2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83
4.8
(618 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RM
Roberta M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/19/2019
Kona review
Overall a very nice car. Styling Is great. Got the two-toned black on rd. Brings a lot of questions. Good size for my needs. Could be just a tad bigger. Like the grou clearance. Great safety features and comfort systems-especially the heated seats.

Cons
Noise issue

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
CHRISTOPHER G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2019
Nice little SUV
Purchased the Kona for my daughter. Choose an AWD small SUV for better handling in the bad weather and for her to haul her stuff to and from school. Chose Hyundai for its long warranty and reliability. This vehicle should remain under its factory warranty through college.

Pros
Easy to drive and park.

Cons
Plastic fender flares look tacky.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Andrew L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2019
Great vehicle
It's a wonderful vehicle its great on gas mileage and has alot of features for the money drives smooth and can comfortably fit four people a fifth person if there smaller has decent trunk space for groceries

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
No roof rails and trunk was smaller than expected

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
JOSEPH N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
2019 Kona Ultimate
Smart handling, stylish and very fun to drive. Great sound system with smart phone integration and a fantastic navigation system. Despite it's small size it boasts enty of leg room. I am 6 feet tall and am quite comfortable in the car. Lots of amenities make it a great value for the money.

Pros
Very quick and fun to drive. Handles bad weather and road conditions extremely well. Easy to use controls and features.

Cons
Needs rear seat USB ports. Would have liked an option for heated steering wheel and ventilated seats. Would like to have a spare tire instead of repair kit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RYAN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
Awesome Rig
I have a 2019 Hyundai Kona Iron Man Edition I purchased around 9/15/2019. So far, I get killer mileage (about 28 combined) and it's a quick little thing. The 1.6L turbo doesn't mess around. It's no speed demon, but the power is there when you need it. The overall quality and level of detail is staggering considering what it is for its price bracket, because let's face it, $30k doesn't go as far as it used to.

Pros
Comfortable, compact, tight turn radius, really good gas mileage, power when needed (1.6L turbo,) looks good, handles great, surprising amount of storage space with the 60/40 seats folded flat, passengers are comfortable, the higher trim model's gadgets solve the low rear visibility issue (blind spot monitors, backup camera, etc,) Infiniti sound system is excellent, EVIC and touchscreen systems are rather simple to use and give you Android Auto and Apple Car Play if you dislike the Hyundai system.

Cons
If you are tall, the rear seat headrest catches the back of the front seat when folding flat, considerable blind spots at the rear c-pillars, small rear window makes for little visibility if you do not have the blind spot monitoring system and backup camera, you must have Blue Link in order to use auto start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Carolyn F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
2019 Kona
Bought new 2500 miles ago. This is my 4th new Hyundai purchase from the same dealer. Have not taken any long trips since purchasing. Basically been running errands and driving back and forth to work. So far I have been totally satisfied with my purchase, but I have only had it for about 5 weeks. Will need to have vehicle at least a year to give Hyundai an honest feedback. I do miss the CD player that I had in my 2016 Tuscon. I do very little when it comes to hooking other types of media in my vehicle. I went a step down when purchasing this vehicle because I need something a little cheaper because I have recently became a widower and I needed to have a lower payment and lower insurance payment.

Pros
Good power and gas milage.

Cons
Very limited space in cargo area without letting back seats down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOEY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona, Limegreen Turbo
Fun little CUV, good gas mileage and alot of pet. Handles exceptionally well and I used to drive a Z.

I would recommend this vehicle to friends and family. Not alot of space in the back but I don't have kids so it works for me.

Pros
Engine performance, Color (green), handling

Cons
Turbo lag, transmission delay

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ND
NANCY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
Kona Dreams
I highly recommend the Hyundai brand. Had my Santa Fe since 2004. She ran great but was time for a couple of new cars! A Kona and a Tucson. LOVE THEM! We traded in not only a Santa Fe but a 2007 Sonata. I will buy another Hyundai and would strongly recommend to all others.

Pros
Everything!

Cons
You DO hear the wind a little while driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sabine C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2019
Kool Kona won my wife's heart
My wife loves Her Kona. You 'd have to pry her hands off of the steering wheel to take her Surf blue baby away.
She's happier with this car than any other in recent memory it performs well, gets great gas mileage and is just
an overall pleasant experience.
Hyundai is now our goto automotive company and our dealer experience has been great too.

