2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(665 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


ML
Marion L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2019
I LOVE my 2019 Kona Ultimate!
I LOVE my car! This car is spacious for a smaller car, it's dependable, economical to drive, the turbo is totally awesome, and it's as cute as a bug! We traded in our Santa Fe for our Kona and we are very happy!

Pros
I listed the Pros with the ratings all 10's except for one and I explained that in the Cons. I love everything else about my car!!

Cons
The front wheel drive feels unstable at times. I notice more pulling and wandering with front wheel drive. I prefer real wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Paul M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2019
Love..love
Perfect car for me . Room I need but not too large for my mostly solitary trips and runs. Love the features. Noisy brakes only problem and Hyundai blamed the government for banning asbestos. Seems I can choose between cancer or noisy brakes

Pros
Quick pickup. Mine is top of the line and loaded..love the features.

Cons
Squeaky brakes..really noisy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Christine W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2019
Loving it so far!
I picked the car because it had gotten really good reviews. Then it was deciding the color. I loved the Lime Twist and decided to buy that one, even though it meant going up to the Limited level. I'm glad I did - got the peppier engine and the color is awesome! And so is the rest of the car. I'm still being surprised at what I find. I'm loving the tech features - the car I replaced was an 07, so didn't have many of those.

Pros
All is good. Can't find a negative.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tomas M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Hyundai Kona
This is by far the best vehicle I have purchased. It has all that I need in it and the ride is phenomenal. Just went on a trip to South Padre Island and by the time we got there we wanted to keep driving. Very smooth on the road. Very comfortable for 4 people with room to spare and not to mention it gas mileage is amazing. My next vehicle to my daughter will definitely be a Kona as well. It just feels so safe and easy to maneuver I know she will love it just as much as I do. You could not get a better practical SUV. Definitely best in its class.

Pros
Love it all the way

Cons
none that i can mention.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FV
Frank V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Mid life Crisis Car !!
Went from a 2008 5 speed manual no power anything Toyota Tacoma 4x4 to my mid life crisis purchase of a 2019 Hyundai Kona AWD 1.6T. Point is mid life is a good time now with this ride. Never owned a turbo (just a little turbo lag), but it was coupled to an AWD system and suspension that makes it a fun to drive vehicle. Don't brake much into turns now that the handling is in place, and found myself able to accelerate into that turn and the car hugs the road as it should. Great 2 adult w/plenty of gear storage with the seats down. Not really meant for 2 full size adults in the rear but it's easy to get into and out of the back doors anyway. All you have to do is press the pedal down and man,,,it goes. Every safety feature you could hope for in a sub compact SUV means just that,,,,it's safe. Good pick for this 55 year old and would be a great pick for a new driver with all this safety built in. Extended the bumper to bumper 5 more years (up to 10) so for 6 years after it's paid for, I'll still have it covered nose to tail. Rated best in its class and costs far less that the competition with similar features and has the BEST warranty in the business. How could I go wrong? Go find Spencer Wedge at Meriden Hyundai and he can sell you one too.

Pros
All the safety and all the fun from a small turbo in a fun to drive sub compact SUV.
Dare I say "Handles like a go cart" in a good way.

Cons
Back door access is fine but the rear seat room is really sized for smaller adults or children. Don't leave the Lane departure warning on if you're not on the highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Rodney D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
Comfort With ZIP
We were looking for a small, all-wheel drive car that would be comfortable, provide safety in all kinds of weather, and perform well. We have definitely found that in our 2019 Hyundai Kona. It handled well this winter in many different driving conditions. It is very comfortable for four passengers, including a 90 year old with mobility challenges. It also is fun to drive and has the zip of a sports car. It looks great too. We have been stopped by several people who ask us what kind of car it is and what is the color (Lime Twist).

Pros
Comfort
Handling
Style
Safety features

Cons
Storage space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VF
VINZINA F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Love my Kona. Nice looking vehicle, roomy, well priced and sporty looking.
All these surveys we have taken, Hyundai should send the customers a certificate for either free oil changes or percent off on first service.or do something to the customer for taking their time. and helping you to improve. .

Pros
Nice vehicle

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Julio C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
"Excellent"
No comments at this time. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
N/A

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SAMANTHA E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
ROCK STAR STATUS
The 2019 Hyundai Kona (Sport Turbo) is so much fun to drive!!! All the features of a higher priced vehicle. Best Warranty on the market and SAFE!!! I had just made my 1st payment on the car and was rear-ended with my 3 daughters in the vehicle. Cosmetically it appeared that I had superficial bumper damage, however when the mechanics looked under the bumper they determined that the safety bar had split in 2. None of us were injured by the impact of the other vehicle. I'm grateful I was driving this new beauty that day.

