2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(597 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


DK
Donald K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2019
My new Kona
I love my new Kona. It handles beautifully and it very sporty. Healey provided roof racks so I can transport my Kayak. I am very satisfied and would highly recommend this vehicle and dealer .Chris Carpenter was a great sale person
Thanks

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GN
Gregory N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2019
Great car
The Kona exceeds expectations. My initial satisfaction with the Kona is higher than any of the 10 previous new cars that I have bought. My only negative is that smart cruise control is not yet available on the Kona.

Pros
Good ride and handling. Excellent power for a small car. Gas mileage better than advertised.

Cons
Smart cruise control not available on the Kona.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EMILY N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2019
Love it!
I live in the north and needed a reliable car for the winter months. This is the best option for people who can't handle bigger rigs! Safe and will spacey for a compact SUV. I don't think I plan on trading this car in.

Pros
Everything about it.

Cons
I don't have any Cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
A whole new paradigm
This is a refreshing vehicle. Actually, I've never felt excited by a vehicle before. I've felt respect and appreciation for previous vehicles whose design and engineering I've admired. But the Kona has so many pluses it's hard to count them: no gas, no oil, no transmission, little or no maintenance, and this list goes on. AND it leaves almost all other vehicles

Pros
Painstaking, tasteful engineering interior and exterior. I enjoy driving in a way I have not before. The car is easy to enter and leave, it leaves everyone behind when a light turns green, and it looks sporty without looking overly luxurious.

Cons
Something may be amiss with the steering, which sometimes seems to take control for a moment at higher speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DENNIS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
Fun and Feisty
Great space for the size of the vehicle. Sharp looking. Accelerates like a sports car. Easy to get in and out of. Good size back seat. Great cargo area and cover. Amazing handling. The features are great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Geraldine S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
😄
I have enjoyed this vehicle and so has my family.
,,.............,,.,.,....,...........................,......,,.,........................,
...,..................................,....................

Cons
I would like to have a little more room for back seat passengers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
VICTORIA B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2019
Sporty and fun to drive!
I test drove multiple SUVs and and ended up leasing a Kona . It is smaller than other SUVs but overall it is stylish, roomy inside....with lots of storage space, and has a responsive engine that makes it fun to drive!

Pros
Functional, sporty and fun to drive!

Cons
None that I have found.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PAULA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
KONA
My engine burned up on my 2007 Tucson so I had no time to shop around. It didn't even break 100,000 miles. And yes it had oil. Went to the dealer to buy another one. But I didn't like the dash. I was going to leave and the salesman showed me the Kona which I never heard of. It was perfect for me. Everything was in reach. I have the sonic silver, great color. I took a 3 hour trip and my car said I got 35 mpg. It was great not stopping for gas. It did come with a sun roof which I wanted. I did qualify for 0 interest.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Kona EV review
This is an excellent vehicle. Best feature is the large capacity of the battery that enables driving up to 250+ miles when fully-charged. Engine feels quite powerful.

Have only two quibbles. Am somewhat disappointed by "pedestrian warning system" in front of the Kona EV. It doesn't function as well as the sensor system in the front of my late father's Lexus that is 15+ years old. It does appear to literally stop if the front of the vehicle comes too close to an object, but the sensors do not "warn" the driver in advance of coming too close. If I had realized that this is how it works, I would have chosen a less expensive model. The other quibble is Hyundai's early decision to sharply limit the number of Kona EVs brought into the SoCal market, which had the effect of limiting the choice of exterior colors and create scarcity which enabled dealers to charge hefty markups on MSRP.

Overall, it's a very good EV choice. I'm about to drive it on its first long road trip from LA to SF and back.

Pros
Number of miles that can be driven on fully-charged battery.
Powerful engine.
Air conditioning is very efficient and starts up quickly.

