2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1166 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RB
Ronald B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
Happy, happy, happy
This vehicle has been flawless. 18,000+ miles and absolutely no issues of any kind. Great gas mileage. AWD really helps in the snow. Many comments received concerning this vehicle -- really an eyecatcher.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Patrick C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
Ideal small car
Needs more trunk space, but otherwise a great vehicle. Great gas mileage and ease of handling. A little snug behind driver if they’re tall. The one feature that could be improved on is the trunk storage space.

Pros
Overall great vehicle.

Cons
Trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LARRY G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2020
Hyundai Kona 2018
I love this car. I have had this for one year now. I’m very happy with this car. It runs smoothly. I like
GPS so I won’t get lost easy. The night visor is very clear. When I use back of the car, the camera back of the car is very clear at night also day,
too.

Pros
The car is great!

Cons
Can’t think of anything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HEATHER/BRUCE H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
Sweet car
Great little mini SUV. I travel 100+ miles a day. Has been great for commute. Comfortable and fun to drive. I hope to pass this car on to my granddaughter in a few years, it's that sturdy and reliable.

Pros
Looks great, performs well, fun to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KELLEY P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2020
Great Buy - Kona Limited!!!
I didn't even know the Kona existed until the day I bought mine! So happy my dealer showed it to me! I was not planning on buying a car, just came in to look and they made me a deal I couldn't refuse!

Pros
Great gas mileage
Fun to drive
Looks sporty

Cons
Trunk is a little small - minimal storage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JAMA C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/30/2019
I love my Kona
The Kona is my third Hyundai purchase. While the first two were outstanding, the Kona is my favorite. From styling, ease of use, and the excellent amenities that come standard, the Kona is fun to drive. To top it off, the gas mileage is phenomenal!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cathy S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/22/2019
love my kona
I have not regretted a day purchasing this 2018 Kona. Its a joy to drive and I have gotten lots of positive remarks about it. Its a smaller suv, but its just me in the car unless my dog, bella, jumps in. Great handling. had to get used to the 4 cylinder engine since I had a 6 cylinder previously but have found it has enough get up and go for me.....

Pros
getting 32 miles/gal so far. love the economy and the safety features on this model. Especially like blind spot indicator and of course backup camera.

Its fun to drive. My sister said its like a sports car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Janet A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2019
Love my kona
Love this car! It is easy to drive and park while offering me a sense of safety and security. This is the first car I have owned that I consistently use the cruise control. The easy to access controls on the steering wheel are a plus.

Pros
Gas mileage, warning of cars in blind spot, right size for my needs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MURRAY S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2019
Luxury Ride Without the Price
I have had my Hyundai Kona for a year now and truly enjoy it. It handles well on the road with little to no exterior noise while driving. The stereo system and safety features on the car are great, and it comes with Apple Play as well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Laurie C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Love my Kona!
I have had the Kona for 17 months and it is one of the best AWD I owned. It has great gas mileage and the compact size of this SUV is just right for me. I am happy I purchased this in July of 2018. I traded in a perfectly good Hyundai Elantra for the Kona.

Pros
All the features you would want in an AWD SUV.

Cons
No heated back seats, that's why I gave the interior design a 9.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SHERRY C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Spunky and Sporty
Love my Kona! It's small, fits me, great mpg. Very nimble. Plenty of spunk and great styling--inside and out. Comfortable and cute as heck. The exterior styling is edgy and unique. The cargo area is spacious and the rear seats fold down easily. The media/entertainment system is so easy to use. Great display, easy touch controls, seamless bluetooth and carplay features.

Pros
Great looking. Nimble.

Cons
Road noise is a little loud. Base sound system needs a boost.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DENISE C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2019
2018 Kona
The Kona is amazing on gas and fun to drive. It's comfortable both in the front and back. The back seats fold down to give lot's of storage room. There are almost no blind-spots! It handles great on curves and in the rain, The ac cools down the car quickly in the Fl heat.I would buy this car again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
JUDITH J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/14/2019
ms.
I am very happy! Thanks for everything! Keep up the good work! I would recommend it! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! See you very soon! Time for service soon! Everybody loves the look of the car!

Pros
Everything!

Cons
Nothing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jocelyn S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2019
Love this Crossover!
I absolutely love this vehicle. I’ve had mine for a little over a year now and it still drives like a dream. I don’t think I could ever go back to a vehicle without turbo, it’s extremely helpful getting on any highway. The Kona also handles great in the snow. Last November we had a freak snow storm that came out of nowhere and dumped about 5 inches. Everyone else I work with that didn’t have 4-wheel drive got stuck trying to get home from work except me! The Kona handles great in all types of weather! Highly recommend!

Pros
Turbo
Style
Performance
Reliability

Cons
Little leg room in the backseat
No duel temperature controls (driver and passenger)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PATRICIA M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/10/2019
Best car around!
Excellent car. Drives great, love the style. We have always purchased Hyundai vehicles . We never had problems. I wanted to get an suv for me. I am a small person and most suvs are too big for me. Then the Kona was introduced. It is an suv but a smaller size. Perfect for me. I love it. The only drawback, though minor, is the trunk is small. Though put the back seats down, it’s fine. I highly recommend this car!

Pros
Perfect!

Cons
Could have a larger trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
Alfonso P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/09/2019
Do not purchase
This is the worst vehicle I have purchased. Stick to Honda or Toyota for cars. I will not purchase a Hyundai product again. Service was terrible and the car reflects the service offered at Hyundai dealerships. I do not recommend a Hyundai especially this model of car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/10/2019
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

CB
Craig B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2019
Superb kona
Incredible driving vehicle
Comfortable and peppy
The turbo really keeps us in line with traffic
Great handling and smooth ride
Comfortable and spacious back seats for passengers
Great service department and friendly staff
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Antonio F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2019
Excellent value
I like the way it handles it's easy to park and enjoyable to drive. The seats are comfortable , no blind spots. looks very sporty with it's chrome rims and the dashboard is easy to read. The front end looks aggressive , not generic. Good all around looking vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARK A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/04/2019
Decent vehicle
This is a decent vehicle, it rides well. It is good on gas. Stereo system is very good. I only have a couple of issues, not a lot of room in the back seat for more than 2 people and when I back up and then place in drive it will sputter.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Mark F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/01/2019
Hyundai Kona
This is my 5th Hyundai in my family. I went from a Durango to a Sonata to a Kona. My wife has had 2 Elantras, and when my son as ready for a new car we got him an Elantra. We have been extremely happy with our Hyundai's. I can move bags of top soil and mulch in the spring with no problem. The car runs well, and gets great gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 1166 in total