2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83
4.8
(416 Reviews)
Latest review 7 minutes ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KM
Kim M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/23/2019
Horrible seat comfort
Does not handle the road well on long distance driving. The seats are very uncomfortable! Feels like you are sitting on concrete.. If you are on a highway, an 18 wheeler driving by, will cause the car to not stay on a straight pattern

Pros
Small, nice design n color, let’s you know if you are drifting off the toad.

Cons
Does not handle well on highway driving. Seats horribly uncomfortable!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/23/2019
Kona review
yeah this car is exceptional! It handles well and with the greatest assurance that it will get me to my destination. I love all the features. Especially the lane tracking function and the interface with my smartphone for the navigation.

Pros
Love all the features especially the lane adjustment 1 + in the forward anti-collision system.

Cons
Could have a bigger drink holder but that is such a minor issue. I'm not even worried about it. LOL

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2019
A+
Best vehicle choice I have ever made. Considered the Kia Sportage, but the price was significantly higher and it wasn't as much fun to drive nor was the interior as nicely appointed. The Kia dealership wasn't as friendly or well informed about the vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BUNSEON H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
I don't know right now
In future,MOST HYUNDAI VHEICLE MUST CHANGE WITH CVVD ENGINE PALEASE
We need more space second seats area.
Also, better fuel econormy.
Small sizes electric car like elantra.
If you see my opinion. You have to know what you change design in China In a completely different way. If you do that it will be game changer.

Pros
Good design better engine now

Cons
Needs more second seat's space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JOHN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/21/2019
Great Car Overall..
Vehicle is great to drive and has a sharp appearance.. The car has great safety features.
Controls are set up for ease of use. Gas mileage is > 30 mph and has averaged in the 34mph range. Keyless entry and remote start with the appl. is a plus.

Pros
Good mileage and very peppy. Easy to get in and out of and comfortable front seats.

Cons
No spare tire and some building materials could be stronger. (ESPECIALLY where plastic is used for handles) Where thin metal is used for weight consideration added protection should be applied as in vinyl shields in the door jambs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Pamela M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
Kona
I love my Kona. From the color to the performance. Everyone at the dealership are great. Scott sold me my Kona. Alex is so awesome in the service department, as well
as Russ. Deb is also fabulous. Everyone has a great personality.

Pros
I love my car. Get lots of complements.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LYLE W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
Nice little car
My wife is the primary user of this vehicle and her opinions are accounted for within this review. She will use this Kona as a town car, she has all ready taken a 600 mile trip wherein she experienced an impressively safe and competent driving experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Ann M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
Hyundai Kona
I absolutely love this car! My previous was a Honda Fit bought new 10 years ago. This care has so many more features and is incredibly affordable. I compared it to the Honda HRV and it just handles so much better and is so much fun to drive. It is very good on gas and has all the safety features you could want. I just wish I could afford an electric. I also wish they made a hybrid.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Elsa C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2019
Best Subcompact Crossover Value
Our 2019 Kona Ultimate in Pulse Red has far exceeded our expectations of a subcompact crossover. That’s why it’s the North American utility vehicle of the Year. Nothing else comes close to it in acceleration, features,
styling, and value.

Pros
Best performance, features, acceleration, styling, and value over its competitors

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Michael P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2019
Amazing Vehicle
I am simply amazed by the way the car rides. Very smooth and effortless. The best car I have owned in the past 15 years. Barring any significant problems I will buy another Hyundai. I will continue with Hyundai.

Pros
This car for the price is amazing. It rides better than the 2 40k SUV’s I previously owned. Comfort for 4. Handles very well and for the size engine has some really good pick-up

Cons
If there is on con to this vehicle is you give up trunk space to give comfort to all 4 passengers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
Alla P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/20/2019
review
I have this car for three month. So far works fine. Still learning features . Difficult to use the phone when driving. Radio stations are not easily stored in the car. Like the size, rear view camera, safety features.

Pros
Fun car. Has a lot of safety features. Good visibility. The seat has very little room for adjustment. Good size.

Cons
The trunk door does not close easily. Needs force to be closed. The radio, phone and navigation systems needs time to understand.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAY M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/19/2019
Kona Review
Very nice vehicle for the price. This vehicle comes with a lot of great safety features standard while the tech package adds to the vehicles list of nice attributes. The ride is very stiff and could do better with a slightly softer suspension. The acceleration is not very brisk, but adequate and perfect for teenage drivers; however, the engine revs hard when merging onto a highway.

Pros
Very good safety features and the Tech package is very nice
So far this has been a really good vehicle for the price

Cons
The ride is stiff, transmitting every bump to the driver and passengers
The back seat is tight for larger adults

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kevin B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/19/2019
Fun and Fast!
I was looking for a sports ute with higher site line, comfort and lots of features with a power plant that would launch and be nimble at higher speeds to move quickly through traffic. The answer: Hyundai Kona with a 1.6 Turbo and AWD!

Pros
Fast! Handles on a rail with wide Goodyear touring tires. Great style!

Cons
Rough idle with AC on. Dual clutch stumbles at low speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOHN C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2019
Great!
Great so far, I am a former Honda and Acura guy. The Kona seems like the best fit for all of my needs and is priced right. I looked at all of the similar suvs in this class and the KONA won out .....my choice was also influenced by friends who love their Hyundai.

Pros
Comfort,Style and Road feel

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
LOUIS H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2019
Bev Kona
I absolutely love the vehicle. I am getting great gas mileage. Handling is tight and fantastic. Love the phone being hooked to screen monitor. Great looking vehicle. The checkered seats are the first thing that caught my attention. I like the seats being different. The seats are very comfortable. I have not had to use the heated seats feature yet. Front and rear wipers work wonderfully.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
BRIAN W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/17/2019
O
Fun to drive bbbbbbbnnnnnnnjhhgggccxxfyuhgffgfffghjikhfghhhhhhjjijkkkkkkjhgftyuuuhhhhhhjuuhhhhhhhhhhhhgtredfgvvbnnnjjngdgghjuhjjjjhhhhhhbggfdfghjjjjjjjjjbgrrwetyjkkkkkknbbbhhbhjbggffvbbjggvhhhhjhhbhhhh

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
Not great pick up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
STEVEN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2019
2019 Kona
Great car and very good interior space for the size of the car. Aggressive stance and outside looks. Maneuverability in small tight spaces and easily to turn with small turning radius. Solidly built car.

Pros
maneuverability in small tight spaces and easily to turn with small turning radius.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Michael R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2019
Third Hyundai in our Family
Have been very satisfied with our Hyundai vehicles and dealership for service departments. We find the braking system is SUPERIOR to other makes. Chose the Kona after extensive research of comparable cars and found excellent ratings

Pros
Back seat is very comfortable for a mini suv.

Cons
A little bit of hesitation starting up at a light

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
Vanessa A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Perfect choice
I did my research before I purchased and the reviews were excellent. My husband was against purchasing a Hyundai so 6was on my own when I made the choice. It handles well for me. It is comfortable and will be an asset in the winter when I make nurse visits. As a bonus my husband who was not on board has made it his personal agenda to clean and vacuum my car, and brags to his friends about my wonderful car.

Pros
The technology is awesome.

Cons
Trunk is very small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RANDALL B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Kona Ultimate
Iv'e had my Kona for 3 weeks haven't found anything that isn't fine. The turbo engine was one factor in my purchase. I started with the Toyota near the top but found a cramped seating arrangement. The Kona had ever so much less confining feeling.It was the big decision maker.

Pros
I've had many new cars in my life this one rates near the top

Cons
Nothing negative at this point

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 416 in total