2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(935 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KB
KIMBERLY B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2021
Love my Kona!
I did 2 months of research before buying my Kona. I was looking for a small AWD, good gas mileage, room for my dogs, comfortable and looks were important too. The Kona checked all those boxes and is fun to drive as well!

Pros
Fuel efficient
Safety technology
Smooth ride
Good handling

Cons
No auto rear lift gate

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mary W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2021
New Kona
The Kona is a smart looking, solid car that has good features and enjoyable to drive. If fits my needs and what I was looking for in a new car. So far, it has been an excellent purchase and I am pleased.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Darrell W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/15/2021
Cheap quality parts used during assembly!
Hyundai used cheap grade trim parts! I have had my Kona 3 months and all black trim on this Kona Ultimate looks like it has been bleache out! These. Items are turning white! Took Kona to dealership was informed that this happen if you wax the trim. Figure that out! I didn't wax any of these items, but they claim I did. The Kona is a nice sub compact suv but should have better quality then what was used. BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE!

Pros
Good performance. Great design, Heads-up display easy to see what you are doing. Great safety fore thought with all avoidance features included.

Cons
Cheap quality parts used during assembly. Gas mileage doesn't meet expectations. Torque steer is horrible on acceleration, hold on tight! Should have included cool ventilation in leather seats. No passenger power seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tammy B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2021
Love the Hyundai Kona
I had never heard of the Kona. When Josh my sales rep pulled it up, I was like that is the one! Due to a car accident where I was hit head on, I was not hardly able to drive yet, so Josh drove me for the test drive and explained a lot while we were in the test drive. He went above and beyond my expectations!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FE
Faith E.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/14/2021
Dee
After I drove the car off the lot I thought oh my this is too small for me .,,, But the more I drove it I have to say it’s just perfect , Everyone likes the sporty look!!!I absolutely love my Kona!!!!!

Pros
Absolutely Love

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/14/2021
Do not understand question-excellent vehicle
Do not understand question-excellent vehicle,comfort level is excellent, great performance,fun to drive, great safety features, like the looks of this SUV, feel very safe driving this SUV, and I would most definitely recommend this SUV
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lori D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2021
Great little SUV
Looking forward to driving more once the pandemics is over. The few road trips I've take were delightful. I enjoy the cruise control car length distance control. The cabin seats are comfortable front and back. The gas mileage is great. Easy steering. Good breaking response.

Pros
Economical, comfortable, Bluetooth capabilities, easy to handle, great storage options, spacious cabin and cargo area. Moonroof/sunroof, seat warmers, remote start, projector display of lane departure with warning sou m d, last speed limit sign viewed, blind spot detection with warning sound, handy interior lights,

Cons
No foot motion detection for trunk door, or even a trunk door open interior button.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LAWRENCE R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/13/2021
kona turbo
I like the car love the warranty from company and dealer no worries if car breaks down not happy with gas mileage have to fuel up way to often. Could use more interior room upgrade interior with better carpet and plastic
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Larry B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2021
The Sports Car of SUVs
Probably the favorite car I have owned. My fifth Hyundai so I am a fan. Got the highest end Kong after taking a test drive. Storage is a little tight and road noise is an issue but overall I love it so far after a full year. Miss the automatic hatch release I had on my other Hyundai's but all the other features overshadow that. Super road car.

Pros
Drives like a sports car. Mileage. Looks comfort. Quality Fun car.

Cons
Wind noise. Road noise. Little pricey.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EI
EDGAR I.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2021
A very fun, comfortable grocery getter
plenty of seating room, not enough storage room. however, this is fun, and surprisingly limber around turns. seats get a bit stiff on very long trips, but the reminder to stop and take a break makes the world of difference. my 100lb Lab has a hard time getting in the back, but on the plus side it keeps him enclosed and his high energy confined.

Pros
slick looking, nimble, tidy quiet ride. amazing gas mileage.

Cons
not enough torque out of the n/a engine. sport mode is definitely better, but not enough to make it very fun. navigation head unit is not wireless for android auto.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Michael R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2021
First Time Hyundai Car Buyer - Will not be the Last
The Hyundai Kona is a great car with nice features. Can't beat the Hyundai Warranty! It is comfortable to drive and handles well. Could use a bit more pick up acceleration power, but adequate enough. The touchscreen console is top notch with a host of feature. Good gas mileage. Bought it brand new, and have owned it for a little more than a year. No regrets.

