2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(1035 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AR
ALMA R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
Great car!
I went through a divorce and decided to go through quite a few cars. All Hyundai products! Not a very wise decision financially, but sometimes we do stupid things, right? I will say when I would drive away after trading in a car, I would think "I shouldn't have done this". I have not done this with the Kona. This will be my forever car. I love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KRISTEN M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
Hyundai Kona Ultimate 2018
Overall I am very happy with the vehicle. There are a couple of external stylistic choices that I don't necessarily agree with, but I am very happy with everything internal. The external design with the hard grey plastic made getting any color other than grey difficult for me. I am extremely happy with the internal tech, and enjoy the turbo engine for the pick up and go.

Pros
Turbo engine, fantastic tech, great for price point and size

Cons
Tail gate issues and wheel wells

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARGARET J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
GREAT CAR FOR THE MONEY
LOVE IT BOUGHT FOR MY 16 YEAR OLD PERFECT CAR FOR HER... DRIVES LIKE A LITTLE RACECAR GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY WILL RECCOMEND TO EVERYBODY.WE LOOKED AT ALOT OF CARS THERE IS A LOT OF GREAT SAFETY FEATURES FOR YOUNG DRIVERS

Pros
GREAT CAR FOR A HIGH SCHOOLER

Cons
COMFORT IN DRIVERS SEAT BUT PASSANGER SEAT SITS TOO LOW SHOULD BE ABLE TO RAISE SEAT

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JAMES C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/17/2018
Kona 2018
Overall this is a good vehicle. Road and wind noise at highway speeds are high. First gear is jumpy making it hard to accelerate smoothly from a stand still. The rear liftgate registers as open on the instrument panel when door is closed. The gas tank indicator on instrument panel is pointed in the wrong direction.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Bobbie S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2018
Kona 2018
I absolutely love my Kona! It is fun to drive! I would recommend buying a Kona if you're thinking of buying a new vehicle. I absolutely love all of the features. I couldn't ask for a better driving experience.

Pros
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Desiree C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2018
Love My Kona
Great value for the money. Comfortable, stylish, fully loaded with just enough techie features, sporty yet safe to travel with my granddaughter. Compact enough to get in and out of the smallest spaces. Nice pickup so if I ever have to move quick enough to move outta the way and great turbo.

Pros
Extra ext. lights come on while turning corners etc. 2 driving modes available, Normal & Sport. Noticeable difference

Cons
Interior leather does show marks very easily. Interior cabin is much smaller than my prior vehicle (Santa Fe Sport).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOSEPH C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2018
One sweet driving machine!
Very responsive motor paired with a great transmission to make this SUV feel like a expensive sports SUV. Have received lots of complements on new sleek design of vehicle. The Apple Car Play was an added bonus. When they first told me vehicle had Apple Car Play I didn't think it was such a big deal, now that I have it, I can't believe all my vehicles don't have Apple Car Play!

Pros
- 175 hp Motor paired with a great transmission
- Sleek design of vehicle
- Apple Car Play
- 10 year warranty

Cons
- Rear leg room could use a few more inches.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JOHN A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/14/2018
Love this vehicle!
I am so satisfied with this vehicle. Love that it is AWD. Compact and sporty all in one! I am leasing this vehicle but plan to purchase when lease is up. I will recommend to family and friends that are looking for a dependable fun vehicle!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
C. H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2018
TBD
So I really love my Kona, however there are some glitches. First the trunk had issue within first week, it was a simple repair but not happy with issue so soon. Now airbag light comes on intermittently. I took to dealership and because intermittent dealership unable to duplicate. I now have about 8 videos of light going on and have appointment soon, but in my mind I am reminded of the airbag incident in the sonatas some time back. I hope this can be resolved. Leg room in back seat is less than what I had in my accent.

Pros
Neat style, fun to drive, great gas mileage.

Cons
New model so there some issues to work out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
ALAN L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/14/2018
Kona
To small for my family I don’t have anything to say that’s going to create 200 characters. I Like the moon roof and the seat warmers the cars so it’s really too small for my family can’t even get a car seat in the backseat without it being cramped not really a card for people who have children

