2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(778 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


PW
Peter W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2019
I love my Kona
I love everything about my Kona. But just a heads up if you don’t get the tire program make sure you purchase a spare tire. I also love that I can start and control my car from my cell phone. Also schedule my appointments from there.

Pros
I love everything about this car

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dennis M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2019
Don’t understand what you are asking me
The Kona is a sharp looking vehicle, the vehicle runs great and handles well. My best vehicle yet. I’m very happy with it. What else can I say, this is like my 6th Hyundai. I wouldn’t go anywhere else to buy or lease a new car.

Pros
Just love the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Juanita C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2019
My Kona
I went from a BMW to a Kona. It drives incredible. I don’t feel any bumps on the road. Safety features are amazing. It keeps me safe. It’s awesome that I can use regular gas which saves a lot of money from my premium that I used to have to use.

Pros
It’s a sharp vehicle.

Cons
None yet :-)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Robert P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2019
Honeymoon
I brought home my Kona EV two days ago. All seems nearly perfect. Ask me again in 6 months, 1, 2, 5, 15 years ;-)
More words added to bring the total to 200. The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lyudmyla M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2019
Great car!
Very smooth driving, quiet engine , very good color. Car ? just right sized .Smart , changes mode to AWD when needed on its own. Great in the snow. Easy to park, drive backwards using cameras. Great job!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SHELLEY E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2019
Sharp looks and ports car like feel
I passed a Red/Black Kona on the turnpike one Sunday and had to slow down so it could pass me and I could see what make/model it was. I was that impressed by the two tone paint and styling. I searched all over for a black roof/trim and red body Kona SEL and found one about 30 miles from home. I drove out there to do a walk around, then went to my local dealer and bought it! I love the way the car handles! It feels a lot like driving my old 1969 MGB. I also love the looks of it.

Pros
Handling
Mileage
Style

Cons
too early to tell

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Marcia H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2019
2019 Kona SE AWD
I have been very pleased with my Kona, other than it pulling to the right and that the bluetooth is not operable by pushing a button on the steering wheel and using voice to activate making a telephone call. I have not reported the pulling to the right to my dealership yet.

Cons
Bluetooth not activated by voice on the steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Kenneth N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2019
Great little car!
This is my first new car in about 20 years. The buying process was easy. I'm very happy with the car, wish the trunk area was a little bigger. I get compliments on my Kona and its color (black roof with red body) all the time.

Pros
Stylish, good gas mileage solid build.

Cons
Smallish trunk area.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
Gloria R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2019
Amazing
This is my first time buying a car from a dealership and it’s a blessing.
The Kona is perfect for me.
It’s y’all so when I drove through floods, I’ll be okay.
The mileage is to die for.
I fill up my car with $28-30.
I wish it was a push to start though .
I love this car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mary S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2019
Hyundai Kona
I love my Kona and would more than likely purchase another one down the road. I had a Santa Fe, Tuscan, and now the Kona. I really like the size of this one best. It's very comfortable and easy to handle.

Pros
size

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Patrica C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2019
Nice car
We have taken the on long trips . Handle well on the road great on gas mileage. The car came with Hartmann Kardon sounds system. It sounds great and works well with apple play. We have driven over 17000 miles without a single problem. Just routine maintenance and rotate the tires. We are happy with our choice. Thanks Hyundai

Pros
Great MPG. The turbo engine is fun to drive

Cons
Passenger seat could be more confortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CAROL R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2019
My Kona ROCKS!
Clearly the best car I've purchased! Sleek design and gorgeous red color~ I get alot of heads turned on the road. A great, smooth ride. I absolutely LOVE the Apple CarPlay and Bluetooth features, and the sound system is TOP NOTCH! Some items I'm not a fan of: I have a KEY start up- I came from a Nissan Juke that was push to start, and also a one-touch button on door handle to lock/unlock. And the A/C- when the fan is on 4, it's a great speed. However, when I turn it down to 3, it seems like it's on 1 or 2; it's significantly less powerful. And the bi-level, I really don't feel the fan on my feet.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FC
FRED C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2019
Baby Kona
This is a new car. We have just had it a short time. We tend to keep our cars 10 years or more, so we are just getting stated with the Kona. So far we love it. What more can we say this is a new car if we had had any problems you would not be getting this great review.

Pros
Very good handling, nice smooth breaking, we like being able to use the sound system for the telephone, and my wife LOVES the power adjustable seat

Cons
Not much rear leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
KELLY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/18/2019
Favorite Hyundai yet!
I love my Kona! The handling and ride is smooth. The features included are amazing! It’s not a large as a typical SUV, but it’s larger than a Sudan. The gas mileage is way better than any other SUV I have driven. It’s absolutely perfect!

Pros
The added features are easy to use once instructed. Great gas mileage. Handles well in the rain.

Cons
No CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TI
Tracy I.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/18/2019
I love it
I have had my Kona for 4 months now and I love this car. I would recommend anyone buy a Kona because it's amazing. Before this I had a Tuscon which I also loved but now that my kids are older, I wanted something smaller and this is perfect.

Pros
Features, comfort, gas mileage.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
ROBERT M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/18/2019
My new Hyundai Kona
This is a great car. I was driving a truck for over 20 years, and wasn't sure how the change would be, but it has been great , I've had the car for about a month now. I think it will be great once the winter gets here too.

Pros
So many cool features in this car, it's hard to pin point them all.

Cons
The AWD only works when the car is going less than 20 MPH. Not sure why that is.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JOHN W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2019
Just what I needed
I am a huge fan of this new vehicle “type”. It is larger than a sedan and gets better gas militate than a crossover. Being a taller guy with a long commute to and from work it is exactly what I needed and the Kona is best in class. Plus the tech in this car is second to none. I can’t go back to the old ways ever again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Deborah F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2019
Best vehicle I’ve ever owned
This is my second Hyundai and I love the Kona and would buy another one. I’ve recommended Hyundai of St Augustine and their vehicles numerous times. This vehicle is fun to drive, looks sharp and gets good gas mileage.

Pros
This vehicle looks awesome and I love driving it

Cons
Only thing I could improve on is the trunk space. My Accent had more trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SARAH R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2019
Kona won me over from the Crosstrek
Love, Love, Love this vehicle! It's very fun to drive and easy to use the features! I find new things to like about it every day! We just took it on a long trip and I enjoyed being in the car every minute, the dog is even comfortable!

Cons
Brakes are very touchy and gives the feeling of whiplash when approaching stops

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
STEVEN E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2019
Sporty Compact Colorful SUV
The 2019 Hyundai Kona is a fun to drive, sporty, compact SUV (or more technically: a CUV). It comes in a variety of colors from the extremely bold "in your face" colors (I have the "Lime Twist" color) to the more "normal" (read: "mundane") subdued colors, so there's a color that fits everyone. It comes in four trim levels and the highest trim level even has a heads up display! I'm finding that I really love this feature and I almost didn't realize that it existed until the sale was almost completed!

Pros
Extremely fast pick up. Great looks. Good variety of color options. Very comfortable, and solidly built. Loads of great safety features

Cons
The transmission could shift a little smoother. It would look better from the back with dual exhausts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 541 - 560 of 778 in total