2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5rating 4.81
4.8
(529 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CM
CHERYL M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2019
Sporty
This Kona is a great vehicle , I just wished I would have gone a little Bigger for cargo .{ My Bad } But as far as dependably It is great fun Ride . I love the blue color and all of the safety features . When My lease is up My Daughter will be driving and plan on having her take over . And Me go a step up . It has great Gas mileage and will be a great Car for a first timer . She loves it already .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FF
FRED F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
NIF Kona
I am loving my New Kona. Sunset Orange color with Hounds Tooth designed fabric seats are awesome and unique. Look forward to enjoying this for years and hope the years ride well on the vehicle. This is my first Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ELLEN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
Fun car
The Hyundai Kona is a fun car!! I’ve gotten many compliments on the color and the ride is smooth!! The Apple car play feature is awesome. I love being able to plug my phone into the car and being able to listen to music, communicate, and navigate so easily. This is my favorite car yet!

Pros
Great car for the price

Cons
Storage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOSHUA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/09/2019
Great commuter car!
I am only rating this a 4 for 2 reasons. The first is there is no liftgate release. Not in the car, not on the key fob. It does not exist. I find that odd since every car I have ever owned has had a trunk release. The 2nd is that there is NO get up and go. If you need to bust a move quickly in this car, it is not a car for you. Other than that, it is great! Roomy and quiet. I would consider another Kona in the future, as long as a trunk release is added.

Cons
No trunk release.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
ROBERT P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Fun to Drive!
Looked at the Kona many times online and really liked the styling available. My wife and I wanted to step down a little bit in size from our Santa Fe Sport and the Kona seemed like the ideal choice. We test drove and bought on the same day. Orlando Hyundai is an outstanding dealership to by a car. They are extremely courteous knowledgeable! Pricing guidelines for purchasing were very simple to understand and gave us perfect choices. Just a fun car to drive every time I get in it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TZ
THERESA Z.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
2019 Kona
It is the BEST! Like Goldilocks and the Three Bears...just right. Has the look, the performance and size I needed. Not to forget to mention the best gas mileage. I worked with the best people at the Green Valley Jim Click Dealership from sales to service!! The Engineers in design, the teams working this model to completion left nothing to want for...a perfect car for me. Looking forward to a long relationship with my car and my dealership! Thanks to All!

Pros
Everything

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
SUMMER D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Amazing car all around
I absolutely love this car. Nothing bad to say about it except for some small things I noticed. When in sport mode the transmission doesn’t seem to downshift when I think it should while at low speeds but it’s not very often and I understand sport mode isnt exactly used/made for slow speeds so it’s not a huge concern for me. And if you need to take off from a slow speed (merging onto a highway from 20 or so mph) it seems to take a little longer than I would like for it to “kick into gear” and get up to speed fast but again this is a fuel efficient compact SUV so I understand that could be the reason, but again it’s not Something that overly concerns me and doesn’t affect the way I feel about the car as a whole.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Not much to complain about but if I’m being extremely picky I wish the engine had a little more “kick” to it whilst trying to accelerate fast, but this is a very minor concern, more like a personal preference (I like to drive fast lol)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Love my Kona
I LOVE LOVE LOVE my new Kona. I get great gas mileage, it is fun to drive. Everyone at work (who are mostly guys) commented on the nice appearance of the car. We ONLY buy Hyundai. Never had any problems with any of the cars we have purchased.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JEAN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Cute vehicle
I like the Kona much better than the Tucson. Its smaller, easier to fit into a garage, and gets better gas mileage. The only thing that would improve it would be to raise it up about 8 inches. It would make it easier to get in and out of. Other than that it's a perfect mini suv.

Pros
Great gas mileage
Comfortable

Cons
No cd player
No Sirius radio
Too low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Ethel H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Love my new Kona!
This is a great car! Great gas mileage. There are so many options with the basic model. Another thing that surprised me is how well this car handled mountain roads. I drove through the Allegheny Mountains and expected the Kona to struggle a little since it's 4 cylinders...NOPE!...had no trouble at all. The Kona handled beautifully! The technology is more than I expected! It's great if you're tech savvy. My only problem is the bluetooth won't allow for voice activated commands unless the USB is attached to the phone. I'm sure it's me. I will return to the dealership for help if I can't figure it out.

Pros
Ga mileage, performance, features

Cons
Bluetooth ease of use(probably my fault)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Belinda L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/08/2019
Kona Review
Great car, just wish I had gotten a larger version. LOL Too small to carry my 18 month old grandson in his car seat. YIKES! Otherwise the car is nice to drive and looks nice, more like a sport car than a luxury type vehicle.

