2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5rating 4.81
4.8
(529 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


TR
Tim R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/22/2019
Great Car, Crappy Service!
My wife, and I were out car shopping, and I had done my research on cars I wanted to buy. Didn't know that after the test drives, I wouldn't like any of them. My wife suggested Hyundai, so we stopped into Underriners in Billings MT. (160 miles away from us). We have had 3 Hyundai's in our family, so while I was skeptical, I was open minded about it. We looked at a couple cars, and then saw the Kona. We fell in love with it, and purchased it on the spot, even though it didn't have a few features that I really wanted like Navigation. Here's where it gets interesting. The dealership had the Kona limited listed for 27,000 (ish), but immediately pulled the car around, and threw away the window sticker. While we sat there, they didn't once talk about price, but rather payments, and warranty (6000 dollar warranty) at any rate I didn't go for the whole warranty, but rather part of it. This was on a Saturday, and on Monday, I called the dealership because I had done some research, and found there was an Ultimate that had all the features I wanted. The dealership told me there was nothing they could do at this point. (Didn't bother to tell me that Hyundai has a 3 day Shopper assurance return/upgrade program. This must really be just a gimmick) So I had an appointment the following weekend to have some things done to the car, and when I got there I talked more about trading the car. They told me that it had depreciated by 10,000 dollars, and it would cost me 4000.00 out of pocket, and my financing would go up the rest. WOW, a car depreciates 10,000 dollars with less than 600 miles on it? (160 each way just to the dealership) Well I was upset, and returned the warranty at this point, and went home. When my first payment was due, I noticed that the amount I owed was 32,000 (and some change). So my total price went up 5000 dollars, even though I returned the warranty? Well, Then I decided to get a little deeper into my loan agreement. They had increased the car price to 29,000 (and some change), and lowered the warranty price by more than half, and of course that limited the warranties effectiveness anyways, so I'm glad I returned it. So all in all the car is just fine, but not all of what we had originally been looking for, and lacking features that we would have been more happy with, but were never told about. Since we are not rich, we can not just eat the cost, and get what we wanted in the first place, so we are stuck with a car that cost too much, and we can never get close to a decent return on, so we can't even sell it to recoup the cost of Underriners cheating us out of our money. I would not recommend buying a Hyundai ever. Sure they are making great cars, but the dealerships where they sell them will lie, and cheat to oversell you out of your hard earned money.

Pros
Great Car

Cons
Poor service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jeremy R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/01/2019
Unacceptable Regen Braking Noise
There are some major issues I have with the Kona EV, the worst by far is the regen braking noise. I was super excited when I drive the car, but found out quickly that the car has some major issues. The interior car is very noisy, the brakes are borderline broken in their sensitivity, and the regen braking (which happens constantly) is embarrassing to drive around with. I have even tried to take the car back, but Hyundai seems to feel this noise is by design and that customer service doesn’t matter. This has been the worst experience with cars in my life. I will never buy a Hyundai again, and I will make sure as many people as possible know my feelings on this issue.

Pros
Fast and affordable

Cons
Loud interior and terrible regen braking noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
ELLEN P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/29/2019
SUV lovers
Hate the front seats in this vehicle!! Thought leather would make them easier to get in and out of but this is NOT the case. Since we have no children we have not tried the back seats. We purchased the ultimate (top of the line) and for the price we paid, I wish it had included power adjustable front passenger seats. Very disapointing. Salesman sat in the front passenger seat during the test drive so I never thought to sit in it before purchasing. If I had, I NEVER would have purhased this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
Deborah N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/26/2019
2019 Kona
I love the look of this Vehicle, especially the red with black contrast, except that it doesn't come with power seats, and the other bells and whistles. Not enough power, also I like having the GPS built in without using my phone. I'm sorry that I gave up my 2011 Santa Fe for this.

Pros
Nice exterior Look

Cons
To Small...Need to be able to purchase contrast with power seats, sunroof, and more power (6 cylinder).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Christine W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/05/2019
Love the Kona but....
After only having this vehicle for 3 months I've had trouble. The engine overheated and a new thermostat was put in only to return the car for service due to it leaking coolant. A new radiator was put in due to a crack. I really love the Kona but I'm concerned that I was sold a lemon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GLEN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2019
Kona
Decent vehicle, gas mileage is medium, a little noisy in cab while driving, seatbelt doesn’t adjust as well as any other car I’ve had and maybe not as safe. Engine runs hard when starting out. Brakes hard as well
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MARIA P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/24/2019
NICE LOOKING
Good around-town vehicle, but very uncomfortable for long trips. Also, you feel any bump in the road, no matter how small. There is not enough storage space in the glove box and center console. There is not enough leg room in the back seat if the driver and front passenger have long legs. The seats are hard and the fabric is stiff.

Pros
GET-UP-AND-GO
NICE LOOKING

Cons
UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS
NO LEG ROOM IN THE BACK SEAT
YOU FEEL ALL THE BUMPS IN THE ROAD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
DENNIS T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/25/2019
Kona
No Blue Link!
Not Happy.

