2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1165 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LS
Larry S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/31/2019
Great Little Car
Having gone through a series of reviews, I'd say the car has met my expectations. It's fast and nimble around the city, capable on less improved roads, versatile, and comfortable. It's both the fastest and the nicest car I've ever owned.

Pros
Ample power and maneuverability makes it easier to tackle urban driving. I find Hyundai's native navigation system to be superior to Google's while driving.

Cons
It has a bit of turbo lag, which occasionally hinders the acceleration when one needs it. The duo clutch can miss its mark at times; I miss driving a manual transmission from time to time. The Android Auto is a nice interface but its limits on sorting music and lack inability to shuffle songs within play lists actually forces me to use my phone rather than the head unit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandra M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2019
Love my car!!!
I love most everything about my Kona!!! This car is fun to drive, gets great gas mileage and has lots of amenities that most consumers require these days. I do wish the trunk were just a bit larger.

Pros
Sporty, great gas mileage, fun to drive

Cons
Trunk is a bit small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DAVID D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2019
Great Price, Great Value, Great Little SUV!
I have a 2018 Hyundai Kona SEL and so far it has been an excellent purchase. I came to the Kona from a Veloster and they are night and day different (as you would expect going from a 'sports car' to an SUV) but I'm happy to say that the Kona easily makes up for the faults I tolerated in the Veloster. The Kona is smooth, quiet, easy to get in/out and the engine is quiet. One of the BIGGEST improvements over the Veloster is the transmission. Both have a dual-clutch transmissions but the one in the Veloster was atrocious... never knew what gear it wanted to be in and at times when there was a sudden hard press of the accelerator, the car would rev up but never go into gear... very dangerous! The Kona does not suffer this gear confusion at all and has a decent amount of acceleration for a small 4-cylinder SUV. Gas mileage has been superior as well.

I give kudos to Hyundai as well for the level of tech that is included on these cars by default. Just a few years back, blind spot monitoring and backup cameras were only available on the highest end models of any cars, now Hyundai includes those and more on a mid-range SUV.

I highly recommend the Hyundai Kona!

Pros
Lots of Tech
Great Fuel Economy
Ease of Entrance/Exit

Cons
Power seats should be included in the SEL model, the manual adjustments available cant make the seat totally comfortable for tall people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mark L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/30/2019
Should have kept my 2017 Elantra Limited
Too much road noise on any type of road - makes it hard to have a conversation with passengers or listen to the radio. Gas mileage is poor even on highway. I had to add to the sound system to get it to send better.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHARLES C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
YC
I'm truly loved ,I'm bought Hyund Kona , I'm driving to work everyday, have a lot fun with this new car ,I'm very enjoy it Thanks all of you Hyundai service?☺️,in feature I'm still will with Hyundai keep touch have good relationship with you guys
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Michael L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2019
I love my Hyundai Kona!
This car has all wheel drive, it almost steers itself, XM radio, heated front seats, very smooth 6-speed automatic transmission and a 2-liter engine. On trips I always average about 35 miles per gallon. This is a calculated number, not what the computer says. When going up a hill the transmission will smoothly shifts from 6th to 5th. Some other cars will shift from 6th to 4th with an abrupt shift. They have essentially a 4-speed with two overdrives. The Kona has a true 6-speed transmission. I love the backup camera, the warning if cars are coming from either side in back and the warning about cars in the "blind spots". For me it's a keeper.

Pros
Lots of options with an MSPR of $25025!

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
NANCY K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2019
I love my Kona!!!
This car is amazing in every way. Everything is thought through, comfortable, and fun. The car gets up and is very safe and smooth. The AWD works like a dream, sport more is so exciting and fun. Plenty of space all around.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PETER B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
Hyundai Kona 2018
Great car. Needs a softer suspension. Rides a little rough. Definitely needs a bolder horn. Can't hear it and it sounds like a bicycle horn. Biggest item needing to be standard is electronic access to the hatchback via an interior button and the key fob. It is considered an upgrade. I have everything you would want electronically in the vehicle. I find it strange electronic access to the hatchback is not standard.

