2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1141 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RD
RACHELL D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/11/2020
Not my favorite car
I just feel like I had too many complaints too early on, so for that, I wouldn’t recommend this car to anyone. Possibly another model, but not the year model I purchased. Hopefully all the kinks that failed me get worked out with other models since I bought this car the first year it came out.

Pros
Pick up is nice. Gets great gas mileage. Radio sounds good. Interior is always comfortable. Temperature adjusts quick. Lots of trunk room.

Cons
Bumper started falling apart within two weeks of purchase. Very cheaply made front and rear bumper. Touch screen freezes ALOT. Battery on remote entry died in 9 mos, that seems too soon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JUERGEN K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2020
I don't know what this is?
The Hyundai Kona it is a fun car to drive and a great value for the money. I really love to orange color that I picked. The car is reliable and fuel efficient with many whistles and bells. I love the connectivity with my smartphone to display Google maps on the car screen. the car handles well and is very responsive impressive acceleration and overall just a very good car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IP
Irma P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2020
Excellent Car
Really loved the braking system and lane assistance feature. Overall a great vehicle for my daughter to go to college. She really enjoys it. She has experience the auto braking system twice already and it really works.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HT
HAILEY T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/09/2020
The first car I bought
I purchased my Hyundai Kona one year ago and I have been beyond pleased! I was really nervous buying my first car but this was the perfect car for me. This car is excellent for its value. The car runs smooth and does great in all types of weather. The anti-lock breaks really kept me safe this winter in the snow. Being from upstate New York the safety features were really important to me because of the snow and this car has the top rated safety features I was looking for. I love the quality, look, and feel of this car. I am more than pleased with my purchase, and I would absolutely recommend this car to anyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LISA MARIE L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/09/2020
2019 Hyundai Kona
A very comfortable ride. It is Fun to drive. It has very Good handling. The safety features are top of the line. A very reliable vehicle. I feel very safe when driving this vehicle. I feel I made the best choice when choosing this vehicle.

Pros
Safety. Connectivity. Accessories. Handling. Comfort.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MARY P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2020
My Dreamy Kona
I've had 5 Hyundais - 2 Sonatas, 2 Elantras and now a Kona. I love the solid feel of all of my Hyundai's. The Kona is a nice size for on-street parking, not too big nor too small. Just the right size. Goldylocks test. It's very easy to get into and out of. good for aging knees. Just enough cargo space for me. I like the 2 sided mat in the cargo area, Rubber side for trips to get garden supplies is great. The rug side is easy on the suitcases. It holds all the stuff for trips to the shore.

Pros
easy to get in and out
seat has great height

Cons
blind spot where the front post is
Hard to get snow off the roof

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
THOMAS R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2020
Kona
Like style, color & features ! It is lease so when it lease is over, I will look to upgrade . Got this after having a truck for 10 years . Want something sporty ! So far after the first year of the least, I am very satisfied! Haven’t had to deal with snow in my first year so I am not sure how it will handle in the environment.

Cons
Responsiveness

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ALLEN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/06/2020
2019 Hyundai Kona
Really enjoy the ride and the various features that were available for comfort and safety. Unable to use BlueLink as we would need to upgrade our phones for the system to work. Our vehicle has all wheel drive and it worked great during the winter. I would purchase this vehicle again.

Pros
American made cars did not some close to having the safety features.

Cons
Would like to have a little more leg room in the rear seating area

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ND
NICHOLAS D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/05/2020
Very satisfied with the kona
I am very satisfied with the performance of my Hyundai kona. I like the gas mileage and comfort .the color of the kona is very good .I like the way the car handles the road in winter and other weather conditions .

Pros
Mileage ,performance and handling

Cons
Not enough room in trunk area without putting back seat down

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JEANNE H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2020
Absolutely AMAZING! FUN! AWESOME!
The Kona is quirky, edgy and packed with personality both inside and out! It is fun to drive and the nicest and best car I've ever owned. Great gas mileage, too! It exceeds my expectations every single day! Love it!

Pros
My experience has been most exceptional! The gas mileage is much better than I expected -- averaging 33 to 35 mpg. It's incredibly comfortable. The sound system is impressive! The car looks incredible, handles beautifully, and is just plain awesome - from top to bottom and inside and out!

