2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1133 Reviews)
Latest review 8 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


BH
BENJAMIN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/29/2020
Not Happy
Rough ride. Frustration because over 65mph front end shakes/wobbly. Dealership said drive it a while to break in . They switched tires around. Same problem. Seems like something loose or out of alignment but they said everything looks find.
They said since I have been complaining and its documented. If some happens later on. I had complained.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Cheryl J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/31/2020
Small and Cute
Good pick up, easy on the gas, easy to maneuver in the city and on the open road. Not much rear leg room or trunk area. The interior noise level can use some tweaking. Need more standard safety features

Pros
Color, gas mileage, maneuverability, pick up,

Cons
Front seating are bit narrow, interior noise levels are a bit much ,lack of rear leg room and trunk space, Need more standard safety features .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/20/2020
It okay
The price of the vehicle was pretty high for a 2 w drive vehicle and i be trading it off in the next year for a better vehicle and a 4 w drive this time around i think for a 2 w drive vehicle the price could have been a tot lower

Pros
Nothing

Cons
Very high price vehicle for a 2 w drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
Deborah N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/04/2020
Very Cute, but...
I Love the look of this vehicle, but to small for me, it has no power, even with the sport mode! I also need power seats, and a sun roof. This vehicle is for a young adult. Sold my Santa Fe for this, thought I would be ok with a down grade.

Pros
Navigation System

Cons
No Power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Laura B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/17/2020
Kona
I like the car however very limited space in trunk and especially leg room in the back seat. Definitely a Mini SUV
Not enough engine power drags going uphill
Love all of the features sunroof heated seats display screen

Pros
Fully loaded .. sunroof and heated seats
Great readable screen with many options

Cons
Limited leg room backseat
Not enough engine power going up inclines

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lyla M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/29/2020
What is driving Hyundai's trade-off decisions?
The Kona EV had good range. For the money you should find most quality features in any EV on the market. I don't understand why Hyundai made poor engineering and design trade-offs decisions in the Kona EV

Pros
Great low-end and high-end acceleration that is not felt in conventional engine vehicles
Comfortable ergonomics for either a 5'3" or 6'1" driver or passenger

Cons
No software updates;
Need a separate EV Owners Manual;
Driver braking + crash avoidance system = skid;
Driver swerve to avoid a hazard +l ane control system = risk. Crash avoidance system + lane control system = (risk)2;
No Driver seat/mirrors/HUD position memory for multiple drivers;
No independent temperature controls for driver & passenger;
No seat temp controls when starting the car remotely;
Rear windows burble when down. Must lower front wider to reduce painful noise;
Navigation system and posted speed limits do no match in HUD;
Allow 3rd party navigation (google, Maps, Waze) use in HUD nav;
No Tow hitch
No roof rack;
Must unlock vehicle 2 times to disengage charger or open/close charger door
Owner cannot control what apps are displayed on home screen (i.e., 3rd party nav system in split screen view)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
NIGEL P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/10/2020
2019 Hyundai Kona
It is a very nice small car. It has a very nice interior with great standard features such as a back up camera. The car comes with a lot of nice features for the price that you pay for it. It is very reliable and great on gas.

Pros
Nice features.

Cons
Small interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tammy P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/14/2020
Kona
I have not been in love with the Kona but it was my choice to buy this car. It’s hard to manage on windy day’s. It’s not the high end car so it’s been hard to keep clean because of the quality of the carpet and seats. The good things are great with gas mileage And smooth ride when it’s not windy. It’s big enough for large and small passengers. Lots of space for storage when shopping small or big.

Pros
Gas mileage/ smooth when it’s not windy

Cons
Poor interior/ Not enough extras with the price paid for it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NA
Norma A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/08/2019
Kona Hyundai pros & cons leased
I love the look of my Hyundai. I’m very comfortable seated in this car. I like that I can open the car door by pushing the button on the handle of the door. I love that the rear view camera display screen is big and clear enough to view what I need to see.
There are two things I don’t like. The ride is not as smooth as other cars I’ve ridden in. We feel the bumps in the road.
I’m very upset this car has no CD player. I was told that new cars don’t come with them anymore. Then how come my daughter just bought a new Subaru and it HAS A CD PLAYER !!!!! Can you fix this in my New Kona PLEASE?? That would make me extreamly happy.

Pros
Nice looking.
Comfortable to sit in.

Cons
Ride could be smoother. Slow pick up.
NO CD PLAYER !!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/12/2019
Kona
Went in looking for a compact SUV, test drove several, chose the Kona. Very pleased with what we received for the price, excellent value for the money. The Kona come with all the bells and whistles you can hope for. Lots of tech and safety in one nice package. Fun to drive and has a look that sets is apart. Love the Kona.