Cons
Pedestrian warning system on Ultimate Model is disappointing and underperforms. Stops the vehicle if too close to object in front but doesn't provide aural warning from sensors in advance.
Limited number of Kona EVs available at the time I was shopping caused the range of exterior colors to be very limited and created scarcity that enabled dealers to charge markups from MSRP.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DOTTIE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
MY KONA GIRL
I DIN'T THINK I WOULD PURCHASE A NEW CAR AGAIN. BUT I WAS SO IMPRESSED WITH THE KONA AND IT'S RATINGS, AND BECAUSE IT'S A FAIRLY NEW MODEL, I DID PURCHASE A BRAND NEW ONE. I AM SO GLAD I DID. iT IS A WONDERFUL CAR

Cons
I CAN'T THINK OF ANY

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Carson A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
My First EV
Hyundia has produce an exceptional Electric Vehicle from the start so their next generation EV should be even better than this one. The fundamental building block has been set with an extremely high bar for their next iteration electric vehicles.

Pros
Excellent Build Quality
Fun To Drive
Exceptional Range
Great Value

Cons
Wind Noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Camille P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Hyundai Kona
I love this car! My daughter leases a Kona, but I decided to buy one when my other car lease hadn’t yet expired. I wanted the car she was driving, too! It’s big than a sedan, but not over sized like some SUVs. Perfect size for me!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Philip G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Great Car!
This is my third plug-in electric vehicle. The first two were plug-in hybrids. This car typically gets over 300 miles on a charge, which is much better than advertised or expected. The driver's seat and "shotgun" seat are very comfortable. Back seats are a little cramped, but I usually have them folded down anyway. I do love the color and design because it looks like a normal car. The ride is very comfortable even though I prefer to sit a little higher to see farther down the road, I'm getting used to this.

Pros
No gas, ever. Great power, and easy to drive.

Cons
Back seats are not roomy enough for long trips. When rear seats are folded down, the seat belt interferes with putting objects in and out through the rear side doors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carol S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Love my Kona
I love my new 2019 Kona. It has plenty of power driving in the mountains and gets great gas mileage! The safety features work well but I especially like the blind spot detection feature the best. I test drove 3 other similar size cars and loved the Way the Kona drove the best. The price was fair and I know I got the right car for me. No buyers remorse at all.

Pros
Safety Features and styling

Cons
Wish it had a little more ground clearance. 3 or 4 more inches

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Peter W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2019
I love my Kona
I love everything about my Kona. But just a heads up if you don’t get the tire program make sure you purchase a spare tire. I also love that I can start and control my car from my cell phone. Also schedule my appointments from there.

Pros
I love everything about this car

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dennis M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2019
Don’t understand what you are asking me
The Kona is a sharp looking vehicle, the vehicle runs great and handles well. My best vehicle yet. I’m very happy with it. What else can I say, this is like my 6th Hyundai. I wouldn’t go anywhere else to buy or lease a new car.

Pros
Just love the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Juanita C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
My Kona
I went from a BMW to a Kona. It drives incredible. I don’t feel any bumps on the road. Safety features are amazing. It keeps me safe. It’s awesome that I can use regular gas which saves a lot of money from my premium that I used to have to use.

Pros
It’s a sharp vehicle.

Cons
None yet :-)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Robert P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Honeymoon
I brought home my Kona EV two days ago. All seems nearly perfect. Ask me again in 6 months, 1, 2, 5, 15 years ;-)
More words added to bring the total to 200. The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lyudmyla M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Great car!
Very smooth driving, quiet engine , very good color. Car 🚙 just right sized .Smart , changes mode to AWD when needed on its own. Great in the snow. Easy to park, drive backwards using cameras. Great job!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SHELLEY E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Sharp looks and ports car like feel
I passed a Red/Black Kona on the turnpike one Sunday and had to slow down so it could pass me and I could see what make/model it was. I was that impressed by the two tone paint and styling. I searched all over for a black roof/trim and red body Kona SEL and found one about 30 miles from home. I drove out there to do a walk around, then went to my local dealer and bought it! I love the way the car handles! It feels a lot like driving my old 1969 MGB. I also love the looks of it.

Pros
Handling
Mileage
Style

Cons
too early to tell

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 501 - 520 of 597 in total