2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1165 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AD
April D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2019
great little car
I had driven a mini cooper for the last 12 years and was looking for a small SUV with all the new safety features on it. Nothing in the market was wowing me. The honda HRV and the toyota CHR were an OK size but the trunks were small and they did not have leather or the safety features i was looking for. I went in to measure the trunk of the elantra GT and saw the KONA on the show room floor and like goldilocks I said "THIS IS JUST RIGHT" I test drove it and it had a pretty good get up and go b/c of the turbo engine in it. I really loved the safety features. I got the ultimate trim package and have 20,000 miles on it since july. Everyone who rides in it says it has a great ride and the apple car play and safety features have just been awesome! My only complaint is that it does not have cooled seats like the elantra GT and the road noise is a little worse then i would like it. But overall a GREAT CAR!!

Pros
the ultimate package with all the safety features, drivers seat adjusts 8 ways, apple car play, sirrus XM, trunk space for how small the car is

Cons
no cooled seats
road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Donna K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2019
Love ❤️ it!
I researched and looked for months and finally decided on the Kona after a test drive... I absolutely love the drive it delivers and am totally impressed with the style both inside and out. It’s reasonably priced and I feel you can’t do any better for the price...I get many compliments on it as well.., it’s fun to drive!!!???Go for it!!!❤️

Pros
Love the style and performance

Cons
None at the moment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robert R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/15/2019
Nice vehicle
It's a nice vehicle, handles well in the rain but needs a little more power. The engine is a little too small or needs a turbo in it. Other wise like the interior and exterior of vehicle. The two tone color of the vehicle is also very nice.

Pros
Handles well in the rain.

Cons
Needs more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Enrique R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2019
Love my car
Wish it had the proximity sensor, keyless entry an XM. The car is good on fuel. The trunk expansion is very practical. I find that the transmission sometimes loses power, specifically going uphill or passing another car.

Pros
Turn radius.

Cons
Missing electronic assets

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DI
Deborah I.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2019
Kona 2018
I love my Kona. Gets great gas mileage. It handles great. It has everything I wanted, Bluetooth, cruise control, intermittent wipers, a lot of safety features. The price was comparable to some of the other smaller suvs.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CZ
Christina Z.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2019
I love my car.
My Hyundai Kona is superb automobile with many great features.It has great visibility,a smooth comfortable ride and excellent gas mileage to mention a few. I truly love my car and I'm glad I switched from being a Subaru girl.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Maureen M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2019
Best vehicle I've ever owned
My particular edition of the Kona practically drives itself. It alerts me when I'm about to back up and anyone is driving or walking behind me. It tells me when a car is in my blind spot and I have signaled to change lanes. It even alerts me when I change lanes without signalling beforehand if the road is equipped for those notifications. It has a clear plastic display that shows my speed, my next turn from the onboard GPS, and sometimes the speed limit if it's available on that road. The front wipers have an automatic setting so that if it's raining, they come on automatically and if I have my headlights on Auto, I can have the brights come on and off automatically if I want. This is a really great feature when I drive roads, without much traffic, late at night. I could go on and on, but you get the picture. I love it and HIGHLY recommend it. Take it for a test drive. I think you'll love one too.

Cons
Antenna unscrews from the exterior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jeferson S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/11/2019
Great Car in General
The Car is great in general and offers lots of Safety options. The Engine is good and the Turbo makes a huge difference. In today's World I wouldn't mind couple USB ports at the back for the passengers and a little more Trunk space would be awesome. A Roadtrip for more than 3 passengers would be a problem and with 3 people there is no way but placing stuff on the rear seat. We loved the Car in general but probably wouldn't repeat because of that.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Ruth B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2019
Madly in Love with my Kona
I must say that I have never loved a car the way I love my Kona. She’s so much fun to drive, especially when you kick her into sport mode! From the safety features to the turbo engine, I love it all! I leased my Kona but I’m pretty sure that I will buy her out since I’m so in love with her. Every time I get in and drive I smile. She’s going on 6,000 miles and every one of those miles has been an awesome adventure! I highly recommend getting a Kona... you won’t be disappointed ?

Pros
Everything, everything, everything! She’s got a kick that leaves people so far behind they think they’re in first place! Get one, you won’t be disappointed! ??????

Cons
Leg room in back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Deborah B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2019
Incredible Kona
The Kona is a great vehicle to drive. Like an SUV, but more compact and easier to handle.
The interior is set up will all the bells and whistles of the sonata i had and the Elantra my husband owns. Definitely will continue to be a Hyundai Patron.

