2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(1017 Reviews)
Latest review about 23 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JT
Jack T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2019
Kona Lover
Ordinarily we would not buy a car on it's first model year but we had a very specific list of needs and wants. We needed adequate driver legroom in a vehicle small enough to fit our garage. We were also looking lost of power a good gas milage. Our 2018 Kona delivered it all. Great tech features, plenty of cabin space and comfort for long trips. Plus, fantastic acceleration and 38+ mpg on the highway with regular gas. Kona is the best compact SUV on the market in its price range!

Pros
Comfort, style, power and fuel economy. Lot of great tech features and leather seats.

Cons
I miss lane departure warning.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
SHERRIE A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2019
fun little car for the SUV beginner
Fun little car. So far has proven its worth. Do not like the small cargo area. Fuel economy is good. Love safety features like the lane change assist and backup cameras. Disappointed that this model did not come with bluelink available.

Pros
AWD available. Lots of features for a little price tag

Cons
small cargo area

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TERRY H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2019
I love my Hyundai kona
Would not trade it in for any reason my husband bought the kona for himself but he can never get me out of it . I am always going to visit family in Illinois I spend all holidays in Illinois and my kona knows the way !

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Connie J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
Good performance and style
I have been impressed with all the features and smooth ride. Has great takeoff but seems to stop on a dime. Handles well. Lot of compliments on the color and look of the car. Look forward to having the car for several years to come

Pros
Good design. Good features inside and out

Cons
Maybe little more room in back seat area when passenger in front wants their seat back for their leg room comfort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CLARENCE D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
Kona
Love my vehicle the way it hugs the road. Music sounds good. Engine quite it just the right size need me a DVD Player though other than that it rides beautiful very good on gas fits my garage
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rafael R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/06/2019
Transmission
I have been complaining about my transmission regarding the shifter.
1-At times is very hard to shift from park to drive.
2- when accelerating is very slow to respond to the need of more speed resulting in stepping on the pedal hard and the RPM gauge goes wildly higher than normal

Pros
Nice looking with AWD. Fun in the winter

Cons
The tires given to me will only last 30k miles. Almost ready for new ones.
MPG falsely advertised

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GN
GLORIA N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/03/2019
HYUNDAI KONA
Glad I purchased the Hyundai Kona 2018 from Wayne Hyundai dealership. It is comfortable driving, gas mileage is great, the transmission switches with no problem, the engine runs smooth. It's easy to operate.

Pros
Great value for the money.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MONICA P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Love my Hyundai
I chose to purchase a 2018 Kona and I love it. Overall styling, handling, and features make this car a pleasure to drive. It is also a great value. Easy and fun to drive. It easily syncs with my iPhone. The visual display is place in the perfect position and is easy to read.

Pros
Easy to handle and fun to drive. Very comfortable interior and stylish exterior. The tech pack in this car is excellent.

Cons
Hatch area is small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NE
Nancy E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
All that I hoped it would be
Comfortable. Fun. Easy to drive. Reliable. Safe. Roomy. Love my Kona!!!! Looked at all comparable vehicles. No contest. This is my third Hyundai. It is all I hoped it would be and I am getting 32 mpg city and highway combined. Could not be happier.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Randy E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
2018 Kona
Great small SUV. Love the peppy turbo engine. Design is great. Good gas mileage. Decent cargo space for small SUV. Good quality car. Happy that Hyundai fixed the DCT issue from previous years. I would recommend this SUV

Pros
Handles well, Peppy turbo

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GN
Gloria N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
HYUNDAI KONA
Really enjoy my Hyundai Kona. Made the right decision when purchasing. Even though it's a small SUV it has plenty of room. Would recommend this dealership to friends and family. The service department is excellent.

Pros
Great value for the money.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Carlos F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/01/2019
Fabulous
The only thing I would improve on is the transmission. Not smooth at all and up-shifts unnecessarily quite often, especially when Cruise Control engaged. This reflects on fuel consumption. Overall this is a great vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Larry S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/31/2019
Great Little Car
Having gone through a series of reviews, I'd say the car has met my expectations. It's fast and nimble around the city, capable on less improved roads, versatile, and comfortable. It's both the fastest and the nicest car I've ever owned.