Cons
I can't think of anything I don't love about my Kona Limited!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
KENNY L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/03/2020
2019 kona
Bought new easy to drive and maintain, has a real oil filter not one of those cartridge disasters like on a Toyota , there little trunk space but you expect that from a compact wannabe suv. So far no issues

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
No trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARCIA S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2020
Great Small SUV
This is my second Hyundia. I upgraded to a small SUV for ease of getting in and out of the car. I love the feel of the SUV without the large size. Kona has so many nice features like the heads up display. Needless to say I love this car .

Pros
Easy to get in and out, nice ride, good mileage and has lots of extra features.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JAYE F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2020
Wonderful vehicle
I absolutely love this vehicle. There are few things that would improve it. A Birdseye 360 camera would be a wonderful improvement. Perhaps a foot sensor to open the rear hatch. Those would just be nice to haves. I love it as it is.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LAWRENCE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2020
One of the best and safest vehicles i ever owned--
great vehicle, great mileage , It is like all the parts of the vehicle work together to make it a great . It does well in a crash also --right before Christmas 2019 , Wife hit a very good sized deer , she was going 60 mph , never saw the deer until it ran right in front of the Kona. The vehicles front end took the main hit from the deer---The front end crumpled up, hood buckled,fender was ripped off and radiator and A/c were damaged. Iam happy to say the Kona did its job, wife was able to pull the vehicle to the side of the road and she was ok , but really mad that the deer messed up her vehicle !! lol. The engine kept running ,heater was able to keep her warm until police arrived.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Paul P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2020
2010 Hundai Kona Ironman
As previous reviews the 2020 Kona Ironman, of my wife's, has lived up to the high expectations regarding its looks, quality, and performance. People still stop and ask, what kind of car is that, and we are proud to expose of Hyundai's quality regarding all the cars they make. I own a 2013 Genesis made by Hyundai that people ask about and believe it brand new.

Pros
All that were rated a 10

Cons
We are very particular in our car buying and we would not bought if we would have a con.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GARY S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2020
Great Fun vehicle
We already had 1 Kona and went back for a second one. Fun to drive and handles great.
Almost drives itself with driver assist and blind side warning. Drove It to Ohio, and going through the winding mountain roads at night it could see the curves before me, and guided me safely through the night.

Pros
Hyundai offers this best warranty package in the industry, and I put a lot of miles on my vehicles, so long warranty Coverage is extremely important to me. Safety is also important so I am very happy it’s equipped with the driver assist and blind side warning.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
EDWARD M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2020
so happy with this purchase
what we were looking for in a new car, the gas mileage is more than we thought, it drives perfectly, when we were driving, a car stopped suddenly in front of me, and the car stop on its own quicker than i could by pressing the brakes, amazing!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
ELAINA N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/26/2020
I love my Kona
The Kona is comfortable, easy to drive with great gas mileage. I have been a long term Hyundai user and the Kona hands down was the best car that I leased. I'm seriously considering keeping it because I really enjoy my car. Great choice!!

Pros
Great gas mileage
Fun and comfortable car
Overall pleasant experience

Cons
Not much room in the back seat. (It's just the 2 of us, but more people is a problem)
Not much room in the trunk. It's fine for 1-2 people but the Hyundai Sonata has more room
Not a speedy car...but for me it woks!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
TODD L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/24/2020
Fun, attractive SUV
I really enjoy my Kona and am glad I bought it. The only drawbacks are that it does not have very good acceleration, especially when not in sport mode, and that there is not enough leg room in the back seats.

Pros
Good styling, lots of features, fun to drive, good gas milage

Cons
Poor acceleration, not enough leg room in the back seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
REBEKKAH W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/24/2020
Excellent car
Love my car I will never by a different brand
This is the 3rd one I have own over my lifetime ...the gentle men that sold me my car was the best I would by a car from him again my son bought his first car from them I have one and that where I will be taking my daughter to by her first car

Pros
I love this car

Cons
The trunk is not able to be open by my key fob

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 241 - 260 of 1141 in total