2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(32 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


JM
James Wreford M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2019
Great Crossover
Great ride!! Great safety technology!! Great design inside and out!! Overall I'm happy with the Kona. Would recommend this vehicle to my friends and family. The Hyundai dealership I bought the Kona from is very helpful and attentive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
EDLA B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
2020 Hyundai Kon
I bought the 2020 Kona to downsize my SUV, previously I had a 2017 Santa Fe. The new Kona that I bought is very striking exterior look I have had many compliments and comments from people that would stop and ask me what I thought about this car. As an older person I find it convenient to drive, easy to maneuver around economical and overall just a really great car I love it

Pros
Everything about this car is likeable

Cons
There isn't anything I do not like about this vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MARSHA K.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/07/2019
Excellent
Love everything about my new Kona sporty looking and comfortable to drive. Love the heated seats and the all the other functions. The salesman I had John Tredo was polite and easy to talk with. He did not pressure me which I greatly appreciated.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CRAIG D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/08/2019
Excellent
Great value, safe, reasonably priced, and middle level vehicle loaded with features. Enjoying all of the features. The only negative so far is that the garage door opener does not work when the engine is shut off. Great for security, but would be nicer if it would work as long as proximity key was near. That dark blue color that you see in all of the promotional photos is available on the electric model while the non-electric models have the light blue color "surf blue".

Pros
Nice car, loaded with features. Satisfied.

Cons
Garage door opener only works with engine on. Haven't evaluated driving in winter conditions yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
ELLEN N.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/09/2019
GREAT VEHICLE AND VALUE FOR PRICE
The 2020 Kona is a wonderful vehicle for the price. Loaded with options that other cars in this price range are lacking. I am extremely pleased with this car. I would highly recommend the 2020 Hyundai Kona.

Pros
Great features, great value for price, excellent overall.

Cons
A little road noise on highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHAEL C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Beautiful car
Easy to drive, quiet, roomy and comfortable. Smooth ride and great features. Easy connectivity with my phone for calls and media. Comfort level is exceptional. Plenty of room for passengers and cargo. The sound system is top notch
The look is spectacular.

Pros
Just fantastic all over

Cons
You wont want to leave your car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LARRY B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Kona
Great car love the economy and features. Suits our needs for work and pleasure. Replaced our tuscon which had about 260.000 miles on it. Love the durability and dependability of this brand very well built and lasting Simply the Best.

Pros
awesome

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SHAWN C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2019
Saved daughters life
Car was perfect. Great ride, turned perfectly, no blindspots, easy to use electronics, amazing looks and most importantly top notch safety. After two weeks of purchasing daughter was hit resulting in a demolished car. I credit the safety of this car for saving her life. Nobody listens to safety claims until it happens to you. Great job Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RILEY S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2019
Love the Kona!
I love this car! Its a small SUV that is all wheel drive. And where i live, that's important. We just got our first snow storm, and I love how it tracks in the snow. No slipping and sliding around anymore for me. The inside of the car is also really cool. Love apple car play!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
CLINTON W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2019
Kona 2020
We purchased the Kona for my son but I am enjoying driving it. I especially love all of the safety features it offers for a new driver. I would definitely purchase a Hyundai again for myself in the future.

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
TONYA S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2019
2020 Hundai Kona AWD
I bought this car just over a month ago. Up until my most recent fuel fill up I was getting about 34 miles per gallon which made my driving range around 400 miles per tank. I drive more long distances than short. It handles well on wet roads, but I haven't experienced driving on snow or ice yet. I didn't notice, but my husband said he hears road noise. I really enjoy the bluetooth phone connection.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ELISSA S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2019
Great First Car
This car would will be a great first car for first time drivers or for a single person. It does not have a lot of room and would be great for traveling. Be creative using space in the car to maximize the space.