Pros
Ample power and maneuverability makes it easier to tackle urban driving. I find Hyundai's native navigation system to be superior to Google's while driving.

Cons
It has a bit of turbo lag, which occasionally hinders the acceleration when one needs it. The duo clutch can miss its mark at times; I miss driving a manual transmission from time to time. The Android Auto is a nice interface but its limits on sorting music and lack inability to shuffle songs within play lists actually forces me to use my phone rather than the head unit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandra M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2019
Love my car!!!
I love most everything about my Kona!!! This car is fun to drive, gets great gas mileage and has lots of amenities that most consumers require these days. I do wish the trunk were just a bit larger.

Pros
Sporty, great gas mileage, fun to drive

Cons
Trunk is a bit small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DAVID D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2019
Great Price, Great Value, Great Little SUV!
I have a 2018 Hyundai Kona SEL and so far it has been an excellent purchase. I came to the Kona from a Veloster and they are night and day different (as you would expect going from a 'sports car' to an SUV) but I'm happy to say that the Kona easily makes up for the faults I tolerated in the Veloster. The Kona is smooth, quiet, easy to get in/out and the engine is quiet. One of the BIGGEST improvements over the Veloster is the transmission. Both have a dual-clutch transmissions but the one in the Veloster was atrocious... never knew what gear it wanted to be in and at times when there was a sudden hard press of the accelerator, the car would rev up but never go into gear... very dangerous! The Kona does not suffer this gear confusion at all and has a decent amount of acceleration for a small 4-cylinder SUV. Gas mileage has been superior as well.

I give kudos to Hyundai as well for the level of tech that is included on these cars by default. Just a few years back, blind spot monitoring and backup cameras were only available on the highest end models of any cars, now Hyundai includes those and more on a mid-range SUV.

I highly recommend the Hyundai Kona!

Pros
Lots of Tech
Great Fuel Economy
Ease of Entrance/Exit

Cons
Power seats should be included in the SEL model, the manual adjustments available cant make the seat totally comfortable for tall people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mark L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/30/2019
Should have kept my 2017 Elantra Limited
Too much road noise on any type of road - makes it hard to have a conversation with passengers or listen to the radio. Gas mileage is poor even on highway. I had to add to the sound system to get it to send better.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHARLES C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2019
YC
I'm truly loved ,I'm bought Hyund Kona , I'm driving to work everyday, have a lot fun with this new car ,I'm very enjoy it Thanks all of you Hyundai service👍☺️,in feature I'm still will with Hyundai keep touch have good relationship with you guys
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Michael L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/28/2019
I love my Hyundai Kona!
This car has all wheel drive, it almost steers itself, XM radio, heated front seats, very smooth 6-speed automatic transmission and a 2-liter engine. On trips I always average about 35 miles per gallon. This is a calculated number, not what the computer says. When going up a hill the transmission will smoothly shifts from 6th to 5th. Some other cars will shift from 6th to 4th with an abrupt shift. They have essentially a 4-speed with two overdrives. The Kona has a true 6-speed transmission. I love the backup camera, the warning if cars are coming from either side in back and the warning about cars in the "blind spots". For me it's a keeper.

Pros
Lots of options with an MSPR of $25025!

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
NANCY K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/28/2019
I love my Kona!!!
This car is amazing in every way. Everything is thought through, comfortable, and fun. The car gets up and is very safe and smooth. The AWD works like a dream, sport more is so exciting and fun. Plenty of space all around.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PETER B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
Hyundai Kona 2018
Great car. Needs a softer suspension. Rides a little rough. Definitely needs a bolder horn. Can't hear it and it sounds like a bicycle horn. Biggest item needing to be standard is electronic access to the hatchback via an interior button and the key fob. It is considered an upgrade. I have everything you would want electronically in the vehicle. I find it strange electronic access to the hatchback is not standard.

Pros
Great car

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1017 in total