Cons
To small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MENDEZ O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2018
Kona
At first, what is obvious about the Kona is the look, and the right balance of size, power and handling for city environment. Once inside, the Kona standard features become the standout elements over the competing brands. Hyundai 5/10 year warranty reassures confidence on the quality of the product. The down side of the Kona is its position on price range. Kona top two models climb into the range of the Tucson, which puts the buyer in a quandary.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Pauline C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/13/2018
COMFORTABLE
Safe ride, loving the features. Can't wait to upgrade. This is my first experience with Hyundai and impressive so far!! Would recommend this car to anyone. It's fun to drive, loving safety features. Good on fuel!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MORGAN J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2018
Love this car
I was looking at getting a Hyundai Veloster just needed to wait until I turned 25 I went when I was 23 and they showed me the veloster and I knew I wanted it. Then I was at the Atlanta car show and they had a new Kona and I instantly changed my mind went to the dealership and Ashley the sales lady I talked to 2 YEARS ago remembered me by name and knew the car I wanted I told
Her I changed my mind and she brought me 2 Kona to drive and I fell in love bought it on the spot.

Pros
It’s a beautiful car very comfortable

Cons
The back seat is bumpy the suspension is a little tight

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JULIE W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2018
Love my new Lime Twist colored Hyundai Kona Ultimate
I didn't really need a new car--my previous Kia Sportage wasn't even a full year old yet, but the Kona really won me over. I liked that it was smaller than the
Sportage though still big enough for my needs. The Kona gets better gas mileage (about 30 mpg average for me.) has great safety features and has cooler toys. I have the ultimate model and there are lots of cool gadgets like wireless phone charging, Apple CarPlay and the HUD. (I love the HUD.) The 1.6T turbo engine is great and gets me up to speed quickly and confidently. And finally, the color, Lime Twist with the black/Lime Twist accent interior is amazing. I get lots of comments on it. Overall, very happy!

Pros
1.6T turbo engine: great horsepower and torque.
Decent gas mileage - about 30 mpg with mixed in-town and freeway driving.
Lots of safety features: hi-rez backup cam, lane assist, front collision warning/stopping, blind-spot alert.
Lots of great gadgets/toys on the Ultimate model including navigation, Infinity stereo, CarPlay, wireless charging and HUD
Looks great!
Comfy and supportive leather seats (Ultimate model)
The Lime Twist color option is amazing.

Cons
Some hard plastic materials on door panels and center console that can be irritating to rest elbows and knees against on long drives.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
PERRY J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2018
Fun Little Crossover
The wife fell in love with the looks of it from a commercial. She did her research and decided she wanted the Ultimate Model. An excellent crossover between a small SUV and a Sports Car.. It's the SUV thats Fun to Drive.. It's Sporty when you want it to be as well as gets the mileage when you want it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARGO W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2018
My Kona
I love my Kona! It is so fun to drive. It looks so stylish and saved me money on my insurance premiums with the safety features on my new car. I was also impressed with the dealership that sold me my new car. I will definitely buy Hyundai from now on.

Pros
Great value. Loads of features for the price. Great gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
DIANA E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/10/2018
Love my car
Comparing my car to other cross overs I see while driving, my Kona is super sharp, super cute. Really happy with the factory tint. Haven't figured out how to get my regular radio on yet. Leather nice.

Cons
Can't fit a coffee cup in the cup holders.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
SUSAN P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2018
Amazing cars
The new 2018 Hyundai Kona is amazing. The exterior shows a great SUV shape, but on the smaller side. It has great features and it is a nice, easy and fun car to drive. It is a perfect first car. I am so far loving the Hyundai brand with their warranty, cars, service and dealerships.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
ALBERT M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2018
KONA REVIEW
I HAVE BEEN A HONDA OWNER FOR THE PAST 10 YEARS, DECIDED TIME FOR A CHANGE, NOT BECAUSE HONDA WAS EVER A PROBLEM, WANTED SOMETHING DIFFERENT. SAW THE KONA AND FELL IN LOVE WITH IT. TOOK A TEST DRIVE AND WAS SOLD. IT IS BEAUTIFULLY DESIGNED, IN AND OUT, SHARP LOOKING, BEAUTIFUL HANDLING AND PRETTY QUICK FOR A 1.6 LITERE TURBO. I AM A BIG GUY 6'3 AND NEED ROOM...THIS BEAUTY HAD IT. I FIT COMFORTABLY, LOVE DRIVING IT, AND WILL HAVE THIS CAR A LONG TIME. YOU WONT BE SORRY BUYING OR LEASING ONE. 1991

Pros
EVERYTHING AND MORE YOU WOULD WANT IN A CAR

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
TROY S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2018
Kona - Blue
leased new kona. very pleased so far. have dealt with Humble Hyundai for over 10 years. very easy to work with. spent the right amount of time with the sales person and finalizing the deal with the finance officer
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 721 - 740 of 1035 in total