2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(954 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HM
Harry M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2018
like it very much , has features i don't need but they are there if wanted
have had the 2018 kona for 5 months, just had the first oil change at 3500 miles.its a little bit smaller than the tucson we had,but that is what we wanted. wife likes the color so she is happy,which is good for me. all said i look foward to what features may surprise me when the 2021 model comes out.this is the 7th. hyundai i have had so they must be doing something right.

Pros
just a nice driving suv

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
Lonna F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2018
Love it.
I wanted a smaller suv,as I don't drive much any more.Looked at quite a few. Dependability,looks and performance were first in my mind.I wanted an suv,because I've had one and it always went great in the winter. This one is all wheel drive and will also go great in winter.I am very pleased with my little Kona. Love the red color,and it looks very smart!!I've gotten a lot of compliments on it. I think it just fits me!!!

Pros
It has a lot of features .

Cons
I have to learn about all the things in it,which will take me time,as I'm not very tech savy!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mark D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
Love my Kona !
The Kona is the best vehicle I’ve had. It’s the perfect crossover and the ride is very smooth. It handles well, is very roomy, and fuel efficient. I get a lot of compliments on it too.
You can’t go wrong with this vehicle !

Pros
Spacious and sporty.

Cons
No XM radio option in this one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tamara H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
My Surf Blue Hyundai Kona
The search for my Surf Blue Kona Ultimate loaded with all of the safety packages took a few weeks to locate. I stuck it out as it was the car I ultimately wanted. The ride is smooth. The safety features are constantly protective so that I can relax and enjoy the drive. My Kona was worth every minute of the wait.

Pros
Perfect size for a compact crossover.
Pick up is zippy thanks to Turbo.
Controls are perfect - like a cockpit.

Cons
None yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Skeriah J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2018
Love it
I live the size, how it drives, color, gas mileage and just everything about this vehicle. Perfect for a single woman no kids but is stylish. I am happy with my purchase and still going to be a Hyundai loyal customer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NF
Naveen F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2018
Excellent Electronics, Cute Little Cross-over
Light weight, great on gas. Nice interior (the Ultimate) two-tone leather, well placed control/switches. The HUD (heads up display) is the icing on the cake. Used to drive a Q5/TDI, and now this one. Very happy with the purchase (fuel economy and the price (almost half of the MSRP compared to a Q5))

Wish the car had a bit more power at top end speeds. The turbo and the transmission helps, but power hungry people might get turned off by the lack of power/torque.

Pros
Excellent Electronics, Cute Little Cross-over. Light weight, great on gas. Nice interior (the Ultimate)

Cons
Wish the car had a bit more power at top end speeds. The turbo and the transmission helps, but power hungry people might get turned off by the lack of power/torque.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Treonna S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/16/2018
Great vehicle
The Hyundai Kona is the perfect vehicle for me. It's not too small or too big. One thing that could make it even better is a slightly bigger trunk but I knew what I was buying and still love it. I love the features of it too. I would definitely recommend the Kona!

Pros
Great car for someone who is buying their first one! Very nice looking and sleek.

Cons
Smaller trunk. Wish rear view mirror was able to be tilted higher as I dont want my seat any lower. This might be annoying if you are quite tall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Raymond F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2018
Great little car
The pick up on this car, even with the air conditioning on, is amazing. I have gotten my compliments on that from other people who drive similar cars from someone else. This car is also very comfortable and great on gas.

Pros
Acceleration is fantastic

Cons
Small gas tank

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Deepak J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2018
Excellent
Nice Drive, love it! Would recommend. Sporty look!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Nice look
Great fuel economy
Good Safety features

Cons
Little less power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Malik S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/13/2018
Excellency
I got a 2 new car and first time Hundai it’s good and better than my expact its good and new model designed good for small family , fuel millage is very good average cover , great price looking nice ?

Pros
Good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jerilyn B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2018
Love it
I did a lot of research before choosing this vehicle. I love it. In the last 4 months I've had 6 different 2018 vehicles to drive and none compared to my Kona. Little things make all the difference in the world. All the extras the others do not have. ❤👍

Pros
Everything in the vehicle is user-friendly. Love the style, plenty of room for me, gas mileage, comfort, safety extras and so much more. Very satisfied with my choice.

