2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(132 Reviews)
Latest review 16 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CE
CHRISTI E.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2020
Best Of Both Worlds
This little gem of a car has the MPG you want, the styling you love, and the AWD you need! Look no further if you want a car that checks all those boxes and has a sassy and classy exterior and interior. I feel like a teenager when I drive it (and I am 62), and I am delighted with its safety features, and the top-of-the line navigation system, and extras: like lane assist, back up screen, heated seats, and blind spot indicators. The music system is super - love listening to those nice speakers! And Siri is there to help keep you concentrating on driving. You will not be disappointed in this great car! I would give it 100 stars if I could.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BILLIE B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
Love my Kone
I absolutely love my new Kone. It is everything I hoped it would be. The people at the dealership were fantastic and didnt try to push me or steer me in any way. I knew exactly what I wanted and they helped me get a great deal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
KENNETH D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
2020 Kona review
First time Hyundai buyer. So far I am enjoying my new Kona. The Kona is very comfortable and smooth on the road. The sport mode give it a bit more thrust and the auto shift is very somth between gears.

Pros
Very nice looking vehicle. Comfortable and smooth to drive.

Cons
Passenger seat needs height adjustment. Rear turn signals need to move higher up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
ENGHEL F.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
Kona
I love this vehicle it works really well and it fits me perfectly. I would recommend this vehicle to anybody that asks me about it I love it and I wouldn't ask for anything else ever. Thann you for this
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JASPER A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/10/2020
2020 KONA
Overall a great car so far. Will recommend higher trim with turbo to make up for some lack in power for acceleration and uphill drives. No big complaints except for slight lack of cargo space compared to Honda HRV and some noise when driving in higher speeds in a highway.

Pros
Fun to drive, good features in higher trims, stylish, enough room for storage

Cons
Slightly lacking in space for a family, transmission could sometimes be rough in first gear or reverse, slightly noisy to drive in highways at high speeds

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TAYLER H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona
Great commuter car/car overall. Really happy with its realiability, gas mileage, and overall look. Looks great, drives great, would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a new car. Hyundai is my family's preferred car dealer; they are safe, reliable, high quality.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kimberly B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
2020 Kona Ultimate
We just leased out first Kona Ultimate after leasing two Santa Fe Sports the previous 6 years. We were a bit skeptical about stepping down in size, but what we gained in features and performance was PHENOMENAL! First of all my wife loves the lime green color, the sunroof, and the heads up display. Brake assist, lane assist, and the variable cruise control features make this car really easy to drive on road trips. The new MyHyundai app integrates with the Kona's climate control system, has remote start, and you can download addresses right from the app into the navigation system! Finally, the handling and responsiveness of the 1.6L Turbo is much better than the 2.0L Turbo in our old Santa Fe. Go into sport mode and the difference is even more pronounced! The Kona is a great car and we are really glad we made the move here!

Pros
Driver features: Heads up display, variable speed cruise control, lane assist, sport mode and AWD lock button in center console base for easy access.

Cons
Trunk is small for gear for more than two people. We miss the remote feature for the trunk opening and closing we had on the Santa Fe Sport Turbo!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CAROLE R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/08/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona rating from Nona Kona
Overall a fun car to drive. Solid on the road but weight does not limit the ease of acceleration on the highway especially with the turbo charged engine. Navigates the road pretty well under all road conditions. Audio quality much appreciated. Fairly good gas mileage but I have grown accustomed to better mileage with 3 Honda Civics I owned.Impressive, eye-catching exterior design. Sporty and appealing. Compact vehicle that is very easy to park. Controls are easy to access and well positioned during driving. Hard plastic on door panels is less than stellar but tolerable. A softer material would be more desirable. Trunk space is not ideal, far too small. Safety features and value for the price are pretty hard to beat. The drive/train warranty, roadside assistance and BlueLink features are definately impressive and can easily seal the deal.

Pros
Stylish, Nimble, handles the road superbly, compact, easy to park, great crossover. Fun to drive.

