2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1127 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

OG
Olivia G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/21/2018
Fun and Sporty Subcompact SUV
I am really happy with my purchase of the Hyundai Kona, not only is it the perfect size it’s appearance is also very sporty and well designed. I think Hyundai did a great job at designing the interior of the car which I appreciate because that is where most of the time is spent. I wanted to be comfortable in the car and I didn’t want the interior to look cheap. Hyundai excelled at all the fine details and the screen is really technologically friendly!

Pros
Spacious and comfortable, new technology, easy and fun to drive.

Cons
No air vents in for the backseats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Benjamin D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/21/2018
My Kona
I am really enjoying the car, fast, comfortable and economical had 2 small issues that the dealer resolved, i cannot really comment on reliability as the car has about 1100 miles on it.
Hate the fact the Hyundai did not put in a digital compass, Oversight or did it really save them tons in manufacturing cost!
Overall I very happy with the vehicle.

Pros
lots of nice touches like turning lights, automatic defrost when heat is turned on
radio volumes down when the rearview camera is on or when making a phone call.

Cons
No digital compass except for top of the line Ultimate model.
Turbo lag is quite noticeable but when it kick in,,,fun!
Back up camera has cross traffic warning but no distance warning.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sheri C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/19/2018
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!!
Need I say more??!! So fun to drive! If you are looking for a smaller size SUV that handles like a race car, this is the car for you. I absolutely love the amount of power this car has, in fact I really have to pay attention to my speedometer now and I am NOT kidding!!!

Pros
Everything

Cons
My only con would be after driving for a long period of time my back tends to hurt, but I think that's just me. The lumbar support definitely helps tho

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Edward B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/19/2018
Happy Kona Owner
I am very pleased with my Kona Ultimate in just about every aspect. My only complaint is that there appears to be excess noise in the passenger compartment. Of course this changes depending upon road service but even on a smooth service the noise does not totally disappear. Fortunately it has a great sound system so I just crank up the volume a bit!

Pros
Comfortable
Good gas mileage
Good pick up and performance
Great features

Cons
Cabin noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joann D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2018
Kona 2018
This is the fourth Hyundai I have had, I have enjoyed each of them. Meriden is a great place to buy and service your car. Everyone is so friendly and very professional. I would encourage anyone looking for a new car to check Meriden Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rene M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2018
My Kona
I’m driving every day, and every one of them I’m find something new to feel proud buying this car.
Commford, security, presence, design, economy.
In other wirds, I’m dressing for my car.
There’s a great pleadure to know thet I recieved what I pay for.

Pros
All of de them

Cons
Non

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Timothy C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/18/2018
Good but.....
Small rear storage space and I wish the mileage was a little better. The back seat area also seems small. If I had it to do over again I probably would have gone with a Tucson instead. If only I could go back in time.

Pros
Good mileage, nice looks. The turbo gives it some nice pep.

Cons
Small rear luggage room. I can only fit 1 suitcase. Very disappointed. Also, I wish the dealer would have told me about blue link. I may have bought a vehicle with that installed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Michele R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/14/2018
2018 Kona
I love love love my 2018 Kona! Great ride! Very happy with this purchase. Style, handling and performance equals happy owner. Recommend this vehicle to all age groups. Feel safe and secure driving on surface roads and highways.

Pros
Handling and performance

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VW
Valerie W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/12/2018
Love this car!!!
This car is everything that I need. I narrowed down my purchase to 3 small SUV's- the Kona, Honda herb and mazda cx5. The reviews and warranty won me over. Have had many compliments. It was the perfect size and price for my needs.

Pros
Warranty
Styling
Value

Cons
No interior trunk release

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Diane P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/09/2018
Sweet Kona
The Kona is just the right size, gets great gas mileage on the highway, is powerful enough, and has a lot of features that cost extra in other makes of vehicles. It handles great on dry pavement, muddy roads, and wet surfaces. The base model is perfect.

Pros
feels stable and safe on the road
good lines on the body

Cons
not great cargo space
angle of rear window isn't great
heat to floor isn't great
plastic grill is cheap looking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Thomas P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/09/2018
2018 Kona
Some really nice things, other are so-so. Not enough room in back for any storage or a big load of groceries. If I have to fold the rear seats down for more room, I have to remove the rear head rests so everything fits. Automatic anti-collision does not work at slow speeds. 4 Wheel drive does not work at high speeds. What, no heated steering wheel?!?! Turbo engine option is a MUST.

Pros
Turbo engine supplies plenty of power and 34-36 mpg
back up camera and warning system is a big plus
Turn assist lighting is very nice
Heads up display is great (would be better if more info was available to be on it)

Cons
no heated steering wheel
Anti-collision feature drops out below 41 MPH.
4WD drops out around 30 MPH
Hard breaking causes car to shimmy
Roof rack is NOT standard even on the top of the line version
Auto windshield wipers are a pain - Go back to manual intermittent style, please
At 55mph and you have the drivers window open, you MUST have another window open (even if just slightly) to kill the wind buffeting noise.
Not enough room in back for any storage or a big load of groceries. If I have to fold the rear seats down for more room, I have to remove the rear head rests so everything fits.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
Gilbert R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/04/2018
After initial difficulties car performs well
Drive shaft failed at 270 miles. Extreme vibration led back to Dealer where it was replaced. 45 minute job (per work order of 0.7 hours) took three days. Car is working as expected now, but for how long this time?

