2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(719 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EB
Elizabeth B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
Love my Kona
I've had two Santa Fe's and a Tucson in the past and I recently bought the Kona in February. It's the Ultimate 1.6T model and I've never seen another one on the road, I've only seen the base models. The heads up display is what sold me on the car.

Pros
heads up display, sunroof, leather interior, great speakers, turbo speed

Cons
Smaller trunk space, not much leg room in the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Ferris S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
Hyundai Kona Iron Man Edition - Grabs your attention
I had my 2017 G90 5.0 Ultimate in for service and was wandering around the showroom while I waited. Saw the Kona Iron Man Limited edition and it was lust at first site. The matte gray finish with the metallic red roof and trim bits, along with the fantastic wheels grabbed my attention right away. OK, so I'm 71 years old and the target market for this thing is probably men (and women) half my age, but I just had to have it. No I did not trade my G90 in, I traded my wife's MINI Cooper S Convertible (and yes we are still married!) In any case this car is an absolute blast. You would think only 175 HP would make this a slug, but that is not the case. It has plenty of zip and I never feel that it is under powered. I love the Iron Man features and I have already had lots of questions about the car. Is it perfect? No, but it sure meets my inner kid's needs. The only thing I would add is power retracting side view mirrors (easier to get into the garage) and some red ambient lighting would be nice, but other than that I have found nothing I don't like. It's fun to drive and certainly gets plenty of attention wherever you go. The fact that it is a limited edition you won't see yourself coming and going. I can see why the Kona won the North American CUV of the year award. This is a well equipped little run about. Try one you'll probably like it, if you can find one.

Pros
Attention grabbing style
Great fuel economy
Iron Man stuff
Comfortable Seats
Plenty of Luxury Items for it's Class

Cons
No Power folding mirrors
No interior ambient lighting

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Cinderella D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
Kona
I feel comfortable in this vehicle
Spacious, not to big, love the way it lets me know if I have another vehicle coming in my lane. Love the button that you push when on the highway.
Love it’s look.

Pros
Fun

Cons
I can hear the outside a lot with the windows up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Susan H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
Mrs Hodge
Really LOVE the color Blue! Love the smooth ride, small enough to park anywhere, very dependable. Just have to watch out for those big trucks, they just don’t see my Kona. I have to drive defensively !

Pros
Really like the electronic features

Cons
Not all big trucks see my KONA! I have to drive very defensive.
Don’t like the drips on drivers side window from the window washer!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joseph C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/10/2019
Love my new 2019 Kona Ultimate
This is the best vehicle I have every purchased. It reeks of quality. I love the way it handles the road. It has great pickup for passing on the highway and is more spacious than I thought. Can't wait to drive it in the snow.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GT
George T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2019
My Kona
I waited 6 months to get my Lime Green Ultimate Kona!
I love it, it handles fabulously more sporty than any other SUV I have ridden or owned! It has just about everything you could want and that little glass screen that comes up so you can know legal road mileage, see where you are on the road and if you are using your NAV that shows up there as well so that you can keep
Your eyes forward rather than looking off to the screen
IT WAS WELL WORTH THE WAIT!!!!

Pros
Looks great, handles great, super comfortable , good gas mileage
Fabulously fun to drive

Cons
Doesn’t have a full moon roof only front part over front seats, doesn’t have heated rear seats, or a heated steering wheel. Air play only works plugged in rather than wirelessly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Christine W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/05/2019
Love the Kona but....
After only having this vehicle for 3 months I've had trouble. The engine overheated and a new thermostat was put in only to return the car for service due to it leaking coolant. A new radiator was put in due to a crack. I really love the Kona but I'm concerned that I was sold a lemon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
well thought out vehicle
I have the kona for 3 months now and can honestly say it is one of the best cars I have bought as far back as I can remember.the car came to me with zero flaws from the factory.what I mean is no squeaks,no rattles,no scratches and nothing not working the way it is supposed to.the car is comfortable and the instrument panel is laid out for easy use.I would recommend this car to anyone who is looking for an suv but not a big one.its well worth the money.

Pros
excellent safety features like you would see in expensive luxury cars

Cons
would like more storage space under the rear floor board

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Paul G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Kona
great car & ride. highly recommend for anyone looking to enter the field of suv.Hyundai reliability is there. Fun to drive. styling is spot on. Interior is sporty & clean look.Interior matches overall appearance. A total package. Great value

Pros
great car & buy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Amanda S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2019
2019 Kona
This is exactly the kind of car I was looking for. I didn't want a huge SUV but I also didn't like the look of some of the crossovers. Once I saw an image I was sold. The gas mileage is amazing and the comfort and ride are smooth. Plenty of great little features that I am still discovering to this day.

