2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83
4.8
(610 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MG
MATTHEW G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
2019 Kona
I bought a 2019 Kona Ultimate, the color is lime twist, front wheel drive. Absolutely love this vehicle, especially when driving in sport mode. The steering is tighter and the acceleration is pretty awesome for a 1.6 liter engine. I've been averaging about 35 miles to a gallon of gasoline. The Kona is very sporty looking and smaller, though stylish and performance is outstanding. I have leather seats and the ride is very comfortable. Overhead display is awesome, showing what the speed limit is, what speed you're going, if there's a vehicle in your blind spot, if using GPS, lets you know when your next turn is and/or toll for toll roads. I haven't really used the lane control feature, as I'm a Commercial truck driver and like to be in control, but the feature is there with a press of a button. The gauges, controls, GPS, hands free phone, and Sirius radio are placed very conveniently to where you don't need to loose focus on your function of driving. Blue link is an additional feature that I haven't really used yet, though glad I have it. Will schedule service appointments for the vehicle, also has an application for your phone for remote start, lock and unlock, flash lights and more. I'm very impressed with my Hyundai Kona.

Pros
Fabulous vehicle for the money

Cons
Hatch is manually operated.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
Richard J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
2019 kona
It's an iron man edition fast stylish and very good looks the Matt exterior finish with the red accents are unbelievable wheels are 45s rims are red and silver the car squats very well with the sporty tires and rims

Pros
Fast

Cons
Would be nice to have a/c seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARY A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
XXXXXXX
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Pros
Safety features. BlueTooth. Apple Car Play

Cons
Too small trunk. Too little back seat leg space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MARIA P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/24/2019
NICE LOOKING
Good around-town vehicle, but very uncomfortable for long trips. Also, you feel any bump in the road, no matter how small. There is not enough storage space in the glove box and center console. There is not enough leg room in the back seat if the driver and front passenger have long legs. The seats are hard and the fabric is stiff.

Pros
GET-UP-AND-GO
NICE LOOKING

Cons
UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS
NO LEG ROOM IN THE BACK SEAT
YOU FEEL ALL THE BUMPS IN THE ROAD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Matthew L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Love my Hyundai Kona Limited
This is my first Hyundai and it has exceeded all my expectations. The styling is aggressive and sporty, and the 1.6L turbo engine provides plenty of power and torque. At idle it is nearly silent, but it roars into action when needed. There is some obvious turbo lag, but that's to be expected at this tier. Handling is tight and responsive, cornering is stable, ride quality is comfortable.

The entertainment system starts very quickly when the car is started, and the touch interface is quick and responsive. I find the combination of touch screen with buttons for most commonly used functions to be very intuitive and easy to use, and less distracting than competitors' interfaces that use a knob/joystick control. Other cars disable the touch screen while the car is moving, and then have to go out of their way to work around loss of intuitive controls with a clunky scrolling control, the end result being more distracting than just leaving the touchscreen active. Where other cars have it wrong, this car has it right. You can also pair multiple Bluetooth devices simultaneously, and switch between them as audio sources even if the car is moving.

The image quality in the reverse camera is excellent, and the video framerate is very fast. I have seen some cars where the video has obvious lag due to low framerate. This feels like 60+fps to me. Best that I have seen.

Pros
- 1.6L turbo engine has plenty of power and torque
- sporty feel overall, fast off the line and stable in the corners, fun to drive
- turning radius is very tight, great in parking lots
- reverse camera is very smooth, not laggy like others I have seen
- entertainment system is quick, responsive, and controls are easy to use; less distracting than knob interface that other manufacturers are using
- you can pair multiple Bluetooth devices, and it lets you switch devices while the car is moving!
- my real-world average gas mileage is higher than advertised

Cons
- MyHyundai BlueLink app is awful to the point of self parody.
- The horn is weak sounding compared to other vehicles.
- Forced to buy larger rims when choosing higher trim packages.
- Has stupid "floating" C-pillar design (ie a pointless strip of black plastic between back seat windows and rear hatch window)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Antonio S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Love vehicle bit needs some creature features
My old car had auto folding side mirrors. Heads up display is awesome. Love the sunroof, love all the sensors make driving a real treat and makes me feel real safe as I travel around in town or long distance.

Pros
Headlights, LEDs lights, heads up display

Cons
Non auto folding mirrors,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DEANA D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Loving it!
My lease financing ended up being more than I had wanted to pay (and was paying for the car I was driving), but I really LOVE my Hyundai Kona. I've been raving about it to anyone that will listen! Of all the leases I've had, this is my first Hyundai and I love the quality and reliability.

Cons
The only "con" is that I'm paying more per month than I was with my Chevy Trax.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
GLENDA B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
2019 Kona Ultimate
The Kona Ultimate handles well. Comfortable seating. Easy to use functions. Lacks back seat leg room for adults. Trunk area small but it is a smaller SUV. Like the white color exterior with gray/black interior. The Ultimate model has all the options I wanted in a car.

Pros
Easy to drive. Nice styling.

