2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(710 Reviews)
Latest review about 5 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SB
Suzanne B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2019
2019 Kona
My 2019 Hyundai KONA is the first brand new car I have ever had. It is a wonderful car. I love the way it rides, and the seats are
very comfortable, especially since I have a bad back. And passengers in my car say the seats are very comfortable. The car handles
very well on highway driving. I love everything about my KONA. I would recommend it to anyway who wanted a new car. It is not too
small or too big, just right. It is also very easy to get in and out of, which is also good for my back. It is overall, a great car.

Pros
Overall, there are all Pros, no Cons. I love my KONA. I would recommend it to anyway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2019
The best vehicle I have ever had.
I have owned at least 18 vehicles in my lifetime some large and fast, some high end and some small.
I am so impressed with the Kona that my wife and I both have one.
Yes it is a smaller vehicle but it does not feel like it. It handles very well and with the turbo it is quite quick.
It is very comfortable and looks great. I definitely recommend this vehicle. :-)

Pros
comfortable, quick and good looking

Cons
the rear gate is manual

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/06/2019
My favorite ‘orange’
I really love my car. She’s ORANGE (both color and name) and gets great milage. Not a full year owned and I have driven over 17,000 miles. Love the ability to have AWD and Front-wheel change quickly.

Pros
AWD

Cons
Not real strong on acceleration from stop position.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ANGELEE P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
I Love My Kona!
I love my Kona! It's fun to drive, nimble, goes well in the snow. The systems are very user friendly. I love the simplicity of the interior. It rides great and gets excellent gas mileage. And it looks sweet! So glad I settled on a Kona. I researched other subcompact SUV's, but the Kona was the better car for the price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SHERRY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Hyundai Kona
This was not my vehicle of choice but I do like it a lot. As a retiree living on SS I have to get a car with a payment I can afford. I had never heard of this car but it came the closest to my payment range.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JOHN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
See above
See above........These comments are TOO MUCH BULLSHIT.....JDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDHDHRHRGEHDHDGEHEHEJ3URHRHDBHDHDHHDHDHEGDHRUjdjdkdjdkdkdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjd

Pros
See abovexxxccccccccccccfdhdjxhdhdgdhdjxjsndndndndnxnxnxncnxndndndnxncnxnxhdhdhdhdhehdhehehdhhxhdhdhhehdhdnxhdndhxjdjdhdhchchchdhdhdhhdhdhdhdhdhdhdhrhdghehrhehdhdhdhehehrhehehehehehehehehehdhehehdhdhehehenrhrhrhrhdhdhdhdhdhrhrh4hrhrhdhrhrhrhrhdhfhfhrhrhrnrhrh

Cons
See above.......skskskskskskskskskwkwkwkwkwkwjwjejdhdhdjejehehejejehehejehehehehehehehehdhdhdhdhdhrhdhdhdhehrhrhrhdhrhdhrhrhrhfhfhrhrjrhrhrhrhrhrhrjfjrhr...enough of this bullshit

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
KENNETH G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Great Car!
The style, and beauty of this car are second to none. The color, the looks, everything about this car is beatiful, it's easy to see why this was the car of the year, two years running in the U.S. I want to buy another one for myself!!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jo S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2019
2019 Kona - purchased 08/19
Note: I had an Elantra for 10 years and really miss some of it's comfortable & convenient features. This is my first SUV/hatchback (in 40 years of driving).

Positives about Kona 2019:
Car is fun to drive!
Safety features are very responsive to driving conditions
Love the heated front seats & their contour is comfortable
Sound system is clear
Find the keyless entry convenient
Windshield readily clears from fogging
Back seats easily go up & down

Negatives about Kona 2019:
Back seat/trunk storage room is too small; when seats are up have very limited storage space (and leg room)!
I need to reconfigure space use too often for basic, routine purposes.

Available custom 'net' for trunk secures to floor (like a tent) rather than providing a verticle 'pocket' for storing grocery bags, etc.

Trunk door practically needs to be slammed to close tightly; it looks closed but needs considerable force to ensure that it's locked.

Overhang design above rear window prevents cleaning well by commercial carwash

Big black box around rearview mirror closes in view of full windshield; vehicle is small and I would prefer to have more expansive view

Too much plastic in interior; it scratches easily and feels/looks 'hard'
Interior materials are 'cheap' and I doubt that they will hold up well over time! Should be of better quality if owner chooses to keep car for duration of warranty!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
DEBRA E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2019
Don’t purchase for lane keep assist safety feature
The lane keep assist feature works nothing like it does in the Santa Fe we own. It rarely shows as active for a significant length of time, even when conditions suggest it should be. You can barely feel the steering wheel pulling you back into the lane when you cross the line. Took it back to dealership where they adjusted the camera; no difference. Dealer drove 2 other Kona’s on the lot and they reacted the same way (meaning they hardly reacted at all). Disappointed since safety features were one of the reasons I purchased the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MARIA F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Kona turbo - love it!
Bought the Kona turbo new. First Hyundai ever owned and the styling, turbo, warranty and gas mileage sold me. I've been pleased with the gas mileage and handling of the vehicle. The overall interior and exterior body style is attractive for a small crossover/suv. The car feels solid to drive and the sport/turbo mode really kicks in nicely. I don't notice too much of a drop in gas mileage while using the sport mode. Climate control is nice and cabin stays proportionately stable. The 8" navigation/entertainment screen is a plus! Big difference from my previous 5" screen. Cabin can get a little noisy from road sound but not a deal breaker. Looking forward to see how it handles in snowy weather. So far, very pleased.

