2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(840 Reviews)
Latest review about 4 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PG
Philip G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/28/2020
Great EV
This car has met every requirement I have for an electric vehicle. I regularly get 300 miles on a single charge. I love not buying gas. The car feels solid, powerful, comfortable and looks great! I'm very happy with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Keith C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/28/2020
Great, green car
Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car. Great, green car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2020
Great Vehicle for my Needs
Good performance, great handling - good visibility, good features paired with Andriod Auto
This is the best new vehicle that I have ever driven that is in my price range.
Even though it is smaller than the Ford Escape that I looked at, the Kona feels much roomier and comfortable than the Escape.
Also handles way better. Liked it so much we leased a seco0ndone for my wife!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jane W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2020
Kona
Really love the car . Windshield cracks chips very easily, wish the windshield was more durable. Car has very small gas tank. Back up camera blurs easily if raining. Car drives well and is very responsive even in slick road conditions

Pros
Pepe, decent gas mileage

Cons
Tiny gas tank, windshield chips very easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Anita K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2020
Love my 2019 KONA
I wanted a small SUV and the KONA is a perfect size for me. It handles well, gets good gas mileage, and has all of the latest safety features. It is comfortable and the interior is really attractive and the controls are easy to operate.

Pros
Good gas mileage; looks great; easy to handle.

Cons
A little noisy on acceleration.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ND
Nicholas D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2020
Niko53
The car comes nicely equipped.It rides well.I got the all wheel drive an and it handles well in all weather conditions. It gets good gas mileage. I have an elderly passenger.The truck space is adequate for a folding wheelchair.I am very happy with my purchase

Pros
Many standard features.Good gas mileage.Good Handling.

Cons
A little underpowered

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Roberta P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/26/2020
Love it
I love, love my Kona. I previously has 3 Santa Fe's which I loved. But when I came to look at the 2019, I didn't like the remodel, it felt cramped. But while waiting there was a Lime Twist Kona sitting in the show room and I was hooked. I fell for the color, but love the vehicle it's self. That being said if you have kids or people riding in the back all the time, this is not the vehicle for you. Front seats are comfortable and it is roomy in the front. My 6'3" husband preferred it to the new Santa Fe. I love the handling, it will lay into a curve, but I still have ground clearance for adventuring. I have the Ultimate package and love the features, the heads up display is really handy, all the safety features, blind spot, cross traffic, etc. Excellent. It is much warmer/cooler than my Santa Fe was, it took me 30 minutes to get it to warm up in the cabin, not the Kona. It is great for in the city, maneuvers so nice. I have to say I do prefer the ultimate package with the Turbo, I have driven the lower end models and the seats are not as comfortable and they don't have the pick up. It was worth spending the extra money, every penny. I would say it would be nice if some of the other Hyundai CUV's had fun colors too, instead of the boring neutral palette, but that wouldn't have changed my mind. Mileage is much better than the Santa Fe. I'm not really knocking the Santa Fe, I had 3 of them from the first model year to 2019, they are great vehicles too, I just don't care for the new model. That being said, I love my Kona. It is so me, and fits my life and driving so well. It is hands down my favorite vehicle I have ever owned.

Pros
great handling, pick up, easy on gas. just Fun to drive, comfortable. Roomy in the front for driver and passenger.

Cons
Not good if you have people in your back seat a lot, not much room for back seat passenger legs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Tiffany R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/26/2020
Sporty AWD Ride with Lots of Options
After test-driving almost every other vehicle in this class, I settled on the Kona because of the price compared to the options I would get. I got a 1.6 Turbo engine, with AWD, and around 27 mpg (my average for around-town driving) with all sorts of other convenience and safety features for THOUSANDS less than the counterparts. Some features I got on my Limited Hyundai aren't even offered by competitive brands (power driver's seat for example). In the regular drive mode, it's a fun little car to drive, but in Sport mode, it will MOVE! I highly encourage you to put this on your list of considerations.

Pros
AWD, Good gas mileage, lots of safety features and a robust entertainment system.

Cons
2019 doesn't have Qi wireless charging that 2020 has. Legroom in the back seat is minimal if you regularly carry other passengers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DOROTHY A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
I love my car.
I love my car I did not want to buy a car I did not like and have loved the kona. I looked at videos read everything I could get my hands on about the Kona and I believe that I made and educated decision for my vehicle .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Stanley B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
KONA HAPPY OWNA
Great Little SUV at an excellent economic pricepoint.
Comfortable nice drive-- all we need for our day to day getting around and just as good for road trips
Love the color and overall design inside and out
Keeper!

Pros
Overall great car for the price

Cons
only front wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IP
Ira P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
I Love My Kona
I love my Kona. It's a great car. It looks good, rides well and is a pleasure to drive. While I haven't had a lot of chances to try out the all wheel drive, when I did get a chance, the car rode very well. The entertainment system works well too. All in all, a great car and Advantage Hyundai is a great dealership to purchase one from.

Pros
Rides well.
Fun to drive.

Cons
A little slow on pick up when you hit tge gas.
A little noisy on some roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NF
Nancy F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/24/2020
Lime Twist Kona
Other than being a fun car to drive, my Kona Ultimate Turbo turns heads with its unique Lime Twist color. I traded in my 2012 Veloster for this 2019 Kona because of all its safety features. I love the back up camera, the heads up screen, the large 8” monitor to view directions, etc. and all the various other features that are standard on the Ultimate model.