Pros
Lost of standard features that are up-grades on other manufacturers. It has all of the safety features that you may want also. It’s fun to drive and it’s styling sets it apart from the rest of the cars on the road, I find it very sharp looking. It’s comfortable to ride in and also has plenty of zip when needed.

Cons
Wish it were just a bit larger, but if extra space is needed a person can add roof racks to carry more gear.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Malishya W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/20/2019
Love my kona
I purchased the iron man edition and it's getting so much attention! Someone even offered to buy it off of me 3 days after I bought it! It's a beautiful car and has nice features. I gave up a few features from switching from a maxima, but I couldnt turn this kona away! Besides, I did gain many more safety features!

Pros
-perfect size since I am a small person
-warrenty
-blue link
-safety features and great ratings
-awd which is perfect since I live in a snowy area in winter
-awesome iron man design and beautiful rims

Cons
-manual rather than power passenger seats
-no heated steering wheel
- no sun roof
-delay when accelerating when in normal mode, but much better in sports mode
-blue link only available for 3 years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Catherine C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/20/2019
my kona
What i would change on my kona if i could...i really like my kona however passenger seat better if it was powered also n sometimes it feels so go-cart feeling when I'm backing it up my driveway like jerks. Wish the hatch would pop open n go up by remote. Backseat vents n vents in very back too

Pros
Stylish...features with seat heat is nice. Powerful engine. Stereo sounds good. Wide terrain. I wouldn't buy it without all that upgraded features

Cons
When u need car to go and it has a few second delay..easy to get rear ended! N motor cutting out when feels you're going to hit car in front of you can get you rear ended also.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TROY B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/21/2019
2019 KONA
GREAT CAR FOR THE MONEY,FUN EXCITING,GREAT COLOR AND EASY TO WASH AND WAX AAS WELL AS CLEAN THE INTERIOR. SERVICE AT THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN EXCEPTIONAL,THE SALES DEPARTMENT HAS GONE ABOVE AND BEYOND IN SELLING US BOTH OUR 2019 KONA AND OUR 2019 SANTE FE BOTH WITHIN A MONTH AND A HALVES TIME

Pros
ITS ALL GOOD

Cons
ITS ALL GOOD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
Eric P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/30/2019
2019 Kona!
So far it’s been an alright vehicle! Did have an issue with the lower panel /step board as the clips snapped off but Tony Hyundai replaced tha entire part right away! The only other issue is the voice command in which Siri never understands my command! Otherwise no problems!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
ROBERT K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/20/2019
Great small SUV for the money
The ride is great but cargo space is small. Still getting used to various features. I should have spent more time comparing the different Konas as I probably would have gone with the SEL instead of the SE assuming it had SIrius and a CD player.

Pros
Mileage and comfort

Cons
Little cargo space and no CD player or Sirius

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
SHAWNA Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/20/2019
Hyundai Kona
Great car for the price and gas consumption. Back seats fold forward for more storage but normal storage space it quite small. Good for small families. Engine is really quiet. It is possible to forget engine is running when you stuck in heavy traffic

Pros
Great gas mileage
Plenty leg room
Good price

Cons
Small lag in acceleration
Small cargo space
Not good for big family trips

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PATRICK F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/21/2019
Kona
love driving this car
1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
11

Pros
reliable
fun to drive

Cons
slight feeling of something under the cat or breaks grinding

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
RADOSLAW D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/21/2019
Kona
Sweet small crossover jdudjdjdjdjekejejsismsjsid djdufje dhdudud hdhdjdjdjdud7d djdudud7f7d sjdudududud dhdududud djdjdjdjdududud djdjduudududud djdudududududududududucududud7djd dhdud djdududududududud

Pros
Small

Cons
Loud

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Scott F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/21/2019
Kona Iron Man
Fun. Requires extra effort though when washing it. Definitely not a family car. My dog likes it a lot. Seems to have good gas mileage. Good AC and sound system. Contemporary technological features....

Pros
Interestingly, people take pictures of it.

Cons
I have not had it long enough nor taken it on a far drive to completely evaluate your questions.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
BRANDON W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/21/2019
Good things come in small packages.
The Hyundai Kona far exceeded my expectations. Mine is the Limited with the 1.6T engine. The handling and performance were better than expected, and the comfort and convenience are top notch. On the downside, the plastic accents on the outside feel a bit flimsy, and the cargo space is lacking. Also, for my taste, I just wish it were faster.

Pros
Surprisingly peppy engine.
Neat styling.
Great features.
Fantastic fuel economy.

Cons
Plastic accents on the exterior feel cheap.
Seat gets uncomfortable on long drives.
Underwhelming cargo space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 1133 in total