Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai Kona

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1145 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1145 Reviews)

Reviews


DR
gravatar
DAVID R.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/05/2021
Verified Review

What can I say I have a car that’s right now and the paint sucks

Before you buy one of these vehicles you better check everything don’t be like me and just assume everything’s OK now I have a car the paint will fail because of the way it was prepared this just shows how much pay for a car don’t be taken And by the people smiling at the dealership check the vehicle check it check it check it
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PD
gravatar
PAIGE D.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/28/2022
Verified Review

Hate dit

Tucson broke down on our way to DC for Christmas, cause of an engine recall. We were stuck in Jersey. Live in Maine. So we had to get home somehow, so instead of waiting 5 weeks in Jersey for the new engine, which was impassible, we had to get a new car. And we hate it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HM
gravatar
HYOJIN M.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/11/2022
Verified Review

ABC Hyundai is the worst I’ve ever experienced

Came In on 4/8/22, and traded in my 2 lexus for a used truck and 2022 Kona. Our sales guy JR was absolutely humble and kind and very helpful. It took all day and late night and finished our purchase and trade ins. Long story short again, Sales Management team is the worst and unprofessional and incredibly rude in person and over the phone. It was a lady I spoke to and she demanded that I pay an extra $780 for the mistake they made on there end and she even threatened me by telling me that “ you wouldn’t want this to go into your collections for only $800”. She said it in a rude tone of voice and I could still hear her talking in the background while I was speaking to another sales manager. The fact that they made a mistake and couldn’t own up to it and making their loyal customer pay for their mistake and paying $780 out of own mothers pocket is absolutely ridiculous. Never will I ever recommend anybody to this dealership. And me and my family have bought 5 cars from them and it’ll definitely be our last.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 05/12/2022 06:48 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Hyojin. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

CA
gravatar
CHARLES A.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/13/2022
Verified Review

The car is not drivable!

The car is not drivable!The car is not drivable!The car is not drivable!The car is not drivable!The car is not drivable!The car is not drivable!The car is not drivable!The car is not drivable!The car is not drivable!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 05/13/2022 08:03 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Charles. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

EO
gravatar
ERIC O.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/21/2022
Verified Review

Not reliable-engine control unit fails from purchase

In the 60 days we have owned this vehicle, it has been at the dealer more than we have been able to drive it. Three times they have tried to fix the engine control unit, and transmission control until, and have been unsuccessful.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 05/23/2022 10:39 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Eric. We have notified your case manager, Nicole, as well as their supervisor. They will be in touch with you shortly to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

TW
gravatar
THOMAS W.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/24/2022
Verified Review

I co signed for someone else not my car

Listen this is not my car it belongs to Cheryl Hart I am only a co signer why do you keep sending this to me I have nothing to do with it send to her not me please and quit sending this to me not my car not my car not my car not my car not my car not my car not my car not my car
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RG
gravatar
ROBERT G.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/01/2022
Verified Review

Not pleased

Loved the Kono until 2 months ago when thermal management module went bad. Dealer says they cannot find the part. It is under warranty. Engine light stays on all the time. As of right now I will never buy another one of your vehicles. Think the dealer could do better job than he is doing. Very upset
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MB
gravatar
MICHAEL B.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/07/2022
Verified Review

Check engine light is a standard feature.

Check engine light comes on even after being serviced. The car was a graduation gift for my son, didn’t realize it would need to be serviced so frequently. No confidence in Hyundai properly addressing the problem.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/07/2022 10:08 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Michael. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

TS
gravatar
Treye S.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/15/2022
Verified Review

Poor gas mileage.

Kona has terrible gas mileage and small tank. I would have kept my Elantra if I knew this. I need to replace with Hyundai Elantra Hybird. I will look to replace ASAP. Car does nothing for me and my job travels.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MS
gravatar
MARTIN S.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/25/2022
Verified Review

Buy another car at another dealership

John Amato is the worse dealership. My experience with this dealership has been incompetence o the extreme. They don’t carry the part. If they do carry the part it is not installed correctly. Management doesn’t care or helpful. DON’T GO TO JOHN AMATO
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/26/2022 06:21 AM
We're verry sorry to learn of your experience, Martin. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

DT
gravatar
DAWN T.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/26/2022
Verified Review

