2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79
4.8
(56 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MH
MARY H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2019
AWD Best feature!!
Best new car purchase in over 20 years! Safety and reliability have surpassed my expectations. Local, family owned dealership provides a better customer satisfaction situation. Best decision by far!! Gary Rome Hyundai and their staff should be extremely proud of their character and philosophy- JOB WELL DONE!

Pros
Unbelievably so reliable in the snow!! Handles amazing, up and down snow covered roads without any wheel spinning or sliding!

Cons
Rain sticks to windows

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JOYCE W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/09/2019
Great small SUV
Great car. Exterior and interior look modern. Seats easy to clean. I hv 2 small dogs.
I did lose 6 inches of cargo space going from a small station wagon to my first SUV.
It felt like the right size for me. A single person with 2 small dogs.
Enough room for groceries and trips to the airport. Even hauled leaves this fall

Pros
Great looking car
Fun to drive
Seemed to hv more space then other small SUV
CX3

Cons
Think the headlamps could illuminate better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MICHAEL R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2019
super car
This car has all the bells & whistles and then some. Have only had for a month but so far love everything about it. Have had several compliments although the color takes getting used to for some. Wouldn't change a thing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
ROBERT K.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2019
Roberto Kona Owner
I love my new Kona. The performance is fantastic. I love the safety features and the car is very comfortable drive with great gas mileage. This is my third Hyundai and the quality continues to improve.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOHN B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2019
Great Value
Extremely sure footed in adverse weather conditions; we live in the Colorado Rocky's and this little car handles every weather situation I've encountered. The only reason I would take my full sized 4WD pickup would be for ground clearance; otherwise this is my go to vehicle for any weather situation. Very responsive vehicle to drive while also being economical to operate. Although I don't use it the sport mode tightens everything up and drives like, well a sports car. I purchased this for my 62 mile daily commute driving from mountains to city conditions. I am very happy with my purchase and have recommend this vehicle as an exceptional value.

Pros
Extremely sure footed in advise conditions in the Colorado Rocky Mountains. Very economical to drive. A solid vehicle. Very fun to drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
PAUL G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2019
Great compact SUV
Drives well, excellently equipped. Handles well, and has all wheel drive. The Kona has awesome color selections. The interior is nicely decorated, and has a good sound system, and the monitor is crips and clear.

Pros
Great ride, has AWD, has many safety features. Great value.

Cons
rear cargo space is limited

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Marina J.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2019
Hyundai Kona
Fun car. The Hyundai Kona crossover vehicle was the best choice for me. The seat is very comfortable and that was one of the main reasons in deciding to purchase the car. I can get in and out of the crossover vehicle easily. All of the features are great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
William C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Great car great price!
I like the solidity and the handling and over all performance of the Kona. The fact that it can tow small trailers is great also. The cargo space is good and flat. The styling is sleek and nicely done.

Pros
Great buy for the money. Fuel economy sporty design solid feel.

Cons
the back seat is a bit small perhaps for children. But I don't have a family so that isn't an issue for me and I typically don't give lots of people rides except in the front seat where there is plenty of room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARY G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Very happy with my Kona
Enjoy driving my Kona very much. I have only had my car for about a month. I don't feel I can be completely objective on these answers as the car is brand new and new to me.
I do not know what else to say about this survey for the car. I liked the salesman and the dealership. I received calls about my satisfaction a few times and have expressed my pleasure about this several times.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JANICE G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Great Little SUV!
Finally, the perfect car for me arrived on the market. The best car for me over the years had been hatchbacks, but I'd had a sedan for the last 15 years. I wanted an SUV, but didn't want the size or reduced gas mileage for the types of driving I do. I needed something smaller and preferred something sportier. Enter the Crossover! I looked at them all and had narrowed it down to a short list, then as I was doing my research, I saw this Kona popping up in the top 3 slots on most list, including a few #1 spots. I figured I'd better take a look. I am so glad I did. It is a great little SUV! It is quick, responsive and fun to drive. It handles great. Those were the key things that I didn't want to sacrifice with an SUV.

I was taking a step down from owning a luxury sedan prior to this, so I was worried about feeling like I was in a cheap economy car (read: plastic). While it doesn't compare to a luxury model, it certainly is not cheaply appointed. I got the Ultimate model and it is loaded with technology. I wish there was a class to take to learn all about it (like Lexus has), because I think a lot of people won't know about half of the great features on the car.

