2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(673 Reviews)
Latest review 19 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TR
Teresa R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
MY Kona
I love this car, I bought a Kona in Punta Gorda Florida, i came home i had a Chevy Traverse, NOPE had to buy a Kona up here BOTH SUNSET ORANGE I LOVE MY KONA'S . easy to drive simple dash easy to learn setting I LOVE MY KONA !!

Pros
this little car is the best , i have owned alot of cars in my lifetime, Chevy's Dodges, Fords its not about the money at all as the last car i had was a Chevy Traverse unlimited model, traded it for my KONA i love my Kona its just easy simple and easy not confusing tec in it at all .

Cons
It could be a little smoother on the roads , although in Florida i didn't notice this with my Florida Kona so it is possible could be the RI roads .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Adrienne S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
Best Car
It was honestly worth the wait and struggle it took to get my hands on one. It's hands down the greatest car I've ever driven. Smooth ride, functional controls, and very sharp looking. Would highly recommend to anyone
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LAURA R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
New Hyundai Kona
This car was perfect for a compact SUV. I didn’t need much, I just wanted something bigger than a sedan. I love the body style and the sunset orange is gorgeous. The Apple play is great and the technology and safety features exceeds my expectations.

Pros
Love the design and the technology and safety features.

Cons
Not a lot of trunk space or leg room in the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LEANN G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
My monarch
Met all expectations alot of car for the money I love it! I CAN SAY IT DOES NOT DISAPPOINT I WOULD DEFINITELY TELL A FRIEND TO BUY THIS VEHICLE.I AM CURRENTLY CONSIDERING MAYBE TRADING IN FOR AN ADDITIONAL KONA FOR MY HUSBAND thanks for the great vehicle and top class dealership
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Tammera W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
Salesmanship and this specific deal
Have bought eight Hyundais and a Genesis. This time we tried two other Hyundai dealerships also. First one, after 30 minutes had to ask receptionist to get us a salesperson. She said they were watching a soccer match and she would get one. He gave one solid price and basically said take it or leave it. Second dealership, very busy and no one ever came to help us. Back to our regular dealership, always good experience. However, the first salesman sold us a Kona and two adverse things happened: first, when the second salesman went to show us the electronics, etc., we found out the first salesman had not told us several things about the model we bought, for example, no Sirius radio, no driving direction screen without hooking up my own phone, etc. I was displeased but took the car. On the next business day, the second salesman called and had worked out a deal with a better model. Secondly, we had just refinanced our house, and our credit rating had dropped. We had to go with a higher rate. Having been a Hyundai customer for years and having never missed a payment, I thought we should have been given a better rate.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Richard T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2019
Iron Man is fantastic!
I love this car. It's a head-turner. The 4-cylinder gets great mileage, and even when you put it in sport mode (which you will want to do if you're in big-city traffic), the mileage is respectable. Avengers Assemble!

Pros
Iron Man!

Cons
Matte paint requires special care.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ET
EDWARD T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
My wife and I are very pleased with our purchase of our Kona. we have been driving Toyota vehicles for the past 20 years and my wife decided to visit a Hyundai dealer after leaving our Toyota dealer very disappointed with their pricing and back and forth negotiating. We gave them our price we would pay and they kept sending different management to us to negotiate. We left there and past the Hyundai dealer on the way home and stop just to look. Lo and behold we purchased our Kona within 2 hours . Our salesman met out price and monthly payment. We will hopefully upgrade to a Tuscon within the next two years if the price is right,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jessica M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/24/2019
Ghost engine problems
Vehicle went in 4 times in 10 months for engine failure. Ended up an issue no one could fix. Hyundai wouldn't swap me a new one, did a buyback where I definitely lost money and the service was terrible. This was my 3rd Hyundai and i loved this car (green limited) but i ended up buying a toyota outright because my experience was so poor and I no longer trust the brand.

Pros
Gorgeous with a ton of features and good fuel economy

Cons
Unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOYCE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2019
My new Kona
This was purchased as a second car,but we like it as well as our primary vehicle. We took it on vacation and it was almost as comfortable as our new Kia Sorento. Would recommend this car to anyone looking for a crossover SUV .

Pros
Everything about the car is a pro

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MARK L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2019
Love my new Kona
Great looking, bought it with a black exterior and it looks sharp very. The ride is extremely comfortable and reliable.
My Kona was a great value for the price I paid.
The multimedia center is awesome, the camera screen when in reverse is helpful and new to me.
The gas mileage (well over 35mph) is excellent. I get about 500 plus miles for tank full.
I LOVE my new Kona, best car I've ever bought.

Pros
Sharp looking, very comfortable, reliable, great value for the price, Bluetooth , camera screen in reverse, excellent gas mileage (over 35mph) , great ride.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Rosanne B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2019
Love my Kona!
Love love love my Kona! It hugs the road. It is extremely responsive. It is comfortable to sit in and drive. Everything you need is at your fingertips. It has plenty of room for groceries or packages in the rear. And plenty of leg room in the backseat.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Ronald S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2019
Kona EV - really happy with this car!
Just great, love driving and the feeling of doing something good for the environment at the same time. After a couple weeks have gotten used to the whole charge thing, and so many useful apps and charging stations that I didn't realize were there! Over 10,000 miles now and still as much fun as the first few. The only thing I can think of that isn't terrific is the "Catch 22" with charging at an Electrify America station, the Kona reports it can charge at 75kw so EA sticks it in the mid tier ($$) but it really doesn't charge at that rate. Most of the EA stations I've found are more like 45-50kw but they still bill at the higher rate! Not a disaster, but annoying.