Pros
styling, handling, general "drive-ability," value

Cons
original drive shaft failed at 270 miles. Repair/replacement took three days.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Desiree W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/30/2018
Me and my new Kona
I am a hospice nurse, my arrival time is very important to my clients.The 2018 Kona was the right choice, very stylish appearance, good gas mileage. I travel anywhere from 100 to 200 miles a day my Kona and I are ready to travel to parts unknown at a minutes notice, Storage of supplies I need are easily available from trunk which pops right open. The car is nice someone always what kinda car is it and I tell them and then they want to look inside. My Kona is Chalk White in color adding to the sleek look. The staff are friendly caring and work to get you in a car of your choosing, check them out.

Pros
Sleek

Cons
Wish it had a CD player for my music library

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Frederick M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/28/2018
Satisfied customer
The moment I saw the Kona on the lot I knew what I wanted when my current lease was up on my Sante Fe Sport. The looks and size of the vehicle are what caught my eye. Have had several comments from total strangers on the vehicles sharp design

Pros
Looks

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Marian B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/27/2018
Love this car!!!
I really love this car!! I had a 2004 Subaru Forester on its last legs (my 4th Forester) and had finally reached the point where it didn't make sense to keep throwing money at it so began the search for a new car. The new 2018 Forester had gotten a little too big for my taste and the Crosstrek seemed underpowered to me, similar to the Impreza, which we already owned. Because of this, I began to look outside the Subaru line.

After having done a lot of research, I was impressed with what I was finding about the the Hyundai Kona. Once I took it out for a test drive, I was hooked. I bought the SEL (no Turbo) and feel the power is fine for my needs. I love the ability to use Sport Mode for a little extra punch when out on the freeway or on hills. Much better power than our Impreza. It's a smaller, lighter vehicle than the Forester but that's OK for me - even an advantage in a number of respects.

I'm obsessed with the color - Surf Blue - or as I like to call it "In Your Face Blue". Love it! Have had a number of people stop and ask me about the car and they have commented on liking the look of the black detailing - which is very sharp looking! My only worry was the fact that this was the first production year for the Kona. Because I bought my car just as the 2019 was set to come out, I was able to find out that no major revisions were planned for the new model year so that gave me confidence, as did the excellent warranty from Hyundai.

I've really enjoyed some of the features with having a new car. Guess I didn't realize how far behind the technology curve my old Subie was. Am loving the GPS - nice sized scree. Steering wheel control for Apple Pay voice texting very nice and safe. One of the really great safety features is the lane change warning. Really great and not at all obnoxious as I had worried it might be. With the crazy drivers I encounter, that feature alone is worth every penny.

My husband swore that I would never let my old Subie go and I admit to fighting back the tears when I handed the keys over. I'd been through a lot with that great old car but now I'm all about my Kona Blu! Perfect for me!

Pros
Color, styling, lane change warning, Apple Play features (GPS, Voice-text), fun to drive, has some real punch to it.

Cons
Cabin is a bit noisy but quiet compared to my old Forester. Windshield wipers are a little weird when cleaning windshield - have to raise in the right order or they get crossed up. Rear wiper seems a bit small and the rear window under the spoiler is a little hard to reach when cleaning. Minor complaints though and I've gotten used to it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Lee A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/26/2018
2018 Hyundai Kona
1st seeing the KONA, on display, at the Amsterdam Airport I contacted the local Hyundai dealership in Feb. 2018. Finally available in the Maryville area in April, we test drove and chose our car. New to the marketplace, we were informed it would take 'some time', possibly several months, for OUR model to be available for us. We were contacted regularly, by the sales dept., with updates on our expected date of arrival and within about 4 months the exact color and style we chose was ready for us at Grayson. I absolutely love the 'ride' and feel of the wheel in my Kona. The size and fit are perfect for my needs. The only negative aspect is the 'connectivity', with the car taking over my phone. A safety feature, this needs to be adjusted for better usability of nonaccepted maps for navigation while driving. I have currently 'disconnected' the settings to have use of my phone app navigation maps. Our 4th Hyundai, we are, again, very pleased.

Pros
I LIKE IT !!!
Good ride and feel of the wheel.
Perfect size for my needs.
Great customer service

Cons
Connectivity package, connecting phone to car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Enrique R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/25/2018
Nice Little Car
This car is a nice ride. I bought the basic model. Didn't know there was an intermediate one. I would have preferred additional options. Key less, rear alarm, XM radio.Floor mats. But other than that it rides very nice, great turning radius and good gas mileage

Pros
Good mileage, comfortable front seats,nice ride

Cons
Missing the basics - signals for baking up, key less access, XM radio

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
David C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/24/2018
More comfort options needed.
Overall, the Kona is a nice vehicle. They need to add cushion to the door arm rest. They also need to offer a tan interior. I am in the California Desert and all black interior gets very hot. There is not alot of leg room in the back seats but I did not purchase it for anyone else but me. So if you have a family, try out the front seats and have someone sit behind you and evaluate the leg room.

Pros
All the safety features are great when I need them.

Cons
Needs more cushion on the doors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2018
Slick and sexy
We absolutely love the Kona we have a white with the black and it’s absolutely gorgeous and rides beautifully and it will be nice to have a car that’s good in the winter.
Sincerely
Mr. and Mrs. J Manning

Pros
It’s a gorgeous car and it’s got everything that we need for our family.

Cons
There is nothing bad to say about the Kona or any Hyundai car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KY
Keeley Y.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2018
Great Car
I love my new Hyundia Kona! I have had it for three months now and I do not have one complaint. It runs and drives exactly like I expected. Lots of features including lane assist and sport mode. It is comfortable for my daughter who is in a forward facing seat. I have had an infant seat in it and in the middle it was fine but it would not fit on one of the sides unless the front seats were moved completely forward (this would be very uncomfortable for anyone over 5 feet).

Pros
Lots of features for a great value

Cons
The plain 2.0 lacks a lot of power but it is expected from that motor. Plus, SPORT mode!
Not made for Infant or Rear facing car seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 701 - 720 of 1127 in total