2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77
4.8
(739 Reviews)
Latest review about 20 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GW
GREGORY W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Living up to expectations
Researched the small SUV segment for 6 weeks prior to purchase. AWD is a highly desirable option for CT winters. Lacking AWD eliminated some competitors. Test drove several competitors but in the end it was the Kona's turbo engine that won the day.

Pros
Turbo!
Android Auto (across the range)

Cons
Extensive use of hard plastics in the interior (that's a nitpick in this price range)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
EILEEN D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/22/2019
Kona
Purchased car new, my sixth Hyundai vehicle. I do not believe I would buy another Kona. I would move back up to Tuscon. The 2018 Tuscon surpasses my Kona for interior comfort. I like my heads up, which surprisingly the Tuscon does not have.

Cons
Feel Hyudai skimped on interior costs for seats and flooring, as well as comfort for back seat riders.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2019
Bluetooth
I wish the android app did not have to use the cord to connect to the car. Is there a way to connect to my Kona with out the cord and still be able to use Google maps? And other apps? That would be great!

Thank you
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARIA B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
My Review
the overall looks and performance of the car is okay, however, the suspension at rear wheels are not good, every time I hit some small pot holes it really feels that the car is pushing hard down and you will hear a sudden impact, it needs improvement, the doors are all hard plastic looks very boring it should at least wrap parts to match outside appearance. stereo quality is not high quality, the media is not playing video files

Pros
fun to drive, exterior design is nice

Cons
rear suspension is not good, interior design very simple (boring)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
ANNE V.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2019
Happy Kona owner
I wanted a car with really good gas mileage that was comfortable for long distance driving, and the Kona fit the bill. I needed something economical overall, and was pleased to find so many excellent features in this car. Love the technology - since my previous car was a 2007 - and I find the space inside to be very accommodating. Very pleased with my purchase.

Pros
Economical, great gas mileage, great features, both I side and out.

Cons
Could use a little more trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Ann L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2019
New car
The Kona is a great vehicle for the money. It is a little tight on rear seat space, but this can be managed with other adjustments. Technology is very good for the size and $. Very happy with purchase

Pros
Technology and AWD.

Cons
A little tight space wise in the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BARBARA M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
2018 Kona
Excellent. I enjoy driving my car. The gas mileage is good and I can get everything I need in the car. It's a little small for more than 2 people if traveling with luggage and extra things like - golf bags, etc. I've had trouble programming the home link for my garage door opening and my dealership has not been able to program it either.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Safe and Sporty
The Hyundai Kona is a vehicle with intense value. It holds the road and is quick on its feet. The look is very sharp and sporty. Storage is organized and private. Syncs well with all smart-phone functions. Great on mileage. If you have kids, I recommend bringing a car-seat with you for the test-drive to make sure it has enough room for passengers and drivers to be comfortable.

Pros
Value-for-Price
Aesthetic
Great Handling
Efficient Mileage

Cons
Tight Interior
Limited Available Accessories

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Rolando P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2019
My Hyndai Kona
I really love my 2018 Kona vehicle it fits all of my car care needs I'm really satisfied with this car and this Hyundai product . I recommend this car it drives smoothly and its economic friendly love it ..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Connie B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2019
Great
Salesman is great mike Wroblewski, people stop and ask where I got car and they love the color and style. Service is easy to work with and go the extra mile, stop in test drive and meet the hard working staff

Pros
Compact, good on gas rides smooth

Cons
N/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Looks great and drives great!
We purchased this car, and have had it for a whole year now. The seats are very comfortable, and the backseat is comfortable for people as well (which is not very common in these smaller SUV styles). The trunk size is a little small and not very high. I spend most of my time taking the trunk cover off, since it is in the way a lot. However, it really isn't a problem for me. We love the styling and the car drives great. The interior is laid out well, and everything seems to be right where you need it. Couldn't be happier!

Pros
Looks great
Great acceleration when you need it
Backseats are comfy for passengers too
Fun to drive
Heads up display is easy to use

Cons
Trunk space is very small, and not very tall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Barbara R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Kona
No comments to give at this time. You need to change this field should not be a minimum but a maximum. I really have to continue to write to get to 200 which is a waste of time. I do hope you review this field

Pros
Easy to drive great on gas

Cons
Body dents easily. Driving and parking in the city causes dings

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LY
Lisa Y.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Kona
Love the sleek style of Kona's. With all the features it is great value for your money. The drive is very comfortable, and you can't beat the gas performance. I have always been a Hyundai fan and can count on their reliability. So pleased!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BILLY M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Love my Kona`
The Kona is a great small SUV! Love the handling, LOVE the gas mileage. I love driving this car. It has ample space for two up front, back seat area is small but I never have anyone in the back seat. The storage in back is perfect for groceries, etc.

Pros
Love the handling, love the mileage, plenty of room for me

Cons
Should have gotten electric seat controls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OD
Ossis D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
I Love my Kona drive smothly
Have already recommend it to my children's my son and my daughter bought it already one more daughter coming in few month to trade her Toyota for a new 2020 Hyundai Sonata. I was There for oil change for my Kona your services was Excellent thanks again

Pros
Excellent!!! Thanks

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Barbara S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Love my Kona!
This little suv rocks. I have owned many suvs, the Hyundai Kona is the best.

Not recommending if you have a family and need a lot of room in trunk. Cars seats could be tricky as well. Vacation for four would work if each of you have only one bag. Buy one if you are not chauffering other people around.

This vehicle will not disappoint!

Pros
Computer!

Cons
Headlights low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KATIE H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/15/2019
Decent vehicle
I leased the Kona after having a terrible time with my Ford Fiesta. The Kona so far after a year of leasing has been pretty good. Not any major issues have occurred. It is a bit slow to get started from a complete stop, but it’s not the worst car out there. It is limited on cargo space, a weeks worth of a groceries barely fits in the trunk space, but for me that’s ok. I would have to say overall it is a pretty good vehicle because it is reliable. However I am not purchasing it after my lease term is up because I really wanted a Subaru to begin with, but I didn’t have enough money at the time to purchase one. So for the money the Kona is a decent cheaper alternative to a Subaru, but I don’t believe the quality is quite as good.

Pros
Great stability, looks great, decent fuel economy, overall well built vehicle

Cons
Not quick to get going from a stop, has issues connecting with iPod sometimes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ronald D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2019
Size comfort
Fun to drive,SIZE style comfort with a good view small but big inside good lighting at nite great safety features helps to prevent acciddnts.people love the color very satisfying car to drive.i would recommend to all.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Devon R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
New vehicle review
I have thoroughly enjoyed this vehicle I would definitely purchase it again and recommend it to all of my friends the only problem that I have is that there is no remote start and even though I have emailed Hyundai directly I have yet to receive a email from them showing me how to do it through wireless network

Pros
Small roomy quick, easy to maneuver

Cons
No remote start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARGO W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
Beautiful Car. Great Value
I never thought of buying a Hyundai. I’m glad I did. Beautifully styled and economical. I will definitely buy a Hyundai again. I have recommended Hyundai to all of my friends and family. The best car for the money.

Pros
Can go forever on a tank of gas

Cons
Engine Is not as powerful as I would like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 739 in total