2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(826 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AD
Andre D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/30/2019
Love my Kona
This car exceeds my expectations. And I wouldn't have know about it; except for my salesman Geraldo Portillo. Roomy; fast;great looking! IF IT ONLY HAD A CD CHANGER!! I have plans to get the sport model for my daughter. BUT NOT THAT MARVEL THING

Pros
Very peppy. And handles excessive speed well

Cons
NO CD CHANGER

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
DAVID O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/30/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona
Purchased Kona as a way to size down from previous car but still have space for a child. Very pleased overall with the Kona. I enjoy the styling, great fuel economy and handling. A rear facing child seat fits in the back seat behind the driver better than the passenger side thanks to the adjustment options only available on the driver seat. Suspension is a bit on the stiff side, but I was accustomed to that coming from another Hyundai previously.

Pros
Fun styling
Great braking performance
Great fuel economy
Adequate space for 1 child family

Cons
Base speaker system not very impressive
Limited passenger side seat adjustment
Headlights could provide better illumination
Slightly less cargo space than competitors in subcompact SUV class

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SUSAN R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2019
Kona 2018 Ultimate model
Researched this vehicle before going to the dealership. Test drove the model that I eventually bought. It had all the features I wanted in a smaller SUV with all wheel drive. Impressed with the standard safety features. Loved the sporty look. Very pleased with the gas mileage . Cargo space is adequate. I would recommend this vehicle to others.

Cons
Would like the headlights to give a wider beam of light

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
SLAWOMIR P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2019
good car
Hyundai Kona is an Excellent car for daily use and travel. This car has a very good gas mileage and is built well. It feels very safe and is comfortable to drive. Easy to connect with phone and websites like you tube to stream music.

Pros
I like everything in this car

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
RANDY F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/28/2019
Nice driving crossover? SEL AWD
Very nice vehicle for the price. Only bad thing is plastic inside car marks very easy seems cheap. The car rides nice gets good fuel economy. I was kinda surprised that trunk says 150lb weight limit. Ours has some kind of noise drivers side near door sounds like something metal sliding around inside door or door frame underside

Pros
Nice car good value. Rides nice good fuel economy.

Cons
Plastic on interior cheap and marks very easy. Rings scratch doors inside easily. Back window is difficult to clean with design near top.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CAROLE S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/27/2019
Kona
I have had several Hyundais and this is my favorite. I love the fact that it is all wheel drive. It is a nice looking vehicle with plenty of room inside. I would recommend this vehicle to everyone. It is a great vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Kevin N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/26/2019
Kona review
I really like the car. The only complaint I have is there is no cd player and the passenger seat is really low and not comfortable. When asked the service dept if they could swap out the passenger seat for a better one, they said they could not. I am really surprised they could not accommodate me since my wife is disabled.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
EDWARD C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2019
Kona
This Kona is the sixth Hyundai that we have purchased/leased. This is our first compact suv. we have owned Santa Fe's , Sonatas, and one 2013 elantra gt hatchback which was loads of fun. the Kona reminds of that car. It is quick, agile and fun to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MAUREEN M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2019
Love My Kona
SO much fun to drive and great gas mileage. Perfect size for my needs. Great handling.
Love the ease of getting in and out. Not so low to the ground. Just wish the headlights were brighter.
My model doesn’t have lumbar support.
Miss the CD player.

Pros
Mileage and height. Fun to drive.

Cons
Headlights too dim

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ANTHONY S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/24/2019
Great little SUV.
The Kona is a great little SUV, we leased the base SE model but after owning it for a while I should have gone for the top model with the 1.6 turbo engine. My wife complains that it has a hard time on any hill and she is right. The price is right though if you are looking to get an AWD vehicle for a little money. The Apple Car Play is standard, Honda only has it on higher models not base . After one year the Kona hasn't missed a beat and it handles like a sports sedan

Pros
Great handling and reliability

Cons
Cramped rear seat, needs more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Julie A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/24/2019
Long distance commute
I drive over 115 interstate miles a day. I feel the Kona is the perfect car for this. It has been a reliable, safe vehicle so far and I enjoy driving it. The engine is a bit loud, and nothing to write home to Mom about, but the car was not overpriced and so far I like it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
Scot Y.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
2019 Kona Ltd
We love our new 2019 Kona Ltd ! We purchased a 2018 Kona last April and traded for this new one. It's a great car that's fun to own.powerful 1.6Turbo. delivers performance. 7 speed dual clutch transmission shifts effortlessly.

Pros
All

Cons
Very few. Interior could be less plastic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michelle D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona
I'm extremely Happy with my Purchase. I am so pleased with the comfort of this little Crossover considering I'm physically handicapped. Very comfortable smooth ride. I highly recommend this little Crossover!!!

Pros
Comfortable to drive

Cons
Seatbelt rubs my neck no matter where I adjust the setting

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
William T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
KONA
great car we love it!!! Has not disappointed. Looks good, drives nice and gives great fuel economy. Has met all of our expectations. We would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for something fun to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Roxanne R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Love My Car
Purchased our Kona in April of 2018 and have loved it from the test drive on. It handles fantastically and great on gas. It’s the perfect size. Space in the back is good and can hold a lot more than it looks. Mechanically have had no problems. Would definitely purchase another one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Angelo B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2019
Excellent value
A terrific vehicle that is fun to drive. It gets great gas mileage. It's only shortcoming is the road noise audible inside the cabin. It's loaded with features. I especially love the wireless phone charging, which was a first in this class of vehicle.

Pros
Great value
Wireless charging
Good gas mileage
Great looks

Cons
Road noise inside the cabin.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BJ
BRAD J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
My favorite vehicle
This is my favorite vehicle ever. Cool look. Great ride. Sweet interior. Sound system is amazing. Turbo makes the car zippy. Really fun to drive - especially on windy mountain roads. Really comfortable for long drives. The best valued car if ever purchased!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
David F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/21/2019
Nice but Needs Work
For the most part, the 2018 Kona is a good car. You get what you pay for with the price point and affordability of this vehicle. My major complaint is the road noise and ride of the vehicle. The suspension system must not be ideal because you feel every little bump in the road so this is not a very smooth riding vehicle. My other beef with the Kona is the rough or loose shifting of the transmission. When you hit the gas, it seems like it takes the transmission 1-2 seconds to engage with a clunk.

Pros
Style
Warranty
Gas mileage

Cons
Road noise
Uncomfortable
Rough shifting in transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Michael L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/21/2019
The kona
The only thing to change is make it larger, turn this car into a mid size and all wheel drive with a normal engine and trans combo, not a turbo charged 7 speed manual/auto dual clutch clunker. But if only dreams came true, loving my car so far thou.

Pros
Fun everyday driver.

Cons
Small, a little tight hauling all the work buddies.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BILLY B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Nice car bad dealership
Love the car except drove off lot with 3 low tires! Would consider buying again but never through this dealership. They didn't try to work with me even though the car was 2018! Have express my experience to family friends and coworkers.

Pros
Great car

Cons
Poor dealership

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 826 in total