2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1165 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AM
Alyssa M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/08/2018
Okay Car
The Kona is a very cute, comfortable, and stylish car, however I have noticed it doesn't like taking hills unless you switch the car mode into sport, other than that it drives and handles the snow very nicely.

Pros
Stylish, cute, comfortable, handles well in bad weather

Cons
No CD player, have to switch car into sport mode to handle hills properly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Keith D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2018
New Kona
I was skeptical at first, I traded in a Cadillac SRX but it didn’t take long to realize that I love my Kona. Great performance with the turbo, great fuel economy and great styling! Great ride for a great price, can’t beat the warranty either, best in the business!

Pros
Fuel economy, style, performance.

Cons
Overall size

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Deborah G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/04/2018
Too small
Hate this vehicle. It is way too small. Should have taken more time when leasing Ugh!!!! Do not lease or buy this vehicle. You won’t be happy tried to exchange for another vehicle but you can’t win at that game. Another huge down payment Have to live with it

Pros
None

Cons
Everything with this vehicle My hisbamd went back after one week to see if we could exchange for another vehicle. We could have but another down big downpaymenr. Just have to live with it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tamara B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2018
Love My Kona
Best driving car! Safety features are phenomenal! Automatic alerts to keep up maintenance to alerts you are veering out of your lane! Sits like a SUV drives like a Cadillac! Smooth driving car! Highly Recommend this car! THANK YOU ALI!!

Pros
Safety features, comfort driving, 1st oil change was after!

Cons
You can’t tailgate! Lol

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
Charlotte N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/01/2018
Hyundai Kona
The Kona is a perfect fit for me. I’m a senior and getting in and out of a vehicle is important. I can just slip right into the driver seat without dropping down or having to climb up. It is the perfect size for my garage. I didn’t want a large SUV and this one is sleek and smart looking as well as providing comfortable head and leg room for four people. It also has adequate storage for my needs. I love the big screen for gps. So much better than using my phone. I like the drivers assist when backing up or changing lanes. The rear backup cameras are wonderful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
David T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/30/2018
Great run around car!
My husband and I just bought a 2018 Kona. My husband needed some economical to drive back and forth to work. He drives 27 miles to and from work. We have a Santa Fe which is our main travel vehicle. The Kona is smaller but has a lot of bells and whistles. It is good to run around town in saving miles on my 2014 Santa Fe. We are really happy with everything about the vehicle. He loves the gas mileage which averages 31 per gallon. I would recommend this car to anyone who needs a great dependable vehicle.

Pros
Gosh not enough room for all the Pros. Looks outside, very stylish. Gas mileage saving us money. Equipment features are great. Heated seats, Large back up camera display. Great sounding radio. Rides great around town. If you are tall say over 5'7 you may be a bit crunched, but again it's what you are comfortable with. I just can't say enough good stuff on this vehicle.

Cons
If you are tall say over 5'7 you may be a bit crunched, but again it's what you are comfortable with. If you put the seat back for comfortable leg room it does cramp the back seat. We would rarely have to haul someone else in the vehicle so it's not a problem for us.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michelle D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/29/2018
My 2018 Kona SEL
I Love my Kona! I had made a previous post on how I loved everything about my Mini SUV except that there was a window rattle, well I was WRONG!!! The rattle was my glasses in the overhead compartment. What a idiot, I'm so glad I didn't bring it in for them to fix. ?

Pros
I LOVE Everything about it

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RQ
Rosemary Q.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2018
Kona
I love my new Kona. It has great features. I do wish the floor mats had been included - that’s the only thing that was disappointing. I love the heated seats, driver assist, back up camera and sunroof. The google maps app is a great accessory also.

Pros
Back up camera, heated seats, sunroof

Cons
No floor mats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jacqueline M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2018
The Kona ROCKS !
I love LOVE love my car ! It has everything you could want in a car/cross over ! The handling is superb and the pick up is great ! It has touch screen Apple play and MBz don’t even have that ... I should know, I exchanged my C300 Mercedes for my Kona !!! And I would not go back at ALL ! Great car all the way around and the seats are comfy and there is so much room for loading things or moving things you will be very pleased ! And it’s adorable too !

Pros
Everything is a pro with this car !!

