2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(759 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 hour ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KS
KELLY S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/30/2020
Nice little car
We bought a nice little car. We felt that we needed a small SUV for getting back and forth to work in all weather conditions. Hyundai's warranty is legendary. We are impressed with the overall functionality and fuel economy of the Kona . The only problem has been the incomplete roof rack assembly which makes the roof rails absolutely worthless. They should be included with every vehicle equipped with the roof rails. Now in order to use your small SUV with the roof rails, you have to purchase from the hyundai dealer the cross bars for an additional $700....Ridiculous in our opinion.

Pros
Economy, traction, all weather driveability

Cons
non-useable roof rack, cheap seat material, tires are questionable on off-road performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CHRISTINE R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2020
Love My Car
I’m very happy with the Kona, lots of smart features, I love the Apple car play, it has lane assist , and blind spot safety feature, and of course the back up camera. I feel safe, and the car is sporty and fast!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Geraldine F.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona SEL Plus
The stylist design, safety, warranty and technology features for the price are outstanding! Excellent gas mileage for a crossover/suv. If you are looking for a small crossover/suv the Hyundai Kona is the car for you. So fun to drive!

Pros
Stylist body design.
Great gas mileage.
Lots of safety features.
Best warranty in the car industry.

Cons
Road noise and wind sound around driver and passenger side doors.
Little legs room in back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Raymond P.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2020
Excellent vehicle
THERE'S PLENTY OF SAFETY FEATURES, IT IS SOLIDLY BUILT WITH VERY GOOD FIT & FINISH, HAS EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE, AND GENEROUS INTERIOR SPACE FOR A VEHICLE IN THIS CATAGORY. HOPE TO DRIVE THIS ONE FOR A VERY LONG TIME

Pros
Gas mileage, features, performance.

Cons
May be too small for some

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Rudolf O.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2020
Awesome Drive
It's small but it's not that bad if you're only hauling yourself and maybe 1 or 2 others. The front seats go back a lot if you're tall like me. Overall a great car and a better value compared to the Tucson and Santa Fe
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OC
Odalys C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2020
Lovely
The options of opening the trunk must improve. I like the confort and color, the manual manipulation of the seats is somewhat uncomfortable and not being able to open the trunk from the inside too. it is very economical for gasoline

Pros
Confortable

Cons
The options of opening the trunk must improve

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Pedro S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/28/2020
Small vehicle
The Kona is very limited in space inside vehicle no leg room and no trunk room. The vehicle is cozy for a single person but not a family vehicle at all. I would not repurchase a Kona again but I also have 8 grandkids 7of which use a car seat and you can only fit 2 car seats in vehicle so it’s a hassle with kids

Cons
Very small on inside no leg room in back seat, no truck space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Ani C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2020
Great value
I love all the new features provided within its price range, I think it’s a good value. The only thing to upset me is my search for a subcompact SUV was primarily for the hight of the car, but this car’s hight is almost the same as a Sedan. Otherwise it is very compact and city-friendly to find parking or to do some relatively large shopping.

Pros
Compact , City-friendly

Cons
Low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
THERESA A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2020
Great small SUV
High ratings from Consumer Reports led me to this car. The fact that it actually fits in my garage is a plus-plus. It has a larger fuel capacity that on paper doesn't seem like much but in reality is a big plus. It is comfortable to drive, lacks the rear blind spots that my previous car had and is darn cute.

Pros
Cannot comment on reliability, only have 550 miles on it. Expect long term reliability to be high.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Giselle B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2020
G Berman owner
I love my kona. It's a fun car and great on the road.I love the safety features. The warranty is awesome plus the free oil changes for next three years.My sales experience was.the best with my sales man Andy 5 star.

Cons
Wish my back up camera would signal when some one or thing is behind me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FP
FLORENTINA P.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2020
Impressive styling, handling, interior room. Great value!
This is my first Hyundai. I'm impressed with the styling, handling, interior roominess, comfort of ride, and fuel economy and lots of standard features. I feel it is a great value for the money. I do wish the Kona SEL Plus trim level had the auto-dimming headlights, but overall very happy with this car.

Pros
Great value with lots of standard features.
Fuel economy, Cloth seats available.
Sporty, nimble, fun to scoot around town in.
Roominess inside, has a high quality feel. Excellent styling.

Cons
Auto dimming headlights not available on SEL Plus trim

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Donald J.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2020
Everything I hoped for
I am totally satisfied with the vehicle. It is hard to think of an option that the car does not have. The 1.6 turbo is extremely responsive for an engine of that size. I have had small engine cars before and the turbo makes this one totally different. The features are so many that it is a entire learning curve. Overall a very impressive, fun well built car.

Pros
So far everything about the car is impressive.

Cons
The only thing I am not comfortable with is the tire inflation thing. I will probably go back and purchase the spare tire. I guess I am so accustomed to the spare option that it makes me uncomfortable not having a spare.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
AMANDA G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2020
Review of Kona
For once in my life I have no complaints or suggestions - I feel that everything about this car is perfect. I'm still getting to know it but the ergonomics are great. Everything makes sense and is where I would expect it to be (light switches, brights on/off..). I was pleasantly surprised when it charged my phone.
It hugs the road on turns and lights up the sides of a complicated mountain road at night. The styling is nicer than Mercedes or Lexus. Braking makes me confident.
Handled well on a quartz dirt road. The interior styling is so pleasant and nothing distracting. The seats are comfortable. I love it!

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ALLYSON H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2020
Wow!
I'm very satisfied overall with the Kona. It's LOADED with a ton of intelligent features that make driving a whole new experience; safety, quality, comfort, convenience. It's quite evident Hyundai put a lot of thought into the design of this vehicle. I would most certainly recommend this vehicle if you are looking for something roomy but not bulky with great gas mileage that, in addition, is fun to tool around in. You won't be sorry if you choose this ride!

Cons
None (in my opinion)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
David B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona
I believe the Hyundai Kona is a very dependable vehicle, and im enjoying having it as my car. It is comfortable to drive, and has all the gadgets I need. I like having a car with a back up camera. Great car to own.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Judy T.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2020
Love My Kona
This is the best small car I've ever driven. 😁It's sporty, safe and comfortable. It drives very well in storms and hasn't hydroplaned. The car has lots of leg room, beautiful interior.
The Kona has get up and go! I don't have to worry when I drive the interstate that I might be run over.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Clementine S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2020
Kona
I love my car it’s fast cute and reliable and a gas saver. It has great speed. Attracts a lot of attention especially the color (sunset orange) it’s like a car in a small suv body! I wish it came with satalite radio

Pros
Everything

Cons
Trunk is very small no satalite radio

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
CHAR G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2020
I love my Kitty Kona
This car just fits me perfectly. Great gas mileage, perfect size for me and my German Shepherd in the back. I can load all kinds of gardening item in the back. I love the pop up display so I don't have to look down to see how fast I'm going. I just can't say enough about the Kona Ultimate
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VL
VICKI L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/21/2020
My Kona Limited
I am impressed with my Kona Limited. Runs well, comfortable, looks good. I wanted a compact SUV but if anything the leg room in the backseat is a little bit limited. Other than that very happy with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Cindy J.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/21/2020
My new Kona ❤️
I purchased my Kona in August in Atlanta, we moved 2 weeks later back to CA. What a wonderful driving car, took us 3 days to drive from Atlanta to Arroyo Grande, CA. We’re so impressed with our TURBO!! This car is a keeper for sure!

Pros
That we purchased the Kona!

Cons
Wish I had bought the Kona sooner!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 759 in total