2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(776 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KC
KEELIE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/04/2019
Car is great
I love the look of the car. Its got hreat gas mileage but im not sure if it was made for all the hills that i live in. It doesnt shift like i think it should, the rpms will be very high at the top of a hill before it finally shifts back down.

Pros
Lane assist is great along with all the warnings.

Cons
It tries to take control of the driving. I know these roads better than it does. Sometimes it swerves me over for no reason.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Richard H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/03/2019
2019 KONA SEL
I've owned and leased all new elantrs's sonata's tucson and now a kona, have been satisfied with all. The KONA however is loaded with so many safety features, when on the interstates it pretty much drives itself especially in inclement weather and at night tracks the center of the road and lock awd, built in alerts. Just an excellent drive.

Pros
Safety, handling comfort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ANTHONY H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2019
I dont know what this means
I love my car and the buying experience. We were very disappointed with the trade in. We should have tried to sell ourselves. This survey is too longggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

Pros
Cost, great features and warranty

Cons
None at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHELLE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2019
Goldilocks vehicle
Perfect car for mountain commuting. I get really good gas mileage, but it is big enough to feal safe. Super cute and handles well. AWD excellent in snow and the 2.0 engine is peppy in this size vehicle.

Pros
Styling and responsiveness

Cons
None yet!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SARAH S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2019
great car!
I love this car! see comments below. i traded this car for my 2016 subaru crosstrek and i don’t regret it! it has been great for everything i have needed so far. definitely highly recommend! i never thought i’d own anything but a subaru but hyundai has converted me!

Pros
super fun to drive, very responsive, great gas mileage, tons of features, a good looking car!

Cons
small cargo space, lower clearance than other small suv hybrids

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Johnny M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2019
Love it
I love it's zippy speed. But no leg room. Everyone complain about the back seat. No leg room. But fun to drive. Disappointed they didn't clean windows on my oil change.they could have washed it too.handles great on freeway.

Pros
Fast

Cons
Not enough floor space. difficult to get your feet and legs in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Tanisha G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2019
Excellent.
I have no regrets with my selection , the kona is a wonderful SUV and I am enjoying every moment I spend driving my Kona. I would always share my experience with friends and family about the kona.....

Pros
N/A

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Stephen M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2019
18000 miles
Very fun car to drive. Totally love the Lime Green color and the additions of the lime green color accents on the interior bring it all together. The interior layout is great, everything within reach. The leather interior is wonderful. It has been my favorite car so far.

Pros
Like everything about this car.

Cons
the seats do become uncomfortable on long drives

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MICHELLE K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2019
Lots of fun in a small size
This is my commuter vehicle. Acceleration and handling are great. The fuel efficiency is really good. Seating is comfortable especially considering I am 6'4". My only gripe is a vibration that happens from 50-59 mph.

Pros
Handling
Acceleration
Infotainment system

Cons
Vibration at 50-59mph
Back seat leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
PRISCILLA R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2019
Pleasantly surprised!
I had research the Touson so much that I didn't even know Hundai made anything like to Kona. It was when I saw the Touson in person, and didn't like it, so I asked for something "smaller". She is kind of cute, and "sassy". Feels good to drive, firm/sturdy on the road. Excellent upgrade or "step up" from my small econobox car.

Pros
Definite "step up" from my small econobox car.

Cons
I think the view through the back window could be more open/larger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FO
FELIX O.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2019
Great vehicle
The Kona is a great vehicle to drive. And is the perfect size. I would definitely recommend the Kona for anyone. The fuel economy is great and the addition of Android Auto/Apple Carplay is major plus.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
NICOLE R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2019
Great Performance for a Great Price
I love the way the vehicle drives and I was pleasantly surprised by the sport mode when driving. It really gives me the get up and go that I was looking for in a vehicle. I wanted a smaller SUV that would be better on gas and the Kona exceeded my expectations! The interior was designed so flawlessly! The nice large screen allows for easy reading when traveling with the maps on! I love my new car!

Pros
Comfortable
Stylish
Sporty looking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
LISA A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
I love my Kona
It’s cute, stylish, easy to park, comfortable, good on gas. Cup holders are within reach,but not in the way. Front seats are comfy, and heat up quickly. Rear door opens easily and there is plenty of room for groceries. Can’t beat 0% financing.

Cons
Small engine. If you are Mario Andretti- don’t buy this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mark W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
Kona is a Zippy Fun Drive
We bought our Kona for our college bound daughter, but thankfully she could not bring it to college the first semester. She will need the Kona after Winter break & Im afraid she’ll have to pry the key from our hands & dry our tears! The Kona is such a great car to drive. It is roomy & comfy for a daily commute, great gas mileage for our road trips and around town. We opted for the 4WD model to handle the occasional winter storm in central Virginia.

Pros
Roomy, Comfortable, Great Gas Mileage, Great pickup/power.

Cons
Wish leatherette was offered for interior because we won’t buy leather.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
ANDREE D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/29/2019
Great vehicle
I love everything about this vehicle. From the looks interior and exterior to the handling. You get a lot for your money. Ability to make hands free calls, bluetooth compatibility. The stylish front view.

Pros
Everything except what is listed in cons

Cons
Don't like that the wheels have those huge plastic portion above them. Also, wish there was more trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
HOLLY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
Beautiful design
This is my second Hyundai that I’ve purchased. My first was a 2013 Elantra GT. My previous vehicle was a 2005 Volvo S60. I was used to driving a tank and felt very safe in my Volvo. However, I had major electrical and interior problem with it. In the 5 years I had my Elantra GT I had zero issues with it. So when they came out with the Lime Twist Kona it was a no brainer for me. It’s perfect for me and my lifestyle. My two big dogs share the backseat and I still have room for luggage or my OneWheel. I have the rack on top for my future kayak. The sound system is great and the interior is beautiful. It’s mechanically sound. I trust Hyundai...second one with no issues either. Oh and the turbo is crazy amazing.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Arm rest could be a little longer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
ELLEN K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
LOVE
Totally LOVE my new Hyundai Kona. Has all the features and comfort I need in a small SUV. Love all the great elements, the look and feel of the car. Color is awesome and interior fits me perfectly!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kathleen C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
Sporty
It’s a small and sport but has power , a lot of great features in it , I wish the trunk was just a little bigger . Handles great on the road and great gas mileage . I can’t wait to see how it handles in the snow .

Pros
It’s got everything you need in a small SUV

Cons
More room in trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ARLENE H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2019
Love it
It’s so much fun to drive and it looks great. I love how it holds 11 gallons and gets great gas mileage. I don’t cry when I go to the pumps. I love the backup camera. It really makes me want one in all on my vehicles

Pros
Love all the standard safety and tech features

Cons
The car doesn’t auto lock When you walk away from it. The ac took a while to figure out thatYou have to have the max ac off to turn the cabin circulation off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PRISCILLA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2019
Great option for the price!
The Kona has been a great option for our city living lifestyle. It’s zippy, fuel efficient and fits in tight parking spots better than our previous car (Honda Civic)! We valued interior design pretty high and the Kona has definitely delivered.

Pros
Touch screen is easy to use & navigate.

Cons
Trunk space is small, but to be expected for a subcompact SUV.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 776 in total