2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1093 Reviews)
Latest review about 20 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NP
Nita P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/07/2020
Kona Gold
We absolutely love our Kona! Drives nice, looks sporty, heated seats, and all the bells and whistles. The Turbo four cylinder has get up and go and still gets 35 MPG on the highway. I can't say not one bad word about it. 😊

Pros
All of it

Cons
No navigation feature on mine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Bertman B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/03/2020
Hyundai Kona Electric, 2019 Unlimited
I've had this car for almost a year. I wanted the cheapest model in Black, but before buying I set my sights on the mid-range version. The Unlimited which I bought has LED headlights, sun roof and leather seats. As an electric car, it is very quiet. The ride is smooth, and when you want to step on it, it really zips. Quick acceleration is your friend when you are trying to merge onto a busy freeway and the people already there don't want you in front of them.

It has regenerative braking at 3 levels, which I use at 2. Level 3 is sluggish, and level 1 is more like coasting, good for highway. Level 2 is great for driving around town, which is most of my driving. It also has 3 economy modes, Eco, Normal and Sport, which default the regeneration at different levels but will also change the energy used by climate control. I usually drive Eco, but my wife likes Sport when she is driving. You can tell the difference in driving range between Eco and Sport.

Charging is way easy. It supports AC 120 and 240, and DC Fast. It comes with a 120 charger which I use at home until I get a 240 charger. I use DC Fast when on long trips. I drove from Central California to Southern Washington state in one day, stopping for DC fast charging 3 times. When I charge away from home I usually go to a Chargepoint station and run errands nearby on foot.

Inside it is quite comfortable. Power windows, air conditioning, heated seats, sun roof. The leather seats are very comfortable. The driver side has power seats. The sound system is surprisingly good and even though the Ultimate model says it has a premium sound system, I don't see how i could be that much better. Definitely I would not buy the higher cost model based on the speakers alone.

Sometimes I drive my wife's car, which is gas powered. With the exception of interior cargo space, I prefer to drive my electric car. We went on a 250 mile road trip and I was wishing I was driving my Hyundai Kona Electric. I couldn't wait to get home just to take it out for a ride. Some people are afraid of an electric car having the battery run down. In the Kona Electric, this is not any kind of concern. I would not hesitate to take it to LA , but I would allow for 2 extra hours for charging. I am fine with going to a charging station for 45 minutes.

Overall, it didn't cost me more than a conventional automobile. I never need an oild change, Preventive Maintenance is basically rotating the tires. When it stops, it hardly ever uses the actual brakes. I never have to go to the gas station except to get coffee. Sometimes I park next to a gas pump because of shade, although not if it is crowded, so don't worry.

To summarize, I love my Hyundai Kona Electric. It is a pleasure to drive no matter where or when.

Pros
250 mile range, regenerative braking, heated seats, lane keeping assistance, nice screen and intuitive and customizable display. Heating and air conditioning.

Cons
A little boxy, but most SUV's are like that. Not much leg room in the back seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Tom A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/01/2020
I would try to sell the Kona to ant of our friends!
The Kona looks great, drives great and most of all it is reliable! The Hyundia quality has not wavered throughout our 8 previous Hyundias! I love how you are taking on Honda and Toyota and beating them at their own game! Keep up the stylish design, performance and reliability!

Pros
The Kona looks great, drives great and most of all it is reliable! The Hyundia quality has not wavered throughout our 8 previous Hyundias!

Cons
ZERO!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Donna R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/01/2020
Love my Kona!
I had a pleasant experience starting with sales Kelley Clark and service manager Mel Minnick. Many years of experience! Vehicle service is scheduled in a timely manner. Always completed when promised!

Pros
5 Stars

Cons
I have no negative comments!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DAVID S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2020
I See Why the Experts Rate this Kona in the Top 5 on Many Lists!
Simply put, I LOVE this car! It is so much fun to drive. It goes 0-60 in no time flat, it handles well, sits comfortably and the upgrade Harmon- Kardon sound system is super! Visibility is above average and there are so many features for the price!