My favorite feature of all is the heads-up display. On this car, due to the smaller size of the vehicle or the shape of the windshield, the HUD has to project onto a little pop-up screen rather than on the windshield itself. Personally, I think that's pretty cool when it pops up!

Overall I have been very happy with this car.

Pros
On the Ultimate model:
Heads-Up Display
Great handling
Quick and responsive, fun to drive.

AWD: Noticeably improved traction in rain & wet leaves, no noticeable decrease in gas consumption while in AWD.

Very cute!!!

Loaded with technology.

Cons
Rear of vehicle gets very dirty on a daily basis under normal use.

Dual clutch/7-speed transmission takes a bit to get use to. In stop & go, slow rolling traffic, it sometimes feels like the car is stalling because it is going back and forth through the low gears so often.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
EULA S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
dealership with crain automotive group a nightmare
dealership was rude and insulting. Could not provide title without filing a consumer complaint with atty generals office. Service dept could not provide parts and renighed on promises to fix the problem
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BRIAN D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2019
Hyundai Kona 2020
The Kona is a nice size SUV. Drives great and gets great gas mileage but space is limited in the trunk so it is not good if you need to go places with a lot of stuff. The limited model is nice, but should have at least 3 additional features for a limited and ultimate package - power passenger seat and automatic trunk opening mechanism on the key FOB and a button on the trunk to automatically close. Other than that, I really like my car.

Pros
Gas Mileage
General Look
Comfortable seating

Cons
Passenger seat is not a power seat
Key fob does not open the trunk it only unlocks it
The trunk does not have a button to automatically close it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DIANA G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Absolutely Love!!
I absolutely love my 2020 Kona! I was so excited to finally be able to get one and the exact one I wanted. It drives great. It's quiet and super comfortable. It handles on the road really well and I love all of the features it has. Lifelong Hyundai driver!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ELENA B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/03/2019
Kona SEL
Very sporty and Stylish. Interior, drivers seat is very comfortable and feels like it is cradling your sides. Makes me more confident driving the car. Visibility while driving is very good and comes with lots of great safety and collision control features. Back up camera and AV displays are great. Car performs well when passing in sport mode. Car performed well in recent snowstorm. SEL has AWD and a little more clearence.

Pros
Interior and Exterior stylish, sporty. Perfect size SUV for a petite woman. Interior styling really provides confidence while driving. Good visibility, lots of safety features.

Cons
Could use a little more pick up or a larger HP engine. 160 vs 145 HP would be ideal and improve performance when passing. The Sport mode really improves driving performance, but isn't as smooth a ride.
Price right on target for my first new car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DUANE B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
Fun to drive unique looking sub compact crossover suvt
This unique vehicle has all the bells and whistles, surprisenly fast and very nimble. Great looks and solid build quality. Thrilled to drive every time I get in. I'm very happy and proud to own the Kona.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
Great little SUV for around town
We got this car to keep at our retirement home while we are transitioning. Fun car to drive, practical, good inside space, and as with my other Hyundai's excellent quality and good value. Exactly what we were looking for! Oh, great tech!

Pros
Great little car for around town, but was also very comfortable on a three hour trip.

Cons
None that I've identified. Excellent quality and design for the dollar, i.e. great value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Charles C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
kona
xxx - I don't have time to waste on this any more-- thank you xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ELIZABETH B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2019
Sporty SUV
Joy to drive. Hugs the road, drives like a sports car, very comfortable, great safety features and phone integration. Good value for the price. Just the right size vehicle, between a sedan and and SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JASON K.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/27/2019
Great ride and looks cool
Everything that’s included in the ultimate trim is great. But lacks front parking sensors which should have been included too at this trim level. Konas sold in other countries come with front parking sensors.

Cons
Interior needs some colors. Like two tone or more contrast.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
SUSAN L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2019
Awesome purchase
When I was looking for a new car I considered a few. When my friend came into town in her new Hyundai Tucson and I liked it I started to look closer at the Hyundai’s. It’s just me, so the Tucson and Sante Fe were a bit too much for me in size. When the Kona popped up and I thought it would be perfect for me I started reading the awesome reviews and watching the awesome you tube reviews and fell more and more in love with it! When I got in to test drive one I fell even more in love!! Didn’t take anything to talk me into buying one. I was so enamored I forgot to even see if I could negotiate a better price. Sigh!! But she’s mine and I love her!! We can’t wait to go on some road trips!! Thank you Hyundai!!

Pros
Gas mileage, smooth ride, lines, comfort, controls

Cons
A touch a crunchy in the backseat but meh!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 56 in total