2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1203 Reviews)
Latest review about 18 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JB
JARED B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/03/2020
Began falling apart at 20,000 miles
Antenna snaps off very easily, paint fades quickly, trunk leaks, interior scratches easily. I take pride in my vehicles and took good care of it. The front is pretty and the safety features work well. For the price, it’s fine as a temporary vehicle but I wouldn’t trust it without a good warranty.

Pros
Front is beautiful
Interior is nice
Good safety tech
Nice as a first car, maybe

Cons
Poorly built
Rear is not attractive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARJORIE R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2020
Love my Kona
The Kona is fun to drive, gets good gas mileage for AWD. This car handles great in the snow and ice. The turbo charged engine has plenty of power. Stylish and practical. The cornering lights, backup camera, and blind spot warning are great safety features.

Pros
Stylish
Fun to drive
Great handling in the snow
Safety and headlamps
Blind spot warning and backup camera
Cornering lights

Cons
Small cargo area but that is expected with a subcompact SUV

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
William H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/28/2020
Size matters
I wish car was a little bigger the size of the Tucson The size is especially noticeable in the cargo section and the back seat. I would have like to have gotten the Tucson but I liked the price of the Kona because of my budget. I was also first interested in the electric model.

Pros
Size

Cons
Handles well in all weather

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
John R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2020
Outstanding Vehicle
I have leased my 2018 Kona for more than 2 years now. I have not had any problems with anything. I love the ride and the mileage I get. I would and have recommended the Kona to others. My last car was a Sonata and that also had nothing wrong with it in 3 years. The Kona with four wheel drive is totally awesome and should be looked up to by other car companies as the epitome of excellence.

Pros
The whole car is excellent!

Cons
None that I’ve found.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kay D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/09/2020
I'm over the moon about my perfect, gorgeous car. Love the upholstery too.
What can I say? You can't pry this car away from me. I have previously had Toyotas and this car is every bit as sound and didn't cost as much! It is still under 2 years old but I know it is a sound vehicle.

Pros
I love this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/08/2020
A is great
Too much time on your reviews
AaaaaaaassassassssaassssssssssaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaqaqaaaaaAaaAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaAAaaaAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssaaaaaaaaaasaaaaaaaaaasaaaaaaaasaaaasssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssszssszzssssdsxxzxxxxx

Pros
See above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NF
Natalia F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/06/2020
Fun reliable do ive
Reliable very comfortable exciting car. I have Kona almost for 3 years and it seems to me that I am still excited about this car as I just have had got it. I like exterior and interior, it's not overly big, everything seems just right and it provides safe pleasant drive.

Pros
All what is in it

Cons
N/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Gary G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/06/2020
Great little car
A Great little Car with a lot of value for the price .. The Size and handling makes it great little car around town in stop and go traffic But still has the Speed and stability at 75 miles per Hour on California freeways .. One of the best features is the excellent mileage , My fill ups are usually around 10 gallons at around the 300+ mile range ,

Pros
A great little Vehicle for the price

Cons
A few minor changes in the seats and maybe sound proofind

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
BETTE R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2020
Perfect
The KONA is a classy roomy compact car with good mileage and reliable performance. Perfect size for in town driving and parking, with plenty of pep for highway travel. Its back-up and lane-change warnings are valuable safety features, making it an ideal affordable vehicle.

Pros
Size, price, economy, style, features

Cons
GPS map not as easy to read as my Google android phone.
Black flooring and USB box are difficult to see.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NH
Natalia H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2020
IN LOVE
I’m a very picky person by nature but I always know what I want. I wanted the first car I bought for myself to be a subcompact SUV with leather seats, enough leg room (I’m tall) and some pick up. Oh, and it had to be AFFORDABLE. It took me two years to finally find a car that met my standards and I wouldn’t trade it for anything...except maybe a newer version in a few years! The maintenance has been easy and it’s a ton of fun to drive. The back seats fold down to expand the trunk space, which has been more than useful as a teacher when it’s time to pack up my room at the end of the year. If you’re looking for a vehicle that’s small, yet roomy, fast, and sporty looking with great safety ratings and features, this is definitely the car for you. It may seem silly but even after a year and a half, I still get excited when I walk out of my house and see the car I get to drive.

