2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(600 Reviews)
Latest review 26 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TI
Tracy I.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2019
I love it
I have had my Kona for 4 months now and I love this car. I would recommend anyone buy a Kona because it's amazing. Before this I had a Tuscon which I also loved but now that my kids are older, I wanted something smaller and this is perfect.

Pros
Features, comfort, gas mileage.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JENEBAH M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/18/2019
Great Compact SUV
The Kona is a great car for the price. it's good on gas, holds the road well and is very sturdy. This is not the most comfortable car so if that is what is important to you, this is not the car for you. The Kona is overall a really good, reliable car.

Pros
Great on gas, reasonably priced

Cons
A little smaller than i had hoped

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Robert E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/18/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
North American Car of the Year, North American Utility Vehicle of the Year and North American Truck of the Year, not a bad start. I really liked the styling and the color (Sunset Orange). The ride is very smooth and comfortable and great gas mileage on regular gas.

Pros
Great gas mileage, like the styling and color, I bought the Sunset Orange.

Cons
Noisy inside when driving with all four windows open, sound system volume could be a bit louder. Headlights being lower on the vehicle, you can notice limited area brightness at night, seems like there is a certain height that lights up before you need to use high beams.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DAVID P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/18/2019
Great Value
I fell in love with the look of this little SUV. It's a great bargain for everything you get. The pros definitely outweigh the cons on this car. My first new car, which actually cost less than the used car I purchased in 2012 (Mercedes C300). Best gas mileage I've ever experienced in a car.

Pros
Great price for all the features. Amazing gas mileage. Great modern use of tech inside the vehicle... even on the base models.

Cons
Must plug in phone for navigation features, plastic exterior can scratch easily, little noisy from exterior noises.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
KELLY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2019
Favorite Hyundai yet!
I love my Kona! The handling and ride is smooth. The features included are amazing! It’s not a large as a typical SUV, but it’s larger than a Sudan. The gas mileage is way better than any other SUV I have driven. It’s absolutely perfect!

Pros
The added features are easy to use once instructed. Great gas mileage. Handles well in the rain.

Cons
No CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FC
FRED C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2019
Baby Kona
This is a new car. We have just had it a short time. We tend to keep our cars 10 years or more, so we are just getting stated with the Kona. So far we love it. What more can we say this is a new car if we had had any problems you would not be getting this great review.

Pros
Very good handling, nice smooth breaking, we like being able to use the sound system for the telephone, and my wife LOVES the power adjustable seat

Cons
Not much rear leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mary W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/17/2019
First New Car
This was my first new car ever. It was such an easy option because of the price point, safety features, warranty and services that come with your purchase. The dealership helped me find the options I wanted, color and installed leather for my seats. It’s a great option for starting a family with the second row of seating that fits young children. The gas mileage is perfect for how I drive and it is easy to park in tight spots.

Pros
Sleek
Comfortable
Affordable
Safety features
Tech packages

Cons
Doesn’t fit tall adults in back

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CAROL R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2019
My Kona ROCKS!
Clearly the best car I've purchased! Sleek design and gorgeous red color~ I get alot of heads turned on the road. A great, smooth ride. I absolutely LOVE the Apple CarPlay and Bluetooth features, and the sound system is TOP NOTCH! Some items I'm not a fan of: I have a KEY start up- I came from a Nissan Juke that was push to start, and also a one-touch button on door handle to lock/unlock. And the A/C- when the fan is on 4, it's a great speed. However, when I turn it down to 3, it seems like it's on 1 or 2; it's significantly less powerful. And the bi-level, I really don't feel the fan on my feet.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Patrica C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2019
Nice car
We have taken the on long trips . Handle well on the road great on gas mileage. The car came with Hartmann Kardon sounds system. It sounds great and works well with apple play. We have driven over 17000 miles without a single problem. Just routine maintenance and rotate the tires. We are happy with our choice. Thanks Hyundai

Pros
Great MPG. The turbo engine is fun to drive

Cons
Passenger seat could be more confortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mary S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2019
Hyundai Kona
I love my Kona and would more than likely purchase another one down the road. I had a Santa Fe, Tuscan, and now the Kona. I really like the size of this one best. It's very comfortable and easy to handle.

