2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(827 Reviews)
Latest review about 5 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TB
Terry B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/20/2020
It okay
The price of the vehicle was pretty high for a 2 w drive vehicle and i be trading it off in the next year for a better vehicle and a 4 w drive this time around i think for a 2 w drive vehicle the price could have been a tot lower

Pros
Nothing

Cons
Very high price vehicle for a 2 w drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michelle D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/20/2020
Great little car
Sporty, fun to drive. Unique and sporty appearance. Standard equipment is good and the options on our car are great. Good value for the dollar. Will definitely consider another Hyundai when our lease is up.

Pros
So far all is great.

Cons
Nothing to add here.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
CLARENCE K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/19/2020
loving it
After a year of ownership of my 2019 KONA I still give it a 10+ rating for everything I purchased it for. I love it and would purchase it again, my wife love driving it as much as I do. I'm sure she will want for herself soon.

Pros
EVERYTHING

Cons
Only wish they still put CD players in them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kyle M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/19/2020
Good but not great yet.
The Hyundai Kona it’s fun to drive gets pretty good fuel economy and has great tech features for it’s class. The interior needs refinement lots of plastic that that’s easily scratched The seats need improvement anything beyond an hour in the vehicle and you will be uncomfortable cabin noise could be less In the door pockets Are useless in my opinion and hold little more than one bottle of water. Sport shifter is a stupid in my opinion no one’s using that paddle shifters would’ve made more sense. Location to put your phone is tiny Several options are not available in the United States which I find ridiculous No heated steering wheel or ventilated seats. The 1.6 T Does a good job for what it is but falls on its face at certain times many of them being because of the DCT transmission causing hesitation delay. Don’t get me wrong you will blow the doors off of pretty much any comparable vehicle in this class the closest In my opinion performance wise would be a Subaru WRX 2.0 turbo with CVT Or the Mercedes GLA which is a very comparable vehicle with features and options but has a larger 2.0 turbo. The Hyundai Kona is not a performance vehicle but it’s fun to drive and has pep equipped with a 1.6t Finishes need improved seats improved maybe with the model refresh they will improve these issues and make the interior feel less cheap.

Pros
In class performance
Technology features

Cons
Cheap plastic throughout interior scuffs easy
Seats are uncomfortable with anything beyond an hour
Not all standard features are available in the United States

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
A L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/18/2020
Excellent budget option
I was looking for a second car for a small family. The Kona SEL was the best deal out of the CUVs I looked at. The higher priced HRV is bare bones, while the CHR has no room. The Soul is cheaper but insurance is higher. The Kicks is also cheaper but has less features and has rear drum brakes. This left the Kona, which fits the bill for a city driver. Easy to park, ok on gas, room for carseats, etc. If you need to haul cargo, though, this is not a good choice. Ditto if you go driving in low light urban areas--the halogen headlights are garbage. Overall I give this a 3.5 because the technology and safety features can't be beat at this price.

Pros
Great for a city driver
Interior is good at this price. Seats are firm, and pattern is nice.
Tech and safety package at this price can't be beat
Seat space isn't as tight as some reviews say. You can fit an infant seat in the back and seat an average size person in the back just fine.

Cons
Daytime lights are LED but the headlights are garbage halogens aimed low to the ground (i.e.. short distance). I do not feel safe driving on some low lit highways at night where I can't use high beams.

Exterior design can be stupid. The front end has a non functional slit by the grill. It's very difficult to clean. Ditto with the rims--alternating wide and shallow angles means more work scrubbing. This is a budget oriented vehicle for practical people. The design should be practical.

Interior could use some work. Glove box and center armrest compartment has basically no space. Side cupholders are useless for larger items unless you're putting soda cans there. Rear seat cargo nets are worse than what you find in budget airline seats. Hyundai really needs to step up interior utility. Even at SEL trim, I feel like I'm in a budget rental as far as user-friendly features go.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
FRED T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/17/2020
Love my Kona
Great Value, safety and style. Kona 1.6T has excellent power. Great visibility. Flexible Storage configuration for pets. Great mileage 26 city 33 highway.
Good car for retirement. Lime Green paint has been applied with excellent craftsmanship. Car was rear-ended in November at 35 mph. Great at handling impact..

Cons
Heated Steering Wheel
Auto Lift Rea Hatch

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DIANE G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/16/2020
2019 hyundai kona
Vehicle is fun to drive and handles great. Great bang for the buck. This has now become an annoying survey. Are you kidding? MINIMUM characters is 200!? All your questions have been answered! You should not frustrate those who have taken their time to take this survey. CAN I SUBMIT NOW?

Pros
Cost, handling, excellent service at dealership.

Cons
Would have preferred to finance but Finance deal was not acceptable so we paid cash.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Edwin S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/15/2020
2019 Hyundai
love the vehicle Wish it had a CD player. Design and style is very good.. Great wrap around warning/alert systems. A lot of car for the money. really an SUV for two but that is just what we were looking for.