Cons
There are no cons in my eyes!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Norbert B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2018
Great first year vehicle!
I got this when it first came out, trading my new Accent. Took a chance because of previous positive experience with the Hyundai brand. So far the only gripes I have are with the type of transmission and its behavior, and the fact that the front passenger seat is too low. Selection was non-existant, I had to take what was offered, and in white no less. (hated it) I do like the AWD, living in the east mountains and the turbo 4 is a real surprise! Mileage is good too!

Pros
Build quality is amazing. Room for improvement is expected, as it was the very first year! Mileage is very good. All the toys I could want at a reasonable cost.

Cons
No memory power seat. Gotta have it on premium models. Passenger front seat should be at least articulated for recline and height. Automatic transmission takes getting used to. Could use a few more inches in the boot and rear seat areas, but it IS a rather small car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jordan G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2018
Loving it
I get a lot of people coming to me if they could check my kona out. A lot of good comments and I love my new Kona, love the color, etc. I just wish theres an air/heater vent in the back seats. Not happy with how the camera shape is on the dashboard it looks too cheap the style. Sound system could be better. Everything else I do love.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Ruth M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2018
The new look
The car should be promoted more.
For a first year entry the car is definitely a contender.
Trunk area should be a bit larger
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
Great styling
Great height for entry and getting out of vehicle
Heated seats a plus

Cons
A little too noisy
A little more horse power
Too fast revving up. Can't gradually gain speed without the lurch
Need simpler info to operate computer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Maureen M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2018
Love It!!!
So great to drive, and love the way it looks.
Perfect height for ease of entry.
Seats much easier to fold down than my Elantra GT. It was love at first sight!
First saw it at the auto show and couldn’t wait for it to be available!

Pros
Comfort and looks

Cons
Acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
Gwendolyn M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/21/2018
Kona
I absolutely love this kona. Easy to get into for a older person. The warmer ln the seats is a great feature. I love the back up camera, the phone setup and the keyless ignition. I can never lock myself out again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GZ
Ginger Z.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/21/2018
2018 Kona ultimate
Ongoing issues with the FCA... comes on for no reason. Dealership cannot “locate or duplicate” the problem... the safety of this vehicle is the main reason I purchased it.... dissatisfied . The salesman will only reply to my texts as it pleases him.... I was convinced to purchase from this dealership by the salesman... should’ve stuck yo my gut
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Carolyn F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2018
Great Car, Perfect Size
My husband and I had a typical, family van for many years due to raising 4 children. Since our kids are grown and out on their own, we wanted to downsize to a more fuel-efficient and stylish car. After doing a lot of research online, we decided to check out the Hyundai Kona. (Several family members also own a Hyundai and it has been reliable transportation for them.) After having a test drive, we bought the Kona and have been enjoying it for the past few months. We discuss its size and features at least a couple of times a month, and are very pleased with our choice.

Pros
We appreciate the fuel efficiency very much.

Cons
The interior design could provide a little more comfort, especially in the front seats. A touch of relief from the gray/black color wouldn't go amiss, either! Other than that, we like this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WI
William I.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/19/2018
Kona review
I chose the Kona because it was easy to maneuver, had plenty of power, and visibility was good. The price was reasonable and it is a sharp little car. If I could suggest any changes it would be more leg room in back seat, a bit more interior dashboard area storage, and an adjustable passenger seat! Having said that, I was looking for a replacement for my old Civic 2-door so it fits me well.

Pros
Quick, fun to drive, sharp looking

Cons
Backseat legroom, needs adjustable power front passenger seat and more dashboard area storage or shelf.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michelle B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2018
I love my car
I really love my car. I wanted a bigger car not necessarily a suv but the kona was a perfect size. Its easy to get in and out of and it doesn't burn alot of gas.
so far no problems because its still very new. I need to remember how to work all the features. The only thing I don't like is the screen is not helpful with the google maps, it does show the actual map as it would with an iphone. It does not display the name of the songs on the radio or sirus unless I am doing something wrong.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Antanas C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/17/2018
My Wishes
Need a day/night mirror. Miss a CD player. Still battling out venting gases from dashboard leaving film on windshield. Prefer the ride of standard tires to the low profile that are equipped. Aside from these small items, I love my Kona. Can’t say enough good things about it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Amy C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2018
Love my little Kona
I don’t want to drive our other car, even though it has more room. Great available feedback on performance as you drive. Love the Apple play/ Android auto with key apps available. So comfortable and great features.

Pros
Comfortable
Apple play/ android auto
Heated seats
Digital feedback

Cons
Acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 681 - 700 of 1165 in total