2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(784 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LA
LISA A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
I love my Kona
It’s cute, stylish, easy to park, comfortable, good on gas. Cup holders are within reach,but not in the way. Front seats are comfy, and heat up quickly. Rear door opens easily and there is plenty of room for groceries. Can’t beat 0% financing.

Cons
Small engine. If you are Mario Andretti- don’t buy this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mark W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
Kona is a Zippy Fun Drive
We bought our Kona for our college bound daughter, but thankfully she could not bring it to college the first semester. She will need the Kona after Winter break & Im afraid she’ll have to pry the key from our hands & dry our tears! The Kona is such a great car to drive. It is roomy & comfy for a daily commute, great gas mileage for our road trips and around town. We opted for the 4WD model to handle the occasional winter storm in central Virginia.

Pros
Roomy, Comfortable, Great Gas Mileage, Great pickup/power.

Cons
Wish leatherette was offered for interior because we won’t buy leather.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
ANDREE D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/29/2019
Great vehicle
I love everything about this vehicle. From the looks interior and exterior to the handling. You get a lot for your money. Ability to make hands free calls, bluetooth compatibility. The stylish front view.

Pros
Everything except what is listed in cons

Cons
Don't like that the wheels have those huge plastic portion above them. Also, wish there was more trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
HOLLY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
Beautiful design
This is my second Hyundai that I’ve purchased. My first was a 2013 Elantra GT. My previous vehicle was a 2005 Volvo S60. I was used to driving a tank and felt very safe in my Volvo. However, I had major electrical and interior problem with it. In the 5 years I had my Elantra GT I had zero issues with it. So when they came out with the Lime Twist Kona it was a no brainer for me. It’s perfect for me and my lifestyle. My two big dogs share the backseat and I still have room for luggage or my OneWheel. I have the rack on top for my future kayak. The sound system is great and the interior is beautiful. It’s mechanically sound. I trust Hyundai...second one with no issues either. Oh and the turbo is crazy amazing.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Arm rest could be a little longer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
ELLEN K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
LOVE
Totally LOVE my new Hyundai Kona. Has all the features and comfort I need in a small SUV. Love all the great elements, the look and feel of the car. Color is awesome and interior fits me perfectly!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kathleen C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
Sporty
It’s a small and sport but has power , a lot of great features in it , I wish the trunk was just a little bigger . Handles great on the road and great gas mileage . I can’t wait to see how it handles in the snow .

Pros
It’s got everything you need in a small SUV

Cons
More room in trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ARLENE H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2019
Love it
It’s so much fun to drive and it looks great. I love how it holds 11 gallons and gets great gas mileage. I don’t cry when I go to the pumps. I love the backup camera. It really makes me want one in all on my vehicles

Pros
Love all the standard safety and tech features

Cons
The car doesn’t auto lock When you walk away from it. The ac took a while to figure out thatYou have to have the max ac off to turn the cabin circulation off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PRISCILLA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2019
Great option for the price!
The Kona has been a great option for our city living lifestyle. It’s zippy, fuel efficient and fits in tight parking spots better than our previous car (Honda Civic)! We valued interior design pretty high and the Kona has definitely delivered.

Pros
Touch screen is easy to use & navigate.

Cons
Trunk space is small, but to be expected for a subcompact SUV.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ND
NICHOLAS D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
Niko53
Good value for the money.It is fun to drive and gets good gas mileage.The all wheel drive will surly come in handy in the winters here in the Poconos.I have owned many Hyundai vehicles in the past including The Excel,Elantra,SantaFe,and Tucson.I have never been disappointed.

Pros
Good value

Cons
A little under powered

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
Wayne S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
2019 Kona EV
After doing a lot of research on different electric cars (Tesla, Leaf, Bolt etc.) I test drove the Kona and was very impressed. I was looking for a car that I would be able to get back and forth to work (136 miles) on a single charge and the Kona fit the bill. It costs me approx. $2.25 a day compared to $23+ a day in my truck. And add all the features you get with the ultimate trim line for the money compared to the others it's a no brainer.

Pros
Driving range, features, performance and comfort

Cons
Road & wind noise, reaction of the smart cruise control in certain situations.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Teresa R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
MY Kona
I love this car, I bought a Kona in Punta Gorda Florida, i came home i had a Chevy Traverse, NOPE had to buy a Kona up here BOTH SUNSET ORANGE I LOVE MY KONA'S . easy to drive simple dash easy to learn setting I LOVE MY KONA !!

