2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1133 Reviews)
Latest review 25 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LM
LISA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/26/2020
Great Little Grocery Getter!
It's marketed as a compact SUV. It is small, almost car-like. I bought mine because I loved the exterior styling and the color. It is comfortable to drive. My kids are grown so interior space was not a concern for me. Families with kids need to go with a larger format.

Pros
Exterior styling
Compact
Safety features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
CONSTANCE H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/25/2020
Kona 2019
I basically love the Kona.. wish I had gotten a lighter color interior.. and a lighter dashboard if available.. I also loved my Tucson.. pretty sure I will either buy out the Kona or lease one more time
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
David L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/25/2020
Excellent little ALL electric vehicle the Kone EV
Sorry I am a man of few words. But I love all electric, is an absolute blast to drive. But I am active with SUP and mnt biking, and the difficulty in crry my toys, is a serious down fall of this vehicle. Roof rack option and trailer hitch options would be a huge bonus!!

Pros
all electric

Cons
no roof rails
trailer hitch difficult

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CAROL C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/23/2020
Hyundai Kona 2019
My Kona is one year old now, and I have had NO problems during this first year. Any questions I had initially, the salesman was able to answer (and help! me with). I do enjoy driving the car, and now a friend of mine has bought a Kona also.

Pros
Reliability!

Cons
No interior trunk release.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
JAMES E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/22/2020
yes
20000000000000000000000000000000000002020202020202020202020220200202022020202020202020200202020202020303039484u4i84dkekndcnreihf94u93u4ervdf vk orjer9u5t9u54t9u459ty45gjrtbdfvdsljknvwierofj34ojr93r0-q34ti034it0=34ti0=

Pros
no

Cons
no

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
Lee J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2020
Great little car
This Kona is by far a terrific vehicle. The handling and fuel mileage is superb. The safety features are spot on. The ease of parking, entering and exit the vehicle is great. I'm not sure there is anything I really dislike about this vehicle.

Cons
Only con is I wish they had a light towing capability. Being able to tow light loads would make this a perfect vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Claudia H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/21/2020
All weather. Love my Kona
I've had my Kona a little over a year. Love it. Favorite car I've ever had...exceeding my Lexus and Toyota Rav. Great safety features, comfy, all weather, stylish, super mileage. Great salesperson Brian M at Rowe Hyandai ...chose Rowe over others..no pressure, courteous,thorough.

Pros
As mentioned above

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LAURA R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/20/2020
LOVE MY KONA
I rented a Kona while vacationing in Los Angeles, California. After driving it on the highway and in the city for a week, I knew this was the car for me. I have owned my Kona for a year and I love it!

Pros
Color, Comfort, Reliability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PV
Phyllis V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/19/2020
Kona
This Hyundai is the best yet It’s our 5th Hyundai and more to come I’m certain Love the color comfort and appearance and the follow up service Always a pleasure to come back for service And sales staff are truly professionals

Pros
Best yet

Cons
Wish tailgate was automatically

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARY BETH W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/19/2020
My Kona
This is a great little car! There is plenty of room for driver and passengers. There is plenty of room for groceries, purchases and luggage. The sound system is great. The navigation system is excellent. The Android/Apple pairing feature is a good addition. It's a very good deal for the relatively low price. I highly recommend this car!

Pros
Big enough to haul luggage, boxes and small furniture. Small enough to maneuver like a sports car.

Cons
A little less leg room than standard SUVs, but still comfortable with 4 adults.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
CHRISTOPHER V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/18/2020
Perfect
This is my third Hyundai and currently tied with being my favorite. The veloster still edges it out. This is mainly because the veloster is a manual transmission. I have no complaints with the Kona. It is perfect. For my family of 4. It is also perfect for taking my dogs to the dog park.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BARBARA H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2020
Love it
This is my favorite car i have owned. I like everything about it. I had 4 cars to look at when we decided to get a new car. The Kona was first on my list. Looked at the Kona first then looked at the Kia sportage . Went fight back and bought the Kona.

