2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(818 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


SQ
SALMAN Q.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/20/2018
N
This vehicle design and comfort is not satisfied seating while driving is not feel good and not satisfied I prefer different type, the material they usbyed is valuable , overall the price of this vehicle is much more than comfort

Pros
No

Cons
No

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Deborah G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/04/2018
Too small
Hate this vehicle. It is way too small. Should have taken more time when leasing Ugh!!!! Do not lease or buy this vehicle. You won’t be happy tried to exchange for another vehicle but you can’t win at that game. Another huge down payment Have to live with it

Pros
None

Cons
Everything with this vehicle My hisbamd went back after one week to see if we could exchange for another vehicle. We could have but another down big downpaymenr. Just have to live with it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
GRANT F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/28/2019
Poor vehicle
700 miles ... I only had the Kona for a few weeks. It was too uncomfortable as it was difficult to initially sit down and be comfortable. I would have to be completely centered in the seat, otherwise the left or right side of the back of the seat edge would press. against either shoulder. It is as if the seat was to narrow to accommodate a Male 5’11” 190 lbs American body frame ??

The other problem was the automatic breaking feature. If there was a vehicle protruding into the lane in which I was driving, say by a couple of feet and I swerved to drive around it carefully ... the Kona would abruptly brake automatically ... which initially scared me, as I am stopping uncontrollably... without warning !!! Poor design of automatic breaking !!!

Pros
Cannot remember anything exceptional.

Cons
700 miles ... I only had the Kona for a few weeks. It was too uncomfortable as it was difficult to initially sit down and be comfortable. I would have to be completely centered in the seat, otherwise the left or right side of the back of the seat edge would press. against either shoulder. It is as if the seat was to narrow to accommodate a Male 5’11” 190 lbs American body frame ??

The other problem was the automatic breaking feature. If there was a vehicle protruding into the lane in which I was driving, say by a couple of feet and I swerved to drive around it carefully ... the Kona would abruptly brake automatically ... which initially scared me, as I am stopping uncontrollably... without warning !!! Poor design of automatic breaking !!!

Performance was an issue ... very underpowered !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
CAMILLE J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/30/2018
Not the best
I should not have gotten new model. This car seems to struggle at acceleration and smoothness. It lacks comfort and the dashboard seems to have issues off and on. I feel like I'm in a low quality car that has issues.

Pros
The back up camera is amazing. I also like the talk to text feature when someone texts you while driving. The heated seats are great and heat up fast.

Cons
The performance of the car, it's slow and doesn't seem to get better gas mileage. It's not smooth and doesn't like to accelerate. If you are not pushing on the gas pedal it will slow way down and you can feel it shift. You'll be the slow car on the road unless you push it to go faster.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BARBARA H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/20/2018
Needs work
The Hyundai Kona does not come with an ECO button and fuel economy is poor and listed above the actual average. Backseat leg room is worse than the airplane and the trunk space is very limited. Needs improvement.

Pros
Apple Car Play is great at reading messages and sending them out. Music system is well sounded.

Cons
No ECO button. Low fuel economy. Limited trunk space. Heavier model.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 06/20/2018
Thank you for sending this feedback regarding your new purchase. A specialist will contact you shortly to discuss further. ^cc 

GZ
Ginger Z.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/21/2018
2018 Kona ultimate
Ongoing issues with the FCA... comes on for no reason. Dealership cannot “locate or duplicate” the problem... the safety of this vehicle is the main reason I purchased it.... dissatisfied . The salesman will only reply to my texts as it pleases him.... I was convinced to purchase from this dealership by the salesman... should’ve stuck yo my gut
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jose A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/17/2019
The car is very nice and they never fix it
I hate this car if they ever fix all the noises the car has it’s nice to drive the car but he’s very uncomfortable with all the noisesI hope somebody contact me and will fix this problem and then the car will be nice and fun to dry

Pros
It would be nice if the car wasn’t so noisy and nice when you take it to the dealer to fix the problem find a noise and fix it

Cons
It would be nice if the car wasn’t so noisy and nice when you take it to the dealer to fix the problem find a noise and fix it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RACHEL G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/25/2019
Poor AWD and engine performance
Definitely will not purchase again! Poor AWD handling in snow and rain. Do not feel safe when driving it in extreme conditions. Engine power is pathetic when merging into an interstate. Do not like the delay in the engine when trying to get up to speed!

Pros
Sirius XM and navigation

Cons
AWD and engine performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
RALPH L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/03/2018
Nice car, transmition problem from day 2. Had to replace transmition at 300 miles
Nice car, nice to drive nice look to it but I have a transmition problem from day 2 of driving it. The car has only 300 miles Dealership gave me only one choice and that is to replace the transmition instead of replacing the car with a new one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
ROBERT M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/26/2018
Kona
i think the vehicle is overpriced, a bit disappointed with the road noise. Overall the Kona is okay however there are many other crossover vehicles in the same price range. That coupled with the fact that Hyundai do not offer complimentary maintenance means that I will chalk this up to not a great buy
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
EMILY L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/27/2018
Stage 1 Review
The major problem of Kona is the transmission, Hyundai should look for a better transmission type for his new models. Suggest to have the service department to provide a more indepth training to new owners.

