2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(776 Reviews)
Latest review 29 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RC
Robert C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
Kona - Buy it!
The survey is too long. I already made comments elsewhere so forget it.
The submission was just returned to me because I didn't meet the 200 character minimum in the Comment Box. I wrote that "The survey is too long. I already made comments elsewhere so forget it." That is why people don't like doing these surveys!!! Someone should check the people who designed this survey! Happy now?

Pros
just about everything

Cons
No dvd player, no ashtray

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
CATHY A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2019
Gotta get a Kona
Love this car. Lots of bells n whistles for the money. Great size, sharp look, good gas mileage, n peppy. Android Auto helps get you instantly hooked up to ur cell for music, calls, n more. Kona takes the Cake!!!

Pros
All that makes it a Kona. Gas mileage, safety, Android Auto, sharp looking, plenty of leg room, it's all there.

Cons
Still looking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARY H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2019
The Kona is an AMAZING vehicle!!!
I love my car. I purchased the 2019 Kona SEL last December (2018). It has excellent gas mileage, looks so nice on the road, is a very comfortable drive, and has many safety features that make me feel confident when driving. I would recommend the Kona or any Hyundai vehicle to anyone I know.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JAMIA L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Kona
I enjoy this crossover but wish it was bigger, stylish comfortable get money saver on gas, Nice look and affordable. Wish I got the blue instead of the best. I would recommend this care to anyone that is leasing or buying

Pros
smaller

Cons
Radio system
heat seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
STEPHEN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Kona
Very stylish car. Quick acceleration along with great mile per gallon. The controls are all within reach and site for the driver. The matching color accidents on the interior are a great touch. This is my daily driver and just went over 22000 miles in 12 months. So far one of the best new cars I have owned.

Pros
great looking car, love the Lime Green exterior color with the matching accidents on the interior

Cons
would prefer a spare tire over the on board air system (I have not use this yet), the paint seems to chip rather easily even bugs hitting the front have caused chips

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Bonnie W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Hyundai Review
I don't know what else to say. I've answered the questions and that's it. Why do I need to add more? So I'll just babble away until I reach 200 characters. As I said, I do really like my car and am glad I have it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Derek S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
2019 Kona
I love the power and fuel economy of this vehicle. It is comfortable to drive at long stretches and very versatile with the folding rear seats. It is great in bad weather and the infotainment system is much better than other vehicles I have been in.

Pros
Everything I said above

Cons
Wish it had a little more rear cargo space, but also understand that would have impacted many other things that i do like about the car. (handling, fuel economy, etc.)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Spenceley A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
Kona 2020
Fun to drive, i travel 45 minutes to work, driver seat comfortable, not tired or back pain, fuel consumption good at this time, night time driving good with good head lights, not very impress with windshield wipers had to replace them
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
ADAM M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2019
safety and efficiency
I enjoy the cars fuel efficiency and ride quality. The car is great on snow and rain covered roads and its all wheel drive system is great. The safety features never fail and make me feel more comfortable and at ease.

Cons
Blue Link App does not always work.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
BARTON T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
A fun little car
I like the Kona, except for the ride of the low profile tires and the little storage behind the rear seat, other wise it is a nice little car and fun to drive, a little underpowered for the open highway. All in all great sound from the sound system. Something else thar Hyundai has to address in a lot of their cars is the front passenger not being able to adjust their seat..

Pros
Fun to drive, Great sound system, Looks good, Plenty of room in the front.

Cons
Rear storage, Low profile tires,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SUSAN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
So far, very happy.
Car has less than 1000 on car. So, far very satisfied. I felt I could not give car 5 stars yet. Ask me when I have 10,000 miles on it. Car rides well. Still have not figured out all the safety features and buttons.

Pros
Easy to exit. Great safely features. Great warranty. Great mileage.

