Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai Kona EV

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5
4.3
(37 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5
4.3
(37 Reviews)

MR
gravatar
Michael R.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
05/05/2022

Charging Wires Not Wired Correctly

It's important to have working charging in an electric car. Ours has been to the dealership twice to fix it. Even though it's free, Hyundai doesn't offer loaner cars so it leaves us without a car. Very frustrating.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RL
gravatar
RICHARD L.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2022
Verified Review

Excellent Value, Superior Engineering

This vehicle was hard to get. I shopped a lot. Most dealerships which had the Kona EV were tacking on $5000 “market fee”. The dealer I worked with was fair. They gave me the sticker price. The value for the money is superior! Very satisfied.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JE
gravatar
JOAN E.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/26/2022
Verified Review

A delightful vehicle!

This is my first EV and so far am loving it. I hope that in the not too distant future, more DC charging stations will become available so that long distance trips will be not as worrisome. Even Level 2 takes a bit of time when you are on the road.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GM
gravatar
GEOFFREY M.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/20/2022
Verified Review

In this tough EV market, I leased a wonderful small SUV as our 2nd car. Dealership did a great job helping me find that car.

In this tough EV market, I leased a wonderful small SUV as our 2nd car. Handsome looking, well built, quiet, sporty and economical. Large enough for a senior to get in and out of easily. Overall this Kona met and exceeded everything I was looking for in a new electric vehicle. Dealer rep. did a great job of helping me find the right car and lease program.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JE
gravatar
JESSICA E.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/09/2022
Verified Review

Overall great performance, some features are annoying

We love driving EVs, and this one is no exception. It handles well, pickup is quick and smooth, and it's a really quiet ride. And Hyundai just missed on some of the features. The charger locks in the port, and it took us a bunch of trial and error to figure out how to get it out. You get out of the car, and the rear doors lock before you have a chance to get your stuff (or the kids). Having the key in your pocket makes no difference. Just too many of these little annoying details.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CH
gravatar
COLIN H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/06/2022
Verified Review

Very Fun Vehicle

Was looking at getting an EV for a few months now. My life driving patterns changed to be short trips around the islands and this is perfect for it. Charge at work, only have to do it once a week, get's around 250 from 80% charge and it's wonderful. Wish it was a little bigger in the interior.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KR
gravatar
KIM R.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2022
Verified Review

I love this car

My Kona EV has great range and i am able to drive it to most of my destinations. It is so fun to drive that eryone in my household wants to drive my car. It s very stylish, had amazing safety features and is a great value for the money. The warranty is second to none, including a 10 year battery warranty. I couldnt be happier with my Hyundai Kona.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JONE G.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/26/2022
Verified Review

2022 Kona EV

It is very fun to drive. looks sleek. Accelerates fast and smooth. Milage range could be better. Cargo space needs some adjustment- back seats do not fold down flat. It folds with some angle. Overall, it is great vehicle to have and save a lot on GAS !
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MR
gravatar
MICHAEL R.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/05/2022
Verified Review

Great car. Room for improvement.

Overall, the Hyundai Kona EV is a very good electric vehicle. The range of roughly 230 miles is just enough. The car handles very well, is quiet and comfortable. Needs a roof rack and better rear design.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MH
gravatar
MARK H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/28/2021
Verified Review

xdf

r3w5jryjtyy,gudtgmfymrthstfshshetjetk rt th tjrjrjhmfyrjryrdyddrtjryyrd 4eryhrj rj jrejrr ryj jrjr jreurydry ry jeryrd dy hk 5j dr rf u ru rk t ktktu tk 6r d yfkdtyktkt ktk trk ti r re6e6u5ei
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SH
gravatar
STEVEN H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/10/2021
Verified Review

Electric is very surprising

This car has met more than expectations. Easy to charge easy to drive and does grade on the road. Great on the pocketbook and saving on fuel. If you’re looking for an entry-level electric vehicle is a great car. You’re a good range, comfort is good, and a good solid product
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WK
gravatar
WILLIAM K.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/05/2021
Verified Review

needs a wireless connection for maps on the Limited

when I purchased the 2022 Kona Electric I test drove the SE (8.5 inch) & the Limited (10 inch) (only 2 models available in the USA). I test drove the SE first, I noticed that Andriod Auto would connect completely with google maps, without the USB cable needing to be connected. In the limited, there is a limited "Bluetooth" function until you plug in a USB cable. Both the salesperson and sales manager stated that an update coming will make the Limited wireless like the SE as well with android auto. where and when is this? I have less than 3000 miles on the car - I do not drive off-road and there are already plenty of paint chips on the front of the car... why do you pay $400 more for plain white?
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ZM
gravatar
ZACHARY M.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/16/2021
Verified Review