Pros
Fast, sporty, nice features, reliable

Cons
A little small for a family of five.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2020
The heart of a sports car in a 4-door hatchback
Pure joy to drive with the turbo engine and dual clutch transmission. Excellent gas mileage and plenty of space for two and a dog. Love it and if gets stolen will buy another exactly like it. good looking car, has better ground clearance than other hatchbacks which is important for us with our bad roads.

Pros
Turbo Engine and dual clutch combination is superb

Cons
can't think of a single thing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
STUART F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/23/2020
Great ride in small package
Very well appointed, good driving car. Don’t like large vehicles and this small crossover fits the bill. Quality good. Drive smooth. Have had absolutely no maintenance issues - mechanical or cosmetic.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Kathryn W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/21/2020
It has everything I wanted
I love it! I previously had a luxury sedan (2015 Infiniti Q30) and I decided that I wanted a vehicle that was a little more rugged and practical, yet still sporty and looked nice. I was shopping for a crossover SUV that I could drive on gravel for hiking and carry a bike or kayak on and still look pretty around town. Good mileage, “Pep” powerful motor and a nice feeling interior are all important to me. I first considered the Subaru CrossTrec. Once I drove the Hyundai Kona 1.6Turbo AWD, I was sold!
It has everything I wanted.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
SYLVIA P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/21/2020
I love my car
I feel confident in knowing that my car will take me a long way. I trust my dealership and workers to do all that they can to meet my need. Love the fact that my car is like a chameleon, people always tell me it's this color or it's that color.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michelle D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/17/2020
2108 Kona SEL
Bought my Kona brand new and I still absolutely LOVE it. Great mileage, handling, comfort. I'm extremely pleased with my purchase. I do feel like the headlights are a little too dim though. Other than that everything is great about it, to me anyway.

Pros
Easy maneuverability great on gas and comfortable

Cons
Headlights could be brighter

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GEORGE H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/10/2020
impressive
The Kona is a well built highly functional sub compact SUV. Comfortable, fun to drive and economical. It's a great value! The base engine is adequate, I have the AWD), and only find it a little under powered when using the air conditioner. Love the all wheel drive and great handling. No hesitation in recommending this vehicle.

Pros
Does everything well.

Cons
A little under powered with the base engine when using the a/c

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BARBARA M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/10/2020
outstanding
I enjoy driving this car. I leased it in 2018 and it has served me well. It has a smooth ride and it is pretty fuel efficient. so far leasing has been a good option, this was my first time leasing a vehicle.

Pros
this vehicle has all been good so far. I leased it in 2018 and my lease will be up in Oct 2021.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Debra M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/08/2020
LOVE MY KONA
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY KONA....IT IS EASY TO HANDLE...GETS GREAT GAS MILEAGE AND IS SUCH A GREAT LOOKING CAR...I GET ALOT OF POSITIVE FEEDBACK FROM FOLKS ABOUT IT...I REALLY LIKE ALL OF THE SAFETY FEATURES LIKE THE BLIND SPOT BEEP...IT REALLY HELPS WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING THROUGH BUSY TRAFFIC...DID I SAY..I LOVE MY KONA!!!!!!

Pros
GAS MILEAGE...HANDLING....SLEEK AND SEXY..LOL...

Cons
IT HAS A LITTLE TOO MUCH HESITATION IF YOU ARE TRYING TO PULL ONTO THE ROAD......OR SOMETIMES EVEN PASSING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JAKE S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2020
Nice vehicle
Great deal, rides nice, excellent fuel mileage. This vehicle is sporty, rides nice on long trips and is fun to drive. Local dealership does all the maintenance and is very quick. Would purchase again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Marilyn L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/02/2020
Love this Little Car!
I did not choose to get a new car. My leased Sonata was totaled in an accident. I have not driven many SUVs and prefer coupes. Nevertheless, finances limited my purchase and the sales department worked hard to get me a fair price. I am totally in love with this car...I have been asked to trade, but I won't think of it! It gets great mileage and excellent performance. And it turns on a dime!!!

Pros
Great styling, fun to drive, very reliable, and the turning radius is amazing!

Cons
I would like electric seats, but they did not come with it. I'd like just a bit more pickup, but in sport not so bad.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1203 in total