Pros
I like everything about my Kona

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BARBARA B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2020
DREAM CAR
I researched a lot of cars online & Kona had the best of everything. The safety features are top notch, it drives smooth as silk, quiet as a mouse, is comfy, looks sporty & i luv the color. (sonic silver) The mpg is 33 so far, but its hardly broke in yet so it should get even better. I would recommend a Kona to anyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CLAUDIA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/14/2020
Kona
Love my car and would definitely recommend this make and model it’s amazing and the service department was always extremely friendly and helpful I would highly recommend this car it’s a good bang for your buck by far
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Pamela L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2020
Blue Streak...
I Love my 2019 KONA. Reliable FAST car. So fun driving her. The blue just pops. Get compliments all the time. I would seriously think about getting another one when my lease is up or sooner. *********

Pros
Great car all around

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Dennis P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2020
GREAT VEHICLE!
Our Kona is the fourth Kia vehicle we’ve owned, and all have been terrific! The Kona is terrific for my wife and me as retirees with the fold-down rear seat especially handy for large purchases. Gas mileage is terrific, and the car handles like a dream - and its smaller size makes it easy to park in congested lots.

Pros
See/read comments above,

Cons
NONE!!👍😀

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
Leikkona J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/11/2020
A Most Adaptable Vehicle!
I absolutely love my Kona. It is an automatic and a manual, a two-wheel drive commuter vehicle and a 4WD adventure mobile, it can mosey about getting great gas mileage or flip into sport mode and accelerate like a sports car. I have a huge mastiff and she fits comfortably in the back, though most of the time she can be found with her lips flapping in the breeze with her head out the sun roof.

Pros
Fun to drive
Adorable
Versatile
great fuel economy

Cons
Ground clearance is a bit low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
NIGEL P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/10/2020
2019 Hyundai Kona
It is a very nice small car. It has a very nice interior with great standard features such as a back up camera. The car comes with a lot of nice features for the price that you pay for it. It is very reliable and great on gas.

Pros
Nice features.

Cons
Small interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
Nita P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/07/2020
Kona Gold
We absolutely love our Kona! Drives nice, looks sporty, heated seats, and all the bells and whistles. The Turbo four cylinder has get up and go and still gets 35 MPG on the highway. I can't say not one bad word about it. 😊

Pros
All of it

Cons
No navigation feature on mine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Bertman B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/03/2020
Hyundai Kona Electric, 2019 Unlimited
I've had this car for almost a year. I wanted the cheapest model in Black, but before buying I set my sights on the mid-range version. The Unlimited which I bought has LED headlights, sun roof and leather seats. As an electric car, it is very quiet. The ride is smooth, and when you want to step on it, it really zips. Quick acceleration is your friend when you are trying to merge onto a busy freeway and the people already there don't want you in front of them.

It has regenerative braking at 3 levels, which I use at 2. Level 3 is sluggish, and level 1 is more like coasting, good for highway. Level 2 is great for driving around town, which is most of my driving. It also has 3 economy modes, Eco, Normal and Sport, which default the regeneration at different levels but will also change the energy used by climate control. I usually drive Eco, but my wife likes Sport when she is driving. You can tell the difference in driving range between Eco and Sport.

Charging is way easy. It supports AC 120 and 240, and DC Fast. It comes with a 120 charger which I use at home until I get a 240 charger. I use DC Fast when on long trips. I drove from Central California to Southern Washington state in one day, stopping for DC fast charging 3 times. When I charge away from home I usually go to a Chargepoint station and run errands nearby on foot.

Inside it is quite comfortable. Power windows, air conditioning, heated seats, sun roof. The leather seats are very comfortable. The driver side has power seats. The sound system is surprisingly good and even though the Ultimate model says it has a premium sound system, I don't see how i could be that much better. Definitely I would not buy the higher cost model based on the speakers alone.

Sometimes I drive my wife's car, which is gas powered. With the exception of interior cargo space, I prefer to drive my electric car. We went on a 250 mile road trip and I was wishing I was driving my Hyundai Kona Electric. I couldn't wait to get home just to take it out for a ride. Some people are afraid of an electric car having the battery run down. In the Kona Electric, this is not any kind of concern. I would not hesitate to take it to LA , but I would allow for 2 extra hours for charging. I am fine with going to a charging station for 45 minutes.

Overall, it didn't cost me more than a conventional automobile. I never need an oild change, Preventive Maintenance is basically rotating the tires. When it stops, it hardly ever uses the actual brakes. I never have to go to the gas station except to get coffee. Sometimes I park next to a gas pump because of shade, although not if it is crowded, so don't worry.

To summarize, I love my Hyundai Kona Electric. It is a pleasure to drive no matter where or when.

Pros
250 mile range, regenerative braking, heated seats, lane keeping assistance, nice screen and intuitive and customizable display. Heating and air conditioning.

Cons
A little boxy, but most SUV's are like that. Not much leg room in the back seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 1133 in total