2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(815 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RF
RONDA F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
LOVE My "Little Blue"
This car is wonderful in so many ways there is not enough room to explain it all. You will not be sorry with your purchase. I am very happy with the saving of gas, how comfortable it is to drive, the way it looks and many other things!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CO
CARL O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
2018 Kona
Original intent was to purchase another Santa Fe but the cost forced my husband and I to look at the Kona. We love the mileage we’re getting 30-32 in town. Gave up cargo and back seat leg room but since it’s only the two of us it has worked surprisingly well. If in time a wheel chair is required for daily function we will need a larger SUV. That being said we will still shop with Hyundai.

Pros
Overall great vehicle.

Cons
Louder horn.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
Gilbert R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
2018 Kona Review
I would buy this vehicle again! 10,000 miles later only problem was a back up light burned out and needed replacement. Handles well in rain, snow. Lots of space and even better mileage! Lots of features on design that make it a pleasure to drive (Lots of room, fold down armrest with cup holders. also deep pockets on the doors and lots of cubby spots for cell phones keys and other things.

Pros
Great value for the money.

Cons
I can not buy a tow hitch for the vehicle. Really could use a six cyl engine for better performance and power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona
Performance and Handling: A little sluggish off the start. I expected this with being the 2L engine.
Handles great for cornering and has a comfortable ride.

Interior: I love the ease of all the controls. Backseat is very tight for passengers and the trunk is lacking in space.

Exterior: The look of the car is great. Don't change a thing with the appearance.

Overall it's a great car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jill S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Kona
Luv it would deff buy another one very easy to drive luv the features n styling the the way it handles in all wezther condtions it is great to see out of for visibility and the inside cockpit space is very comfortitable

Pros
Great car fun to drive great handling

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dennis C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/13/2019
So far no complaints at all
Good car, fun to drive with turbo. A little cramped to get into, is definitely a compact or subcompact. But long trips have proved comfortable.
Pity any back seat passengers. Limited cargo room.
With AWD does fine in snow. Be prepared to have folks get mad at brightness of headlights.

Pros
Quick with turbo. Good sight lines. Did fine in winter with deep snow with AWD. Good workmanship.

Cons
Kinda have to wedge into it. Limited cargo space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Barbara K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/10/2019
2018 Kona
I have had the car since August 2018; I like the car but I don’t love the car. My Santa Fe was much more comfortable to drive. Very glad I’m only leasing the car I would’ve been severely disappointed if I actually owned the car. Gas mileage is good.

Pros
Cornering is tight; Gas mileage is good.

Cons
Head room; no CD player; rear seat is cramped; no rear seat USB ports; too small center console- even to rest your arm on; rear view camera is useless when wet outside; rear window defroster takes long to warm up and doesn’t clear window adequately;

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Angelo B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/09/2019
Excellent value
Great value for the price. This is my third Hyundai and every one of them has been an excellent experience. The Kona is unique looking and another success story for Hyundai. It's unique and fun to drive.

Pros
Stylish and fun to drive

Cons
Nothing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Maureen M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/09/2019
Everyone loves it
I have had so many compliments on my vehicle and the people who are complimenting it have no idea of all the safety features it came with. Once I tell them, they are so impressed, they either want one, or want one for someone they know. Tall men are especially impressed because they don't hit their heads on the headliner.

Pros
This model has every safety feature of some of Hyundai's nicest vehicles. Automatic brights, automatic windshield wipers, lane detection, heads-up display, a dash display which allows me to watch my fuel economy in real time... and on, and on. Who could ask for more? Until self-driving, I can't imagine anything better.

Cons
I'm racking my brain and I cannot think of a single con.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kathleen M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/09/2019
Love my Kona
I saw the Kona advertised on TV. When I went to the dealer I was happy with the look and price. Consumer Report named Kona the best subcompact car for 2019. I've had it just about a year now and I love it. Would definitely buy again, probably with an upgrade!

Pros
Would buy again and upgrade features.

Cons
I still think my salesman over charged me. He wouldn't give me his written version of the total cost and when I picked up the car and got the typed version it was $2,000 more than the agreed upon price.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2019
Overall outstanding..just a couple of minor things...
The vehicle is perfect size for our needs, gets excellent gas mileage, is comfortable and spacious, and comes loaded with extras in the base package with the usual superior Hyundai warranty.
That alone fully justifies the purchase at the price paid. Would gladly buy again and highly recommend.