Pros
comfortable, come with a lot of driving safety features that needs more time to access

Cons
materials are not good enough, feel cheap, need a better transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
MICHAEL V.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/30/2018
Kona Review
Exterior design have too many angles and no flow same for the interior.
Door locks too complicated and they don't do what I want them to.
Exterior design have too many angles and no flow same for the interior.
Door locks too complicated and they don't do what I want them to.

Pros
Cost

Cons
Low trade valve, incomprehensible electronic features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
DURAN J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/18/2018
Good buy
Very stylish and comfortable overall. Very solid feel and very ergonomic layout. Easy to operate and easy to pair with media devices. Infotainment systems is easy to use and is not a distraction. Looks good inside and out.

Pros
Looks great. Feels good and very easy to operate. Great sound quality from the speakers and snycs well with devices.

Cons
Headlamps are very dim. Sometimes laggy in shifting gears. Expensive for the size or either I got overcharged.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Glenn F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/02/2018
Meh
I’ve been unimpressed with this car/ SUV. It’s a 4 cylinder so the power is expected to be weak but I feel like I’ve driven other 4 cylinders that have better pickup. The gas mileage is not all that impressive either. When my lease expires I’ll be returning this car and not getting another unless they make some serious improvements.

Pros
Looks nice

Cons
Weak engine performance
Less than expected gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Thomas P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/09/2018
2018 Kona
Some really nice things, other are so-so. Not enough room in back for any storage or a big load of groceries. If I have to fold the rear seats down for more room, I have to remove the rear head rests so everything fits. Automatic anti-collision does not work at slow speeds. 4 Wheel drive does not work at high speeds. What, no heated steering wheel?!?! Turbo engine option is a MUST.

Pros
Turbo engine supplies plenty of power and 34-36 mpg
back up camera and warning system is a big plus
Turn assist lighting is very nice
Heads up display is great (would be better if more info was available to be on it)

Cons
no heated steering wheel
Anti-collision feature drops out below 41 MPH.
4WD drops out around 30 MPH
Hard breaking causes car to shimmy
Roof rack is NOT standard even on the top of the line version
Auto windshield wipers are a pain - Go back to manual intermittent style, please
At 55mph and you have the drivers window open, you MUST have another window open (even if just slightly) to kill the wind buffeting noise.
Not enough room in back for any storage or a big load of groceries. If I have to fold the rear seats down for more room, I have to remove the rear head rests so everything fits.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Timothy C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/18/2018
Good but.....
Small rear storage space and I wish the mileage was a little better. The back seat area also seems small. If I had it to do over again I probably would have gone with a Tucson instead. If only I could go back in time.

Pros
Good mileage, nice looks. The turbo gives it some nice pep.

Cons
Small rear luggage room. I can only fit 1 suitcase. Very disappointed. Also, I wish the dealer would have told me about blue link. I may have bought a vehicle with that installed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Alyssa M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/08/2018
Okay Car
The Kona is a very cute, comfortable, and stylish car, however I have noticed it doesn't like taking hills unless you switch the car mode into sport, other than that it drives and handles the snow very nicely.

Pros
Stylish, cute, comfortable, handles well in bad weather

Cons
No CD player, have to switch car into sport mode to handle hills properly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Robert C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/21/2018
Good start, but needs further refinement.
Kona ultimate package is nicely equipment and design is stylish. Cabin is a bit noisy, but I guess that is expected with a small car. Auto transmission is not that smooth and tends to make some noise during gear engagement or switching, but was told that is to be expected and operating normally. Overall ride is decent for small car, although steering is noticeably tighter/stiffer than other cars in its class. Also, at time of this writing, still having service issues with auto drifting even with perfect alignment. For small basic car base or middle package may be good value, but Ultimate package with notably higher quality features, may not be best overall value. One minor pet peeve, even when buying the "Ultimate" package, you still need to purchase basic car mats.

Pros
Nice design, with good features in Ultimate package.

Cons
Transmission performance and noise. Tight/Stiff steering. Cabin noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Edward C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/26/2018
Kona review
Car is smaller than I would like, safety is great in Konas, my wife was on freeway when a vehicle crept into her lane, the car on its own swayed away from the creeping car preventing her from having a accident.

Pros
Safety lane assist, alert for upcoming stopped cars,
Heated seats and safety

Cons
Small interior, trunk hatch door doesn’t open automatically. Gas mileage not what we expected,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Julian W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/07/2019
Kona great vehicle
Easton Jones, was good to use, other than him had a terrible sales experience, I was yelled at, wouldn't by a hyundai again, left upset and bitter. Got a headache, and didn't drive the car for 2 days, due to bad experience even finance department was terrible (Mr. king)

Pros
1.6t, zippy in sport mode, fun to drive, lovely features.

Cons
the dct transmission, takes a lil getting use to, but fun if you like driving stick.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 818 in total