2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(790 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MC
Michael C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/25/2020
KONA after 7500
My 2019 KONA SE has been a most welcome surprise. Performance is quicker than I anticipated the seating more comfortable, and the visibility excellent. However, The appearance of rattles in an inaccessible area, possibly in the dash, after such a short time (7500 mi) is disturbing. Particularly since I was told that If they had to take the dash out and if it was unwarrantable item It would cost me a dis-re-assembly costs. I thought that was uncalled for since this is a NEW car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Scott G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2020
Love our AWD Kona Turbo
We looked at several other vehicles in the small SUV class including a couple of the prestige brands before purchasing the Hyundai Kona. In the end we chose the Kona dues to its excellent handling, good power, great amenities, comfort, and driving enjoyment. The fact that it was a truly excellent value was the icing on the cake and made it an easy purchase decision.

Pros
Good power, excellent handling, good fuel mileage, great it the snow, well equipped and comfortable and an excellent value.

Cons
Tire noise can be a bit loud on certain types of roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Shirley M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/24/2020
2019 Hyundai Kona
This vehicle is a compact, fun to drive and good on gas. Good if you do not have to put much in the cargo space. The passenger seat is not comfortable if traveling. I know people use their phones & playlists but I don't. Always enjoyed my cds & satellite radio. Drove it to Canada & realized how good it was on gas. Not the most comfortable after a while. Probably will go back to a Sonata or larger Suv but will stay with Hyundai if I get a better deal than this last time.

Cons
I knew I was leasing a smaller suv but didn't realize how small the cargo space was until I tried to put things in it. Also the passenger should have the same equipments to adjust the seats as the drivers. Really miss the cd player & satellite radio!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Karen K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/24/2020
Nice but not perfect
i love it except they should have kept the GPS and a CD player in it. not everyone is driving in an urban setting dwith good wifi. no GPS & CD player
radio goes dead a lot because the car is lower and the signal is not received as well as in my Tucson
the rear window seems to collect a lot of dirt at its angle

Pros
Interior heats up faster than my old Tucson
great gas mileage
pretty color

Cons
no GPS & CD player
radio goes dead a lot because the car is lower and the signal is not received as well as in my Tucson
the rear window seems to collect a lot of dirt at its angle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JESMAINE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/24/2020
Good vehicle
I love my new vehicle. It’s a big upgrade from my previous car. Only thing I dislike is that it doesn’t have much leg room in the back. It doesn’t hold 3 kids car seats. The truck area isn’t that big. But overall it’s a great vehicle

Pros
It’s nice on the inside and out. Gas saver

Cons
No leg room in the back

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TE
Tonya E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/23/2020
Kona Limited
I love the inside and how it looks outside. I feel good when i drive it. I love the way it looks when im walking toward it after leaving work or shopping. It is comfortable, fashionable, well-equipped, performance ready. I bought my daugher one the week after i got mine

Pros
I love my car!!!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Teresea H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/23/2020
Great gas mileage
The Kona is good if you want a smaller vehicle great on gas and I love the heated seats. Not as much room as the Santa Fe but overall a great car . I also like the back seats fold down if you need more room in the very back.

Cons
Would like to see CD player in the Kona.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MARION M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/21/2020
Solid purchase
I am a Hyundai person. I feel the quality for the money is above average and the vehicle retains a good value towards trade in. I like the styling and aggressive stance of a smaller SUV like the Kona.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Steven B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2020
VEHICLE
CAR IS VERY WELL PUT TOGETHER, HAVE HAD NO COMPLAINTS OR ISSUE'S WITH THE CAR. LOVE THE COLOR AND THE LOOK OF THE CAR ITS FUN TO DRIVE AND AUDIO SYSTEM SOUNDS GREAT AND IS VERY SIMPLE TO USE. WILL RECOMMEND HYUNDAI AS A GREAT BUY FOR ANYONE
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
John S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2020
Best efficient car I've ever owned
Love my Kona. Efficient compact. I love the car and every feature and has are just a few minor complaints which are listed. I am now just talkin to bring the characters up to 200. LOL you have a great day