Pros
Excellent range and driver assist features make it a pleasure to own.

Cons
A little loud at highway speeds, or maybe just the lack of engine noise makes it seem so anyway

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MEGAN S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2019
Best Purchase ever!
I was looking for a step up in a vehicle to get an AWD with our horrible winter conditions. I love my Hyundai Kona! I’m so happy I got the trim level I really wanted with adding extra features and safety features I never realized were so important!

Pros
Smaller vehicle with AWD. No need to get a large crossover since my family isn’t large. I feel safer and LOVE the safety features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
AMY P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/22/2019
My Kona is noisy
I was rather excited upon finding out there was an Iron Man edition car out there... So, I took it for a test drive, enjoyed basically everything about the car and bought it. A week later, I would have returned it if that were possible. The road noise was simply ridiculous. When you have to increase the volume on the stereo to that degree simply to cover wind and road noise, something is not right. I used to get annoyed at people driving with ear buds in and now I'm one of them just so I can drive this car until I can sell it. Feel free to call me picky, but when you pay 30k + for a vehicle, you expect to be able to talk to passengers without raising your voice so much.

Pros
It's a great vehicle for ALMOST every aspect. Great styling, enough zip to not be boring, comfortable ride.

Cons
Noise. Period.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
Wayne W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/21/2019
Love love love
Out of all the vehicles I have ever owned I can honestly say none of them were as fun to drive as my Kona. The seats are amazing! In most other vehicles I would end up with painful cramps after driving for long periods of time, my job is driving for long periods of time! I’m here to tell you there has never been a more comfortable ride than the Kona!!!! I got the green one and everyone tells me they love my vehicle!!! I love it too!

Pros
Comfortable, mpg is amazing!!!!, headlights are super bright!!! Looks sharp!

Cons
Back seat a little small, would love to see a few features I had on my Jeep available in my Kona i.e. speed prompt when going faster than speed limit, touch the handle to unlock and of course remote start on the key fob, blue link is ok but I enjoyed the remote start on the key fob!, another usb port in the middle console storage would be great as well! I don’t think there is really anything else that would be a con!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Roberta M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/19/2019
Kona review
Overall a very nice car. Styling Is great. Got the two-toned black on rd. Brings a lot of questions. Good size for my needs. Could be just a tad bigger. Like the grou clearance. Great safety features and comfort systems-especially the heated seats.

Cons
Noise issue

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
CHRISTOPHER G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2019
Nice little SUV
Purchased the Kona for my daughter. Choose an AWD small SUV for better handling in the bad weather and for her to haul her stuff to and from school. Chose Hyundai for its long warranty and reliability. This vehicle should remain under its factory warranty through college.

Pros
Easy to drive and park.

Cons
Plastic fender flares look tacky.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Andrew L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2019
Great vehicle
It's a wonderful vehicle its great on gas mileage and has alot of features for the money drives smooth and can comfortably fit four people a fifth person if there smaller has decent trunk space for groceries

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
No roof rails and trunk was smaller than expected

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
JOSEPH N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
2019 Kona Ultimate
Smart handling, stylish and very fun to drive. Great sound system with smart phone integration and a fantastic navigation system. Despite it's small size it boasts enty of leg room. I am 6 feet tall and am quite comfortable in the car. Lots of amenities make it a great value for the money.

Pros
Very quick and fun to drive. Handles bad weather and road conditions extremely well. Easy to use controls and features.

Cons
Needs rear seat USB ports. Would have liked an option for heated steering wheel and ventilated seats. Would like to have a spare tire instead of repair kit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RYAN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
Awesome Rig
I have a 2019 Hyundai Kona Iron Man Edition I purchased around 9/15/2019. So far, I get killer mileage (about 28 combined) and it's a quick little thing. The 1.6L turbo doesn't mess around. It's no speed demon, but the power is there when you need it. The overall quality and level of detail is staggering considering what it is for its price bracket, because let's face it, $30k doesn't go as far as it used to.

Pros
Comfortable, compact, tight turn radius, really good gas mileage, power when needed (1.6L turbo,) looks good, handles great, surprising amount of storage space with the 60/40 seats folded flat, passengers are comfortable, the higher trim model's gadgets solve the low rear visibility issue (blind spot monitors, backup camera, etc,) Infiniti sound system is excellent, EVIC and touchscreen systems are rather simple to use and give you Android Auto and Apple Car Play if you dislike the Hyundai system.

Cons
If you are tall, the rear seat headrest catches the back of the front seat when folding flat, considerable blind spots at the rear c-pillars, small rear window makes for little visibility if you do not have the blind spot monitoring system and backup camera, you must have Blue Link in order to use auto start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 673 in total