Cons
Extremely small trunk. Better gas mileage would be appreciated. Road noise evident but tolerable.Back seats fits 2 better than 3. Cramped for 3.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Catherine S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2020
The Kona is a gem!
If you don't know about the Hyundai Kona SEL, you should do some research and take a test drive! It is incredibly comfortable, stylish, and full of safety and navigation features. It has AWD that can be turned on and off: excellent for saving money when driving conditions don't require AWD. Plus, best warranty out there.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Vernon S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2020
2020 Kona
I love it! The hold downs are plastic and I think that is cheep. I love the rims and the styling. I was also very happy with MPG. I got 36 MPH on my first trip. I would like to see Fog Lights as standard equipment,

Pros
Just about everything

Cons
Plastic Hold Downs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
LYNN D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/07/2020
Kona review
This is an average vehicle. Good gas mileage. Comfort is okay. Interior room is tight. Not enough leg room in the back seat. Power around town is great. Handles highway speeds well. Pretty exterior. Love the white paint

Pros
Styling. The exterior is pretty and the upholstery is sturdy enough. The seats are comfortable for a smaller car
Gas mileage even around town
Defroster works great and has great heat
Headlights shine bright and controls are easy to use on dashboard and steering wheel

Cons
Small
Tight interior
Acceleration... engine works hard
Interior storage is small
Back up camera is obscured easily with rain or dirt. I have to manually clean it often. But after being on a wet road it sometimes is too water spotted to see out of.
Does not have enough storage in the hatchback part

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Juan C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2020
MY DAUGHTER LOVES HER NEW KONA
Amazing color and design of the car. It is perfect for our daughter who is a college student. Its great with the MPG, the space in back, and the handling of the car. She loves it! My wife loved driving it around until my daughter arrived from school which is out of town.

Cons
My wife loved it, but it's my daughters car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ET
ETHAN T.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/05/2020
Stoked
The Kona is one of the best all around vehicles I have had. I've never been more happy about getting a vehicle than with the Kona. After going through 4 cars of all sizes the Kona felt like the perfect size I needed. Then throwing all the extra features on to it. It just made the Kona that much better.

Pros
Mpg, size, adaptability, space inside vehicle, awd,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NG
NANCY G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2020
So far so good
We bought the car a month ago so we have had a limited time in which to rate the Kona.
My wife loves the car. I drive it rarely but when I do I find it is a fun car to drive. The rear
visibility and backup camera could be better but other than that, we really like the car.
Time will tell but without a doubt, so far so good.

Pros
We've only had it for a month so any thoughts about reliability or N/A but other than that,
so far we love it.

Cons
Rear visibility is limited. Back up camera is mediocre at best.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NL
Natasha L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2020
The Kona saved my life
I was in a car accident, in which a large vehicle rear ended me on the highway. Considering the condition my vehicle was in after impact, I'm surprised that my injuries are as "minimal" as they are. The Kona was declared a total loss resulting in 21k of damages. If I had been in my old compact car, I'm certain I wouldn't be here today
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Terrylane G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2020
Excellent
Excellent . It’s a perfect vehicle for me to get around the seasons of Minnesota in. Small and efficient. Doesn’t take up too much space. Also economical. Enough space for all of my stuff and my dogs stuff. I Love It.

Pros
Excellent

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LUCAS M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/03/2020
Strong ride, cheap interior
Strong powertrain, great handling, interior is all hard plastic and my interior air circulation never worked. Bought brand new. Overall, cheap parts on a really good platform. Fun to drive, never a mechanical problem. Great company follow up after purchase.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
VICKY A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
2020 Hyundsi Kona
Love it.. nice vehicle. Very comfortable and fun to drive. Easy to handle and the AWD is great for snow driving. Was ver comfortable with the handling of the Kone in the snow. I would recomend this vehicle. Very much. I love the warrany coverage too.

Cons
Small gas tank

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
TALEEN C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
kona
enjoying the car
dealership was very impressive! my salesperson was very polite, very knowledgeable and professional in the entire transaction.
nothing bad to say about my new car
love the color, size and comfort

Pros
car is great

Cons
no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HL
Howard L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/02/2020
2020 Kona
So far I’m very pleased with my purchase of my 2020 Kona! I have lees than 1000 miles to date so I’m limited on future ratings for the vehicle thus the 4 star rating! Handling and overall are good, fuel economy is better than expected and I’m confident that after more miles it will be even better! Overall I’m happy with my Kona!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 132 in total