Pros
Love it!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KIMBERLY P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Kona
No commentxxxxxxxxxxcxcccggghhjjjjjjiiuhhuuhhhhhghhhhhhhjjjjjhhhhhgggggggggyyyhhhggggjchchchxhxchcjcjcjcjcjcjcjcjcjxjcjxhxhhchcjcvccccjjccjchccjcjccjchchcchchcchchcchchcchchchchcydyddyyfucyxyfyfyxyxyxycfuc

Pros
Na

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
Fred T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Love my Kona
Love all the features in 2019 Krona (Lime green). Traded in 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport Ultimate 2.0T.
Love power of 1.6T Kona. Perfect CUV for retirement downsizing. Hands well in traffic and has all wheel
drive plus power for mountain trips.

Pros
Features are great, Gas mileage 33 hwy during 55 to 65. Safety Collision System.
Great Audio Sounds. Hands free phone and cruse

Cons
No heated steering wheel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nicole B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona Ultimate AWD Lime Twist
After comparing all the cars in this class.. The Kona came out on TOP! I am in the process of separating from my spouse and was in the market to buy a new car to replace the vehicle I was losing in the separation. Was looking at all the subcompact SUVs and had not considered the Hyundai and never heard of the Kona. My friend had just bought a brand new Santa Fe Ultimate and I fell in love with all the features it had!! I started researching the Santa Fe and thats when i discovered the Kona! OH WOW! It offered the exact features in its Ultimate trim and it was at the same if not lower price points as other cars in its class! LOVED the Lime Twist color! I went and test drove one and fell in love... but I waited. and researched more. I made sure it was what I wanted. I called the closest dealership to me and told a salesperson what I wanted. They laughed at me. They said I wanted "an unicorn". I looked online at dealerships in surrounding areas... found the car i wanted about 600 miles away. I called the salesperson that I test drove with at another dealership. She made it happen for me, 4 days later I was taking delivery of my 2019 Kona Ultimate AWD Lime Twist baby. It is so far one the BEST cars I have EVER owned!

Pros
Lane Keeping Assist System
Infotainment System
Apple Carplay / Android Auto
Peppy in Sport mode!
The AWD is really nice when you need it!
GREAT gas mileage!
Auto high beams is amazing!

Cons
Wish it had heated steering wheel
No cooling seat for summer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
John N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2019
Kona revirw
The Hyundai kona performance, features, ride, appearance is call that had been written about. The ride is comfortable, would be nice to have more room especially in back. Visibility is great from any drivers angle.

Pros
Love the vehicle

Cons
Paint feels grainy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Sonja P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Crossover Full of Features
Overall, I’m very satisfied with this vehicle. Acceleration is fair and it handles well. I particularly like the Heads Up feature with the speed limit and navigation details projected. Safety features such as side mirror warning, beeps when a vehicle is close are useful and help with driver focus. The finish is excellent. On closer examination the gray paint has subtle and quite pleasing metallic sparkles. I have recommended the Kona and will definitely continue to do so.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
Scot Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
2019 Kona Ltd. With lime twist
We love our new 2019 Kona Ltd ! We purchased a 2018 Kona last April and traded for this new one. It's a great car that's fun to own.powerful 1.6Turbo. delivers performance. 7 speed dual clutch transmission shifts effortlessly. The lime green color is very stylish.the leather interior. Is comfortable.

Pros
Everything about the car is positive.

Cons
The interior could have less plastic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Terry S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Kona - a good replacement for my smashed Suzuki SX4
I wasn't too sure when I found the Kona - I was a little discouraged because most cars have seats that don't fit my short legs. When you get close enough to reach pedals, you're usually smashed up against the steering column. What a surprise to find the seat didn't cut off circulation and I had room between me and the steering wheel. It's a little narrower than my Suzuki, but feels the same width! It was a good fit!

Cons
Cup holders are too small for my cup. Needs to be self-cleaning/vacuuming to be the perfect car!.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
Connie E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2019
Excellent
I feel the good traction on the road both summer and winter . More features that
Makes the driver easier and comfortable to drive . It’s a sexy car on the outside and inside , the simplicity of built design makes it unique .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lisa H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2019
Love my Kona
When I first saw the corner on a TV commercial I fell in love with it then I saw one or two on the road again I really enjoyed it I then was impressed with the dealership in the way I was treated and did not think I would purchase it but I left the dealership with my Kona I love my Kona!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Amanda S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2019
2019 Kona
This is exactly the kind of car I was looking for. I didn't want a huge SUV but I also didn't like the look of some of the crossovers. Once I saw an image I was sold. The gas mileage is amazing and the comfort and ride are smooth. Plenty of great little features that I am still discovering to this day.

Pros
Gas mileage
Comfort
Space

Cons
Trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Paul G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Kona
great car & ride. highly recommend for anyone looking to enter the field of suv.Hyundai reliability is there. Fun to drive. styling is spot on. Interior is sporty & clean look.Interior matches overall appearance. A total package. Great value

Pros
great car & buy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 665 in total