2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(523 Reviews)
Latest review 26 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TG
TWYLA G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/26/2019
I'd buy it again
I waited longer to replace my car just so I could get this one. I love everything about it, from the clean interiort to the comfy seats, the great nav screen and sound sytem to just driving it. It was really easy to get comfortable driving the car, and though I wasn't looking for the lane assist and blind spot detection features, they have proved invaluable to improving the transition experience. The only thing I'd bring attention to, is that even though the trunk is big enough for my needs, you'll have to think vertically opposed to horizontally unless you have the seats down. It's not a bad thing especially in a crossover but something to mention. If you need a lot of trunk all the time, I'd go Tucson or Santa Fe. In general, I appreciate Hyundai always giving people more bang for their buck in a dependable package, and I hope they continue being awesome.

Pros
Zippy, fun to drive

Cons
Slightly smaller trunk than some similar models, but very workable if you're willing to rethink vertical versus horizontal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOY C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/26/2019
Gh
None except trim coming off on passenger door. Salesmen was not very friendly and did not listen to what I wanted. Got high rate and deal when this is my 4 th time buying a Hyundai from the same dealer. Very disappointed
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MARLENE P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/25/2019
Kona 2019
Love the car! It is easy to handle and park. I like the fact that the back seats fold down completely. This is a very handy feature. The warranty was a very important part of me buying this vehicle. The safety warnings are a great feature.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Brian D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2019
Kona for life
What a fantastic addition. Big enough to step up into yet small enough for my wife to feel comfortable. The features on mine make me smile every time i get into it. It gets great gas mileage and the ride is like I'm drive something twice as big. So comfortable to sit in and the heated seats that go up the back help with the every day back pain from the job. I can't say enough positive things about the new Kona, buy one and you won't be sorry. My wife and I love this car and plan on driving it for a very long time.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RICHARD G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2019
Hyundai Kona
Super car. We needed an additional AWD vehicle not as large as our other SUV, with good pickup and safety features. The Ultimate version has all that including turbo, a well integrated HUD and great gas mileage.

Pros
Gas mileage, acceleration, safety features, entertainment/nav system integration, all in a small-SUV style. HUD information is an ease of driving and safety plus.

Cons
No spare tire or run flats, uses an electric pump and tire repair kit in case of a flat tire. HUD height must be adjusted for each driver; not as easy as adjusting the seat. No heated steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Janet G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/23/2019
Love our Kona.
Just took a 2400 mile trip in our new Kona. Everything was perfect. Handling comfort gas mileage (36 MPG) Even the dog was happy. Only one thing, wish there was a power release on the hatch back door.

Cons
No power back hatch release

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KRISTIN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/23/2019
Love My Kona!
I was excited the first time I saw the Kona. It was such a great looking vehicle. Then I started researching it online. Read about the awards it had won. Then I found out about the great reviews and recommendations from Consumer Reports and KBB. Finally came the test drive. I fell in love with the ride, the comfort, the style, the tech. It was everything I wanted and a great price. The warranties sure didn't hurt. I LOVE my Kona - and I am reminded of that fact every single time I drive her. If you are thinking about a Kona, don't wait. Do the research and take one for a test drive. You won't regret it!

Pros
The tech package is worth the small up-charge. Gives me all the latest technology and features I wanted.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kim M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/23/2019
Horrible seat comfort
Does not handle the road well on long distance driving. The seats are very uncomfortable! Feels like you are sitting on concrete.. If you are on a highway, an 18 wheeler driving by, will cause the car to not stay on a straight pattern

Pros
Small, nice design n color, let’s you know if you are drifting off the toad.

Cons
Does not handle well on highway driving. Seats horribly uncomfortable!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/23/2019
Kona review
yeah this car is exceptional! It handles well and with the greatest assurance that it will get me to my destination. I love all the features. Especially the lane tracking function and the interface with my smartphone for the navigation.

Pros
Love all the features especially the lane adjustment 1 + in the forward anti-collision system.