Pros
Great car

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2019
My 18 Kona
I chose the 2018 Kona, because of its unique style and I wouldn't see it at every turn of the corner, my previous vehicle was the 2014 Elantra ♥️ it. I'm a frugal type of guy and the Kona gives me everything I need and wanted. Zippy 4 cyl and I got used to buying cheap gas after the Elantra, but wanted an AWD vehicle Kona SEL fits the bill.

Pros
Lots of safety features, I'm a big guy over 300 and I ride comfortably

Cons
Not a lot of rear space in the "trunk" area. I didn't get the turbo engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Maryann B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2019
Marvelous
when I first saw this car I feel in love with kona I promise my self if ever am going to buy a new car it will be kona and I did it. Am happy and satisfied with this beautiful kona, I love my car KONA
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
ALEXIS K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2019
Love my Kona
The Kona has great safety features and is very comfortable to drive. Handling in bad weather is excellent. Engine acceleration with the turbo engine makes highway merging easy. Sound system is great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MILLICENT O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2019
Kona Girl!
I absolutely love my Kona. it is a beautiful vehicle, drives great and is great on gas. There is no other vehicle with a better warranty than my Hyundai Kona. I get a lot of positive comments about my Kona.

Cons
Lack of good, secure storage location in center console for mobile phone when connected to USB cable. once USB cable is connected, the phone does not fit into the recessed horizontal cavity as the cable restricts it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
Gladys K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2019
I Love My Kona
Great small vehicle which saves you on the gas bill. It has comfort until you hit the bumps in the road. I like the parking backup camera as well as the size of the vehicle. The beauty of the is great.

Pros
Mileage

Cons
You can feel the bumps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Janet S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2019
Kona
I really enjoy my Kona. The Kona holds its own on the highway and the gas mileage is awesome. The vehicle is nice, comfortable for me not enough leg room but it does ride smoothly. My next one with have to be automatic not manual.

Pros
Gas saver and ride great on the highway

Cons
The truck you have to open manually the button on the key pad does not operate the truck.
The seats you have to operate manually.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
Nancy K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/21/2019
I love this car!!
Everything about this car is amazing. I have looked most of my cars, but I love this one. It's fast, fun, sexy, and it performs in any weather. Great fuel mileage city and highway. Couldn't ask for more, will never again except anything less.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MN
MICHELLE N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/21/2019
Safe, Stylish, Happy Experienec with Kona
I purchased the Kona after replacing my beloved 2001 Toyota RAV4. The Kona was the right size, right attitude, had great fuel efficiency. Has as the modern safety and entertainment features. The only area that can be improved is the inside cabin noise while driving. Most people don't notice this. Every time I walk to my vehicle I smile. It's an excellent car.

Pros
Fuel economy, spunkiness, style, safety features, entertainment features

Cons
Interior cabin noice a bit high

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
PAMELA H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2019
My kona
Enjoying the ease of use. Travels well. Bluetooth connection works well. Love the android auto. It aids in navigation and so easily viewed. Ability to adjust seats and lumbar support adds greatly to comfort while driving. Love the mileage I'm getting and ease of calculation of each trip

Cons
Back storage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Diane M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2019
Konafide!!
I consider this one of the best little vehicles town. I am pushing 70 years old and this Little SUV handles so easily and it’s terrific on gas. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone of any age!! Not to mention my vehicle is the basic with no bells and whistle’s but I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Pros
Handles easily
Great on gas
Nice design

Cons
Basic model doesn’t have that auto notice if in a accident or need help. Must use your cell phone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Charlene B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/17/2019
Turbo AWD "White Lightnin"
Researched an entire year before purchasing. Probably last car I'll ever buy so wanted to be as sure as possible in decision. Very happy with Hyundai. Dealership experience really matters. Research, test drive and buy!

Pros
Great ride, styling, mileage, handling all perfect.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
SAMUEL K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2019
Top quility
Hyundai is best car ever had.never knew small car like this had great performance.always went for the biggest car or truck.so this was a change for me.found was best change ever.its a great driving car quiet engian runs smooth
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 1165 in total