2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(508 Reviews)
Latest review about 10 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KK
KELLY K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/15/2019
Great vehicle overall. Lacking in space and some options.
Like the handling, gas mileage, color, and most features. A little lacking in space - especially storage. Wish some features came standard. Overall a good for my lease; will likely change in 3 years.

Pros
Gas mileage; handles well; interior noise is lower; all wheel drive; great look and color. I leased this vehicle a month ago, so these are my impressions one month into my lease.

Cons
Standard features do not include power seats, CD player, fog lights, or satellite radio ability. Small storage. As with most all vehicles, seat belt needs the ability to adjust lower. This lease was more expensive than a larger Hyundai three years ago. I’m told that’s all cars now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Marcia H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
2019 Kona SE AWD
I have been very pleased with my Kona, other than it pulling to the right and that the bluetooth is not operable by pushing a button on the steering wheel and using voice to activate making a telephone call. I have not reported the pulling to the right to my dealership yet.

Cons
Bluetooth not activated by voice on the steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SHELLEY E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Sharp looks and ports car like feel
I passed a Red/Black Kona on the turnpike one Sunday and had to slow down so it could pass me and I could see what make/model it was. I was that impressed by the two tone paint and styling. I searched all over for a black roof/trim and red body Kona SEL and found one about 30 miles from home. I drove out there to do a walk around, then went to my local dealer and bought it! I love the way the car handles! It feels a lot like driving my old 1969 MGB. I also love the looks of it.

Pros
Handling
Mileage
Style

Cons
too early to tell

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lyudmyla M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Great car!
Very smooth driving, quiet engine , very good color. Car 🚙 just right sized .Smart , changes mode to AWD when needed on its own. Great in the snow. Easy to park, drive backwards using cameras. Great job!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WILLIAM B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/13/2019
Hyundai Kona
The Kona is a really great car. It was an upgrade from an Elantra for us, and it has a much nicer overall feel. Getting in and out is a much better experience, as the Elantra sat much lower to the ground. It's not as bulky as a true SUV, so it still handles more like a sedan. Styling and features are nice, haven't had any complaints so far. Love the keyless entry and start. Very happy with our purchase.

Pros
Keyless entry and start, higher off the ground than the Elantra, great styling and features, really nice ride.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Robert P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Honeymoon
I brought home my Kona EV two days ago. All seems nearly perfect. Ask me again in 6 months, 1, 2, 5, 15 years ;-)
More words added to bring the total to 200. The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Juanita C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
My Kona
I went from a BMW to a Kona. It drives incredible. I don’t feel any bumps on the road. Safety features are amazing. It keeps me safe. It’s awesome that I can use regular gas which saves a lot of money from my premium that I used to have to use.

Pros
It’s a sharp vehicle.

Cons
None yet :-)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rosalia M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/12/2019
Kona
Love the gas mileage and how it drives on the snow, I don’t have to worry about cleaning my driveway after a snow storm it will pull out with no problem.
I wish it had a better sound system and a little bit more room inside and the driver sit was electric adjustable.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Drive very good on the snow

Cons
Sound system not very good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dennis M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2019
Don’t understand what you are asking me
The Kona is a sharp looking vehicle, the vehicle runs great and handles well. My best vehicle yet. I’m very happy with it. What else can I say, this is like my 6th Hyundai. I wouldn’t go anywhere else to buy or lease a new car.

Pros
Just love the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Peter W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2019
I love my Kona
I love everything about my Kona. But just a heads up if you don’t get the tire program make sure you purchase a spare tire. I also love that I can start and control my car from my cell phone. Also schedule my appointments from there.

Pros
I love everything about this car

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DARLENE L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/11/2019
Sporty appearance...but
I like this vehicle. It was very affordable. Exterior colors looks good on it, smooth lines, very aerodynamic. Interior is roomy and comfortable. Would have given it five stars if it had some power, but that would have driven the cost up. Fun to drive, just make sure you have enough room to get up to speed.

Pros
Price. AWD. Comfort, exterior design, interior design and standard features.

Cons
Sluggish on pick-up for a 2.0 liter. Not much cargo space without putting the seats down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carol S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Love my Kona
I love my new 2019 Kona. It has plenty of power driving in the mountains and gets great gas mileage! The safety features work well but I especially like the blind spot detection feature the best. I test drove 3 other similar size cars and loved the Way the Kona drove the best. The price was fair and I know I got the right car for me. No buyers remorse at all.