Cons
Could have a bigger drink holder but that is such a minor issue. I'm not even worried about it. LOL

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2019
A+
Best vehicle choice I have ever made. Considered the Kia Sportage, but the price was significantly higher and it wasn't as much fun to drive nor was the interior as nicely appointed. The Kia dealership wasn't as friendly or well informed about the vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BUNSEON H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
I don't know right now
In future,MOST HYUNDAI VHEICLE MUST CHANGE WITH CVVD ENGINE PALEASE
We need more space second seats area.
Also, better fuel econormy.
Small sizes electric car like elantra.
If you see my opinion. You have to know what you change design in China In a completely different way. If you do that it will be game changer.

Pros
Good design better engine now

Cons
Needs more second seat's space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JOHN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/21/2019
Great Car Overall..
Vehicle is great to drive and has a sharp appearance.. The car has great safety features.
Controls are set up for ease of use. Gas mileage is > 30 mph and has averaged in the 34mph range. Keyless entry and remote start with the appl. is a plus.

Pros
Good mileage and very peppy. Easy to get in and out of and comfortable front seats.

Cons
No spare tire and some building materials could be stronger. (ESPECIALLY where plastic is used for handles) Where thin metal is used for weight consideration added protection should be applied as in vinyl shields in the door jambs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Pamela M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
Kona
I love my Kona. From the color to the performance. Everyone at the dealership are great. Scott sold me my Kona. Alex is so awesome in the service department, as well
as Russ. Deb is also fabulous. Everyone has a great personality.

Pros
I love my car. Get lots of complements.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LYLE W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
Nice little car
My wife is the primary user of this vehicle and her opinions are accounted for within this review. She will use this Kona as a town car, she has all ready taken a 600 mile trip wherein she experienced an impressively safe and competent driving experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Ann M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
Hyundai Kona
I absolutely love this car! My previous was a Honda Fit bought new 10 years ago. This care has so many more features and is incredibly affordable. I compared it to the Honda HRV and it just handles so much better and is so much fun to drive. It is very good on gas and has all the safety features you could want. I just wish I could afford an electric. I also wish they made a hybrid.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Elsa C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2019
Best Subcompact Crossover Value
Our 2019 Kona Ultimate in Pulse Red has far exceeded our expectations of a subcompact crossover. That’s why it’s the North American utility vehicle of the Year. Nothing else comes close to it in acceleration, features,
styling, and value.

Pros
Best performance, features, acceleration, styling, and value over its competitors

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Michael P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2019
Amazing Vehicle
I am simply amazed by the way the car rides. Very smooth and effortless. The best car I have owned in the past 15 years. Barring any significant problems I will buy another Hyundai. I will continue with Hyundai.

Pros
This car for the price is amazing. It rides better than the 2 40k SUV’s I previously owned. Comfort for 4. Handles very well and for the size engine has some really good pick-up

Cons
If there is on con to this vehicle is you give up trunk space to give comfort to all 4 passengers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
Alla P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/20/2019
review
I have this car for three month. So far works fine. Still learning features . Difficult to use the phone when driving. Radio stations are not easily stored in the car. Like the size, rear view camera, safety features.

Pros
Fun car. Has a lot of safety features. Good visibility. The seat has very little room for adjustment. Good size.

Cons
The trunk door does not close easily. Needs force to be closed. The radio, phone and navigation systems needs time to understand.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAY M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/19/2019
Kona Review
Very nice vehicle for the price. This vehicle comes with a lot of great safety features standard while the tech package adds to the vehicles list of nice attributes. The ride is very stiff and could do better with a slightly softer suspension. The acceleration is not very brisk, but adequate and perfect for teenage drivers; however, the engine revs hard when merging onto a highway.

Pros
Very good safety features and the Tech package is very nice
So far this has been a really good vehicle for the price

Cons
The ride is stiff, transmitting every bump to the driver and passengers
The back seat is tight for larger adults

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kevin B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/19/2019
Fun and Fast!
I was looking for a sports ute with higher site line, comfort and lots of features with a power plant that would launch and be nimble at higher speeds to move quickly through traffic. The answer: Hyundai Kona with a 1.6 Turbo and AWD!

Pros
Fast! Handles on a rail with wide Goodyear touring tires. Great style!

Cons
Rough idle with AC on. Dual clutch stumbles at low speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 523 in total