Cons
Some trouble with local dealerships, but very minor stuff. Some trouble loading App on phone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mary M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
Kona 2019
This is my first SUV and I love the size. It is easy to change the settings and handles great in either front wheel or all wheel drive. The only issue I have with this car is it doesn't come with an auto start remote, I have to use a blue link app which so far hasn't worked properly. Luckily I have a smartphone since Bluelink only works if you have one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Scott M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/13/2019
Every new car buyer should check these out!
The Kona electric is flying under the RADAR as far as battery electric vehicles go. Tesla has the glitz and the other makes, performance cars aside, are quirky in appearance (e.g. Leaf) or lacking range (e-Golf). And yet here’s the Kone and its sister the Kia Niro packing almost every amenity you could want into a compact utility vehicle with over 250 miles in potential range. The Kona has a sporty ride and the electric motor makes it torquey, smooth, and quiet ride that is easy to get used to. It costs a little more than the other Kona models that have the gasoline engine, but you get a lot and never have the feeling that you “settled” for something less than a Tesla, or whatever. If you are in the car market and already have a gasoline car, then do yourself a favor and check out the Kona electric. I might say it could almost be your one and only vehicle. Alas, we are still a few years away from a robust enough charging infrastructure to make that an easy transition for the casual driver. On the other hand, if you like to live on the bleeding edge, you probably could get away with this car being your sole ride.

Pros
Electric; range; visibility; low maintenance(!); CarPlay

Cons
Radio station channel select and preset organization is atrocious;stock wheels are loud and not very grippy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VE
VICKI E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/12/2019
Hyundai Kona
This SUV has everything I need or want in a new vehicle. It's very comfortable to drive and maneuverability is great. In other words it's a fun little car to drive. I am especially pleased with the fuel mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MZ
MICHAEL Z.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/12/2019
Kona sel awd
Bought the car new in November and have had the chance to drive it in some snowy weather, the car performed well and didn't have any problems with handling.
It's a fun car to drive, if you like cars with some pep I recommend driving the limited version with the higher horsepower engine. The engine in the se and sel have a bit to be desired. But if that's not something that's important to you then the other trims will be more then adequate for you. It was a great value and I'm happy with my purchase.

Pros
Value
Plenty of interior room
Blue link is pretty nice
Handling

Cons
Engine doesn't have the pep to it that I'm use to, but this is more of a personal opinion.
Gas tank could be bigger, for less time heading to the gas station. My altima had a 16 gallon tank the kona has a 13

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edward M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2019
Loved It!
Our Hyundai Kona is great on gas mileage and comfort, it is a small SUV but for my g-friend and my needs it was exactly what we were looking for. It is fun to drive with the performance, and its reliability cannot be beat. Hyundai is a great car to have no matter what style is chosen and one cannot beat the warranty, 10/5 warranty. I know color may not mean much to owners, but the color that we chose was the Sunset Orange, it has a tinge of yellow in it, beside the orange and red combine, and when the sun shines on the vehicle at a certain angle it looks like a streak of gold is in it (the tinge of yellow), Gosh we love it, we still get looks from people when we gas up and all our friends still, and they all ask what color is it, and where you got this fantastic vehicle, We said SanTan Hyundai!, it is the best in Gilbert, AZ!

Pros
Great to Own! None like it!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Marie T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2019
Fun suv to drive
This car drives like a sports car. Has plenty of room and has great gas mileage. This is my third Hyundai. And there’s an excellent chance my next car will be a Hyundai too. I am retired and it’s a great car for me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WA
WALTER A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2019
Best Car I have ever owned.
A beautiful car catches my eye fast. I wanted a car that stood out in styling and in color. Car colors are so drab and boring. My last car was black and that doesn't work in an Arkansas summer. The Kona looks different from all its competitors. It is the perfect size for my family and fits in my garage well. The Lime Twist color is fantastic and it accents the interior wonderfully. The turbo doesn't eat gas and the acceleration is great. I feel like I got a great car. I know I did.

Pros
The looks, the ride, the comfort.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
CAROL V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
My Kona
A new car has been in the works for a few years. I wanted to enjoy that new car smell i had heard so much about! A family member suggested another make and model. I was set on a burnt orange but found it terribly uncomfortable. The family member set up a test drive of the Kona and it was a perfect fit. Returned with my husband and we closed the deal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Joseph L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
2019 Kona
Excellent fuel economy and comfort. better than expected in all aspects of comfort and visibility. A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Pros
All positive

Cons
none so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 776 in total