2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(604 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


RD
RADOSLAW D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
Kona
Sweet small crossover jdudjdjdjdjekejejsismsjsid djdufje dhdudud hdhdjdjdjdud7d djdudud7f7d sjdudududud dhdududud djdjdjdjdududud djdjduudududud djdudududududududududucududud7djd dhdud djdududududududud

Pros
Small

Cons
Loud

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Scott F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
Kona Iron Man
Fun. Requires extra effort though when washing it. Definitely not a family car. My dog likes it a lot. Seems to have good gas mileage. Good AC and sound system. Contemporary technological features....

Pros
Interestingly, people take pictures of it.

Cons
I have not had it long enough nor taken it on a far drive to completely evaluate your questions.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
BRANDON W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
Good things come in small packages.
The Hyundai Kona far exceeded my expectations. Mine is the Limited with the 1.6T engine. The handling and performance were better than expected, and the comfort and convenience are top notch. On the downside, the plastic accents on the outside feel a bit flimsy, and the cargo space is lacking. Also, for my taste, I just wish it were faster.

Pros
Surprisingly peppy engine.
Neat styling.
Great features.
Fantastic fuel economy.

Cons
Plastic accents on the exterior feel cheap.
Seat gets uncomfortable on long drives.
Underwhelming cargo space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOANNE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/23/2019
Great Car high price
That is a good car, Compared to other cars but compared to other cars with the same features, this vehicle is quite expensive, good interior, I wish the back support moved up and down. I wanted a hatchback with AWD and because of the amount I drive I wanted a automatic seat, what I paid for with the seat was a sunroof, the seat, and a few others; with it could have been just seat.

Pros
AWD on demand, average sound system, heating seat, hatchback, 28mpg combined

Cons
Low storage, price high, other minor things

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joseph D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Review from a 30+ year Nissan Customer
Have owned Nissan Sentras, Altimas, Frontiers and Versas and the quality of this Hyundai is equivelant to or even better than the Nissan. Style and Price was what really sold me but after driving it for a few months I really enjoy it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Antonio S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Love vehicle bit needs some creature features
My old car had auto folding side mirrors. Heads up display is awesome. Love the sunroof, love all the sensors make driving a real treat and makes me feel real safe as I travel around in town or long distance.

Pros
Headlights, LEDs lights, heads up display

Cons
Non auto folding mirrors,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARY A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
XXXXXXX
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Pros
Safety features. BlueTooth. Apple Car Play

Cons
Too small trunk. Too little back seat leg space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Andrew S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2019
Classy and Stylish!!! Wonderful Fuel Economy!
We purchased our 2019 Kona after leaving the hospital, having our second child. We were hit head on and our vehicle was a total loss. We've always been Chevy owners but the sleek design of the Kona along with the fuel economy and the price tag definitely brought us in. The outside is gorgeous to look at, I've received so many compliments. The interior is so beautiful! I'm very satisfied with our purchase!!!

Pros
Beautiful design internal and external. Great fuel economy. Comfortable. Compact.

Cons
Very difficult to steer and drive. Also zero space for children and strollers and travel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LN
LYLE N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/26/2019
Limited AWD
If you don't require AWD, need more cargo space, more ground clearance, and a decent engine without having to upgrade Trims, then get a Kia Soul (less expensive as well). Otherwise, the Kona is your best option for a Subcompact SUV.

Pros
AWD
Turbo Engine
Value for Price

Cons
Ground Clearance
Cargo and Passenger Space
Limited Trim + or Go Home

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
PAMELA H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/28/2019
KONA SEL
It's smaller than the Santa Fe & Tucson, which I like. It's still sporty looking & has all the technology you need in an SUV. AWD is a plus, especially for Winter driving. The fuel economy is great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
STEPHANIE D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/28/2019
great buy for a car
I just feel like the LED display shouldn't be blacking out this early but I like how smooth and quiet it is, i like the touch screen. I think some of the buttons are cheaply made but I love my car because It feels safe. Not much get up and go.

Pros
Its great for petite women
Comfy

Cons
Slow to accelerate
volume is poor
screen blacks out

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
SEAN D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/04/2019
Love the Kona
The car is fun to drive, handles well, and has great fuel economy. Hyundai hit a home run with this car. Design styling is polarizing but I love it. My only issue with the car is that you have to hard-wire connect your phone to take advantage of android auto/apple connect in order to use your phones navigation system as the car does not have an integrated navigation system of its own.

Pros
Fuel economy, styling, roominess.

Cons
My only major con was the experience I received after the sale from the finance department to the dealership taking over 3 weeks to get the finance paperwork submitted properly, 5 and a half weeks to get me the license plates.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BERNICE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2019
Kona
Love this car for a 2nd. Car traveling is comfortable, and love the gas mileage. Plenty room for 2 to go anywhere even room for luggage. Price for leasing was really great. This is our first time leasing love it

Pros
A tank of gas along ways

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Russall S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2019
Great vehicle weak paint
I love my 2019 Hyundai Kona. Has plenty of pep and gets great fuel economy when I'm driving around town. If I baby it and don't hit red lights I can grey 40mpg easy on the way to work. But I do have a complaint, the paint. I haven't ever had a car start developing rock chips this fast, not even a year old and I have two. My old Hyundai accent didn't even start getting them till it was 5 and that was after I got caught in a hailstorm.

Pros
Pep and fuel economy

Cons
Thin paint

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
ANGELA J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2019
Headlights Stink
Overall fine. Low beam headlights suck for country driving.
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
Fun and just my size

Cons
Low beam Headlights suck for country driving even after adjustment. Better car for city people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
LISA D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2019
Kona SEL
I love my new Kona. It's a little smaller than I was looking for, but have found it's the perfect size for me. The turn radius on the Kona is superb! The interior is comfortable and altho I have the cloth seats, I would prefer the leather, but not enough to make up that price difference. It would be nice if the driver and passenger door storage areas was a bit bigger.

Pros
I really love my Kona

Cons
I've only had the Kona for a month, so I haven't had time to really rate any cons yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
ROBERT C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2019
LOVE!
I went from a coupe(2 door) to this. I love everything about the car... my only downside is I was hoping to have more room. It definitely does but the back seats are very cramped when you have someone there. Making them unusable at times.

Cons
Back seat very cramped, sometimes unusable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GEORGE H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2019
Kona
It is a sufficient car for the money. I wanted to get out of my lease and the salesman was very helpful in allowing me to get into the Kona. I wish it had a little more pickup when starting out, it is something I am getting used to.

Pros
Affordability

Cons
Wind noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Susan W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
Absolutely love my Kona but room for improvement
Great safety features, very comfortable, and great to drive. BUT car is noisy when driving, wiper fluid smell is strong in the car when used (even without the air on), and no way to disable air through the vents even when closed, so on a hot day you get hot air into the cabin. Still love it.

Pros
Great safety features, very comfortable, and great to drive

Cons
Noisy, strong smell of wiper fluid when used (even though fan/air is off), also even closing vents still get hot air into car, and recirculate shuts itself off so that doesn't help keep hot air out

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HP
HYANG P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/18/2019
Good Utility Vehicle
It's very nice compact utility vehicle with low gas mileage! Also it's all wheel drive vehicle, and it will be very efficient vehicle during winter time, especially in the mid-west area. It's fog lights are pretty new.

Pros
Low gas mileage

Cons
Need some extra power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 604 in total