Pros
Adequate performance from the 2.0 - even in the mountains.
Enough room for my 6'2" 300lb. self to be comfortable.
Happy wife (happy life). She loves the car.
Features and build quality for the price are great.
Nice gas milage.

Cons
None thus far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kelsey M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2019
LOVE MY KONA
I love my Kona and feel it is a great value buy! I personally love the design and it feels so safe to drive!! I have been driving it for a few months and have been averaging about 32 miles per gallon! So far I love my Kona and have had no issues!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Michael T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
Lots of technology and new features on this small SUV Kona...drives like a car & short front wheel base turns for tight spaces with a back camera & great gas mileage. I like the adjustable seats for short people. It is like your sitting on a high chair on a tractor. Hey it is fun to drive!. Thanks Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lisa M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
Trouble with paint
Love it except for the defected paint. Rides nice handles great love all my features. Just the right size for me! Love the fact of all the safety features and warranty. make sure you get a Hyundai sales person!

Pros
Love the ride. I love it except for the paint chipping

Cons
Blind spot on passenger side I don’t think works properly. Chips of paint off down to the bumper only 3,000 miles. Cheap paint.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
LINDA T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
Love, Love, Love this Car
The Ultimate Kona is is an amazing car. It does everything for you; you only have to sit in the passenger seat and drive. The only downfall to this car is that it does not have a spare tire. Well worth the money.

Pros
All the features

Cons
No Spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
Love my Kona!
I have had my 2019 Kona since March of this year and I have logged a lot of miles (mostly highway) on it. I don't have one complaint about anything related to performance--the car has performed well in all aspects. Before buying the Kona, I read some articles about the basic engine (as opposed to the turbo) not being peppy enough but that's not been my experience. The car accelerates well and I haven't had one problem on the highways with lack of power, either entering or passing cars. As for design I do have some issues. The storage space in the back is very small and can't accommodate full size luggage for 2 people. It even gets filled up with a small number (6-7) of food shopping plastic bags. When I recently picked up 3 friends at the airport, I had to stack the luggage in the back seat. One more issue-- and I realize I'm showing my age--but I wish the car came with a CD player and it had Sirius availability. I am able to stream Sirius through my phone but it often doesn't work properly. And yes, I still use CDs, After all, they still do sell them, don't they? So, in summary--great car performance-wise but needs more room in the back.

Pros
Fun to drive, so far very reliable, interior console very accessible, great safety features (crash alert, lane change alert), back-up camera, very cool car

Cons
lack of space in back, radio is not Sirius ready, no CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SZ
Shirley Z.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2019
Kona
So far the car is fun to drive and dependable. We have been VW consumers for many years so it was a difficult decision to switch. Hopefully the Kona can live up to the dependability we got from VW, So far so good.

Pros
Great pick up

Cons
None yet - winter is coming

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Anthony S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2019
Excellent EV
I've had my Kona EV for about 3 months and the vehicle is performing incredibly well. I receive usually no less than 260 miles per charge and the vehicle is well worth the price paid. This vehicle compares with any higher priced EV on the market in quality and battery range.

Pros
Battery range, vehicle handling, comfortable ride, Android auto, sound system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JEFFREY W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2019
GREAT SMALL SUV
LOVE THE WAY THE KONA HANDLES ON LONG TRIPS ,GOOD GAS MILEAGE VERY COMFORTABLE SEATING ALL OVER GREAT EXPERIENCE.,WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE KONA TO ALL,DO WISH THERE WAS MORE INSIDE STORAGE SPACE IN CENTER CONSOLE
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
PATRICIA J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2019
Love my new Kona!
I love everything about my NEW Kona! The interior design is pretty and comfortable. The ride is extremely comfortable and I feel safe. There is plenty of room for my passengers. I also love the way it can turn on a dime!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2019
Great small SUV
Love the get-up and go this car has!! Drives great in inclement weather. Love the auto bright/dimmer lights and auto windshield wipers, and safety warning system! Perfect little car for a small grandma to travel in, as well as plenty of room for my granddaughter’s car seat in the back. ;-)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MAURA L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2019
Kona Excellent Automobile
I am extremely happy with my new Kona it is the best car I have bought so far. Fun safe and comfortable. I highly recommend! Thank you Atlantic Hyundai for making my purchase so easy and affordable. Great experience overall.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 618 in total