2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1179 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SA
Spenceley A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
Kona 2020
Fun to drive, i travel 45 minutes to work, driver seat comfortable, not tired or back pain, fuel consumption good at this time, night time driving good with good head lights, not very impress with windshield wipers had to replace them
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
ADAM M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2019
safety and efficiency
I enjoy the cars fuel efficiency and ride quality. The car is great on snow and rain covered roads and its all wheel drive system is great. The safety features never fail and make me feel more comfortable and at ease.

Cons
Blue Link App does not always work.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
BARTON T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
A fun little car
I like the Kona, except for the ride of the low profile tires and the little storage behind the rear seat, other wise it is a nice little car and fun to drive, a little underpowered for the open highway. All in all great sound from the sound system. Something else thar Hyundai has to address in a lot of their cars is the front passenger not being able to adjust their seat..

Pros
Fun to drive, Great sound system, Looks good, Plenty of room in the front.

Cons
Rear storage, Low profile tires,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SUSAN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
So far, very happy.
Car has less than 1000 on car. So, far very satisfied. I felt I could not give car 5 stars yet. Ask me when I have 10,000 miles on it. Car rides well. Still have not figured out all the safety features and buttons.

Pros
Easy to exit. Great safely features. Great warranty. Great mileage.

Cons
Some trouble with local dealerships, but very minor stuff. Some trouble loading App on phone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mary M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
Kona 2019
This is my first SUV and I love the size. It is easy to change the settings and handles great in either front wheel or all wheel drive. The only issue I have with this car is it doesn't come with an auto start remote, I have to use a blue link app which so far hasn't worked properly. Luckily I have a smartphone since Bluelink only works if you have one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Scott M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/13/2019
Every new car buyer should check these out!
The Kona electric is flying under the RADAR as far as battery electric vehicles go. Tesla has the glitz and the other makes, performance cars aside, are quirky in appearance (e.g. Leaf) or lacking range (e-Golf). And yet here’s the Kone and its sister the Kia Niro packing almost every amenity you could want into a compact utility vehicle with over 250 miles in potential range. The Kona has a sporty ride and the electric motor makes it torquey, smooth, and quiet ride that is easy to get used to. It costs a little more than the other Kona models that have the gasoline engine, but you get a lot and never have the feeling that you “settled” for something less than a Tesla, or whatever. If you are in the car market and already have a gasoline car, then do yourself a favor and check out the Kona electric. I might say it could almost be your one and only vehicle. Alas, we are still a few years away from a robust enough charging infrastructure to make that an easy transition for the casual driver. On the other hand, if you like to live on the bleeding edge, you probably could get away with this car being your sole ride.

Pros
Electric; range; visibility; low maintenance(!); CarPlay

Cons
Radio station channel select and preset organization is atrocious;stock wheels are loud and not very grippy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VE
VICKI E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/12/2019
Hyundai Kona
This SUV has everything I need or want in a new vehicle. It's very comfortable to drive and maneuverability is great. In other words it's a fun little car to drive. I am especially pleased with the fuel mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MZ
MICHAEL Z.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/12/2019
Kona sel awd
Bought the car new in November and have had the chance to drive it in some snowy weather, the car performed well and didn't have any problems with handling.
It's a fun car to drive, if you like cars with some pep I recommend driving the limited version with the higher horsepower engine. The engine in the se and sel have a bit to be desired. But if that's not something that's important to you then the other trims will be more then adequate for you. It was a great value and I'm happy with my purchase.

Pros
Value
Plenty of interior room
Blue link is pretty nice
Handling

Cons
Engine doesn't have the pep to it that I'm use to, but this is more of a personal opinion.
Gas tank could be bigger, for less time heading to the gas station. My altima had a 16 gallon tank the kona has a 13

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edward M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2019
Loved It!
Our Hyundai Kona is great on gas mileage and comfort, it is a small SUV but for my g-friend and my needs it was exactly what we were looking for. It is fun to drive with the performance, and its reliability cannot be beat. Hyundai is a great car to have no matter what style is chosen and one cannot beat the warranty, 10/5 warranty. I know color may not mean much to owners, but the color that we chose was the Sunset Orange, it has a tinge of yellow in it, beside the orange and red combine, and when the sun shines on the vehicle at a certain angle it looks like a streak of gold is in it (the tinge of yellow), Gosh we love it, we still get looks from people when we gas up and all our friends still, and they all ask what color is it, and where you got this fantastic vehicle, We said SanTan Hyundai!, it is the best in Gilbert, AZ!

Pros
Great to Own! None like it!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Marie T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2019
Fun suv to drive
This car drives like a sports car. Has plenty of room and has great gas mileage. This is my third Hyundai. And there’s an excellent chance my next car will be a Hyundai too. I am retired and it’s a great car for me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WA
WALTER A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2019
Best Car I have ever owned.
A beautiful car catches my eye fast. I wanted a car that stood out in styling and in color. Car colors are so drab and boring. My last car was black and that doesn't work in an Arkansas summer. The Kona looks different from all its competitors. It is the perfect size for my family and fits in my garage well. The Lime Twist color is fantastic and it accents the interior wonderfully. The turbo doesn't eat gas and the acceleration is great. I feel like I got a great car. I know I did.