Pros
Gas mileage, handling, style, turbo, navigation and entertainment system, leg room. Warranty!

Cons
Storage is on the low side but adequate. Cabin noise a little loud while driving highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
CHRISTOPH P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2019
Not bad for the Price
Hi all. Back in Aug 2019 I totaled a 16 Tucson SE. Was in Need of another vehicle. As I wouldn't be able to ride my Harley in winter. Had to be AWD. Saw this as a Leftover 19 model. Test Drove. Was surprised by the way it handled. And the price was affordable. As I didn't have a trade in. And just did a lease buyout on the Tucson about 2 weeks earlier. This is a Leased vehicle. I will most likely buyout at the end. The only thing I wish I could've done differently, Got a higher trim line. With Fog lamps and wind tint. SEL model. But Finances and Need outweighed my wants.

Pros
Good MPGs. AWD Handles pretty well in emergency situations. Have tripped the FCA on multiple occasions.

Cons
Brake Squeal when cold. First few stops. Or after sitting awhile. Started in Nov when the weather started getting cold.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN PAUL M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2019
Amazing. Couldn’t be happier.
I absolutely love this car. I personally do not think you can find a better vehicle for the price with a better warranty. The options available in all models are great and help tailor the vehicle to your liking. No matter base model or fully loaded, the vehicle pricing is incredibly reasonable for the quality of the vehicle you’re going to get with the Kona. The vehicle is excellent on gas on the highway and in the city. All wheel drive is great in the snow and not once did I feel like the vehicle was struggling. I live in New England and have to drive through the snow quite often. I recommend this vehicle to anyone and everyone I know who needs a car.

Pros
Great ride and road feel. Car is comfortable and reliable. All wheel drive in the snow is excellent. Styling of the vehicle is sharp. Non turbo model still pretty fun with back roads and tight turns. Gas mileage is excellent for an all wheel drive vehicle.

Cons
Room in the rear is limited.
Acceleration in non turbo model is not amazing, however it’s not a safety issue when merging or need to speed up. Just not as much fun as a turbo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Brittney W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2019
Kona
I love my Kona. It's a car I can see myself happy owning for the full length of my lease if not longer. I love how I can project my google maps from my phone onto the main screen, so I don't have to keep looking down at my phone to figure out where I'm going, especially if I'm on the Freeway going 60 - 80 MPH. It's a small SUV but it's a nice in between size for me. I was driving a small 4 door sedan before and was nervous in the big SUV's. So my next car when ever that happens will be an SUV and it will be thanks to this car that I will feel more comfortable in that.

Pros
Android Auto, Maps, Style and Comfort

Cons
Not a lot of storage space and it doesn't have an automatic starter for winter months.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Rudy C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2019
Great car! Everything you need...
This is an excellent car. Very beautiful & great design, full efficient, strong, easy to drive... My wife and kid loves it and we are very comfortable inside. I will buy a second one in couple years...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ALISON H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2019
Absolutely love it, it's sleek, zippy, efficient, and small while being useful!
Absolutely love my Kona Ultimate. Love the 4WD, the interior features such as heated seats, remote start from my phone, car locator, unlock from my phone, and the interior design are really impressive. I've had the car a year now and I still love getting into it. It's small, can fit in small spaces, but still offers spacious interior for storage and carrying large items. It's comfortable both as a driver and passenger for a long drive. As a shopper, I was highly comparing competition and it came out stronger in comparison to the Honda HR-v, Subaru Crosstrek, Toyota CH-R, and Nissan Kicks. I love my Kona and would recommend it to anyone interested in a CUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
RENE D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2019
HYUNDAI KONA
A close friend traded in her Sante Fe on a Kona and was extremely pleased.
That is mainly why we bought a Kona---We already have an Elantra!!
For our type of use, it seems to fit the bill well!! THANX
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
RICHARD P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Fun and functional
Planned on replacing my leased Tucson with another Tucson but opted for the Kona. It's smaller size makes it fun to drive. And, the load capacity with the seats down hasn't failed me yet. It's speedy2
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ANN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Kona sel
Love my sporty looking Kona. Never thought I would like a White Vehicle but the Hyundai Kona has a beautiful two tone with the Black accents on it. I am extremely happy.
Every one at Herb Chambers especially Stan we’re very informative and professional
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
KENNETH N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Great small SUV!
I looked at and eventually purchased my KONA at the recommendation of my wife. I did some research reading up on specs and reviews on YOUTUBE all of which were positive. I took a test drive and fell in love with the car. This is my first NEW car in about 20 years and I have not regretted the purchase. The salesman, and dealership were great. I was given a fair price for my trade in, and the cost of the car. Wish I could have gotten the turbo version, but I'm happy with this KONA.

Pros
Great looking vehicle. I am complimented all the time on its looks, and color. I have the black roof and red body scheme which I haven't seen anyplace.

Cons
Although you can lay down the back seats I found the trunk space is a little small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
ERICK K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2019
my kona
i like the car it is a little snug for me i am 6 feet 3 inches so i am used to it. It preforms well and has good features i espeically like the collision alert it works well and is nice to know it works when i need it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 710 in total