2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1133 Reviews)
Latest review 30 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CC
CAROL C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/23/2020
Hyundai Kona 2019
My Kona is one year old now, and I have had NO problems during this first year. Any questions I had initially, the salesman was able to answer (and help! me with). I do enjoy driving the car, and now a friend of mine has bought a Kona also.

Pros
Reliability!

Cons
No interior trunk release.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
CONSTANCE H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/25/2020
Kona 2019
I basically love the Kona.. wish I had gotten a lighter color interior.. and a lighter dashboard if available.. I also loved my Tucson.. pretty sure I will either buy out the Kona or lease one more time
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ANTHONY B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/27/2020
2019 Kona AWD GT Turbo
Excellent vehicle. Low noise, great gas mileage, excellent safety features including LED Headlights that adjust automatically with any incoming headlights. A nice feature is the extra side light that turns on when you make a right or left turn illuminating the pavement or sidewalk so you can see any extra obstacles to the side. Would have given it 5 stars if it were not for the poor leg room in the back and the poorly designed trunk space. Hard to load bulky items.

Pros
Gas mileage, quiet, power

Cons
Poor leg room in the rear and poor trunk space. Tire mobility kit not a plus and a cause for anxiety

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
SHAWN J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/11/2020
Very Satisfied
In making the determination to purchase this vehicle, I made a list of positive and negative traits I would consider. The positive traits clearly out weighed the negative ones. I feel I made an exceptional choice and I expect the Hyundai Kona to serve my automotive needs for many years to come.

Pros
Fuel mileage
Advanced safety features
Apple CarPlay
Keyless entry
Folding mirrors
Hyundai factory warranty
Lane Keeping assist feature
Driver Attention Warning

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
CHRISTOPHER G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/18/2020
Good vehicle
The Kona is a good first car for a teen. Sporty and safe but not too expensive. The cargo area is small with the seats up, but spacious enough with them down. Heated seats are nice in the lower trim. Front passenger room is spacious.

Pros
Well built
Fun to drive
Easy on the wallet

Cons
Small trunk space with back seats up
Funky exterior design

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
James L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/29/2018
Hyundai kona 2019 sel 2.0 engine
Put my first 1000 miles on. Solid, comfortable vehicle. For me knowing AWD when needed is all the difference in the world. Travel a lot in mountains to San Jose area, winter time it’s a big plus. Getting a solid 32 to 34 mpg, not even broke in yet. That’s traveling 71mph generally. Happy with car.

Pros
So far great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
John S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2019
Really enjoy this car
for being the least trim level there is quite a bit of tech, sorry I didn't go for a higher trim lever like the SEL, I didn't know about the EV that should be on peoples shopping list for that type of Vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Roxana S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2019
awesome
very sporty, comfortable, to drive, love the looks of it, I like tat it is all wheel and four wheel drive, love the features on the Kona, especially the mph, coming up on the dash board. That is a very cool feature

Pros
4 wheel, all wheel drive

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EE
Elaine E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/16/2019
Love it
Had it only one day but so far I love it. Seems like it will be good on gas. Comfortable to drive. Love the safety features. Lower to the ground than most SUVs that I’ve driven which is great for me since I’m short.

Pros
Design inside and out. Safety features and comfort

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Charlie P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/21/2019
highly impressed with kona
the kona is the top the line.it has speed ,good braking ,an acelation.the front warning works, the sides work.backing out works great it warns you oars. i drove it for 650 in one day. the car was not bad on my body.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Andrew G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/22/2019
Andy G
The 1.6 Turbo has excellent power and gas mileage. It can accelerate in a heartbeat. It can turn on a dime. Excellent for turning in tight spaces. It does take bumps a little hard. I wonder if it is because of the 18 inch wheels. The ride is very comfortable other than that. The technology is excellent. It is a beautiful looking vehicle. The interior is very nice, but a height adjustment on the passenger seat would benefit a shorter person.

Pros
Acceleration capability. Absolutely amazing. Great gas mileage. Uses regular gas.

Cons
Hard on bumps. Passenger seat is low for a shorter person.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sharon D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/08/2019
Hyundai Kona
I purchased the Kona on December. 27, 2018 and I love my Kona. The gas mileage is great. I do a lot of highway traveling and am very pleased with this vehicle. I have already put 4800 miles on my vehicle.