Pros
Has great power for a 4 cylinder 2.0 turbo.
Gas mileage is awesome

Cons
Not meant for tall people
Don't have a lot of room for storage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LINDA B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
Loving my kona
I've only had my 2020 Hyundai Kona for one month but love driving it. I feel safe in it, moreso than previous subcompact cars I've owned. The design is very attractive, ride smooth, handling easy, and surprising fuel economy.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
BARBARA S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
Best value, safety, comfort and features
Had XG350 and bought a new Tucson in 2016. My wife wanted a smaller car that would allow her to carry food to shut-ins and replace a larger Nissan Maxima. We rented a Kona on a recent vacation and decided that it would be the perfect vehicle to meet her needs. Same 1.6L Turbocharged engine as my Tucson in the lighter Kona. Fuel economy is better than expected.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
STEPHEN S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2019
Best Value, Turbo totally worth the upgrade
I test drove almost every subcompact SUV on the market. For the features/accessories/upgrades only Kia was in the same ballpark with pricing. I went with the limited trim as the turbo engine was a huge upgrade in driving performance plus leather heated seats, better sound, sunroof, etc. For reference I test drove a non turbo SEL plus trim as well as the non-turbo SEL all wheel drive trim. Compared to more expensive cars the road noise is a little higher but it’s not too bad and with music on at a low volume I don’t hear it at all. I have a blast driving this down curvy country roads - it handles turns very well, braking is very responsive, and acceleration is great for the price.

Pros
Fun to drive.
I’m getting 34-35mpg on country roads.
By far most features and best performance for the price.

Cons
Interior plastic slightly cheaper feeling than more expensive competitors.
LCD screen isn’t angled toward the driver.
It wasn’t free.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOSEPH S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
2020 Kona
No major complaints. Rear road noise a bit high and electronic release for hatchback a concern. A manual lever would be nice either exterior or interior. Always on lights and main headlights are two different color temperatures. Not a big concern but seems they should match. AWD monitoring on the display is fun to watch and is one reason I chose the Kona.

Pros
Great deal for the money and financing through Hyundai along with all wheel drive were my deciding factors

Cons
basic interior design. Very black and white and stiff

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
GERALD G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
My Kona
I was quite surprised when I drove my Hyundai Kona. The ride, overall quality and attention to detail was by far better than I have seen in a vehicle for quite some time. The handling is extremely response and it makes driving it fun!

Pros
There are too many to mention, but it has all the bells and whistles including safety features I did not expect! For example: Adaptive cruise control. It actually helped me avoid an accident when it slowed me down when a slower vehicle cut it front of me while it was entering the highway.

Cons
I have not found any yet!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LARRY R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2019
2020 Hyunda Kona Limited
I was looking to replace my 2012 Veloster with the new Hyundai Venue. The Venue was not available to purchase. While at the dealership with my wife who purchased a 2019 Hyundai Sonata, I saw the Sonic Silver Kona. I thought it was 2019. I could not get over how nice it looked up close. 2 days later I returned to see if it was still available. The dealer advised it was a 2020 Kona and was very helpful in making sure I received the appropriate discounts.

Pros
It looks great and the drive is sporty yet comfortable with room to store what I need.

Cons
No CD player for old school drivers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
TAMMY L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/10/2019
Kona
Best car ever. Best dealership ever. Everyone is Great. Sales staff, especially the owner is the absolute best. The facilities are state of the art. The car is great, but the dealership and sales experience is what sold me the car. Brown Daub Hyundai is Great. I wish I had more money to buy more cars from them. I'm looking forward to servicing my car there. The service manager is very professional. They make me feel like family.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
ANNMARIE M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
Maknae, my 2020 Hyundai Kona
I cannot say enough good things about my Kona. My 2019 Kona was totaled in an unfortunate accident when a gentleman hit his accelerator instead of his brake. I had picked out the Lime green twist Kona online and was very happy when they had one at my preferred dealership. Sadly, after five short months, it was totaled. No one ever wants to know how their vehicle will perform in an accident, you hope you never have one. I now know how the Kona holds up. Other than soft tissue injuries, we walked away from the car. The air bags had deployed in the front and the rear. The side doors had been pushed in and were unable to open. Oddly enough, I was struck by an older Hyundai Elantra. My car was declared totaled and I went back to my dealership and as fate would have it, they had a 2020 lime green twist Kona. I was very happy. Although Sparky (the 2019) will be missed, I have named the 2020, Maknae, Mak for short. I'm sure you think I'm quite quirky, but I have always loved to drive. A car is an important part of my life and brings me great pleasure. I'm thrilled with my Hyundai. Thank you.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 32 in total