Pros
this little car is the best , i have owned alot of cars in my lifetime, Chevy's Dodges, Fords its not about the money at all as the last car i had was a Chevy Traverse unlimited model, traded it for my KONA i love my Kona its just easy simple and easy not confusing tec in it at all .

Cons
It could be a little smoother on the roads , although in Florida i didn't notice this with my Florida Kona so it is possible could be the RI roads .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Adrienne S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
Best Car
It was honestly worth the wait and struggle it took to get my hands on one. It's hands down the greatest car I've ever driven. Smooth ride, functional controls, and very sharp looking. Would highly recommend to anyone
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LAURA R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
New Hyundai Kona
This car was perfect for a compact SUV. I didn’t need much, I just wanted something bigger than a sedan. I love the body style and the sunset orange is gorgeous. The Apple play is great and the technology and safety features exceeds my expectations.

Pros
Love the design and the technology and safety features.

Cons
Not a lot of trunk space or leg room in the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LEANN G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
My monarch
Met all expectations alot of car for the money I love it! I CAN SAY IT DOES NOT DISAPPOINT I WOULD DEFINITELY TELL A FRIEND TO BUY THIS VEHICLE.I AM CURRENTLY CONSIDERING MAYBE TRADING IN FOR AN ADDITIONAL KONA FOR MY HUSBAND thanks for the great vehicle and top class dealership
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Tammera W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
Salesmanship and this specific deal
Have bought eight Hyundais and a Genesis. This time we tried two other Hyundai dealerships also. First one, after 30 minutes had to ask receptionist to get us a salesperson. She said they were watching a soccer match and she would get one. He gave one solid price and basically said take it or leave it. Second dealership, very busy and no one ever came to help us. Back to our regular dealership, always good experience. However, the first salesman sold us a Kona and two adverse things happened: first, when the second salesman went to show us the electronics, etc., we found out the first salesman had not told us several things about the model we bought, for example, no Sirius radio, no driving direction screen without hooking up my own phone, etc. I was displeased but took the car. On the next business day, the second salesman called and had worked out a deal with a better model. Secondly, we had just refinanced our house, and our credit rating had dropped. We had to go with a higher rate. Having been a Hyundai customer for years and having never missed a payment, I thought we should have been given a better rate.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Richard T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2019
Iron Man is fantastic!
I love this car. It's a head-turner. The 4-cylinder gets great mileage, and even when you put it in sport mode (which you will want to do if you're in big-city traffic), the mileage is respectable. Avengers Assemble!

Pros
Iron Man!

Cons
Matte paint requires special care.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ET
EDWARD T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
My wife and I are very pleased with our purchase of our Kona. we have been driving Toyota vehicles for the past 20 years and my wife decided to visit a Hyundai dealer after leaving our Toyota dealer very disappointed with their pricing and back and forth negotiating. We gave them our price we would pay and they kept sending different management to us to negotiate. We left there and past the Hyundai dealer on the way home and stop just to look. Lo and behold we purchased our Kona within 2 hours . Our salesman met out price and monthly payment. We will hopefully upgrade to a Tuscon within the next two years if the price is right,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jessica M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/24/2019
Ghost engine problems
Vehicle went in 4 times in 10 months for engine failure. Ended up an issue no one could fix. Hyundai wouldn't swap me a new one, did a buyback where I definitely lost money and the service was terrible. This was my 3rd Hyundai and i loved this car (green limited) but i ended up buying a toyota outright because my experience was so poor and I no longer trust the brand.

Pros
Gorgeous with a ton of features and good fuel economy

Cons
Unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOYCE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/23/2019
My new Kona
This was purchased as a second car,but we like it as well as our primary vehicle. We took it on vacation and it was almost as comfortable as our new Kia Sorento. Would recommend this car to anyone looking for a crossover SUV .

Pros
Everything about the car is a pro

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MARK L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/23/2019
Love my new Kona
Great looking, bought it with a black exterior and it looks sharp very. The ride is extremely comfortable and reliable.
My Kona was a great value for the price I paid.
The multimedia center is awesome, the camera screen when in reverse is helpful and new to me.
The gas mileage (well over 35mph) is excellent. I get about 500 plus miles for tank full.
I LOVE my new Kona, best car I've ever bought.

Pros
Sharp looking, very comfortable, reliable, great value for the price, Bluetooth , camera screen in reverse, excellent gas mileage (over 35mph) , great ride.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 784 in total