Only issues are—the base engine is somewhat underpowered. For our needs, not a serious issue. But many people will be disappointed..
Also I’m not a fan of the Dual Clutch. I know I’m giving up a lot of the “driving” with an automatic transmission versus a standard transmission. Most of us do that which is why hardly anyone makes standards anymore. That said, the Dual Clutch is a step too far. I like to occasionally coast—but the Dual Clutch over-rides me often, again not a big deal but don’t like it. Just like I don’t like “driver assist” wrestling the driving away from me.
I know we’re in the terrible guinea pig area between our driving the vehicle versus autonomous. I’d like to take full control of my vehicle UNTIL we get to fully autonomous. Meaning throughout OUR lives.
But again the Kona is best in breed for the buck!

Pros
Good quality, nice features, comfortable, outstanding value.

Cons
Don’t like Dual Clutch, base engine lacks pep

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KJ
Keith J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/06/2019
nice cheap car
i love my Kona except for the sound system, compared to the one in my Sonata is very disappointing. the strereo really sucks in this car. Runs very good and fun to drive. disappointed that a cd player wasn't in it.

Cons
stereo

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Diane H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2019
Love my Kona!
Just the right size for me. Love how it handles plus Apple Car Play is dynamite! Don’t know what else to say but I really enjoy my car. XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxOoooooooooooooooooooooooo

Pros
Perfect size for me and plenty of room for transporting things I need to use for.

Cons
Back rear window is blocked by the roof making it a little difficult to reach when cleaning windows.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Antonio R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/02/2019
Best small SUV
The 2018 Hyundai Kona, Limited trim, AWD in my opinion and driving experience since we purchased it last dec 2018, is one of the best vehicle we owned.Excellent overall
in reliability, performance,safety features, vehicle quality in and out, comfort,styling,design,acceleration,fun to drive, price and unbeatable 5-year warranty.

Pros
Everything on the vehicle.

Cons
No power lift gate, no CD.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/01/2019
Great SUV!
I'm very satisfied with my 2018 Hyundai Kona Limited. It has a175 HP Turbo charged engine. Gas mileage is excellent - 28 mpg city and 31.5 mpg on the highway. With the push of a button, it becomes an all-wheel drive vehicle which is very good in the Winter weather. I love the moon-roof and Apple car-play. This car also has blind spot detection, a rear back-up camera; and rear detection.. I highly recommend this vehicle,

Pros
Good response with the 175 HP Turbo Charged engine. Great safety features.

Cons
Small trunk space, Rear seats fold down to give you more area for storage if needed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Pamela C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/01/2019
Love my Kona
Economical. Quality. Love it. Just the size of suv I need. Love the styling and the two tone feature. My 7th Hyundai. Stay with quality. Ga’s saving. Comfortable. Get lots of compliments and I always recommend Hyundai’s as Gray cars

Pros
Love it all

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sheila K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/01/2019
Kona, my new best friend
Kona is great. Rides smoothly especially in the snow. Love those heated seats.
Gets great mileage and a little higher off the ground than a car but not as high as the SUV so much easier to get in & out.

Pros
Great gas mileage 29mpg daily, 36-39mpg long trips
Lane change signal
Back up Monitor
Color- Chalk White with black trim
Seat covers water repel, not show the dirt
Ease in entering and exiting
Can't lock keys in the car

Cons
Trunk area is smaller than the Elantra Touring
Missing the little dashboard cubby that I put my E-z pass and insurance card in.
Difficulty getting the maps up on the dashboard electronically

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lucille T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/01/2019
Hyundai Kona 2018
I truly like this car..it's comfortable to drive and easy to get in and out, which is helpful to me with bad knees...it is a reliable car, good gas mileage..I've received compliments on the car and people ask what brand car it is...

Pros
Fun to drive...

Cons
I'm short and it's hard for me to close the hatchback..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Arthur K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2019
Good choice.
Love the looks of the vehicle. Rides great. Did well in the snow. Has many extra features, especially the rear view camera and the blind spot indicators. Sirus radio is a waste of time for us. Looking forward to the AC.

Pros
Extra features & performance.

Cons
Satellite radio & constant emails.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Billye B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/26/2019
My Little Kona
We've owned our new Kona one year this month and it has not given us any trouble what soever. Due to the short wheel base the ride is not the best and there seems to be some road noise entering the interior from the rear wheel area. In some of the in town driving, if you don't come to a full stop the transmission can't make up its mind which gear to be in, but I have found out that if I move the gearshift handle over to the left, I can control which gear it is in which ends that problem if I want to do it. It is a four door but to sit in the back, you better have short legs as there is not much room, with me being 6'1" I need more room than most. Still a nice ride!

Pros
Great pep for a small car, great gas mileage, nice instrument panel, handles good.

Cons
short wheel base equals a ruff ride, road noise from the rear wheel area, automatic downshift in town hesitates causing engine to race sometimes, not much leg room in the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 815 in total