2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(634 Reviews)
Latest review about 5 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PR
PAMELA R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/18/2020
Great Car
Love my new Kona Hyudai. I have a bad back, and this vehicle is easier to get in and out of versus a standard car. So stylish. And I can still park in the economy car spaces. This car is a winner. I recommend.

Pros
good

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sonia S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2020
Excellent
I get the car for my Husband and he loves it ☺ makes my heart ❤ melt. ..............................................................................................................................................................thanks again..........
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DENIO P.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/17/2020
Great SUV
Nice small SUV. Great pick-up with the Turbo Engine on the Ultimate Trim. Easy to maneuver and park, plus good handling on the road. Great for Road Trips, the enhanced cruise control really makes a difference. Almost drives itself.

Pros
Great Safety Features
Great Adaptive Cruise Control
Comfortable Ride
Easy to get in and out

Cons
No Automatic Rear Hatch Open Feature
No Rear Passenger Air Vents
No Rear Passenger USB Charge Ports
No WiFi for Passengers and Android Auto
No Self Dimming Mirrors
Steering Wheel Cover could be nicer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Brian M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona Limites
Great vehicle for the money. Hyundai gives you the best warranty and fit and finish against many other brands on the market. The ride is perfect and the features are better then any other vehicle in its class across all trim levels available. They hit a homer in with this great car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JULIE C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Glad I switched to Hyundai
For years I have been driving increasingly expensive cars (BMW, Audi) and thought this meant I was getting better value and service - not true! Based on a friend's recommendation, I agreed to look into the Hyundai Kona. This car is the perfect size, drives great and incredible fuel efficiency - I cannot believe how much value is packed into this car for the price. Sales process was easy and fast - salesman went over every detail of the car. It drives better than the Audi it replaced and is more comfortable.

Pros
Great value for the price - all the amenities of higher end costly cars. Very good handling and gas mileage.

Cons
Exterior construction - doors, trunk lids could be improved to feel more substantial.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHRISTINA M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Great Compact SUV
Love my new car! Easy to handle, great ride, powerful acceleration, quiet ride, easy to parallel park, sun roof, leather heated seats, all wheel drive, bright red, nice sound and navigation, positive buying experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
EXOR C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Awesome very good
Very good, all questions are interesting and have you, the dealer, a good insight to a purchasers new car. Nothing more to respond to your review. Great job in your questioning. Just follow through with my suggestions.

Pros
The car!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MCKENNA B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Really great
The car works wonderfully. I’ve had zero problems with the car and am enjoying all the new features on the Kona such as the heated seats and apple car play. The lane keep assist is very helpful as well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DAVE L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Kona is fun to drive
This is the most fun to drive vehicle I have ever driven. It is comfortable and performs above expectations. The interior is well designed and the features are easy to use. Safety features are very helpful.

Pros
better than expected gas mileage

Cons
user manual could be indexed better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
JEREMY O.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Hyundai's Drivin' Me Kona !!!
We purchased the 2020 HYUNDAI KONA AWD ULTIMATE, for our teenage son to use for school, sports, and where ever else the KONA can take him. This is our 4th Hyundai purchase and by far the best one yet. I did a years worth of research comparing several other manufactures vehicles against the KONA, and in the end it was the KONA that won. I went through everything, from the vehicles interior, exterior, all the safety features, warranty, and don't forget the hard to argue affordable price, no other vehicle gave me that warm happy feeling that I made the best decision for the safety of my son. He has the leg, head, and hip room for a 6'1" teenager, driving assist to keep him focused, room for sports equipment (a lot of it), and it still looks SO COOL when he's driving, 2 thumbs up there! No cords to charge his phone, steering wheel has everything right there at his finger tips so he doesn't need to look away. Hyundai has by far proven they have out done the competition in all areas with the KONA.

Pros
Excellent gas mileage, Warranty, Leg room, Cordless phone charging station, Safety features for driving, Navigation/Sound system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CORWIN C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2020
Great value
The Kona has sufficient leg and headroom for two adults plus cargo room for all of our luggage for road trips. It has great fuel economy. We consistently got 35 MPG at 75 MPH (maybe a little over). For a while, we were restricted to 60 MPH and the mileage was over 40 MPG. Again loaded with two adults and two weeks worth of luggage.

Pros
I've driven Hyundais for 20 years and they are a great value. For about $20K you get a vehicle that will serve you well for about 150K miles. The drive train warranty is real as I had to use it once and I got a free engine replacement and a loaner to drive while they did the work.

Cons
The Kona has more road noise than the previous vehicles I have owned (Santa FE and Tiburons). It can be very noticeable on some road surfaces. I am considering adding sound-deadening insulation to improve this. A bigger project that I like but may do it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JAVIER R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/15/2020
My first Hyundai
I like my Kona. Bought it after riding on a friend’s. I have also heard these cars are reliable and my friend has had nothing but Hyundai vehicles for over 10 years. I like the styling and coming from a 10 year old car, creature comforts like a backup camera and Apple CarPlay and blind spot sensors are a game changer for me. I am easily amused.