Pros
The menu screen is big, body style, mileage.

Cons
No email alert on phone system, manual trunk opening.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charmaine G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2019
Kona
I have driven a Hyundai for years my last car was a sonata 2012 and I have never really wanted to drive a SUV however when I went into the dealership to trade my car in the sales person showed me and allowed me to test drive the Kona which is not to me like a suv but more like a cross over I love it and then I expressed that I was gonna retire in a few months and only wanted to pay a certain amount and they worked it out for me and it is great on gas so it all worked out thanks to the team and or staff at the dealership thanks Jennifer
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Leticia H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/18/2019
Love my Kona!
I love my Kona. It has all the features I requested in a vehicle. The exterior is dmsll but the interior has a lot of space. It has safety features. I know that I will be safe. It's great for driving during winter weather. I never got stuck in the snow or didn't slid on the ice. It started without problems in the frigid cold weather. I love the style and the way it looks. The Ko a was my first choice. I am happy I purchased it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Margaret P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/18/2019
The Kona is grrreat
I drive a lot and the gas mileage is better
Than advertised. In the snow it holds the road and zooms up the hills where I live.
All in all 1 complaint, no rear windshield washer squirter. Love my bright orange Kona.

Pros
It looks and drives like a sport
Car. Good gas mileage. Like the back up camera and CarPlay.

Cons
Passengers in the back feel the bumps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VD
Victor D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/22/2019
Love it
I own the Ultimate and i love it. The gas mileage and safety sensor features are great. Love Bluelink, but pissed i have to pay so much to maintain it after my 3 years are up. I hope this car is built to kast as i wanted low gas mileage and durability, so lets see...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brian B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2019
2019 Kona SEL Great vehicle with lots of features.
I purchased the Hyundai Kona SEL AWD because of it's affordability in relation to all the amenities you get without having to purchase the top of the line model. I've had the car about a week now. It drive's really well and handles great. The steering feels tight and responsive. The Kona does feel a little sluggish when taking off from a dead stop. But really it's not that bad. The interior is comfortable and all the instruments are neatly placed and easy to access. Some of the features like the braking assist are defaulted off so you must navigate on the dash using the steering wheel controls to turn on.The radio AND Sirius XM are a little bit intimidating compared to using basic radio controls in my old car, but I'm sure it will all get to be second nature. I can't wait to see how it handles in AWD but for now I will have to wait as it's not almost April and winter is over.

Overall I am very happy and pleased with my purchase.

Pros
Hyundai's 100.000 mile powertrain warranty & bumper to bumper warranty
AWD availability
Keyless entry
Push button start
Backup camera
Brake assist
Blind spot monitor
Lane keeping assist
Lane departure warning
Cross traffic alert
Amount of amenities you get for cost of vehicle

Cons
Interior feels a little cheap with lots of plastic. Don't like the two tone interior trim with gray and black trim.
Engine feels weak when needing to step on peddle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jay S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2019
Kathy Slaughter
Great car, love the color, sporty yet economical. The interior design is great. The pickup and go is great. Easy and fun to drive. We bought the lime green one. I love, love, love the color. Would recommend.

Pros
Sporty, fun to drive, great visibility and gas mileage

Cons
Would like to have a way to open the back hatch from inside the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Beth H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/01/2019
Love My Kona
Have received many compliments on the car. Roomy for passengers. Rides well. Easy handling. Love the styling. Had remote start put in and works well. My only complaint is that they no longer put CD players in 2019 vehicles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Andrea L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2019
I love my Kona!
My 2019 Hyundai Kona 1.6 Turbo is by far one of the best cars I have ever purchased! The gas mileage is great, right now I am averaging about 36 mpg. The car is fun, peppy, and has great safety features. There is only one thing that I would change, there is not a light in the trunk/cargo area. For most people this probably wouldn’t be a problem but I go to work at 4 am and getting my work gear together in the back is kind of difficult. Other than that, I love my Kona!!

Pros
Fun
Fast
Built Well
Stylish
Great Warranty

Cons
No Light In The Cargo Area

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 1133 in total