Easy-to-adopt EV

The Kona makes transitioning to an EV simple - it looks and feels like a "normal" car, except it's quicker, quieter, and smoother. It's compact enough to fit anywhere, but it has enough interior space for everyday needs. Realistically it's more of a large hatchback than a small SUV. The interior is comfortable and the control layout is generally intuitive. Performance-wise, the lack of tire grip is the only concern, so you'll need to change those out to take advantage of the electric motor's instant torque.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AH
gravatar
ALEXANDER H.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/15/2021
Verified Review

Kona Review

We bought the Kona electric as a short term replacement car but really like it and plan on keeping it for a long time. It is not as flashy or as fast as my Ludicrous Performance Tesla Model S but it is still great compared to any ICE vehicle. The battery gauge is amazingly accurate. (Tesla and others are overly optimistic) Range is good. Charges with Electrify America or EV Go but mostly we use Level 2 in the garage.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AP
gravatar
AUGUSTO P.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2021
Verified Review

fun good ev car

nice ev car. all gadgets and options but indications in the windshield (cockpit style) not available. all in all a great option and headlights (iron man style) awesome. ideally would be the best if had some kind of lane changing option.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

FE
gravatar
Frank E.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/13/2021

Great Vehicle - would recommend

My Kona is excellent to drive. Powerful fast starting from stop. Great on hills and mountain roads. I would like a little more leg room (3")especially for the rear passengers. I believe that if there was a little more insulation in the roof and doors it will greatly dampen the road and wind noise. But I would but it again.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AW
gravatar
ALETA W.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/10/2021
Verified Review

Waited several years for an affordable ecar

I have been waiting for the market to begin saturating with ecars for over 5 years. I am a climate reality trained leader and know that fossil fuels lead directly to climate change. I support the move to clean energy and my money where my mouth is. I love this fun little zippy and affordable car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RI
gravatar
ROLAN I.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/02/2021
Verified Review

One of the top affordable EVs.

One of the best looking affordable EVs plus being in the SUV category. Not quite an SUV but sits higher than a sedan/hatch. Has a nice set of standard features like wireless android auto and lane assistance. Should have standard LED headlights and taillights if safety is priority.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EB
gravatar
ELI B.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/29/2021
Verified Review

car is tiny, has no spare tire and doesnt charge very fast at public stations.

First of all, the car is way small and cant fit a full sized adult in that back seat. The trunk cannt fit a Bob Stroller without putting the seats down. not enough room for a car seat behind either front seat and actually sit in the front comfortably. THERE IS NO SPARE TIRE! A SPARE TIRE CANT FIT IN THE TRUNK OF THE EV MODEL.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AU
gravatar
Al U.
2022 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/28/2021

Nice car, if it actually charges properly

I was very excited when I bought this car in August, but then the next day I took it to my work's charging stations and it stops charging (by itself) after just a few minutes. This happens every time I plug it in there, but other cars charge perfectly fine on those exact chargers. The dealership can't figure out what's wrong and Hyundai Corp is being a complete pain. Additional CONS -Apple car play disconnects after using it for 30-40 minutes (Hyundai says they are working with Apple but don't know when it will be fixed) -Lower back hurts after sitting in the car for a little over an hour. My old Hyundai Elantra was comfortable so I don't know why the seats are so uncomfortable on long drives. -The artificial noise that plays outside your car when you drive under 25mph is kind of annoying. But if you have the music loud enough, it drowns it out. -Interior materials are pretty basic -Trunk space isn't very big -If you have people sitting in the back seats, there won't be that much leg room Pros -Fun to drive -Nice safety features -Looks pretty cool Long story short: If I was actually sold a 2022 Kona that charged properly, I probably would give 3.5-4 stars. But my car doesn't charge properly and Hyundai isn't trying to fix it, therefore their car and horrible service deserve 1 star.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 27 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Sterling Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1719 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(76) ReScores