Cons
No Blue Link! Sad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
ROBERT J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/29/2019
Kona
Seems like a good car. Good handling and performance. Harsh ride and interior noise.
Seems like excessive tire noise related to interior noise.
I believe another 30hp would be a nice addition to this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kim M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/23/2019
Horrible seat comfort
Does not handle the road well on long distance driving. The seats are very uncomfortable! Feels like you are sitting on concrete.. If you are on a highway, an 18 wheeler driving by, will cause the car to not stay on a straight pattern

Pros
Small, nice design n color, let’s you know if you are drifting off the toad.

Cons
Does not handle well on highway driving. Seats horribly uncomfortable!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NA
Norma A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/08/2019
Kona Hyundai pros & cons leased
I love the look of my Hyundai. I’m very comfortable seated in this car. I like that I can open the car door by pushing the button on the handle of the door. I love that the rear view camera display screen is big and clear enough to view what I need to see.
There are two things I don’t like. The ride is not as smooth as other cars I’ve ridden in. We feel the bumps in the road.
I’m very upset this car has no CD player. I was told that new cars don’t come with them anymore. Then how come my daughter just bought a new Subaru and it HAS A CD PLAYER !!!!! Can you fix this in my New Kona PLEASE?? That would make me extreamly happy.

Pros
Nice looking.
Comfortable to sit in.

Cons
Ride could be smoother. Slow pick up.
NO CD PLAYER !!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2019
Kona
Went in looking for a compact SUV, test drove several, chose the Kona. Very pleased with what we received for the price, excellent value for the money. The Kona come with all the bells and whistles you can hope for. Lots of tech and safety in one nice package. Fun to drive and has a look that sets is apart. Love the Kona.

Pros
Lost of standard features that are up-grades on other manufacturers. It has all of the safety features that you may want also. It’s fun to drive and it’s styling sets it apart from the rest of the cars on the road, I find it very sharp looking. It’s comfortable to ride in and also has plenty of zip when needed.

Cons
Wish it were just a bit larger, but if extra space is needed a person can add roof racks to carry more gear.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Malishya W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/20/2019
Love my kona
I purchased the iron man edition and it's getting so much attention! Someone even offered to buy it off of me 3 days after I bought it! It's a beautiful car and has nice features. I gave up a few features from switching from a maxima, but I couldnt turn this kona away! Besides, I did gain many more safety features!

Pros
-perfect size since I am a small person
-warrenty
-blue link
-safety features and great ratings
-awd which is perfect since I live in a snowy area in winter
-awesome iron man design and beautiful rims

Cons
-manual rather than power passenger seats
-no heated steering wheel
- no sun roof
-delay when accelerating when in normal mode, but much better in sports mode
-blue link only available for 3 years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Catherine C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/20/2019
my kona
What i would change on my kona if i could...i really like my kona however passenger seat better if it was powered also n sometimes it feels so go-cart feeling when I'm backing it up my driveway like jerks. Wish the hatch would pop open n go up by remote. Backseat vents n vents in very back too

Pros
Stylish...features with seat heat is nice. Powerful engine. Stereo sounds good. Wide terrain. I wouldn't buy it without all that upgraded features

Cons
When u need car to go and it has a few second delay..easy to get rear ended! N motor cutting out when feels you're going to hit car in front of you can get you rear ended also.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TROY B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/21/2019
2019 KONA
GREAT CAR FOR THE MONEY,FUN EXCITING,GREAT COLOR AND EASY TO WASH AND WAX AAS WELL AS CLEAN THE INTERIOR. SERVICE AT THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN EXCEPTIONAL,THE SALES DEPARTMENT HAS GONE ABOVE AND BEYOND IN SELLING US BOTH OUR 2019 KONA AND OUR 2019 SANTE FE BOTH WITHIN A MONTH AND A HALVES TIME

Pros
ITS ALL GOOD

Cons
ITS ALL GOOD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
Eric P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/30/2019
2019 Kona!
So far it’s been an alright vehicle! Did have an issue with the lower panel /step board as the clips snapped off but Tony Hyundai replaced tha entire part right away! The only other issue is the voice command in which Siri never understands my command! Otherwise no problems!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
ROBERT K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
Great small SUV for the money
The ride is great but cargo space is small. Still getting used to various features. I should have spent more time comparing the different Konas as I probably would have gone with the SEL instead of the SE assuming it had SIrius and a CD player.

Pros
Mileage and comfort

Cons
Little cargo space and no CD player or Sirius

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
SHAWNA Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
Hyundai Kona
Great car for the price and gas consumption. Back seats fold forward for more storage but normal storage space it quite small. Good for small families. Engine is really quiet. It is possible to forget engine is running when you stuck in heavy traffic

Pros
Great gas mileage
Plenty leg room
Good price

Cons
Small lag in acceleration
Small cargo space
Not good for big family trips

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PATRICK F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
Kona
love driving this car
1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
11

Pros
reliable
fun to drive

Cons
slight feeling of something under the cat or breaks grinding

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
RADOSLAW D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
Kona
Sweet small crossover jdudjdjdjdjekejejsismsjsid djdufje dhdudud hdhdjdjdjdud7d djdudud7f7d sjdudududud dhdududud djdjdjdjdududud djdjduudududud djdudududududududududucududud7djd dhdud djdududududududud

Pros
Small

Cons
Loud

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 529 in total