2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(597 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RL
RICHARD L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
Great car
Great car for my everyday runaround. Not too big or small to drive on the streets and motorways. Plenty of room for passengers and shopping. I love the styling and colour, it looks sporty and really stands out in the blue. Fuel efficient too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KRISTI B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
Kona Lease
Went looking for a new car and knew the reputation of Hyundai. Wanted a smaller cross-over and saw this. Took it for a test drive and really liked it. I am very happy. After my lease I plan to purchase it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MAURICE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
Hyundai kona
I've bought a few hatchbacks before but this is the best I've owned. Great vehicle, comfortable, great fuel economy, good pricing. The front of the car looks different from alot of new vehicles but I like it I think it looks modern and different.

Pros
Fuel economy, pricing, drives great

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Agnieszka K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2019
Great small suv
I love my new car . It’s not to big not to small . Perfect size for the city . Not the largest trunk space but we use other vehicle for big shopping trips . Great safety features and AWD is a great plus.

Pros
Great car with a lot of safety features and AWD

Cons
No heated steering wheel ,small trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jeremy R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/01/2019
Unacceptable Regen Braking Noise
There are some major issues I have with the Kona EV, the worst by far is the regen braking noise. I was super excited when I drive the car, but found out quickly that the car has some major issues. The interior car is very noisy, the brakes are borderline broken in their sensitivity, and the regen braking (which happens constantly) is embarrassing to drive around with. I have even tried to take the car back, but Hyundai seems to feel this noise is by design and that customer service doesn’t matter. This has been the worst experience with cars in my life. I will never buy a Hyundai again, and I will make sure as many people as possible know my feelings on this issue.

Pros
Fast and affordable

Cons
Loud interior and terrible regen braking noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DONALD C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2019
First Hyundai. Always Toyotas.
To early to tell how much I like the Kona. Always have bought Toyotas and the last was a Prius I owned for 10 years. Kona has a big hill to climb to match the performance of the Prius. So far other than the gas mileage, comfort is excellent.

Pros
Warranty. Very comfortable.

Cons
Choppy engine performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
GARRETT B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2019
Excellent car, definitely worth the cost
I leased a new Kona after reviewing several cars online. The car is highly rated and reviewed positively for a good reason. The car rides well, gets excellent gas mileage, is comfortable, and for the features you receive the price is reasonable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
RAVEN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2019
This car is a dream
This is my first vehicle I leased fresh out of college. I've had this car for about 3 months and get compliments and stopped and asked about this car all the time. I love everything about this car from the look, to the fuel economy, to the sound system, to the smooth ride. To be honest at first I hated the automatic braking until I got cut off on the highway and my Kona reacted faster than I could and probably saved my life. The fact that this car had so many safety features is truly what sold me, most other cars I would looking out I was looking at an extra 5K to get everything. I leased this car but I'm honestly thinking of buying it already unless they come out with a better model. I love everything about this car and have caught my parents taking it for a joy ride because they love it too. For my first ever vehicle purchase I feel like it's the best choice.

Pros
Fuel economy, sound system, unique look, ride comfort, safety features standard

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BARBARA G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
Ruby Tuesday
Only 1000 miles, but love it so far. Named her Ruby Tuesday, as she is red and I purchased her on a Tuesday. Haven't had the chance to take her on a long trip so far, but looking forward to vacationing.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Leg room in back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZS
ZDENEK S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
Awesome little car.
This little car is zippy and fun to drive. It has, to my surprise, a lot of technology in it. I like HUD display, wireless phone charging, auto (self) in line driving and good trunk space to haul "Stuff".

Pros
For the price, it is a winner.

Cons
Needs as an option more powerful engine and bigger/wider wheels.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BARBARA P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
Nice car for little old lady!
This is my first Hyundai. I find it to be a very easy to handle car and the size is perfect for me as I was driving a Camry and found it to be too big. It isn't a guzzler so I only put gas in every other week which I like. The only downfall is that I have yet to figure out how to use all the technology. That is not the fault of the car rather the owner ME!

Cons
Storage compartment between the 2 front seats is quite small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
ROBERT K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
2019 Hyundai Kone
Love the vehicle, but the front passenger seat could have more position options, and a little more padding in the seat. Overall so glad we returned to Hyundai, we were really unhappy with the last two American brand (Chevrolet) vehicles we had before
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
Ironman
Fun. Great idea for styling and finish. The details are fun and it is fun to drive. A lot of friends really like it. I am writing more so I can reach the two hundred characters required for the review..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FN
FRANCIS N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/31/2019
kona review
very nice compact suv, fun but storage space limited. love the apple carplay and the turbo 1.5 engine. Car gets good gas mileage, but gas tank is on the samll side.
This question should really be asked after the new car honeymoon is over.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jeffrey W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2019
Reliable car that rides smooth
The Hyundai Kona is a fantastic vehicle to own. It's very affordable and rides very smooth. It handles well and gets great gas mileage. I would highly recommend this car for someone looking for a SUV.

Pros
Color scheme
Gas mileage
Handling
Engine power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
THOMAS F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2019
Kona...rating.
The Kona is a sharp.. powerful.. little SUV... handles very well.. a lot of power and body comfort....I do with the MPG ...were a bit higher...I would also prefer having a spare tire. The interior design is awesome ...so sharp with the lime stitching.

Pros
I like everything about it

Cons
A littlel small.,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
David P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2019
D. P.
We love our kona the gas mileage the way it drives in the snow. I had a Jeep and our kona drives better in the snow then our Jeep ever did. The way the vehicle handles on the road is amazing. The safety features are excellent.

Pros
Gas mileage and the way it drives in the snow

Cons
We were used to a little more room so a little smaller than we like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DIANA C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2019
Love my new Kona❤️❤️
Received a post card in the mail from Sansone Hyundai . Really didn’t know what I wanted or if I wanted to buy a new car. Just went to look! Saw the Kona and then test drove it. Fell in love immediately. Had to purchase fits my lifestyle perfectly!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARY G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/29/2019
2019 kona
I like the car but not happy it is falling apart at less than a month out and I am being told it is my fault and I should pay. I think the makers should reconsider how to hold bumper and wheel well together.

Pros
Love the car it is compact and reliable good gas mileage.

Cons
That it can fall apart so easy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sandra C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2019
Stylish and and comfortable
The ride is comfortable and styling and love the color choices. The option are great and the controls are easily to get to. The storage is great and you can store anything in that car. The color orange which I have is very noticeable and people compliment
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 241 - 260 of 597 in total