Pros
Gas mileage, price, overall appearance

Cons
Windshield wiper speed too slow, excess of humidity in car with more than one passenger

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TZ
TERESA Z.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2020
FIREBALL
We named our 2019 Kona "FIREBALL" it's a fun little car to drive, gas milage is awesome. The trunk is small but it works for us, it rides nice and smooth, the road noise is quiet, shifts smooth. It had a good pick up to it when you need it. I was torn between a Tucson and a Kona but I wanted something that was good on gas. So the Kona won
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
Eric P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2020
Very Happy. Great range, Great performance
I was hesitant to buy an electric car for all the usual reasons. But after 6 months, I'm extremely happy. The Kona Electric has a range of 258 miles. I've driven to Richmond, spent a day of shopping there, briefly charged at a high-speed charger during lunch (15 min) and come back without a problem. I've been to DC and back without a problem. I charge, when needed, overnight in my garage. As the fast-charging network expands, long trips are getting more and more practical. Then, there's the pickup. Zero to 60 in 6 seconds in a compact SUV is insane. I get onto an expressway like no car I've driven since my 350Z. And in complete silence. With the battery in the floor, it corners like a dream. While it's too small to be a true "family car" it's an amazing piece of engineering to have a 120 mpg equivalent vehicle at this price point, Get one before the Federal Tax Credit expires!!

Pros
Economy (No gas--ever). Electric Range. Performance (Acceleration, cornering, fun). Cost of ownership (few moving parts). Features (Complete high-end safety and tech in a fairly mid-range vehicle)

Cons
Long-range cross-country trips require detailed planning and stops for charging. (This is getting better but not there yet.) Heater and A/C reduce range performance. Rear seat leg room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Leonard A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/19/2020
Kona the best
Gas mileage is better than advertised, seats are very comfortable on longer rides. I would buy it again, wife loves it. The paint finish is really nice, it is very sparkly in the bright sun. Getting over 40 miles to the gallon on the highway

Pros
Great overall car

Cons
No cons at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FC
FRANK C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Excellent Car!
First Hyundai product I've purchased, so I did a lot of research. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality, workmanship, fit & finish and performance of the 1.6 turbo. The Kona provides an engaging & enjoyable driving experience compared to others in this class while also providing a strong value proposition.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Marc K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Smooth ride, great range
Excellent acceleration and a very comfortable vehicle. We get about 240 miles on an 80% charge. The last time I pulled into a gas station was to purchase a car wash. The only maintenance needed is a tire rotation every 5,000 miles or so.

Pros
No maintenance required. Great range. More comfortable than a Chevy Bolt.

Cons
Not so smooth on bumpier roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jeanne K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Fun, easy driving, small car with good gas mileage.
I bought this car after doing lots of test drives at several dealerships. I bought it from Superior Hyundai because the car was reasonably priced, had an excellent warranty, good gas mileage, fun to drive and the salesman was No Pressure! Easiest car purchase ever and I really appreciated that. As a woman, I don't want to be talked down to, this salesman was great. I do think the oil change prices are high but that was not a deciding factor.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HL
Heather L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
Love my 2019 Kona
I may be picky but I spent over a month searching for the perfect new car. The kona is stylish and sporty to go with my lifestyle. It may not ride like a luxury car but the seats & support options sure feel like it. My gas mileage matches what was promised and although it is a first year model I have not had any maintenance issues.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carl W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/14/2020
Kona review!!
The Kona is a great car for short trips and for work. It has great gas mileage. The cars looks are Fantastic also. I love the mapping and the radio also. The car sits up a little higher than most small SUVs.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JAMES K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/14/2020
Transmission
Should be smoother when on highway ramp to get on freeway........................................................................................,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,....................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Michael A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2020
mikes review
the kona is a great car we love it,very comphy,only problem I have is small rear compartment.
but there is room but when carrying things it gets somewhat tight at times ..its for 4 people and
if seat is back on tall people it can be tight.but is a great car,hopefully this car will last for some'time..

Pros
good on fuel

Cons
small tank would like to have bigger tank for fuel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 790 in total