Pros
size

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
Gloria R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2019
Amazing
This is my first time buying a car from a dealership and it’s a blessing.
The Kona is perfect for me.
It’s y’all so when I drove through floods, I’ll be okay.
The mileage is to die for.
I fill up my car with $28-30.
I wish it was a push to start though .
I love this car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Kenneth N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/15/2019
Great little car!
This is my first new car in about 20 years. The buying process was easy. I'm very happy with the car, wish the trunk area was a little bigger. I get compliments on my Kona and its color (black roof with red body) all the time.

Pros
Stylish, good gas mileage solid build.

Cons
Smallish trunk area.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
KELLY K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/15/2019
Great vehicle overall. Lacking in space and some options.
Like the handling, gas mileage, color, and most features. A little lacking in space - especially storage. Wish some features came standard. Overall a good for my lease; will likely change in 3 years.

Pros
Gas mileage; handles well; interior noise is lower; all wheel drive; great look and color. I leased this vehicle a month ago, so these are my impressions one month into my lease.

Cons
Standard features do not include power seats, CD player, fog lights, or satellite radio ability. Small storage. As with most all vehicles, seat belt needs the ability to adjust lower. This lease was more expensive than a larger Hyundai three years ago. I’m told that’s all cars now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Marcia H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
2019 Kona SE AWD
I have been very pleased with my Kona, other than it pulling to the right and that the bluetooth is not operable by pushing a button on the steering wheel and using voice to activate making a telephone call. I have not reported the pulling to the right to my dealership yet.

Cons
Bluetooth not activated by voice on the steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SHELLEY E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Sharp looks and ports car like feel
I passed a Red/Black Kona on the turnpike one Sunday and had to slow down so it could pass me and I could see what make/model it was. I was that impressed by the two tone paint and styling. I searched all over for a black roof/trim and red body Kona SEL and found one about 30 miles from home. I drove out there to do a walk around, then went to my local dealer and bought it! I love the way the car handles! It feels a lot like driving my old 1969 MGB. I also love the looks of it.

Pros
Handling
Mileage
Style

Cons
too early to tell

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lyudmyla M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Great car!
Very smooth driving, quiet engine , very good color. Car 🚙 just right sized .Smart , changes mode to AWD when needed on its own. Great in the snow. Easy to park, drive backwards using cameras. Great job!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WILLIAM B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/13/2019
Hyundai Kona
The Kona is a really great car. It was an upgrade from an Elantra for us, and it has a much nicer overall feel. Getting in and out is a much better experience, as the Elantra sat much lower to the ground. It's not as bulky as a true SUV, so it still handles more like a sedan. Styling and features are nice, haven't had any complaints so far. Love the keyless entry and start. Very happy with our purchase.

Pros
Keyless entry and start, higher off the ground than the Elantra, great styling and features, really nice ride.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Robert P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Honeymoon
I brought home my Kona EV two days ago. All seems nearly perfect. Ask me again in 6 months, 1, 2, 5, 15 years ;-)
More words added to bring the total to 200. The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Juanita C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
My Kona
I went from a BMW to a Kona. It drives incredible. I don’t feel any bumps on the road. Safety features are amazing. It keeps me safe. It’s awesome that I can use regular gas which saves a lot of money from my premium that I used to have to use.

Pros
It’s a sharp vehicle.

Cons
None yet :-)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rosalia M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/12/2019
Kona
Love the gas mileage and how it drives on the snow, I don’t have to worry about cleaning my driveway after a snow storm it will pull out with no problem.
I wish it had a better sound system and a little bit more room inside and the driver sit was electric adjustable.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Drive very good on the snow

Cons
Sound system not very good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 600 in total