Pros
Safety Features and styling

Cons
Wish it had a little more ground clearance. 3 or 4 more inches

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Philip G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Great Car!
This is my third plug-in electric vehicle. The first two were plug-in hybrids. This car typically gets over 300 miles on a charge, which is much better than advertised or expected. The driver's seat and "shotgun" seat are very comfortable. Back seats are a little cramped, but I usually have them folded down anyway. I do love the color and design because it looks like a normal car. The ride is very comfortable even though I prefer to sit a little higher to see farther down the road, I'm getting used to this.

Pros
No gas, ever. Great power, and easy to drive.

Cons
Back seats are not roomy enough for long trips. When rear seats are folded down, the seat belt interferes with putting objects in and out through the rear side doors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EV
ELWOOD V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/11/2019
Good vehicle for the money
We have purchased 17 vehicles since September of 2009. Eight of them from Daytona Beach or Jon Hall Hyundai. We like the dealership and salesman Rodger Blue. The vehicle is a good second vehicle for the money. Fun to drive. Good MPG.

Pros
Warranty, good second vehicle, nice handling, fun to drive, good MPG

Cons
Value (paying for unwanted heating features in Florida), too low to ground for older people to enter or exit, cheap looking seat material

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Camille P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Hyundai Kona
I love this car! My daughter leases a Kona, but I decided to buy one when my other car lease hadn’t yet expired. I wanted the car she was driving, too! It’s big than a sedan, but not over sized like some SUVs. Perfect size for me!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Carson A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
My First EV
Hyundia has produce an exceptional Electric Vehicle from the start so their next generation EV should be even better than this one. The fundamental building block has been set with an extremely high bar for their next iteration electric vehicles.

Pros
Excellent Build Quality
Fun To Drive
Exceptional Range
Great Value

Cons
Wind Noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DOTTIE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
MY KONA GIRL
I DIN'T THINK I WOULD PURCHASE A NEW CAR AGAIN. BUT I WAS SO IMPRESSED WITH THE KONA AND IT'S RATINGS, AND BECAUSE IT'S A FAIRLY NEW MODEL, I DID PURCHASE A BRAND NEW ONE. I AM SO GLAD I DID. iT IS A WONDERFUL CAR

Cons
I CAN'T THINK OF ANY

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Kona EV review
This is an excellent vehicle. Best feature is the large capacity of the battery that enables driving up to 250+ miles when fully-charged. Engine feels quite powerful.

Have only two quibbles. Am somewhat disappointed by "pedestrian warning system" in front of the Kona EV. It doesn't function as well as the sensor system in the front of my late father's Lexus that is 15+ years old. It does appear to literally stop if the front of the vehicle comes too close to an object, but the sensors do not "warn" the driver in advance of coming too close. If I had realized that this is how it works, I would have chosen a less expensive model. The other quibble is Hyundai's early decision to sharply limit the number of Kona EVs brought into the SoCal market, which had the effect of limiting the choice of exterior colors and create scarcity which enabled dealers to charge hefty markups on MSRP.

Overall, it's a very good EV choice. I'm about to drive it on its first long road trip from LA to SF and back.

Pros
Number of miles that can be driven on fully-charged battery.
Powerful engine.
Air conditioning is very efficient and starts up quickly.

Cons
Pedestrian warning system on Ultimate Model is disappointing and underperforms. Stops the vehicle if too close to object in front but doesn't provide aural warning from sensors in advance.
Limited number of Kona EVs available at the time I was shopping caused the range of exterior colors to be very limited and created scarcity that enabled dealers to charge markups from MSRP.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PAULA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
KONA
My engine burned up on my 2007 Tucson so I had no time to shop around. It didn't even break 100,000 miles. And yes it had oil. Went to the dealer to buy another one. But I didn't like the dash. I was going to leave and the salesman showed me the Kona which I never heard of. It was perfect for me. Everything was in reach. I have the sonic silver, great color. I took a 3 hour trip and my car said I got 35 mpg. It was great not stopping for gas. It did come with a sun roof which I wanted. I did qualify for 0 interest.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PE
Paul E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/09/2019
Nice car
Nice car has enough power and handles great it's even comfortable for going on trips no and has enough luggage room to take whatever you want with you an easy enough to get in and out and don't take up a lot of room when you got to parallel park

Pros
I like it build for your needs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 508 in total