2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(1028 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MA
MARK A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/04/2019
Decent vehicle
This is a decent vehicle, it rides well. It is good on gas. Stereo system is very good. I only have a couple of issues, not a lot of room in the back seat for more than 2 people and when I back up and then place in drive it will sputter.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Mark F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2019
Hyundai Kona
This is my 5th Hyundai in my family. I went from a Durango to a Sonata to a Kona. My wife has had 2 Elantras, and when my son as ready for a new car we got him an Elantra. We have been extremely happy with our Hyundai's. I can move bags of top soil and mulch in the spring with no problem. The car runs well, and gets great gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KIMBERLEE B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/30/2019
Love this car
This is a cute fun cafe that I leased. My last car was a Hyundai Elantra GT. The Kona is a bit bigger and has newer upgrades than the Elantra. I love that it is a smaller crossover and the sporty style.

Pros
Too many to list

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Margaret A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2019
Great safety features
Kkona is a great crossover SUV. Has a very modern appearance, and interior is up-to-date with computer screen. Great car fo rmoney well spent. Hyundai really makes a wonderful car.
that I enjoy drivinfg

Pros
Features are great. I especially like all the safety features tires

Cons
Would like wore space in trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HJ
Howard J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/22/2019
kona Review
It's my wife's car she chose the Kona for it's size, color, appearance and drivability. I find it hard to believe but, more than once, strangers in a super market parking lot have complimented us on our "cute little car" I Insisted on the safety package which was a REALLY GOOD decision. It has paid for itself a number of times in different ways.

Pros
It could use some more inside storage space--like the console, the glove compartment, etc.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
GINA D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2019
Hyundai Kona is perfect for anyone wanting an SUV, but doesn't need a big gas guzzler.
I love this vehicle! I've purchased nothing but Hyundai's since 2001 and I will likely be a lifer. I've owned an Elantra, 2 Tucson's and now my Kona. This is by far my favorite. It has such a sporty feel, but has enough space for my 3 person family and gets amazing gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2019
My 3rd Hyundai. Always
Love my Kona. Like most is the all wheel drive, otherwise its in front wheel drive. Great for gas mileage. Like the warranty. Always had good luck with the company. Dont see too many Kona’s on the road.

Pros
Gas mileage, reliable, easy to get in and out. Color (blue with black trim)

Cons
Kind of stiff suspension. Not too comfortable. Its a SUV

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Alethea C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/19/2019
Trading it in for a goldfish
I don’t like my Kona as much as I thought I did just a yr old headlights stops working and cigarette chargers all stopped working to charge I’m my vehicle and it’s just to small after all. Trading it in for a goldfish.

Pros
I like the CarPlay I like the front of how the car looks

Cons
Horrible customer service and no snacks while waiting for your car to be service. I have taken my family cars to get service EX.... ford, Kia, Honda and they have snacks and juices in addition to bottled waters and free WIFI. Hyundai only had water coffee and WiFi. Smh! But their staff had boxes of chicken with sides as they all ran around eating as customers waited hours for there cars to be serviced. Shame and Sad!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/19/2019
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

PV
PETER V.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
Hyundai Kona
I really like this vehicle. It's Small, but the seats are roomy and it's easy to get in and out. I actually picked this model because my Mom (age 95) was able to get in and out easily even though she uses a walker. The headroom is good. My only complaint is there is not much rear legroom. The car gets good fuel economy - about 24 in town and 30 on the highway. Acceleration is decent (I'd actually like it to be a little quicker) and there's a manual shift mode and sport mode. Steering and braking are very good. The screen display works with android and apple phones. I'm really impressed with using Google Maps on my phone for navigation. Safety features include rear view camera, blind spot warning, and all-wheel drive. The car seems well made and good quality.

Pros
Quality, features

Cons
Rear legroom

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Thipwan W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
After. First year of owning Kona
My Kona I wish it had Blue Link we miss it. We are unhappy for not getting Blue link when we purchased car. The car is very comfortable when driving long distance. The tailgate is hard to keep clean The rest of the car stays spotless I don’t know why. The armrest seems a little small side with two people trying to use it it’s impossible. We were in a friends Tucson. The Tucson is the same problem the corner has with the armrest.

