2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(891 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MK
MICHELE K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2018
Loving it!
I'm a new Kona owner. I love the solid feel and comfort of this car. The features seem luxurious and fun. I love the sporty look of the car. I look forward to getting to know this car better as I drive it more and become more familiar with the great features.

Pros
Love the way it interacts with my mobile phone

Cons
I miss the easy tap to open gas cap. Its not so easy to reach down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
EMILY L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/27/2018
Stage 1 Review
The major problem of Kona is the transmission, Hyundai should look for a better transmission type for his new models. Suggest to have the service department to provide a more indepth training to new owners.

Pros
comfortable, come with a lot of driving safety features that needs more time to access

Cons
materials are not good enough, feel cheap, need a better transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WE
Warren E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/26/2018
Great vehicle
Fantastic gas mileage. Great sunroof. Like the out of lane warning. Backup camera is best I’ve ever had. Warns you if a vehicle is approaching from the sides. There’s a great hideaway in the rear above the spare tire. Bluetooth pairing with my phone was very easy. The rear hatch can be difficult to latch. Sometimes have to slam the rear hatch to get it to shut properly.

Pros
Great gas mileage and all wheel drive

Cons
Rear hatch can be difficult to latch properly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
ROBERT M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/26/2018
Kona
i think the vehicle is overpriced, a bit disappointed with the road noise. Overall the Kona is okay however there are many other crossover vehicles in the same price range. That coupled with the fact that Hyundai do not offer complimentary maintenance means that I will chalk this up to not a great buy
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JEFFERY K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2018
Love!
I love this car, it’s so easy to drive and it’s very solid. Has some road noise but can be taken out with music. Has a good sun roof and Bluetooth is amazing as well as the sound clarity. It’s super easy to steer

Pros
Super sound
Easy and fun to drive
Good Bluetooth
Amazing sound quality

Cons
Always hit my leg getting into the car
Lots of road noise but can be leveled out with music

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DOROTHY B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2018
1018 Hyundai Kona
I love my new Kona. It handles quick, easy and smooth. I do miss my bose speakers but the quality of these speakers are ok. *********************************************************************

Pros
high mileage. nice interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JANNA B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2018
Love My Kona
My New Kona is just wonderful and fun to drive. I've received great comments from y family and friends; they think it's "cute". Myself and others love the color; it is thunder gray, although it sometimes looks navy. It is a smooth drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MATRIA B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2018
Love this vehucle
Love this car so far. Only had it for a month I have had no problems with it. Gets good gas mileage for around town driving. Haven't been on Highway yet. I don't do much highway driving. Sound system and phone system is good. Like it when it tells you , you have a text and tells the person you are driving. Think that was good idea
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TIMOTHY B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
Great car with a couple of missteps
My wife and I recently purchased a 2018 Hyundai Kona Ultimate. It's a great car with fantastic features. The Heads Up Display needs to be a standard feature in all cars, it's that awesome! We knew what kind of car we were getting into when we bought it, so we weren't looking for a performance vehicle, although the turbo is a nice feature. We weren't looking for a lot of space, but this vehicle seems to have what we need. It does seem to have some quirks, though. The carpet inside feels like cheap trunk liner. Very disappointing for an almost $30k vehicle. Also, the turbo is a bit touchy. Maybe it's just us not being used to it. Not sure. The biggest disappointment is the fact that the FCA (Forward Collision Avoidance) system seems to be DOA. This is actually a common complaint. There is no response at all from the vehicle when coming close to objects. We're hoping Hyundai engineers will reach out to us and determine what is wrong. Overall, it's a great car, just needs a little smoothing out!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BRUCE C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
Enjoyable experience
Love my new vehicle. Smooth ride, and really cool sound system. A very convenient, comfortable and sleek automobile. The style stands out in a crowd of ‘more of the same’. I am really enjoying my new ride.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Richard B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/23/2018
Buy with a loan
In general, I am satisfied with the car.
If the company wants to carefully focus on the quality of its construction and its accessories with good efficiency and minimum fuel consumption, the customer will be more attracted.

Pros
I think so

Cons
I don’t think so

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DEBRA R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/23/2018
New Kona
The car is great BUT there is a serious issue with the steering. This is my 6th Hyundai..I'm very disappointed..I hope the issue can be fixed...otherwise the car
is a fun car to drive... good value for the money

Pros
good value

Cons
steering is bad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JUDY H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
Kona
Love it great exterior styling, could use a better interior styling. Louder than expected road noise turbo lag from complete stop, not so much while cruising. Love the lights , not so much as far as the auto off fog lams when comes to stop.

Pros
Great styling, great handling, 1.6turbo surprisingly peppy and goes great.

Cons
Loud road noise. Turbo lag from complete stop could a pain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CARY S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
First Hyundai
Come from along line Hondas, traded in my Honda HR-V for the Kona Ultimate. After a month of ownership I am quite pleased with the Kona. The 1.6L turbo is a joy in city driving, the drivers seat offers adjustments options which the HR-V did not have, the Kona comes with an impressive number of safety options and the heads up display is a joy. If the Konas interior were quieter and if the rear seats folded completely flat it would be an even greater joy to drive.

Pros
1 - 1.6l turbo is wonderful
2 - Impresive number of safety features
3 - Heads up display is awesome

Cons
1 - Front window defroster is a disappointment
2 - Interior noise level could be better
3 - Rear seats need to fold completely flat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
RICKIE L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
2018 Hyundai Kona
Everything is working great except the Collision Avoidance system does not work. I have double checked the settings according to the User's Manual. Had a near collision where I had to brake very hard with no response from the system or warnings of any kind from the display.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DANA C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
Fantastic
My new kona drives great. So many great features like lane assist and blind side detection. I am super pleased with its performance in all conditions. My only regretis is I didn't get the awd version of the car. But beyond that i enjoy every bit ofmy adventures in it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TN
TYLER N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
Great buy
I love my kona yes it may be lower to the ground than i wished and the truck is small but the looks are great and it is super comfortable and gas mileage is awsome also the warranty is top notch i really have nothing to say negative about this car i have two small kids and it fits the car seats well and we have room up front, engine does well no complaints i wish i got the turbo but 10 out of 10 for this purchase

Pros
Warranty, looks, price, features, gas mileage, Hyundai is a great company that actually cares about owners

Cons
Small trunk, lower ride hight, can be slightly hard to get into for some

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
TONYA S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2018
Love love love
Pretty, fun to drive, sister and daughter want to trade in their Foresters for Konas. I love it. They love it too! I love apple car play! I can see my maps and get to where I need to be without doing to much. Great car!!

Pros
All pro

Cons
No cons yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MN
MORIAH N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2018
2018 Hyundai Kona AWD with tech package
After looking at a vehicle for my mother, I fell in love with the Hyundai Kona. Really wanted a 2018 red one with FWD and the tech package. Dealership had a problem finding me one in red, so I settled for a red one with AWD. So far, I have not been disappointed. MPG was rated at 27 highway, I am averaging 36 MPG. I love my Kona!

Cons
Really don't care for the design on the seats. Would rather have no pattern on them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Grant G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2018
Awesome
I love my 2018 Hyundai Kona. I love all the safety features. I love the Apple Car Play. I can drive without touching my phone. I can still answer calls listen to text. Even respond to text all without compromising safety for myself or others on the road. Love that you can’t lock yourself out. I just love my kona as do my Uber passengers.

Pros
Tech
Safety features

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 641 - 660 of 891 in total