Pros
Fun to drive, good looking, relatively roomy, comfortable. Love the backup camera and Apple CarPlay. It is also reasonably fast given the engine it has. Reliability and warranty are also big pros for me

Cons
Average gas mileage, poor rear visibility, small trunk space, more road noise than I’d like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MICHAEL H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2020
My Favorite New Car I've Ever Bought
I am so happy with my new 2020 Kona. I decided to purchase the Kona after a lot of research of many SUVs and choosing to visit a Hyundai dealer first. I drove the Kona and the Tucson and would have been happy with either. I decided on the Kona partly due to cost, but I actually liked the way it drove a bit better. Now, after owning it for three months, I am so happy I made the choice. It looks sharp, it rides great (slightly elevated like an SUV and smooth like a car), and it get incredible gas mileage. This is my favorite new car purchase since I bought my first new car in 1992. My Kona is my first Hyundai purchase, and now I don't think I'll buy anything else. My wife is already planning in trading in her car for a Kona.

Pros
Styling
Gas mileage
Ride quality
Comfort
Touch screen and features
Height for getting in and out

Cons
Rear storage area is a bit small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2020
Exactly what I wanted!
Was looking for a vehicle that sits higher than a sedan but smaller than a SUV with good fuel mileage...found it! Looked at and test drove Buick Encore and Chevrolet Trax but the ergonomics in the Hyundai KONA were MUCH BETTER. All the controls just make since in the Kona. Not to mention it looks way better than the others too. This compact SUV is sooo fun to drive and it's the 2.0l I4 and not even the 1.6l I4 Turbo. I'm getting 34 mpg and this includes both rural and city driving combined. The suspension is dialed in nicely along with the 6 speed transmission. The base SE has 4 wheel disc brakes that stop on a dime and even has Lane Assist and Front Collision Avoidance. The Hyundai Infotainment system is so user friendly it basically works itself. The ONLY negative thing I can complain about is the Android Auto and Apple CarPlay only works with your phone connected to the cars usb port but this is for every car, not a Hyundai issue. Just buy the Kona if you're in the market for a vehicle like I was searching for...you wont regret jt! +BEST WARRANTY IN THE BUSINESS!

Pros
Styling (inside and out)
Features included with base model
Fun to drive
MPG

Cons
USB connection only for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay (bluetooth wont work)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Frank S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2020
Great car
I think thus brand of cars and suv are build excellent, good quality nice workmanship. Love all the styles and the features are amazing. Sleak looking, comfortable, good acceration, great gas mileage. Also the dealership was very knowledgeable and helpful, kind, and patient with all our questions. Thank you!

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lawrence B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2020
Really Love this vehicle !!!!!
I really love the Kona. On Saturday and Sunday afternoon I take a nice hour drive with some great music from my apple Bluetooth music. Really relaxing and so enjoyable. I sometimes make up an excuse to myself to take it out again.

Pros
So much fun to Drive. Every nite my wife and I come home home from work about 8:00 pm and put the Kona in the garage for the nite. But about an hour or two later I have to take it for a quick ride can’t get enough.

Cons
Really don’t have any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TIARA H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2020
N/A
I had a great buying experience at the Johnson of Cary location. Joseph Germany is amazing! I felt pleased with my car buying experience from beginning to end. I love how stylish and efficient my vehicle is! I would definitely recommend to a friend!

Pros
Love it!

Cons
Brake noise and Blind Spot Assistance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Timothy B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2020
New Kona
I love it, sunroof , tented windows, also the speed 👌 fantastic. I work with the best of the best Matt , he is Phenomenal at what he do, Thats why I call him the best of the Best salesman. Funny, Great Personality, Most of all he made sure that we as customers was satisfied . Thanks again Matt

Pros
sunroof, tent,heated sets,Bluetooth for auto theft protection sent right to your phone love it

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Darla W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2020
Love it
I like the Kona it is easy for my 87 year old mother to get in and out of the vehicle it sits a little higher than a car but not as high as a suv I love the interior and like that the back is covered so you can hide things and love the heated seats they feel great on your back when you have a long drive

Pros
I like the lane assist and the blind spot mirrors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Aysar A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/11/2020
2020 kona
The kona is a great small suv on the road, since I have been driving small vehicle all the time. The one I got is the se as a base model. I am getting a good gas milage like my old 2017 kia soul. Comparing this car to its level like mazda 3 you will save easy 3k, plus the warranty is more too.

Pros
good on gas,nice interior and exterior design

Cons
it is an all wheel drive which I am not using

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 634 in total