Pros
Safety Driving Features
Large, User Friendly, Touch Screen Features
Comfortable Heated Seats
AWD

Cons
Could use a bit more storage compartments. Could use a bit more pick up acceleration power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jose R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2021
Not sure
This vehicle handles pretty good on the road. I suggest the turbo option for more H Power. Vehicle has small trunk space, but can easily be resolved by urchadi g a luggage rack. Finally, your survey is too long.

Pros
Reliability, look performance.

Cons
Small drunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PO
Pastor O.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2021
KONA es fabuloso
El auto es muy versátil. Me gustó más que el Tucson porque es más fácil manejarlo. También mejor que el Santa Fe. Aunque los otros son más espaciosos , el KONA es más seguro para manejar porque no tiene puntos ciegos , tiene más visibilidad, y puede evitar accidentes. Maneje los tres y lo digo con mi experiencia de chofer comercial profesional.

Pros
Versátil y puede estacionar fácil
Cámara de video trasero
4 puertas.

Cons
Pequeño

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeff M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2021
2020 Hyundai Kona Ultimate
The Hyundai Kona is a smaller car, but I do not need a lot of space. It is very roomy up front, but is a little tight for leg space in the back seat area. I do like the trunk cover so that you can keep things out of site when shopping. So far is seems to get very good gas mileage for a SUV vehicle. The smoothness of the ride is good for a smaller car, but it is not as smooth of ride as a larger wheelbase car would be, that is to be expected though. The car is very responsive and tight to steering wheel commands. The Ultimate version seems to have most all of the bells and whistles that a person would want.
Overall the car seems to have performed great in the short time that i have driven it.

Pros
Ultimate option package offers a lot of options for a smaller car. The car is very comfortable and has a lot of safety features, which some of them can be turned off is so desired. The car seams to be competitively priced for what is provided in the Ultimate package. The 1.6 Turbo engine seems to have sufficient power to get up steep hills.

Cons
There is no heated steering wheel and no powered passenger seat options available. It would be nice if the radio speed adjustment had an option for multiple sound level adjustments to adjust for the road noise, but overall the speed adjustment does a good job. The road noise is a little louder than other Hyundai's that have been purchases in the past, but it still reasonable for traveling at highway speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Beverly S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2021
Lové m’y kona
Lové my new car.. Leather heated seats, quiet, navigation, cruise control. Has pickup power . Beautiful red exterior color and grey interior color.. Runs so quietly that oftentimes I do not even realize I have not turned it off.

Pros
Heated seats, quiet, cruise, leather seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
ROSALVA H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/05/2021
Kona
I love this car it rides higher and i feel like ive owned it all my life, the fuel economy is very good, and i enjoy all the technology features. I bluetooth my phone and enjoy the hands free options.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Chui C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2021
Fun and unique little CUV
We got this car for our daughter who just got here drivers license. We wanted a small car for her with modern safety features such as blind spot monitoring and the reverse camera. We were not expecting much from this little car, but we were surprised by how good the car is. The power is class leading in this subcompact SUV segment, fuel economy is pretty good for the power level. We were most surprised by the amount of passenger room for how small the car is. The exterior is very unique and special. Interior materials are a little cheap but we are fine with this compromise.

Pros
Power, fuel economy, styling, compactness, bright headlights, good seats

Cons
Cheap plastics in the interior, AC system could be simpler, could have larger screen, could have nicer interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Sandra G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/04/2021
Kona
I love it. I just have minor inconvinience when i try to increase speed at times. The gas per mile is great. It looks awsome and it is very easy to drive. Love the park assit and the wheel alinment. It is over all great

Pros
Looks great and super economic

Cons
Does not spees smooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Amy M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2021
Love my Kona
The Kona is a work horse in the snow and inclement weather. It is super cute and very reliable. Love the styling and comfort. It has great fuel economy! It definitely has some get up and go! Love it!

Pros
Heated seats, powerful, economical, fun!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Brad C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2021
Fun little ride
This is a wonderful vehicle no mater where you live. Great for winter driving as well as city. It have the perfect get up and go in any situation. However, I will say that is vehicle is not something I would by if I still had kids.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 935 in total