2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(266 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JE
JAMES E.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2020
My new Kona
The Kona I leased is very comfortable to drive, loaded with safety features that are important today. I enjoy the visibility that it has, it's easy to park. easy to get in and out. In a word it is perfect for my family.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KEITH W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2020
Fun and value
Wow. What can I say? This car so far exceeded my expectations. My wife replaced her Subaru with a Kona sel AWD with the 2.0 in late 2019. She gets exceptional fuel mileage, and the acceleration is more than acceptable. I loved hers so much that I started shopping for one myself in 2020. I wound up trading in my 2017 mitsubishi outlander SE-AWC for a 2020 KONA LIMITED AWD in lime twist. Mine has the 1.6 turbo. It is fast frugal and fun. It reminds me of my HONDA CRX 1.5 I had back in 84. It handles great I get a steady 30-33mpg. It's comfortable to drive. The ride is firm but not terrible. I would prefer a little less road noise but it isn't a deal breaker. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone. As long as you don't need a lot of storage space. It is a small vehicle with only moderate storage behind the seats. You decide. But drive it first. You will love it!!!

Pros
Looks, fuel mileage, acceleration, handling, build quality, value.

Cons
Road noise, 7 speed DCT is a little clunky at low speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Terry T.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2020
Kona
For the amount of money we spent on this car , I would of thought the road noise would be less. But the wife loved the car so.... happy wife happy life. Going to replace tires with a better quality tire and see if this helps with the road noise. Over all it’s a pretty nice car.

Pros
Overall a very nice car.

Cons
Lots of road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
CODY W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/07/2020
Great all around vehicle
I bought this car wanting a safe affordable awd, and got exactly what I paid for. The car is sleek and stylish, and gets great gas mileage. The interior could have a bit more soft materials, but over is nice enough. Also syncs up with electronics very easily. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Pros
AWD
Cool design
Good gas mileage
Good handling

Cons
Could have a bit more space
The sound system could be a bit better
Could have a little more soft touch mats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JACOB S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/07/2020
Loving my 2020 Kona!
I love my new 2020 Kona Ultimate! It's amazing how much comes with the Ultimate package for under $30k! Great acceleration and comfortable seats and ride. Bought it just over a month ago and still in love with it - can't stop staring! A joy to drive!

Pros
Everything!

Cons
Slightly smaller trunk space, but not a big deal for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JACOB M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/06/2020
Dope car that meets my needs
Kona is a bit edgier than the hrv and not as bland as the outback. Great car with a good trans and great interior. Would recommend. The sport mode works great and the handling is tight. Don't get the lower models though. Youll regret not getting the 1.6 liter turbo. It really gets you up those Jill's with comfortable fuel efficiency

Pros
Sound system
Trans
Engine
Interior

Cons
Trunk space is lacking
No spare tire
Wife gouged up the rear hub cap 4 hours after buying the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Logan W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/06/2020
Reliability
In my opinion I believe the Hyundai Kona is a great choice! They are fun to drive, and you still get that sturdy feeling when you shut the doors or hit a bump. Great gas mileage and the AWD system is really good for snow and such. I 10 out of 10 would recommend the hyundai brand

Pros
Gas mileage
AWD
Styling
Headlight position
Roomy but still small

Cons
Dual clutch transmission is different but easy to get used to
Non towing capabilities

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IF
INA F.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/05/2020
2020 Kona
excellent vehicle and service - everyone at the dealership worked for me to get the best deal I could get. Therefore I was able to purchase a new vehicle. Other dealerships did not work very hard for me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IJ
IRENE J.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/05/2020
Avery Satisfied
My experience at hyundai was exceptional. I love everything about my car. The technology features are amazing. My car is exactly what i wanted. My salesman was amazing. Hyundai was amazing and I would recommend hyundai to anyone.

Pros
technology features

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHERYL C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/04/2020
Hyundai Kona
xxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Survey is taking too long to complete and too many repetitive questions. I like the Kona, truly.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
CHARLES A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2020
My new Kona
l love the Kona. I wish it had more capacity for storage without putting the back seat down, but still a great car. Love the style and looks, and its a great performer.
Getting great gas mileage. Will be taking it on a long trip, that will be the true test for comfort and performance. I love the moon roof and electronic driver seat adjustments.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PHILIP M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2020
All around, great car
So we traded in our 2018 elantra for the 2020 kona because our dealership had a trade in offer available for our car that was impossible to turn down. We checked it out, did a test drive, and immediately fell in love with the vehicle. Great modern features in the infotainment system, great safety features, an extremely smooth ride, decent mileage, all making this an all around great reliable vehicle while also being a stylish car at the same time

Pros
Comfortable seating, heated seats, great entertainment system, plenty of valuable information for the driver to access about the performance of the vehicle

Cons
Back seats are a little cramped height-wise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KARA S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/03/2020
Great little ride
If you want a comfy little ride with awd and not entirely concerned with cargo room i highly recommend this vehicle. Very sporty style. Easy to use large screen entertainment system, and good gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CALVIN M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/03/2020
Wonderful great beautiful
I love the car love it love it love it love love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it

Pros
Love it

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LISSETTE G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/03/2020
Love it
Is just perfect for my daily needs. Drops my kids at schools and drive to work is easier now. The outside design is so lovely and inside is nice. Love the app where I can check the status of the engine and everything else happening with the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Ladde M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2020
Kona2020 Ladde
Very satisfied, would like even better gas mileage, would like less road noise, improve understandability of the manuals in many subjects: especially in wording to better help find subjects. Comfort is pleasant, I especially rely on the heads up device, allowing me to use it alone when in bad weather of heavy fast moving traffic.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
STEVEN W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/02/2020
2020 hyundai kono sel
a lot of safety features,smooth ride,fun to drive.gas mileage is decent,fit quality is good,spare tire is a big plus.I do mostly highway driving,and the power is pretty good,enjoy the vehicle very much

Pros
a lot of equipment for the money

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JEREMY D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/02/2020
Kona offers great value
Great small SUV at a great price. Offers updated styling that is attractive while still maintaining its purpose. Fun to drive even though it is not a quick car off the line. Handling is great, especially with the AWD in the snow.

Pros
- Strong fuel efficiency
- AWD trim package
- smooth and stable ride

Cons
- Low horse power/Slow acceleration
- Cruise control setting drops speed
- interior can feel cramped with 4 people

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Matt S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2020
No Gas!
Love that there’s no gas required — have even found some places will charge my Kona for free! It’s a bit of a lifestyle adjustment, but helping the environment and helping my pocketbook at the same time is a great combo!

Pros
I am in California, so I got the diamond lane stickers that let me cruise alone or for free in the far left lane!

Cons
You really have to plan ahead if you’re going for a trip over 200 miles!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TE
TAMMY E.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/01/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona
Love my new car! I think it's very cute. Fun to drive. Comfortable ride. So many options I didn't have on my old car - Bluetooth, ability to open garage door, heated seats, back-up mirror, sit up higher. Just love it!

Cons
Wish the gas mileage was better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 266 in total