2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1182 Reviews)
Latest review about 23 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SK
SIMON K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2020
Best car ever!
My Kona suits me and my personality perfectly! I have had a blast with this car! I recommend it all the time! All of the safety features are fantastic and my insurance didn't even go up. The red is fabulous and the interior is great for our family with 3 dogs!

Pros
The whole car is a 'pro!'

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
Ghaith A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2020
Great car
Great car with great range, the only shortcoming is that it doesn’t have one pedal driving, everything else is great, it’s comfortable with great standard options. The fire recall was worrying, but the batteries are built by LG and they know what they’re doing with batteries, overall a great car if you don’t want a Tesla.

Pros
Fast, fun and comfortable

Cons
no one pedal driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LACYE L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2020
The perfect car!
This car is the perfect size for me! Usually it’s just me driving around but when I have my 80 lb dog with me she loves the backseat! It’s also great for road trips! The trunk is roomy for groceries or for luggage. I love the heated seats during winter and the blind spot alerts make me feel so safe!

Pros
Heated seats
Blind spot alerts
Lane assist

Cons
None!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mike M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/29/2020
2 Recalls in 6 months
Two recalls in six months due to high-voltage problems these cars have exploded in peoples garages I got a phone call recommending me to keep it outside I do not feel safe having this vehicle in my garage and plan on terminating the lease.

Pros
It’s a nice car - I’m just afraid to keep it in my garage

Cons
Recalls due to explosion of vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 11/30/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

AC
Ana C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/28/2020
Kona
The car is great when test driving but once you bring it home you will soon notice a rubbing sound coming from steering counsel and apparently this is normal. They will change it but know noise will come back it’s a manufactured defect. That there aware off.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
STEVEN S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2020
Get this car if you love driving a unique-looking SUV
I researched this car "to death" and found most of the reviews very positive about the looks and styling of the car. I enjoy the Limited version upgrades and find this vehicle very easy to enter/exit and drive around town. I would recommend this car if you do not need a lot of trunk space as it is small but holds our weekly grocery bags with no problem. The back seats do fold down if you need more room, and the trunk floor can be dropped a few inches if you need depth.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
FRANCIS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2020
Great little car
The Kona is a great little car. It is comfortable to travel in and hugs corners very well. The car looks good too. It could use a bit bigger trunk and the MPG could be slightly better, I get an average of about 27 MPG. You phone connects effortlessly when you get Into the car.

Pros
hugs corners and looks great

Cons
Small trunk and lower MPG than expected.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2020
The Very Best in Its Class
We feel like we got lots of "bang" for our buck. We loved the car when we purchased it and after having it for a year, we still love it. It performs like a sports car and has a very sporty look, in other words it is absolutely fun to drive. The head and leg room is great, I am 6'4" so that was very important when shopping for a new car. We have the Limited model and it has lots of great features for comfort, safety, and handling. We did lots of research when shopping for a new car and we feel like we got the best in this particular class of vehicle. We absolutely love this car and we highly recommend.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Bradley B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2020
Good
There is a few things I would change. Comfort is good , leg room in back seat is lacking. Pocket on doors are to shallow, things fall out. Cup holders are not in good place , elbow hit cups when in the holders.

Pros
Comfortable ride

Cons
Leg room in back seat. Storage small. Pockets in doors are not deep, Thing fall out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
ROBERT S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/21/2020
Excellent
Great value, handles well, very comfortable. Features are easy to use, programming is a snap. Recommend it especially for those who might not want a large SUV but want something a bit larger than a sedan.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Prefer better milaege

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mark S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2020
Love it
Love the Kona and all the things we have with it. Great gas mileage getting 42mpg. Love the look of it also. I feel that the Kona is a great small suv and would highly recommend to family and friends.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
STEPHANIE W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/19/2020
Ironman Edition
It is my Favorite car ever. Sadly for Hyundai I dont see me replacing it for a very long time! maybe save it for my grandchild that was born Yesterday! so in 16 yrs! I love it 3000. I hope the partner with marvel more.

Pros
Love it even with the cons

Cons
Ironman Edition paint had to keep clean
Can not turn on heated seats remotely
no heated steering

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LEANDREA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2020
Well made with all the bells & whistles
I bought the Kona for the Lime twist color, (can pick it out in a sea of cars, lol) & to sit up a little higher. Price was awesome, love the gas mileage on it. Smaller that a regular size SUV, but still can carry a lot, people are amazed at how much I can pack in there. Seats are very comfortable and roomy. It's a fun car to drive, & has all the gadgets you would pay more for in a higher priced car, I still haven't figured out some yet.

Pros
Fun to drive
Has all the connectivity you could want in a car
Perfect size if you don't want a full size SUV

Cons
When you want to turn off car & sit in it, you have to open & close the door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GN
Greg N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/16/2020
My 2019 Kona EV Limited
I've had this car for 13 months and I'm still learning how to get the optimum output from each charge. I certainly don't miss going to gas stations. This car is very quick, especially in Sport mode. Love this car!!

Pros
Quick, easy to park, infotainment system.

Cons
back seat leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edward M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/12/2020
the Hyundai Kona the car for the future
the hyundai Kona is everything i wanted in a small SUV and more, good pick-up, carries the right amount of luggage for the two of us, has never broken down, and I ride it pretty rough at times, the color we chose (sunset orange), you know i still get compliments on this color even after almost 2 years,

Pros
what can i say, fun to drive, value for the money, is quck on the gun, the features are what make this car worth buying

Cons
gosh can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TY
Tiffany Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/11/2020
LOVE MY HYUNDAI KONA
The Kona is compact with fantastic handling. Switches from 2 wheel (FW) to AWD which I really like as you get better gas mileage. My Kona has turbo, sun roof, Infinity sound system, great color, sporty good looks, all the bells and whistles but great performance, roomy back seat, good storage with back seats folded down. And you can't beat the warranty, one of the best on the market. I added to mine so I am worry-free for the next 10 years. Very, very happy.

Pros
Lots of them. See my Vehicle Summary Review. Especially love the 2W-AWD option, turbo and the Infinity Sound System.

Cons
Better display, in color please, & built in GPS. Recently rented a Ford Mustang & loved their display, for example.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Shirley G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/09/2020
I love my Kona
I love my Kona. It is so easy to drive and the safety features are perfect. It is easy to drive, stays on the road with ease and it is so easy to park. The inside is like a bigger car with a lot of space for storage.

Pros
It is perfect for me.

Cons
Blue tooth is not easy to get to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
LEWIS K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2020
great
My 2019 kona is a hoot fun to drive and is comfortable peppy sweet ride lots of fun fun fun fun a well built vehicle clean lines supper fantastic paint body trim is everything i and my wife could ever ask for
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SHARON M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/02/2020
Love my Kona!
This is a great car if you are interested in something affordable, yet comfortable and handles great for a commute or long distances. I got the SEL and the features for price cannot be beat -- bluetooth, carplay, a 3-month trial of sirius.

Pros
Fuel Economy
Bang for buck
Warranty

Cons
A little slow to accelerate
Cargo size a little small
Hard to clean seats with a pet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FG
Frank G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2020
Ultimate Kona
The Kona Ultimate features allow the driver safe access to safely integrate to all information needed to maintain safe speeds, monitor traffic activities on both sides, and to make navigation decisions.

Pros
Ultimate features

Cons
Tight inside.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1182 in total