Pros
Smooth ride, large monitor screen, comfortable electric adjustable seats which are heated, side mirrors alert you to blind side approaching vehicles, all wheel drive, downhill assist and the fact that everything is easily accessible with a push of a button.

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/20/2020
It okay
The price of the vehicle was pretty high for a 2 w drive vehicle and i be trading it off in the next year for a better vehicle and a 4 w drive this time around i think for a 2 w drive vehicle the price could have been a tot lower

Pros
Nothing

Cons
Very high price vehicle for a 2 w drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michelle D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/20/2020
Great little car
Sporty, fun to drive. Unique and sporty appearance. Standard equipment is good and the options on our car are great. Good value for the dollar. Will definitely consider another Hyundai when our lease is up.

Pros
So far all is great.

Cons
Nothing to add here.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jodie G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/20/2020
Hyundai Kona 2019
Love this car!!! Has everything I want and it works perfectly for me. All cars are an individual choice and when all aspects are taken into considering the right choice can result in an excellent vehicle compatibility.

Pros
Car suits all my needs.

Cons
ONLY thing I would change is the scrolling feature on the screen for making phone calls. The right hand scroll is too narrow and easy to dial a number while trying to scroll thru.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
CLARENCE K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/19/2020
loving it
After a year of ownership of my 2019 KONA I still give it a 10+ rating for everything I purchased it for. I love it and would purchase it again, my wife love driving it as much as I do. I'm sure she will want for herself soon.

Pros
EVERYTHING

Cons
Only wish they still put CD players in them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kyle M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/19/2020
Good but not great yet.
The Hyundai Kona it’s fun to drive gets pretty good fuel economy and has great tech features for it’s class. The interior needs refinement lots of plastic that that’s easily scratched The seats need improvement anything beyond an hour in the vehicle and you will be uncomfortable cabin noise could be less In the door pockets Are useless in my opinion and hold little more than one bottle of water. Sport shifter is a stupid in my opinion no one’s using that paddle shifters would’ve made more sense. Location to put your phone is tiny Several options are not available in the United States which I find ridiculous No heated steering wheel or ventilated seats. The 1.6 T Does a good job for what it is but falls on its face at certain times many of them being because of the DCT transmission causing hesitation delay. Don’t get me wrong you will blow the doors off of pretty much any comparable vehicle in this class the closest In my opinion performance wise would be a Subaru WRX 2.0 turbo with CVT Or the Mercedes GLA which is a very comparable vehicle with features and options but has a larger 2.0 turbo. The Hyundai Kona is not a performance vehicle but it’s fun to drive and has pep equipped with a 1.6t Finishes need improved seats improved maybe with the model refresh they will improve these issues and make the interior feel less cheap.

Pros
In class performance
Technology features

Cons
Cheap plastic throughout interior scuffs easy
Seats are uncomfortable with anything beyond an hour
Not all standard features are available in the United States

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
A L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/18/2020
Excellent budget option
I was looking for a second car for a small family. The Kona SEL was the best deal out of the CUVs I looked at. The higher priced HRV is bare bones, while the CHR has no room. The Soul is cheaper but insurance is higher. The Kicks is also cheaper but has less features and has rear drum brakes. This left the Kona, which fits the bill for a city driver. Easy to park, ok on gas, room for carseats, etc. If you need to haul cargo, though, this is not a good choice. Ditto if you go driving in low light urban areas--the halogen headlights are garbage. Overall I give this a 3.5 because the technology and safety features can't be beat at this price.

Pros
Great for a city driver
Interior is good at this price. Seats are firm, and pattern is nice.
Tech and safety package at this price can't be beat
Seat space isn't as tight as some reviews say. You can fit an infant seat in the back and seat an average size person in the back just fine.

Cons
Daytime lights are LED but the headlights are garbage halogens aimed low to the ground (i.e.. short distance). I do not feel safe driving on some low lit highways at night where I can't use high beams.

Exterior design can be stupid. The front end has a non functional slit by the grill. It's very difficult to clean. Ditto with the rims--alternating wide and shallow angles means more work scrubbing. This is a budget oriented vehicle for practical people. The design should be practical.

Interior could use some work. Glove box and center armrest compartment has basically no space. Side cupholders are useless for larger items unless you're putting soda cans there. Rear seat cargo nets are worse than what you find in budget airline seats. Hyundai really needs to step up interior utility. Even at SEL trim, I feel like I'm in a budget rental as far as user-friendly features go.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
FRED T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/17/2020
Love my Kona
Great Value, safety and style. Kona 1.6T has excellent power. Great visibility. Flexible Storage configuration for pets. Great mileage 26 city 33 highway.
Good car for retirement. Lime Green paint has been applied with excellent craftsmanship. Car was rear-ended in November at 35 mph. Great at handling impact..

Cons
Heated Steering Wheel
Auto Lift Rea Hatch

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DIANE G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/16/2020
2019 hyundai kona
Vehicle is fun to drive and handles great. Great bang for the buck. This has now become an annoying survey. Are you kidding? MINIMUM characters is 200!? All your questions have been answered! You should not frustrate those who have taken their time to take this survey. CAN I SUBMIT NOW?

Pros
Cost, handling, excellent service at dealership.

Cons
Would have preferred to finance but Finance deal was not acceptable so we paid cash.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 840 in total