Kona EV

It is a small hatchback, but better styling than most hatchbacks out there. Just wishing for larger door to get in and out, more space in the trunk to at least fit 2 regular luggage, and a bit higher ground clearance. The humming and buzzing can be distracting too but get the music on and won't hear the buzzing when driving. Fun little car. Expensive though
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RI
gravatar
ROLAN I.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/02/2021
Verified Review

One of the top affordable EVs.

One of the best looking affordable EVs plus being in the SUV category. Not quite an SUV but sits higher than a sedan/hatch. Has a nice set of standard features like wireless android auto and lane assistance. Should have standard LED headlights and taillights if safety is priority.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

FE
gravatar
Frank E.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/13/2021

Great Vehicle - would recommend

My Kona is excellent to drive. Powerful fast starting from stop. Great on hills and mountain roads. I would like a little more leg room (3")especially for the rear passengers. I believe that if there was a little more insulation in the roof and doors it will greatly dampen the road and wind noise. But I would but it again.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ZM
gravatar
ZACHARY M.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/16/2021
Verified Review

Easy-to-adopt EV

The Kona makes transitioning to an EV simple - it looks and feels like a "normal" car, except it's quicker, quieter, and smoother. It's compact enough to fit anywhere, but it has enough interior space for everyday needs. Realistically it's more of a large hatchback than a small SUV. The interior is comfortable and the control layout is generally intuitive. Performance-wise, the lack of tire grip is the only concern, so you'll need to change those out to take advantage of the electric motor's instant torque.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WK
gravatar
WILLIAM K.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/05/2021
Verified Review

needs a wireless connection for maps on the Limited

when I purchased the 2022 Kona Electric I test drove the SE (8.5 inch) & the Limited (10 inch) (only 2 models available in the USA). I test drove the SE first, I noticed that Andriod Auto would connect completely with google maps, without the USB cable needing to be connected. In the limited, there is a limited "Bluetooth" function until you plug in a USB cable. Both the salesperson and sales manager stated that an update coming will make the Limited wireless like the SE as well with android auto. where and when is this? I have less than 3000 miles on the car - I do not drive off-road and there are already plenty of paint chips on the front of the car... why do you pay $400 more for plain white?
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MH
gravatar
MARK H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/28/2021
Verified Review

xdf

r3w5jryjtyy,gudtgmfymrthstfshshetjetk rt th tjrjrjhmfyrjryrdyddrtjryyrd 4eryhrj rj jrejrr ryj jrjr jreurydry ry jeryrd dy hk 5j dr rf u ru rk t ktktu tk 6r d yfkdtyktkt ktk trk ti r re6e6u5ei
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MR
gravatar
MICHAEL R.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/05/2022
Verified Review

Great car. Room for improvement.

Overall, the Hyundai Kona EV is a very good electric vehicle. The range of roughly 230 miles is just enough. The car handles very well, is quiet and comfortable. Needs a roof rack and better rear design.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JONE G.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/26/2022
Verified Review

2022 Kona EV

It is very fun to drive. looks sleek. Accelerates fast and smooth. Milage range could be better. Cargo space needs some adjustment- back seats do not fold down flat. It folds with some angle. Overall, it is great vehicle to have and save a lot on GAS !
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JE
gravatar
JESSICA E.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/09/2022
Verified Review

Overall great performance, some features are annoying

We love driving EVs, and this one is no exception. It handles well, pickup is quick and smooth, and it's a really quiet ride. And Hyundai just missed on some of the features. The charger locks in the port, and it took us a bunch of trial and error to figure out how to get it out. You get out of the car, and the rear doors lock before you have a chance to get your stuff (or the kids). Having the key in your pocket makes no difference. Just too many of these little annoying details.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

YC
gravatar
YING MING C.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/26/2022
Verified Review

Fun to drive EV

Good Overall but the dealer was making up the price. Either you want it at this price or walk away. Car was fun to drive. Sufficient range with size of battery. I cannot tell the car is heavy at this curb weight. Option to One Paddle Driving is Great. But i don't understand why headlight has to separate from the LED DRL. Can't they integrate into one to make it look nicer and save cost?
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DN
gravatar
DENNIS N.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/11/2022
Verified Review

Kona EV review

Very happy with my purchase. I love the car and I love Hyundai's. My one issue is the adaptive cruise control. I purchased the convenience package hoping to use it and it's not available. Other than that I have no issues with the car
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 62 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Auto Repair
Patterson Hyundai Tyler
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(618 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(45) ReScores