Pros
All categories!

Cons
Storage space in back is a bit small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
Brandy G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2020
a year later, still in love!
I've owned my Kona EV for over a year now. Although I haven't driven much at all since February, and not very much in total, every single time I've driven my car has been excellent. Even the time I had an accident was better than imaginable. Damage wasn't horrid, I was physically unharmed, and car was quickly repaired.
The ride is comfortable, amenities are prime, and I get to drive past gas stations! No gas or oil or exhaust fumes to make me ill, very easy to recharge. Most trips are just me, maybe 1 passenger. The car is very suited to comfortable, fun trips both short and long. I haven't taken a really long road trip, but have made a few 100+ mile jaunts. I have great confidence in my range and ability to easily find a place to recharge if needed. The only things that make me sad is the paint seems soft, even with the "magic coating" it scratches easily, and after a wash it drips onto the rear widow from underneath and doesn't stop for a long time. Weird. But small issues compared to the huge positives!

Pros
no smelly gas, oil or exhaust, cheap and easy to recharge. FUN FUN FUN to drive. Very very comfortable, good looking in my eyes! Very customizable with all the buttons and settings.

Cons
paint seems soft, rear window drips after washing for a long time, no heat in winter (hey, L.A. gets cold too!). Not all Bluelink amenities work. Steep learning curve with all the buttons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2020
Best car I have ever owned!
I drove past the dealership on a Wednesday and saw this car with a grey satin finish and dark red roof and trim, what was that car?? Went back Sunday with check in hand, test drove it and bought it ! Who does that kind of car buying?!?

Pros
Style, comfort and head turning appeal! My Kons, Ironman special Edition...Love It!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lyla M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/29/2020
What is driving Hyundai's trade-off decisions?
The Kona EV had good range. For the money you should find most quality features in any EV on the market. I don't understand why Hyundai made poor engineering and design trade-offs decisions in the Kona EV

Pros
Great low-end and high-end acceleration that is not felt in conventional engine vehicles
Comfortable ergonomics for either a 5'3" or 6'1" driver or passenger

Cons
No software updates;
Need a separate EV Owners Manual;
Driver braking + crash avoidance system = skid;
Driver swerve to avoid a hazard +l ane control system = risk. Crash avoidance system + lane control system = (risk)2;
No Driver seat/mirrors/HUD position memory for multiple drivers;
No independent temperature controls for driver & passenger;
No seat temp controls when starting the car remotely;
Rear windows burble when down. Must lower front wider to reduce painful noise;
Navigation system and posted speed limits do no match in HUD;
Allow 3rd party navigation (google, Maps, Waze) use in HUD nav;
No Tow hitch
No roof rack;
Must unlock vehicle 2 times to disengage charger or open/close charger door
Owner cannot control what apps are displayed on home screen (i.e., 3rd party nav system in split screen view)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Susan A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2020
My little red car!!!!!
Overall, I really like my 2019 Kona. It is fun to drive and easy to maneuver...parking is very easy. Like the lane assist and backup camera, the speedometer and it was very easy to adjust the tire pressure once winter arrived.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2020
KONA
VERY PROFESSIONAL STAFF AT DEALERSHIP IN WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA AND EXCELLENT SALESMAN WHO IS VERY SINCERE AND A GENTLEMEN! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND PURCHASING A VEHICLE FROM NAPLETON'S HYUNDAI ON OKEECHOBEE BLVD. IN WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Leland S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2020
Great car and warranty
The best EV batter warranty in the business. Great interior set up w/o having to use a touch screen for all of the controls - great feature.
Charging on 110v plug in is easy and cord length was great.

Pros
Great Warranty and styling.