Pros
More sporty and compact than the Santa Fe.
Easy to handle
Plenty of leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kenneth C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2019
New 2018 Kona-Great Buy
I went into the dealer looking for pricing on a couple of different Hyundai's but this car wasn't even on my radar. It wasn't until the salesperson showed it to me as a color option for a different make I was considering did it peak my interest. I looked it over and took it for a test drive. Immediately the car rose to the near the top of my possibilities. I went home and did some homework on the car from various sources. I then went back with my wife and test drove the Kona again, along with the other two possibilities. Between the pricing, the many options available, and the drivability the Kona became the obvious choice. The only disappointment was the color choices were very limited, but in the end I love the color I did get. 6 months into ownership now and I am so happy with the car's performance. Value, comfort, great features including all the latest safety features has made this car a joy to drive. One thing to make sure you get is the Turbo version. The amount of available power is a noticeable increase over the regular engine.

Pros
Performance
Styling
Safety features
Reliability (so far after 6 months)
Overall features offered for the $

Cons
If you need a lot of trunk room this is not the car for you. But for me it holds what I want whether traveling or shopping.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Julian W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/07/2019
Kona great vehicle
Easton Jones, was good to use, other than him had a terrible sales experience, I was yelled at, wouldn't by a hyundai again, left upset and bitter. Got a headache, and didn't drive the car for 2 days, due to bad experience even finance department was terrible (Mr. king)

Pros
1.6t, zippy in sport mode, fun to drive, lovely features.

Cons
the dct transmission, takes a lil getting use to, but fun if you like driving stick.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
Dawn E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/06/2019
Feeling safe
My husband would worry when I drove my small car in the Michigan weather. He bought me a Kona this fall, and I love it. It handles like a car, but gives me the safety of an SUV. I was worried that getting out of parking spaces would be awkward, but gets in and out of small spaces easily. loving my Kona.

Pros
Heated seats are amazing, maneuverability is right on track. Confidence in bad weather.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Melissa L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/05/2019
Kona
I like the small SUV for the gas mileage. It drives well. It’s not a big car so it will hold 4 other people besides driver. It’s a little cramped with that many people. And really I have no complaints with this car.

Pros
Good gas mileage drives great

Cons
No cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Janice C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2019
Kona
It is great on gas mileage. Very easy to get in & out of. A sporty feeling to it. Overall well received by people. My wife LOVES it! The dealership secured a great financing monthly payment on a new car for us.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2019
Great Cross-over SUV!
The 2018 Hyundai Kona Limited is a well built reliable vehicle. It has many options including a 175 HP Turbo charged engine. I especially like the choice of 2 or all-wheel drive with the push of a button. This car gets very good gas mileage - 29 mpg in the city and 32 mpg on the highway. The 18 inch tires give me very good traction in all types of weather! I'm very happy with my vehicle and the purchase price of my vehicle!

Pros
Great gas mileage, many options; & great performance with a stylish design!

Cons
Could use more trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mary S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2019
Just What I Wanted
It fits in my garage along with the snowthrower and lawnmower. The length is perfect for slipping into and out of parking spaces and when I'm going almost 90 MPH, it feels like 40 MPH on the highway. I chose the base model for economical reasons and it feels opulent (I didn't need butt-warmer seats nor a roof window to show grey roots growing in LOL.) This car rocks.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Donald B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2019
Well worth the wait...
We researched this car for over two months before we were even able to find the one we wanted, but it was well worth the wait! This is a great vehicle! Its multiple drive modes adapt the car to whatever type driving you want to do. It's small enough to get in and out of tight spaces, but doesn't feel like you're crammed into a sardine can.
The 1.6l turbo engine gives it nice acceleration and power while still being quite frugal on gas. (We get 35 hwy even with the cruise on 75)
When we found this car, it was the only Kona on the lot and was exactly the one we were looking for. I'm glad it was there!

Pros
Power, mileage, comfort,

Cons
Our only complaint so far is that the lane assist is a little too touchy, but you can turn it off!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
John S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/01/2019
My Kona
Fun to drive ..good on gas peppy motor shifts greatI like the option to lock into AWD dash controls laid out very well . Quite roomy fits a road bike inside minus front wheel ..lane departure option is a good addition
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
Wendy D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/01/2019
Hyundai Kona
I love this car great gas mileage and I would recommend it to anyone. Looking forward to getting another one in the blue color. I would have gotten this car for my daughter, but they didn't have great deals on the 2018.

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Small trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 641 - 660 of 1165 in total