Cons
Trunk is smaller than other Hyundai selections but big enough for me, plus the seats go down for more room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lewis B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2018
My New Kona
We have almost a thousand mile on the Kona and have driven it on the highway and back roads and in the city. It gets the mileage that it is rated at, and it has a lot of get up and go from the 1.6 turbo. It's a very fun car to drive and it handles like a champ. The ride is very comfortable along with the seats.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Joyce H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2018
I love my little Kona.
I used to have a Toyota Matrix that was 10 years old. I really did love that little car so when I went to buy a new one I wasn't sure I could find one that I loved as much. But, my little Kona is equal to or above expectations to my Matrix. I love the voice control navigation and back up camera.i don't think I'll renew siriusxm though.

Pros
Back up camera. Voice control

Cons
No blue link. If I had known about this option, I would have gotten it in my car. I did not know about it though.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Susan A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2018
Love our Kona
We loved the Kona Limited with the turbo charge (zoom zoom). Love the handling, the comfort and the size 18" wheels! Great ride and makes me feel very safe and able to deal with FL traffic. It is the perfect size for us. We get 29mpg around town. This with lots of lights too. On longer trips it goes up of course.

Pros
comfort and safety features great visibility and handling. Love our color combo and pin striping. Wheels are cool looking

Cons
waiting for Hyundai to make the cross bars available for the Kona. We have the side bars as part of the package.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Janet B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2018
2018 Hyundai Kona
Never owned a Hyundai before now. I have been very pleased with this car. The vehicle is fun to drive, comfortable and quiet. Superb handling on highway and roads. The basic vehicle is loaded with great features. Apple Car Play is a great feature to have. We selected the AWD version and it is simple to engage. The engine has two settings for regular driving, sport mode and normal. The car gets great gas mileage, above what is listed. We have been very happy with this purchase and look forward to having this vehicle for a long time! Also an AWESOME warranty that comes with the vehicle!

Pros
Great gas mileage, lots of standard features! Fun to drive both on highway and roadways. Lots of storage room for small vehicle. Lots of leg room.

Cons
Hatchback does not auto-open when unlocked.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Maria M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2018
Love my kona
Great vehicle i love it i hope no more problems on vehicle cause great ride and i love it. Its pretty inside and out. I would highly recommend it to my family and friends. Small room on back seat and trunk.

Pros
Yes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Glenn F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/02/2018
Meh
I’ve been unimpressed with this car/ SUV. It’s a 4 cylinder so the power is expected to be weak but I feel like I’ve driven other 4 cylinders that have better pickup. The gas mileage is not all that impressive either. When my lease expires I’ll be returning this car and not getting another unless they make some serious improvements.

Pros
Looks nice

Cons
Weak engine performance
Less than expected gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2018
Kona
Just purchased this vehicle. Easy to get in and out.......handles good ....back up and side detector system works great. Interior could use some improvement.....exterior design great.So far I love this vehicle.......

Pros
Backup and side alert system works great. Tight steering.

Cons
Because of the tire choice this vehicle's ride on a lot of in town driving is bumpy. Passenger seat should have lumber selector.
I don't think a vehicle should be rated fun to drive......

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Amy W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/29/2018
Kona lot of fun
I love my Kona. It's quick, comfortable and fun. I have never had anything like it. Its easy to get in and out of even with the arthritis in my knees. But would be better if it had a little more trunk space. I am still getting used to the LED headlights.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kent P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2018
love the Kona!!!
Absolutely love the 2018 Hyundai Kona SEL!! the advanced features and style are unbeatable for the price and i'm beyond satisfied with my purchase. after considering the Honda HRV, Honda Fit, and Ford Ecosport, I am so happy I went with the Kona and would genuinely recommend this vehicle because of the mileage (average about 34mpg), updates in the SEL, and the safety package with the lane keep technology!! if you're not sure about this car, please go for it; it's worth every penny!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 581 - 600 of 954 in total