Cons
Could have more legroom as i am 6'3"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SHAREN S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/28/2020
Kona
Nothing to say, this part of the survey is why I never do these. You’ve asked this question 7 different ways already. Please stop sending me these surveys for this very reasoner me now continue to waste my time typing so I get 200 charachters
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
Paul K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/27/2020
Love my Kona
Love the ride and the handling most of the features you could ask for and more. Love the safety features the lane keep assist Riverview back up camera and all-around build quality. Given the opportunity I’d probably buy again.

Pros
Ride quality and handling all wheel drive and turbo charged Engine.

Cons
No automatic tailgate no adaptive cruise control

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KATELIN C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/25/2020
Great vehicle
Really love the vehicle couldn't ask for anything better, great value for the dollar and the packages it offers are great. I will recommend this vehicle to anyone and everyone. Please keep this vehicle into your consideration.

Pros
Great car

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PRISCILLA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2020
Great price and quality interior!
I was looking for a luxurious-feeling compact SUV, so that I can get around the city easily, yet also take a comfortable longer drive. We took a look at several compact SUVs and this one had the best interior. I wasn't in love with the outside compared to others, but was sold once we came across the Ultimate Trim (nice added exterior touches), plus also found it in white with gray interior leather. I love that it's VERY easy to park and was shocked that I could fit in smaller spaces than my previous car, a Honda Civic. The rear seats come down easily when we need some added storage. Lastly, it is fun to drive.. kick it into sports gear every now and then for some extra fun.

Pros
easy to park
great interior
intuitive media system

Cons
some wind noise
small trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SARAH E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2020
My Kona
It is a comfortable fit, wish the steering wheel was not so close to my knees. I'm small and require the seat to be up in order to reach the pedals. I miss my old sound system with CD player and the key toggle to locate my car in a parking lot.

Pros
Easy to handle, fun to drive

Cons
The steering wheel base is to close to my knees. The sound system could be better and the rest hatch release should be standard.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHRISTIA S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/23/2020
KONA
Good looking car, very stylish outside. The features are great. Needs more comfort features and room for head and legs if your a taller person. Has great gas mileage. Has plenty of power for accelerating.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BRENT M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2020
Best spent money ever
I love everything about this car . I will forever be a Hyundai customer. You get the most for your money with the Kona . A USB port to connect your phone to the radio that can use your GPS and Media library without any additional services. WIN! Plus lane assistance , collision detection, back up cam , AWD ,fwd lock , downhill assistance .... And about 40 mpg highway

Cons
AC is a bit weak but kept on max works fine for hot days . Back up camera could be shielded better from weather. If I roll down the Rear windows it causes a uncomfortable buffeting sound. But these are petty things . Best vehicle ever!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Darren S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2020
Kona
Pros-
Sporty little crossover SUV that has surprisingly good space inside. Looks pretty slick on the outside. Has loads of options which is nice. Super responsive in Sport mode. Just fun to drive. Price isn’t terrible either.

Cons-
Small cons so far.
Daytime running lights are LEDs but not the actual head lights. When you back up it let’s you know something/someone is coming from either side but it is unable to tell you how close to something you are getting.

Pros
Sporty little crossover SUV that has surprisingly good space inside. Looks pretty slick on the outside. Has loads of options which is nice. Super responsive in Sport mode. Just fun to drive. Price isn’t terrible either.

Cons
Small cons so far.
Daytime running lights are LEDs but not the actual head lights. When you back up it let’s you know something/someone is coming from either side but it is unable to tell you how close to something you are getting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
CHRISTOPHER F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2020
Loving this zippy capable car
I'm truly enjoying driving this zippy little car. I purchased the Limited trim level for the turbo and have not regretted it one bit. The technology features are numerous which seemed unexpected for the price level. Hard to beat the basic warranty from Hyundai. I feel like this car will probably only get better as time goes on. Seat comfort for long distance drives may be my only complaint, little hard.

Pros
- Higher trim levels have turbo
- Good technology features
- Good performance with turbo

Cons
- Cargo space may be a bit limited for some uses
- Seat comfort for long drives could be better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1093 in total