Pros
It cost us $80.00 dollar in Gas to drive to Venice FL from Plainfield IL.

Cons
The button for up and down Mountains can only be used when car is Stop. That was never explain to us when car was purchased.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
ANDREA L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2019
Great Crossover with a Great Ride
Absolutely love my purchase of the Kona. Even more so when I hear that it is rated so well over all the others in the media. Fun to drive with a great ride for city and country driving. It is fun to drive in the city and even more so when out on the highway.

Pros
Fun fabric that wicks away spills to keep car looking new!

Cons
Wish it had a hidden console in the dash and not open.
Wish it had a moving armrest in the middle for the comfort of the driver

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Jack T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2019
Kona Lover
Ordinarily we would not buy a car on it's first model year but we had a very specific list of needs and wants. We needed adequate driver legroom in a vehicle small enough to fit our garage. We were also looking lost of power a good gas milage. Our 2018 Kona delivered it all. Great tech features, plenty of cabin space and comfort for long trips. Plus, fantastic acceleration and 38+ mpg on the highway with regular gas. Kona is the best compact SUV on the market in its price range!

Pros
Comfort, style, power and fuel economy. Lot of great tech features and leather seats.

Cons
I miss lane departure warning.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
SHERRIE A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2019
fun little car for the SUV beginner
Fun little car. So far has proven its worth. Do not like the small cargo area. Fuel economy is good. Love safety features like the lane change assist and backup cameras. Disappointed that this model did not come with bluelink available.

Pros
AWD available. Lots of features for a little price tag

Cons
small cargo area

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TERRY H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2019
I love my Hyundai kona
Would not trade it in for any reason my husband bought the kona for himself but he can never get me out of it . I am always going to visit family in Illinois I spend all holidays in Illinois and my kona knows the way !

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Connie J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
Good performance and style
I have been impressed with all the features and smooth ride. Has great takeoff but seems to stop on a dime. Handles well. Lot of compliments on the color and look of the car. Look forward to having the car for several years to come

Pros
Good design. Good features inside and out

Cons
Maybe little more room in back seat area when passenger in front wants their seat back for their leg room comfort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CLARENCE D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
Kona
Love my vehicle the way it hugs the road. Music sounds good. Engine quite it just the right size need me a DVD Player though other than that it rides beautiful very good on gas fits my garage
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rafael R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/06/2019
Transmission
I have been complaining about my transmission regarding the shifter.
1-At times is very hard to shift from park to drive.
2- when accelerating is very slow to respond to the need of more speed resulting in stepping on the pedal hard and the RPM gauge goes wildly higher than normal

Pros
Nice looking with AWD. Fun in the winter

Cons
The tires given to me will only last 30k miles. Almost ready for new ones.
MPG falsely advertised

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GN
GLORIA N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/03/2019
HYUNDAI KONA
Glad I purchased the Hyundai Kona 2018 from Wayne Hyundai dealership. It is comfortable driving, gas mileage is great, the transmission switches with no problem, the engine runs smooth. It's easy to operate.

Pros
Great value for the money.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MONICA P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Love my Hyundai
I chose to purchase a 2018 Kona and I love it. Overall styling, handling, and features make this car a pleasure to drive. It is also a great value. Easy and fun to drive. It easily syncs with my iPhone. The visual display is place in the perfect position and is easy to read.

Pros
Easy to handle and fun to drive. Very comfortable interior and stylish exterior. The tech pack in this car is excellent.

Cons
Hatch area is small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NE
Nancy E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
All that I hoped it would be
Comfortable. Fun. Easy to drive. Reliable. Safe. Roomy. Love my Kona!!!! Looked at all comparable vehicles. No contest. This is my third Hyundai. It is all I hoped it would be and I am getting 32 mpg city and highway combined. Could not be happier.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1028 in total