Pros
Great ride and gas mileage

Cons
Too small inside

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SHANNON H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
I LOVE my Kona!
I fell in love with the Kona when I first saw it a year ago while at a dealership. I've spent the last year researching and confirming it was the car I wanted to buy. I get so many compliments on how good looking it is! It's so much fun to drive and all the safety features are great. Everything was so simple to set up (Bluetooth, Android Auto, etc). I've had it for over a month now and I still get excited when I see it sitting in my driveway!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOHN C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
Got Kona
Stylish fun to drive great mobility the tires grip the road at all speeds and has very little roll on curves or winding roads. The seating is comfortable with adjustable options.If you own a Kona you won't mona!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
TRACY W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2019
Love this Car!
The ride is smooth, the looks are sleek and the MPG is great! I love the sunroof and the interior. The blue lighting at night is cool and easy on the eyes. The blind spot mirrors are great and have worked effortlessly. Great car!

Pros
The colors are bright and fun. The ride is smooth and I love the gadgets!

Cons
Doesn't have a CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mike M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/06/2019
kona
the car is fine but the survey is taking too long and is quite annoying. ...............................................................................................................................

Pros
good in snow

Cons
too hard to get color of car you want.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Karen B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2019
Karen
Great car!!! Good gas mileage... sharp!! Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooiooooioooiooooooioiiiiiooooooooooooooooooo

Pros
Gas mileage... great little car!!

Cons
None so far!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GEORGE S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/06/2019
2019 Kona Limited
This car more than met comfort, styling and performance expectations. It has a very well thought out phone and media interface and reasonable sound quality although a more robust subwoofer would help audio performance. There are some shortcomings, minor but nonetheless causing the rating to fall short of five:
- The limited has "trick" wheels, that is, in the style of polished aluminum edged up to black lacquer. The next lower trim has a much more tasteful design but is the wrong diameter
- The cladding around the wheel wells is really not needed but we understand it's part of contemporary style. The outline of the cladding is asymmetric around the radius which we find visually distracting. Fortunately, ordering a Kona in grey accomplishes a blending that disguises this.
- There is no height adjustment on the passenger seat which is far too low. Hyundai should set the seat at least two inches higher or provide A simple mechanical ratchet height adjustment.
- There is no spare tire and jack. The fix-a-flat type kit included won't work with a sidewall or other serious puncture. It also won't work when it's very cold outside. We had to pay $300 for a spare kit. There should be an option at the time of sale to select either a fix-a-flat or a spare kit.

After we got used to the fender cladding and wheel appearance, found an internet workaround to raise the passenger seat, and bought a spare, we were very happy with the Kona.

Pros
Drivetrain performance
Handling
Comfort

Cons
Wheel style
Fender cladding
No passenger seat adjustment
No spare or jack

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
ROSA K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2019
5 star
Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!

Pros
Excellent!

Cons
No XM Radio.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Richard B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/05/2019
Great little car
I have had my car for a few months now and I love it....for the most part. As a daily driver to work and home every day it's comfortable and has all the basic amenities that someone needs. Two issues that really seem to bother me are the following. One the sun visors in this car are perpetually 5" too short, always leaving just the perfect amount of room for the sun to get in on the sides, they need extensions on the ends as a standard feature. Two, tinted windows should be standard, for comparable vehicles in this class, tinted windows are standard my local Hyundai dealer charges nearly 500 dollars to have this added. That being said I recently took this vehicle on a road trip through the Colorado Rocky mountains, and I was a little concerned initially about the lack of surplus horse power, however my doubts were completely unfounded. The Kona was able to take on the steepest inclines with no issues what so ever, I was amazed! I only have the 2.0 not the turbo. The awd and 4*4 handled the slightly off raid dirtroads with no problems even in rainy wet conditions, this little guy gets it done!

Pros
Comfortable, great fuel economy, versatile

Cons
No window tint, sun visors too short

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Karen G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2019
Excellent Vehicle, Excellent Dealership!
I was a little apprehensive to switch to a new manufacturer, always was a Chevy owner, however I am super in love withy my Kona! Also very impressed with my daughter's new Elantra! The Kona has been great on gas and for a 4 cylinder engine it really has some pick up on the highway! Just so much fun to drive!

Pros
Interior is tough and after eight months still looks amazing! Gas mileage is awesome!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 529 in total