Pros
The looks, the ride, the comfort.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
CAROL V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
My Kona
A new car has been in the works for a few years. I wanted to enjoy that new car smell i had heard so much about! A family member suggested another make and model. I was set on a burnt orange but found it terribly uncomfortable. The family member set up a test drive of the Kona and it was a perfect fit. Returned with my husband and we closed the deal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Joseph L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
2019 Kona
Excellent fuel economy and comfort. better than expected in all aspects of comfort and visibility. A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Pros
All positive

Cons
none so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HY
Howard Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
Fun to Drive and No More Range Anxiety
I spent a lot of time researching options and waited patiently for more vehicles to be available. Once I was able to test drive the Kona EV, I was absolutely certain it was the right way to go. Compared to the Tesla Model 3, the Kona isn't as fancy or tech forward, but between the price difference and the available tax credit, it is hard to justify the $10K+ difference in price of the Tesla. My coworker has the Model 3, which is excellent by the way, and I've driven that car many times (he likes letting others drive it).

The stated range is 258 miles on 100% charge, which is only realistic if you don't use the climate system. That said, because the electric motor doesn't generate heat as a byproduct, I actually find lots of times where I have no need for A/C or heat. And the heated/ventilated seats are an amazing ally for not using the other climate systems. My daily commute is about 75 miles to/from work (about 25K miles/year), so I charge it every other night so I don't run into a situation where errands or other short trips put me at risk of running out of power. Previously, I was spending about $225/month on gasoline for my car; now I spend under $40/month in electric power for the car. (I don't have solar, yet!)

This car drives like a "Hot Hatch" with super nimble handling and rocket fast acceleration. (The acceleration is similar to other electric vehicles because of the torque.) In fact, the Kona is so much fun to drive that I've had to seriously temper my inner 18-year-old from doing stupid things on the road. After a couple of weeks, I set the regenerative braking to the max, which helps add to the battery range, but also allows for the 1-pedal driving along with the steering wheel paddles, where the only use of the brake pedal is in emergency situations. It takes a bit to get used to, but once you get the hang of it, you are able to smooth out the drive and conserve power.

The Kona doesn't scream out "ELECTRIC" when you see it, since it looks identical to the gas version. The downside of this is that there probably could have been more storage, perhaps even in the front (like the Tesla "frunk") where the traditional gas motor would go. Instead, there is a lot of wasted space in the front and the rear has smaller useful storage area. Also, even at the top trim level, you don't get a spare tire, rather a "fix-a-flat" kit. It seems like they choose this route to give you some extra storage space, but the fix kit could easily fit in the wasted space in the front engine area. Folding down the rear seats makes the storage capacity excellent, although it isn't long enough for really long IKEA boxes. The back seats are a little cramped for people 6'+ tall, but average sized adults are okay.

I am super happy with this car and by simply keeping track of the charge level, I haven't run into any situation where I felt limited by the range.

Pros
200+ mile range
Great handling & acceleration
Comfortable seats

Cons
Inefficient use of front engine compartment for space
Fix-a-Flat kit instead of spare tire
Eco-tires feel under spec'd

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PAUL F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
Best car I’ve ever owned!!!
Handling, power and great gas mileage! Not a family car but acts and looks like a sports car but easy on the gas. Super fun to drive!!! I’m 6’2 and there is plenty of room. Back seat is small so might not be the best transportation for 4 adults.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHARLES S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
Exceeded expectations; Ironman edition
Very comfortable, handles surprisingly well. Great looks, especially exterior, with Ironman edition. Would have no problem buying another Hyundai. No opportunity to require AWD yet. Note no adaptive cruise control, no heated steering wheel the biggest issues.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
Sheila Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2019
Great car!
I love my Kona! It’s the perfect size, good on gas, awesome in the snow and blue link is the best thing ever! It has more features than I know how to use. It is taller than a car but not a monster like some SUVs. This is my first car with seat warmers and they are great.

Pros
I love everything about my Kona

Cons
Wish it washed itself!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JUANITA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2019
Winner
The Kona is an excellent vehicle. We purchased 3 weeks before going on a road trip. Great gas mileage, handling and comfort, Would recommend purchasing. Bob Oley at the Freysinger dealership is great to work with,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Brian D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2019
2019 Kona
this car has exceeded all expectations. We love driving it and love the way Hyundai has brought the best of several vehicles together. We feel like we are in a big SUV with the great gas mileage and the maneuverability of a small car. It is one of the best cars in the snow that i have ever had and it gives us the piece of mind that we haven't had in the past with let's say our F_ _ d. Can't wait to buy my wife a new one so i can get this one! :)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Suzanne B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2019
2019 Kona
My 2019 Hyundai KONA is the first brand new car I have ever had. It is a wonderful car. I love the way it rides, and the seats are
very comfortable, especially since I have a bad back. And passengers in my car say the seats are very comfortable. The car handles
very well on highway driving. I love everything about my KONA. I would recommend it to anyway who wanted a new car. It is not too
small or too big, just right. It is also very easy to get in and out of, which is also good for my back. It is overall, a great car.

Pros
Overall, there are all Pros, no Cons. I love my KONA. I would recommend it to anyway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 441 - 460 of 1179 in total