Disappointment

I had to get a new engine it within less than a year. The AC cuts out. The car turned off while I was driving it. The dealership failed to fix the car causing over heating on the new engine. Poor gas mileage not as advertised.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/26/2022 10:58 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Dawn. We have forwarded your communications to your case manager. Thank you for providing your feedback. ^cc

SS
gravatar
SHAGHAYEGH S.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/26/2022
Verified Review

The biggest nightmare I've ever owned

Failure at all levels is the only thing that comes to mind with this car. At 4,995 miles a horn failed and a transmission failed. The first dealership failed to fix the transmission after 1 month out of service, the second replaced the transmission and it still didn't fix the vehicle. The best part about owning this car was having Hyundai buy it back after 5 long and drawn out months. Overall the customer service at dealerships and Hyundai corporate was bottom tier. The car is a dud and I am thankful to not own it anymore.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JC
gravatar
JANE C.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/26/2022
Verified Review

Hate

Hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate hate
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MD
gravatar
Mike D.
2022 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/28/2022

Motor stalls out and the transmission is trash

The awd is very limited and turn it self on at the wrong times got power distribution the motor stalls due to the loss of timing with the Transmission. 1870 miles the car has stalled 5 times. Some days it drives perfect other days I get Jerked around by the transmission.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KR
gravatar
KAREN R.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/31/2022
Verified Review

Be aware of steering issues

I bought this car because the size, looks and price were appealing to me. Unfortunately because I use hand controls, I wasn't able to personally test drive the car. Had I done so, I would have realized that the steering in this car is really squirrely. You're always having to fight to keep the car in the lane. You're not able to relax and just drive the car. Even worse, at sporadic times it will suddenly jerk to the left. One time it did that causing me to swerve into the lane next to me. Luckily, the lane was empty. I may not always be that lucky. So when driving, you're always on guard, with a death grip on the steering wheel, in case the car takes it into its mind to suddenly swerve. Consequently, it's not a pleasant experience driving this car because of the fatigue resulting from always having a strong grip on the steering wheel.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MG
gravatar
MARIA G.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/01/2022
Verified Review

This was the worst purchase I've ever made.

Save your money and buy a Nissan. Less than a year later this brand new vehicle already needs a new transmission. And the warranty is a joke. No availability to schedule service. Everything they sell you on is a lie. They do honor their warranty, and they never have available service times for you to take advantage of the free maintenance they offer when you purchase it. Its all a scam. Buy elsewhere
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 09/02/2022 06:28 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Maria. We have passed along your survey results to your case manager, and they will be in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. 

RO
gravatar
ROBERT O.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/08/2022
Verified Review

Horrible from the start.. Lack of sales knowledge about towing packages

False advertising about the towing capacity of this car. My 2000lb trailer was more than a load for this empty. If I loaded a 1000lb to it for the towing capacity of 3000 lbs I doubt that the car would have pulled it. Sales crew didn't know of any of this info. I bought this as a lease & turned it back in after 300 miles totally dissatisfied not to mention the 5K I lost.. Horrible business practice & knowledge of said car & what the towing capacity was. Then I had to wait over 2 months to get the Refund check of $1958.00 when I was told 2-3 weeks.. TOTAL HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE ALL AROUND. I WILL BE CONTACTING THE BBB
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 09/08/2022 08:41 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Robert. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

MS
gravatar
MICHELE S.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/02/2022
Verified Review

Would Not Recommend a Kona

Kona feels unsafe, wheel and car pulls to the left and no noise or indication when backing up, due to this already hit something .......................................and this survey is wayyyyyyyy too long
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AG
gravatar
ARDEN G.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/06/2022
Verified Review

Poor quality

Return vehicle 12 hours after driving at home never saw the vehicle again because dealership could not solve the problem. I lost my $3,000 down payment because I had to go to another vehicle and they would not refund the $3,000 or put it towards the new car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/06/2022 01:45 PM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

DA
gravatar
DAVID A.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/02/2022
Verified Review

They sold me a vehicle different from what the salesman and I agreed on.

They sold me a vehicle different from what the salesman and I agreed on. They sold me a vehicle different from what the salesman and I agreed on. I was tricked and they would not buy it back from me.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 11/03/2022 08:15 AM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1122 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Hudson Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(2652 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(271) ReScores