Pros
Gas mileage
Comfort
Space

Cons
Trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
Eric P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/30/2019
2019 Kona!
So far it’s been an alright vehicle! Did have an issue with the lower panel /step board as the clips snapped off but Tony Hyundai replaced tha entire part right away! The only other issue is the voice command in which Siri never understands my command! Otherwise no problems!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lisa H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2019
Love my Kona
When I first saw the corner on a TV commercial I fell in love with it then I saw one or two on the road again I really enjoyed it I then was impressed with the dealership in the way I was treated and did not think I would purchase it but I left the dealership with my Kona I love my Kona!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
Connie E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2019
Excellent
I feel the good traction on the road both summer and winter . More features that
Makes the driver easier and comfortable to drive . It’s a sexy car on the outside and inside , the simplicity of built design makes it unique .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Terry S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Kona - a good replacement for my smashed Suzuki SX4
I wasn't too sure when I found the Kona - I was a little discouraged because most cars have seats that don't fit my short legs. When you get close enough to reach pedals, you're usually smashed up against the steering column. What a surprise to find the seat didn't cut off circulation and I had room between me and the steering wheel. It's a little narrower than my Suzuki, but feels the same width! It was a good fit!

Cons
Cup holders are too small for my cup. Needs to be self-cleaning/vacuuming to be the perfect car!.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
Scot Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
2019 Kona Ltd. With lime twist
We love our new 2019 Kona Ltd ! We purchased a 2018 Kona last April and traded for this new one. It's a great car that's fun to own.powerful 1.6Turbo. delivers performance. 7 speed dual clutch transmission shifts effortlessly. The lime green color is very stylish.the leather interior. Is comfortable.

Pros
Everything about the car is positive.

Cons
The interior could have less plastic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Sonja P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Crossover Full of Features
Overall, I’m very satisfied with this vehicle. Acceleration is fair and it handles well. I particularly like the Heads Up feature with the speed limit and navigation details projected. Safety features such as side mirror warning, beeps when a vehicle is close are useful and help with driver focus. The finish is excellent. On closer examination the gray paint has subtle and quite pleasing metallic sparkles. I have recommended the Kona and will definitely continue to do so.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nicole B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona Ultimate AWD Lime Twist
After comparing all the cars in this class.. The Kona came out on TOP! I am in the process of separating from my spouse and was in the market to buy a new car to replace the vehicle I was losing in the separation. Was looking at all the subcompact SUVs and had not considered the Hyundai and never heard of the Kona. My friend had just bought a brand new Santa Fe Ultimate and I fell in love with all the features it had!! I started researching the Santa Fe and thats when i discovered the Kona! OH WOW! It offered the exact features in its Ultimate trim and it was at the same if not lower price points as other cars in its class! LOVED the Lime Twist color! I went and test drove one and fell in love... but I waited. and researched more. I made sure it was what I wanted. I called the closest dealership to me and told a salesperson what I wanted. They laughed at me. They said I wanted "an unicorn". I looked online at dealerships in surrounding areas... found the car i wanted about 600 miles away. I called the salesperson that I test drove with at another dealership. She made it happen for me, 4 days later I was taking delivery of my 2019 Kona Ultimate AWD Lime Twist baby. It is so far one the BEST cars I have EVER owned!

Pros
Lane Keeping Assist System
Infotainment System
Apple Carplay / Android Auto
Peppy in Sport mode!
The AWD is really nice when you need it!
GREAT gas mileage!
Auto high beams is amazing!

Cons
Wish it had heated steering wheel
No cooling seat for summer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
Fred T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Love my Kona
Love all the features in 2019 Krona (Lime green). Traded in 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport Ultimate 2.0T.
Love power of 1.6T Kona. Perfect CUV for retirement downsizing. Hands well in traffic and has all wheel
drive plus power for mountain trips.

Pros
Features are great, Gas mileage 33 hwy during 55 to 65. Safety Collision System.
Great Audio Sounds. Hands free phone and cruse

Cons
No heated steering wheel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KIMBERLY P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Kona
No commentxxxxxxxxxxcxcccggghhjjjjjjiiuhhuuhhhhhghhhhhhhjjjjjhhhhhgggggggggyyyhhhggggjchchchxhxchcjcjcjcjcjcjcjcjcjxjcjxhxhhchcjcvccccjjccjchccjcjccjchchcchchcchchcchchcchchchchcydyddyyfucyxyfyfyxyxyxycfuc

Pros
Na

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TROY B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/21/2019
2019 KONA
GREAT CAR FOR THE MONEY,FUN EXCITING,GREAT COLOR AND EASY TO WASH AND WAX AAS WELL AS CLEAN THE INTERIOR. SERVICE AT THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN EXCEPTIONAL,THE SALES DEPARTMENT HAS GONE ABOVE AND BEYOND IN SELLING US BOTH OUR 2019 KONA AND OUR 2019 SANTE FE BOTH WITHIN A MONTH AND A HALVES TIME

Pros
ITS ALL GOOD

Cons
ITS ALL GOOD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 661 - 680 of 719 in total