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Darlene L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/15/2020
Greate Little SUV
For size and cost it performs well. Nice looks and feathers. I only got basic package as I do not listen to radio nor do I mess with tech. It does have apps and other tech if you want it. Like safety feathers and the cute small size that makes it easy to park and turn. Engine quite. Some road noise that is apparently normal for small SUV. 30 miles per gal. 2.0 engine picks up smoothly if not floored then it jerks and gains speed quickly. Don’t recommend doing that.

Pros
For me: Cost. Size mileage looks

Cons
Pick up speed but for size of motor it is great

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Prataap P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/15/2020
Excellent vehicle
Beautiful vehicle. Would recommend to anyone. Best in it class. Love the safety features and the sporty transmission. The design is very nice and the cargo space is reasonable. Everything about this vehicle is wonderful
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jonelle B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/13/2020
Loudest car on the road
I have tried to use the voice commands only to be told by the system “It is too loud. Please roll up your windows.” I also feel every bump on the road. I bought it for the safety features but the forward looking radar and proximity alarms do not work in snowy and sometimes don’t work in rainy conditions.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
CHARLES F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2020
a pleasant surprise
this kona exceeded my expectations...wanted to like it, found out i loved it. i'm not a spring chicken, but this vehicle is just plain fun to drive and it looks good doing it, too. I would recommend this vehicle to the young and to the young at heart.

Pros
i purchased the limited edition and it has all the features that i want/need...this vehicle puts a smile on your face...owned it a year and i still love to get in it and drive. fun, solid, quality vehicle....highly recommend.

Cons
a touch too much road/wind noise at freeway speeds...harder to carry on a conversation than in our sonata

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IN
Ingo N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2020
Best car I've ever had!
I've had the Kona electric for a year now and it's been the best car I've ever driven! So quiet, lots of safety features, fun to drive and very economic.
We've taken some road trips where we had to use ultra fast chargers, and it worked great. The awesome range makes for comfortable road trips even in areas where chargers are a little rare.

Pros
- Great range
- very quiet
- great safety features
- smart cruise control (ultimate trim only)
- heads up display (ultimate trim only)

Cons
- standard Nexen tires are not the best, they could be quieter, but pretty good economy
- maps in navigation system are always way behind!
- bluelink (remote car control) is buggy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DENNIS B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/10/2020
Great Vehicle
I wanted a car with good power, great pick-up, and good gas economy for long road trips. I wasn't sure such a thing existed, but the Kona delivered in all those areas. The styling stands out in a parking lot. The car has a quality look and feel about it that is obvious to all. That said, if all the members of your family are 6 foot 5 and larger, it will feel a little cramped when you are all together. Overall I have never owned a better vehicle.

Pros
Great pick-up. Sharp styling. Smooth ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
STEVEN G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/08/2020
don't understand question
to new to tell ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

Pros
to new to tell

Cons
to new to tell

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MELISSA C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/08/2020
Great all wheel drive with amazing MPGs
Love my Kona for the all wheel drive and Amazing gas mileage. Drives like a car but has winter abilities like an SUV. Back up camera is handy and parks with ease. Would recommend this for the price, the AWD and the styling for sure.

Pros
Mpgs and all wheel drive

Cons
Smaller crossover/suv but great for our family of 3

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jack L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/07/2020
Great Car!
I love all the features that come with the ultimate version of this car. The car handles very nice and it very sporty looking with the feel of a turbo engine it rides smooth. I love this car it definitely has its perks.

Pros
Tech features, HUD, wireless charging, Android Auto, Sensors everywhere!

Cons
Jolts sometimes when gears are changing, headlights could be higher.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHERIE S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/06/2020
2019 Hyundai Kona Ultimate
Stylish exterior, fun to drive! Very zippy engine and easy to maneuver. Good visibility. Comfortable interior with all the latest technology features! Wonderful sound system. Sufficient space to pack travel needs. Very happy with my choice of vehicle!

Pros
Perfect size for a single person. Feel safe!

Cons
Small sunroof, preferred the panoramic roof of the Veloster. The strange "hitch" in the engine @ the very beginning of a drive. Which both of my Hyundais had.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARK A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/05/2020
Best car I've ever owned
Everything about this car is great. I have never had as good of a car or as reliable. I sold Hyundai vehicles over ten years ago but already had a new car at the time. Even then I thought they were good cars. Not wanting to go upside-down on another new car is the only reason I didn't get one then. Everyone I know comments on the look of the Kona and they like it. The ground clearance makes it great for winter driving conditions. There are more standard safety features in this car than any other brand of car.

Pros
EVERYTHING

Cons
NOTHING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JAMELA B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/05/2020
An awesome vehicle
I never considered Hyundai in the best, but now I am Soo glad that my research led me to them. This Kona is a cross between a car and an SUV. The size is perfect for a single person. It has a sleek, attractive design smooth ride, very good on gas and everything one could want in a modern vehicle. I absolutely love mine.

Pros
Size, comfort, affordability and performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 827 in total