Cons
No spare tire. The cargo net is not like the nets in other vehicles. Can't use the one in the Kona.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joseph D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Review from a 30+ year Nissan Customer
Have owned Nissan Sentras, Altimas, Frontiers and Versas and the quality of this Hyundai is equivelant to or even better than the Nissan. Style and Price was what really sold me but after driving it for a few months I really enjoy it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JORDAN D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Love my Kona
I purchased the Kona Ironman and couldn’t be happier. Couple months in and would say
My quality of life in getting a safe leisure car for me and the fam was the way to go. Dogs are happy, luggage fits and passengers have no complaints

Pros
Attractive, comfortable drive, luxury without the crazy price tag

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
EILEEN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Kona 2019
Loving it! I switched from an Accent to the Kona and it was the perfect fit between a compact and and SUV. Really nice interior features and exterior. I get random in the street asking me about the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
LESLEY P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Very Satisfied Customer
Very good looking vehicle, looks expensive, but very reasonably priced. Very comfortable to drive and rides very smooth I love the backup camera and warning features while driving. Interior trim is beautiful. I purchased the Lime Twist Ultimate Kona. I am very happy with my purchase.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
BERENICE F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Love this car
Love this car, wanted a small suv and this is perfect. Car is easy to drive, very responsive, looks great. My husband and I are not large people so the size is perfect, visibility when driving is very good.

Pros
Size, performance,appearance, price, reliability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DREW H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
I love my Kona- review from a Nissan dealership employee
This vehicle is probably my favorite car. I'm in sales at a Nissan dealership, although I have worked for Chevrolet as well.
To kick this review off, I should describe myself. I'm 6'2" tall and weigh about 170-175 lbs. (depending on my diet for the week).
I fit well in the Kona. This car is comfortable, and can carry a lot of stuff. I do a lot of competitive shooting and waterfowl hunting. I have a 70 lb. golden retriever, whose name is Winston. Every time I go out to shoot sporting clays or go duck/pheasant hunting, I take my dog along. The great thing about this vehicle, in terms of size, is that I can comfortably fit myself, a larger dog, and shooting equipment in my car quite well.
While driving my Kona, it almost never leaves sport mode (unless I'm on a long trip). For a less than $20,000 car, the performance I can get out of my Kona is awesome. That being said, when my car isn't in sport, I can usually get about 30 miles to the gallon on it. The fuel indicator says that I have a range of 330ish miles on a full tank, but I'm almost completely positive I can get around 400 miles from a full tank.
This car is awesome, and I got my lease payments incredibly low thanks for Hyundai's great incentives (something Chevrolet and Nissan just don't even compare in). This car is twice the car as the Chevy Trax and blows the Rogue Sport and Kicks out of the water. The Kona is my third vehicle, and it has sold me on the Hyundai brand. My next car will be a Hyundai, and I hope yours will be too!
-Thanks for reading my lengthy review
Sincerely, a Nissan sales employee.

Pros
Comfortable
Rides well
Affordable
Great Hyundai warranty
Good gas mileage

Cons
Exterior paint clear coat is a bit questionable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Anna R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
GREAT CAR!
This is such a great vehicle. I get compliments on it all the time. Love the look and ride. Convenience of an SUV but compact. I was not in the market for a car but my vehicle was totaled in an accident so I found myself in need of a vehicle but didn't have much to spend. This car is a great value for the price. Highly recommend.

Pros
Price, gas mileage, safety, stylish.

Cons
Trunk does not have auto open. ONLY con but something I can live with.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DARYL H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Fun Standout among the CUVs
The Kona is fun and brings as lot of class to the CUV field. I valet cars for a living, and I still always leave work happy with what I've got. The engine and 7-speed transmission give it great pickup and the premium audio is indeed premium.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EJ
ERICA J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Love my Kona!
I love my new Hyundai Kona! The Kona has a unique design and color choices that set it apart from other cars I looked at. I went with the Surf Blue exterior with light gray interior. Although this color combination was difficult to find, it was well worth it as my car feels unique and roomy. I got the Limited trim level, which has all the features I wanted. This car has a good mix of safety features in addition to comfort and entertainment features. Overall, it's a great car and I love driving it. Thanks!

Pros
Great styling, lots of safety features, very reliable, smooth ride

Cons
Could have better gas mileage, higher trim levels are a little expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Melaine H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Hyundai Kona 2019
Could use some more trunk space and the rear window is always dirty. Overall I love the car so far and have already recommended the car to others. It is a little jerky when it switches gears when first accelerated.

Pros
good looking and fun to drive

Cons
small trunk and rear window always dirty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ALON P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Amazing Iron Man Kona
Bought the limited edition Iron Man Kona, beautiful, fast and just amazing.
Love this car, has everything I need and more.
The display screen in the console has everything, the ultimate trim has also wireless charging, heated seats and so many other features that works great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOANNE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/23/2019
Great Car high price
That is a good car, Compared to other cars but compared to other cars with the same features, this vehicle is quite expensive, good interior, I wish the back support moved up and down. I wanted a hatchback with AWD and because of the amount I drive I wanted a automatic seat, what I paid for with the seat was a sunroof, the seat, and a few others; with it could have been just seat.

Pros
AWD on demand, average sound system, heating seat, hatchback, 28mpg combined

Cons
Low storage, price high, other minor things

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 441 - 460 of 610 in total